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3.1   Introduction 

Children enter foster care through:  

• Court commitment based on an abuse or neglect petition.  

• A CHINS (children in need of services) petition.  

• An entrustment.  

• Delinquency or request for relief of care and custody petitions.  

• Non-custodial foster care agreements.  

• Re-entry from a commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice. 

3.2 Services to prevent or eliminate foster care placement  

Foster care prevention services shall be provided to children and their families in their 
homes and communities to prevent or eliminate the need for foster care placements.  

Any service in the home or community that is available to a child in foster care 
placement and his family shall be available to a child and his family as prevention 
services to prevent or eliminate the need for foster care placement based on an 
assessment of the child's and family's needs.  

These services are available to children who are abused or neglected as defined in § 
63.2-100 or in need of services as defined in § 16.1-228. The Children’s Services Act 
(CSA) guidelines specify the criteria for the Family Assessment and Planning Team 
(FAPT), or an approved multi-disciplinary team, to use in determining when a child 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-228/
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meets the statutory definition of a “child in need of services” and is eligible for foster 
care services, consistent with the Community Policy Management Team (CPMT) 
policies. (See the CSA Policy Manual.) 

Out-of-home placements are not considered prevention services. Short-term stays 
outside of the home are only considered prevention services when children temporarily 
leave their homes for short stays of less than 14 days for the purposes of crisis 
stabilization, respite, hospitalization to meet acute physical or medical needs, or short-
term psychological or psychiatric evaluations. 

The Code of Virginia (§§ 16.1-252, 16.1-277.01, 16.1-277.02, 16.1-278.2, 16.1-278.3, 
and 16.1-283) requires courts to consider persons with a legitimate interest for custody 
of the child when evaluating removal, entrustment, relief of custody, and termination of 
parental rights.  In any proceeding in which a child is removed from his home, the court 
may order the parents or guardians of such child to provide the names and contact 
information to the local department of social services for all persons with a legitimate 
interest (§ 16.1-229.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

3.3 The date a child is considered to enter foster care 

Federal law and regulation provide specific criteria for calculating timelines for 
determining when a child is considered to have “entered foster care” for the specific 
purpose of ensuring that court hearings are held according to federal requirements. 
Virginia’s court hearing requirements surpass federal requirements and as a result, 
ensure that the case of each child in foster care is heard more frequently than required 
by federal requirements, as long as the LDSS: 

• Provides the court with the contact information necessary to invite the foster  and 
adoptive parent to participate in the dispositional hearing.  

• A foster care review hearing (including notice to the foster and adoptive parent of 
the hearing and their right to participate in the hearing) is held within 12 months 
of the hearing that brings the child into foster care.  

By following Virginia’s requirements for who shall receive notice of hearings (starting 
with the dispositional hearing) and adhering to the timeline for hearings, the LDSS will 
be in compliance with federal requirements regarding the date a child enters foster care. 
Federal requirements are based on:  

• The date of the first judicial finding that the child has been subjected to child 
abuse or neglect; or  

• The date that is 60 days after the date on which the child is removed from the 
home (Social Security Act, Title IV, § 475 (5) (F) [42 USC 675]).   

http://www.csa.virginia.gov/CSAManual.cfm
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-252/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-277.01/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-277.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-278.2/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-278.3/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-283/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/
http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title04/0475.htm


Virginia Department of Social Services          July 2022                                                  
Child and Family Services Manual E.  Foster Care 
  

 
E Section 3 Page 4 of 34   3  Entering Foster Care 

 

For the purpose of providing services and assuming placement and care 
responsibility for the child, the LDSS shall consider the date of removal as the 
date a child enters foster care. 

3.4 Best interests of child requirements 

The initial court order shall contain language stating that the child was removed from the 
home pursuant to a judicial determination that:  

• Continuation in the home would be contrary to the welfare of the child; or  

• It is in the child’s best interests to be placed in foster care; or  

• There is no less drastic alternative than removal of the child from his or her 
home.  

Nunc Pro Tunc (now for then) orders or affidavits attesting that the judicial determination 
occurred at a previous hearing that changes the substance of a prior judicial 
determination or constitutes a judicial determination not previously made are not 
acceptable documentation in support of a judicial determination for IV-E eligibility. 

3.5 Reasonable efforts requirements 

Both federal (Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980, Public Law 96-272) 
and state law (§§ 16.1-251, 16.1-253, and 16.1-278) require that reasonable efforts are 
made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal of the child from the home and to 
make it possible for the child to be returned home. The safety of the child is paramount 
in this decision. 

3.5.1  Initial judicial determination of reasonable efforts 
 

At the time of the initial court hearing to commit a child to the custody of the LDSS, 
approve an entrustment agreement or approve the plan for placement in foster care 
through a non-custodial foster care agreement, a judicial determination shall be 
made as to whether reasonable efforts to prevent removal have been made. In order 
for the court to determine whether reasonable efforts have been made to prevent 
removal, the LDSS shall document and submit the following to the court: 

• Service needs of the child and family including the safety of the child in the 
home. 

• Services offered to meet the needs. 

• The family's participation in service planning.  

• The family's response to the services offered. 

http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/comp2/F096-272.html
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-251/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-253/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-278/
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3.5.2  Requirements for the court order 
 

The Code of Virginia requires that the initial court order state that reasonable efforts 
have been made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal. To meet federal 
requirements, reasonable efforts shall be documented in a court order within 60 
days of entry into care. The court order shall also include if the child is found to be 
an abandoned infant as defined in § 18.2-371.1.  For an entrustment or non-
custodial foster care placement, reasonable efforts shall be documented within six 
months of placement. Compliance with Virginia law will assure compliance with 
federal regulations. 

3.5.3 Reasonable efforts after LDSS receives custody or accepts placement 

Annually, for every child in foster care, there shall be a judicial determination that 
reasonable efforts have been made to either: 

• Safely reunite the child with his or her prior family if return home is the goal; 
or  

• Finalize an alternate permanent placement for the child as quickly as 
practicable in accordance with his or her permanency plan if reunification 
cannot be achieved (e.g., placing the child with relatives in another state in 
accordance with the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC)) 
and to complete whatever steps are necessary to achieve permanency for the 
child either through adoption or custody transfer to relatives.  

Documentation of reasonable efforts to reunify the child and family or achieve 
permanency for the child shall be recorded on the initial 60-day service plan, in the 
case record, and in every foster care review and administrative plan review 
thereafter. 

3.5.4 Reasonable efforts not required 

The LDSS having custody of the child is not required by the court to make 
reasonable efforts to reunite the child with a parent if the court finds that: 

• The residual parental rights of the parent regarding a sibling of the child have 
previously been involuntarily terminated;  

• The parent has been convicted of an offense under the laws of the 
Commonwealth or a substantially similar law of any other state, the United 
States or foreign jurisdiction that constitutes murder or voluntary 
manslaughter, or a felony attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit any 
such offense, if the victim of the offense was a child of the parent, a child with 
whom the parent resided at the time such offense occurred or the other 
parent of the child;  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371.1/
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• The parent has been convicted of an offense under the laws of the 
Commonwealth or a substantially similar law of any other state, the United 
States or any foreign jurisdiction that constitutes felony assault resulting in 
serious bodily injury or felony bodily wounding resulting in serious bodily 
injury or felony sexual assault, if the victim of the offense was a child of the 
parent or a child with whom the parent resided at the time of such offense; or  

• Based on clear and convincing evidence, the parent has subjected any child 
to aggravated circumstances (§ 16.1-283 E) or abandoned a child under 
circumstances which would justify the termination of residual parental rights 
pursuant to  §16.1-283 D. 

If the LDSS determines that reasonable efforts to reunify do not need to be made 
based on the felony convictions or circumstances listed above, the LDSS shall 
petition the court to make that determination. This petition may be filed at any court 
hearing. Within 30 days of the court’s determination that reasonable efforts to 
reunify do not need to be made, the court shall hold a permanency planning hearing. 
If the request for such a determination is made at a permanency planning hearing, it 
will not be necessary to hold another hearing. 

The court order shall document that reasonable efforts to reunify are not required, 
because the parents have been convicted of offenses listed above or had parental 
rights of a sibling involuntarily terminated. 

The law does not require that reasonable efforts be omitted in these cases. 
Agencies may decide to make reasonable efforts to reunite children with parents 
even when a court has convicted parent(s) of the crimes listed above or the parental 
rights of a sibling have been involuntarily terminated. This decision should be made 
on a case-by-case basis. 

3.5.5 When children in custody remain in their own home  

In situations where custody is given to the LDSS and the child remains in the home 
of the parent(s) or prior custodian, a judicial determination as to reasonable efforts to 
prevent removal is not necessary. However, if foster care placement becomes 
necessary, all of the legal requirements shall be met. 

3.6 Title IV-E funding restrictions  

Failure to meet requirements regarding best interests and reasonable efforts will result 
in the child being ineligible for title IV-E funding. Additional criteria for establishing and 
maintaining title IV-E eligibility are explained in the  VDSS Title IV-E Eligibility Manual. 
Placement costs for children found to be ineligible for title IV-E funding shall be paid 
from state pool funds.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-283/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-283/
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/dfs/DFS-Home/Title-IV-E/Title-IV-E-Guidance
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3.7 Authority for placement and dispositional alternatives 

If reasonable efforts have been made and the child still needs to be temporarily placed 
in foster care, the LDSS may accept placement of the child through several legal 
alternatives:  

• Commitment by any court of competent jurisdiction; or 

• Entrustment by the parent(s) or guardian(s)  

o The LDSS shall make diligent efforts to have both parents sign the 
entrustment agreement if the identity of both parents is reasonably 
ascertainable.  Diligent efforts to identify and locate parents should be 
documented in OASIS. 

o An entrustment agreement is considered valid on the date in which the last 
required party has signed; or 

• Placement through an agreement between the LDSS and the parent(s) or 
guardian(s) where legal custody remains with the parent(s) or guardian(s)  
(§ 63.2-900.A). 

At each of the different types of court hearings concerning the child’s health and safety, 
the court shall consider placement of the child with a relative or other interested 
individual as an alternative to foster care. Placements across state lines shall comply 
with the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC). Refer to the following 
websites for specific ICPC guidance and procedures:  

• DSS public website  

3.7.1 Court hearings 

A child may be committed to the local board by a court order. The court order shall 
meet the reasonable efforts requirements in Section 3.5.The commitment shall be 
made before the child is 18 years old. The different types of court commitment 
hearings are:  

3.7.1.1   Emergency removal hearing  

An emergency removal order may be issued ex parte (defined as “hearings in 
which the court hears only one side of the controversy”) by the court upon a 
petition supported by an affidavit or by sworn testimony in person before the 
judge or intake officer in situations where safety of the child precludes services 
to prevent removal. The judge may deem that reasonable efforts have been 
made.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-900/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/icpc/index.cgi
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In the emergency removal order, the court shall give consideration to temporary 
placement of the child with a relative or other interested individual, including 
grandparents. The LDSS shall supervise this placement, pending the 
preliminary removal hearing. If the LDSS is providing supervision, a case 
record should be opened and maintained in OASIS. 

As the initial court order, the emergency removal order shall indicate that 
placement is in the child’s best interest (see Section 3.4) (§ 16.1-251). 

3.7.1.2   Preliminary removal hearing  

This is a hearing where the court determines that a child who is alleged to be 
abused or neglected needs to be placed in foster care.   

At this hearing, the court shall find that reasonable efforts have been made to 
prevent removal and enter that finding on the preliminary removal order. In 
situations where safety of the child precludes services to prevent removal, the 
judge may deem that reasonable efforts have been made. 

At the preliminary removal hearing, the court may make an adjudication as to 
whether the child was abused or neglected as defined in § 16.1-228. The 
LDSS, parents, or Guardian ad Litem (GAL) may request that adjudication not 
occur that day. The court shall then schedule an adjudication hearing to occur 
within 30 days. The results of the adjudication shall be entered on a court 
order. 

The court will address child support at this hearing see Section 4.7.2 for 
additional information. 

The court should consider and may transfer temporary custody to a relative or 
other interested individual at the preliminary removal hearing if the court finds 
that the relative or other interested individual is: 

• Willing and qualified to receive and care for the child. 

• Willing to have a positive, continuous relationship with the child. 

• Willing and able to protect the child from abuse and neglect. 

If the court orders transfer of temporary custody to a relative or other interested 
individual, the order will provide for the initiation and completion of an 
investigation of the relative or other interested individual; and will require the 
LDSS to continue supervision until disposition. The order will provide for 
compliance with any preliminary protective order and as appropriate, ongoing 
provision of social services to the child and temporary custodian.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-251/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-228/
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/section_4_opening_and_maintaining_case.pdf#page=13
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At this hearing, the court shall schedule a dispositional hearing to occur within 
60 days and provide notice to those present to attend that hearing (§ 16.1-252). 

3.7.1.3   Dispositional hearing 

This hearing occurs within 60 days of the preliminary removal order hearing; 
the hearing that brought the child into care; or the date the child came into care 
if there was no previous hearing (see Section 3.3 for the date a child is 
considered to enter foster care). At this hearing, the court will enter an order 
(foster care plan dispositional order- dc- 553) indicating what the disposition of 
the case will be. The court will also review the initial foster care service plan.  

On the petition submitted to the court with the service plan, the LDSS shall 
include the names and contact information of the foster and adoptive parent so 
that the court can provide them notice of this hearing. Foster and adoptive 
parents’ attendance at this hearing is solely for the purpose of the court’s 
review of the service plan and to provide input into this discussion. The initial 
part of the hearing where the facts about the case are heard and the judge 
enters a dispositional order are not open to the foster and adoptive parent.  

The dispositional order shall include a statement as to whether reasonable 
efforts have been made to return the child home and that continuation in the 
home would be contrary to the welfare of the child, or that placement is in the 
best interests of the child, or that there is no less drastic alternative. If there has 
not been a previous order that states reasonable efforts were made to prevent 
or eliminate the need for removal, the final dispositional order shall include a 
statement to this effect. 

The court should consider the transfer of legal custody of the child to the 
relative or other interested individual at the dispositional hearing. The order 
granting legal custody to the relative or other interested individual shall be 
entered only upon a finding, based upon a preponderance of the evidence from 
the court directed investigation. The order shall state that the relative or other 
interested individual is: 

• Willing and qualified to receive and care for the child. 

• Willing to have a positive and continuous relationship with the child. 

• Committed to providing a permanent suitable home for the child. 

• Willing and able to protect the child from abuse and neglect. 

The court’s order should further provide for, as appropriate, any terms and 
conditions which would promote the child’s interest and welfare, court review of 
the placement, and provision of ongoing services based on the needs of the 
child and custodian (§ 16.1-278.2). 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-252/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-278.2/
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Refer to Section 16.2.2 of this chapter for legal requirements pertaining to 
foster care reviews. 

3.7.2    Temporary entrustment agreement  

Parent(s) or guardians may voluntarily request that the LDSS take custody of the 
child for a temporary period. In this case, the local board may accept the child 
through a temporary entrustment agreement for up to 180 days. Title IV-E eligibility 
can extend beyond 180 days only when the court approves the temporary 
entrustment within 180 days of placement and determines that the best interests and 
reasonable efforts requirements have been met. 

Conditions for use of temporary entrustment agreements are: 

• To return the child home. A temporary entrustment agreement may also be 
used for purposes of adoption planning. It is not to be used where the goal for 
the child is other than return home or adoption planning. 

• To specify the rights and obligations of the child, the parent(s) or guardians 
and the LDSS. The agreement shall include the responsibility of the parent(s) 
for financial support of the child and the authority of parent(s) and LDSS for 
medical care of the child.  

• Entrustments cannot be used for educational purposes or to make the child 
eligible for Medicaid.  

• Parent(s), prior custodians, or the LDSS may terminate the entrustment 
agreement within ten days with written notice. The agreement is considered 
to be revoked unless the LDSS opposes the request and obtains a judicial 
decision that return is not in the child’s best interest.  

There are two types of temporary entrustments, those issued for less than 90 days, 
and those issued for more than 90 days (§§ 63.2-903 and 16.1-277.01). 

3.7.2.1  Entrustments for less than 90 days  

This type of entrustment is used when a situation related to the child or his 
family can be resolved within 90 days. Documentation of the plan for services is 
required. Use of the foster care service plan form is not required. The plan may 
be an identifiable part of the narrative, or a separate page attached to the 
agreement. 

If the child does not return home within 90 days, the LDSS shall petition the 
court for a hearing to approve the service plan and entrustment by the 89th day 
after placement (§ 16.1-277.01). A service plan shall accompany the petition. 
The service plan shall document that reasonable efforts have been made to 

https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/section_16_judicial_hearings_and_mandated_foster_care_reviews.pdf#page=4
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-903/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-277.01/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-277.01/
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prevent removal and to return the child home and that continuation in the home 
would be contrary to the welfare of the child. 

If the LDSS decides to terminate the entrustment and seek court commitment 
during the first 90 days, the LDSS shall petition the court for custody and 
submit the service plan for approval. 

Federal regulations allow title IV-E eligibility for temporary entrustment cases 
that meet all other eligibility requirements for up to 180 days. However, if the 
entrustment goes beyond 90 days, procedures in Section 3.7.2.2 shall be 
followed (§ 16.1-277.01). 

3.7.2.2  Court hearings to approve entrustments for more than 90 days  

The entrustment agreement shall be approved by the court at a court hearing. 
The LDSS shall petition the court for approval within 30 days of signing the 
agreement and submit a service plan with the petition (§§ 63.2-903 and 16.1-
277.01). The court shall set a hearing to approve the entrustment agreement 
and the service plan within 45 days of receiving the petition of the LDSS. The 
service plan submitted shall meet all requirements of Section 16 of this chapter.  

There shall be a judicial determination regarding best interests (see Section 
3.4) and reasonable efforts (see Section 3.5) at the hearing approving the 
entrustment agreement. The initial court order form (DC-553) shall state that 
continuation in the home would be contrary to the welfare of the child and that 
reasonable efforts have been made to prevent removal and obtain alternative 
permanent placement. A statement that it is in the child’s best interest to be 
placed in foster care or that there is no less drastic alternative than removal of 
the child from his or her home can substitute for the “contrary to the welfare” 
statement. These requirements shall be met for the child to continue to remain 
eligible for title IV-E beyond 180 days. 

In accordance with requirements of the Code of Virginia, any court order 
transferring custody of an entrusted child to a relative or other interested 
individual shall be entered only upon a finding, based upon a preponderance of 
the evidence from a court directed investigation. The order shall state that the 
relative or individual is: 

• Willing and qualified to receive and care for the child. 

• Willing to have a positive and continuous relationship with the child. 

• Committed to providing a permanent suitable home for the child. 

• Willing and able to protect the child from abuse and neglect. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-277.01/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-903/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-277.01/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-277.01/
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/section_16_judicial_hearings_and_mandated_foster_care_reviews.pdf
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5Bdfs%5D/Files/DFS%20FORMS/Court%20Forms/DC-553%20Dispositional%20Order%20for%20Underlying%20Petition%20Foster%20Care%20Plan.pdf
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The court’s order transferring custody to a relative or other interested individual 
will provide, if appropriate, any terms and conditions for the child’s welfare, 
ongoing social services for the child and custodian, and court review of the 
child’s placement (§ 16.1-277.01 D1). 

Refer to Section 16.2 of this chapter for legal requirements pertaining to foster 
care reviews. 

3.7.3  Permanent entrustment agreement 

This agreement provides a method for the parent(s) to voluntarily relinquish parental 
rights and give the LDSS authority to place the child for adoption. The use of 
Permanent Entrustment Agreements is described in Section 9.4.3.1 of this chapter. 

Federal regulations allow title IV-E eligibility for children who enter care through a 
permanent entrustment agreement only when court approval is obtained within 180 
days of placement. The court shall make a judicial determination that placement is in 
the best interest of the child (see Section 3.4) and that reasonable efforts have been 
made (see Section 3.5). 

Once the court approves the permanent entrustment agreement, all parental rights 
are terminated. The parent can no longer revoke the permanent entrustment 
agreement. 

If a parent is incarcerated, the court may authorize the Department of Corrections to 
have the prisoner transported to provide necessary testimony in hearings related to 
child welfare. The testimony of prisoners can also be acquired using electronic video 
and audio communication systems or telephonic communication systems in lieu of a 
personal appearance if authorized by the court (§§ 16.1-276.3 and 16.1-93.1). 

The adoption progress report shall be submitted to the court within six (6) months of 
the court’s approval of the permanent entrustment.  

3.7.4  Relief of care and custody  

Parents may request temporary or permanent relief of care and custody.  

On receipt of a petition for relief of custody, the court should refer requests for relief 
to LDSS initially for investigation and provision of services (§ 16.1-277.02). The 
intent of this requirement is to determine whether the provision of services will 
prevent placement. 

At the hearing, the court will determine, based on evidence presented, including the 
report from the LDSS, whether the parent should be relieved of custody. If 
permanent relief is requested, the court will determine whether, based on clear and 
convincing evidence, termination of parental rights is in the child’s best interests. 
Parental rights can be terminated only upon a finding by the court that reasonable 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-277.01/
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/section_16_judicial_hearings_and_mandated_foster_care_reviews.pdf#page=3
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/section_9_achieving_permanency_goal_adoption.pdf#page=7
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-276.3/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter6/section16.1-93.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-277.02/
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efforts have been made to prevent removal and that continued placement in the 
home would be contrary to the welfare of the child (§ 16.1-277.02). 

If a parent is incarcerated, the court may authorize the Department of Corrections to 
have the prisoner transported to provide necessary testimony in hearings related to 
child welfare. The testimony of prisoners can also be acquired using electronic video 
and audio communication systems or telephonic communication systems in lieu of a 
personal appearance if authorized by the court. 

If relief is granted, the court will schedule a dispositional hearing within 60 days. 

If permanent relief of custody is granted and termination of parental rights is ordered, 
the LDSS shall submit an adoption progress report to the court within six (6) months 
of the hearing (§§ 16.1-277.02 and 16.1-278.3). 

3.7.5 Services to children through agency agreements with parents who retain 
custody 

When a child is placed outside of the home, there are two types of agreements 
between a public agency and the parents or legal guardians who retain custody of 
the child. The type of agreement depends primarily on which public agency serves 
as case manager for the child placed outside of the home. 

• When the LDSS serves as the case manager, the child shall be considered in 
foster care and a Non-Custodial Foster Care Agreement is used. (See 
Section 3.7.5.1) 

• When another public agency, other than the LDSS, is designated by the 
CPMT or the court to serve as the case manager, the child shall not be in 
foster care and a CSA Parental Agreement is used. (See Section 3.7.5.2) 

Parents or legal guardians do not have to relinquish physical or legal custody of their 
children to the LDSS in order to obtain necessary mental health services. Such 
services may be available through a CSA parental agreement and may include a full 
range of casework, treatment, and community services for a planned period of time. 
Services should be based on the assessed strengths and needs of the children and 
their family and documented in the service plan. 

3.7.5.1  Non-Custodial Foster Care Placements 

Parent(s) or guardians may enter into an agreement with the LDSS to 
voluntarily place a child under age 18 outside of the home in 24-hour substitute 
care while the parent(s) or guardians retain legal custody. The goal of such 
arrangement is to provide the services necessary to address the child’s needs 
and to facilitate his or her return to the home as quickly as possible. The child is 
considered in foster care with the LDSS assuming placement, care and case 
management responsibility for the child (45 CFR 1355.20). Legal custody of the 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-277.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-277.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-278.3/
http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/cfr_2002/octqtr/45cfr1355.20.htm
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children by the state child welfare agency (or its local counterparts) is not 
required in the federal definition. Thus, children placed through non-custodial 
agreements are in foster care.   

All federal and state requirements shall be met, as with all children in foster 
care. The formal agreement between the parents and the LDSS is called a non-
custodial foster care agreement. 

Prior to entering a non-custodial foster care agreement, services to prevent the 
need for foster care placement shall be offered and shall be documented in the 
service plan. In emergency situations where services cannot be offered, the 
reasons shall be recorded on the service plan. 

Before choosing this placement alternative and entering into a non-custodial 
foster care agreement, the LDSS shall assess and determine that: 

• Leaving custody with the parent(s) or guardians is in the best interests of 
the child and will not place the child at risk. 

• The parent(s) or guardians will remain actively involved with the child 
during the placement. 

• The child will be able to return home within a reasonable timeframe 
(generally within a period of 12 months or less). 

• There is no less restrictive alternative available through which the child 
can receive the level of supervision and services required. 

These determinations shall be documented on the Non-Custodial Foster Care 
Agreement (see Section 3.7.5.1.1). If these conditions do not exist, transferring 
custody to the LDSS should be considered. 

3.7.5.1.1 LDSS Non-Custodial Foster Care Agreements  

Non-Custodial Foster Care Agreements are between the LDSS and the 
parent(s) or custodians. When a non-custodial foster care agreement is 
executed, the permanency goal shall be reunification. The non-custodial 
foster care agreement shall address the conditions for care and control of 
the child, and the rights and obligations of the child, parent(s) or guardians, 
and the LDSS and include: 

• A statement addressing the legal status of the child. With this 
agreement, the child would remain in the legal custody of the 
parent(s) or guardians. 

• A statement that leaving custody with the parent(s) or guardians is in 
the best interests of the child and will not place the child at risk.  
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• A statement that this is a voluntary agreement between the parent(s) 
or guardians and the LDSS; and that the child will be returned to the 
parent(s) or guardians if the agreement is revoked. 

• A statement that if the parent wishes to revoke the agreement after 
the court approves the agreement, judicial approval for terminating 
the agreement shall be obtained.  

• A statement that the LDSS has the right to seek judicial 
determination regarding custody of the child in a situation where the 
parent(s) or guardians revoke the agreement and the LDSS opposes 
return of the child.  

• Requirements of the parent(s) or guardians for financial support, 
including a statement that the case will be referred to the Division of 
Child Support Enforcement (DCSE). 

• Authority of the parent(s) or guardians and the LDSS in making 
medical care and treatment decisions. 

• Expectations of the parent(s) or guardians during the placement, 
including a statement that the parent(s) or guardians will remain 
actively involved with the child during the placement. 

• Expectations of the LDSS providing services to the child; 

• Visitation arrangements. 

• The date of the placement.  

• The planned date of discharge from placement (generally within a 
period of 12 months or less). 

• Other conditions for placement. 

• When the placement is an interstate placement, a statement 
pertaining to responsibility for return of the child if the placement 
agreement is revoked. 

• A non-custodial foster care agreement may extend beyond a child’s 
18th birthday with the consent of all parties in keeping with the child’s 
needs and with the family and youth’s cooperation to continuing 
services and placement.  

• If both parents have custody or there is shared guardianship, both 
parents or both guardians shall sign the agreement.  
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A copy of the agreement should be given to the parent(s) or guardians, to 
the placement provider, and be kept in the child’s record. The non-custodial 
agreement is effective no earlier than the date the last required signature is 
obtained and funding cannot begin prior to the effective date. (See the DSS 
internal website for a template Non-custodial Foster Care Agreement Form.)  

3.7.5.1.2 Court approval of plan for placement through a non-custodial 
foster care agreement 

The LDSS shall file a foster care plan with the Juvenile and Domestic 
Relations District Court within 45 days following the board or LDSS’ 
placement of the child unless the court, for good cause, allows an extension 
of time, which shall not exceed an additional 60 days (§ 16.1-281 A). The 
LDSS should file a CHINS petition to place the case on the court’s calendar 
and submit the foster care plan. 

The court shall hold a hearing within 60 days of the child's initial foster care 
placement to review and approve the plan (§ 16.1-281 C). 

The court order shall include statements that: 

• Reasonable efforts have been made to prevent the placement. 

• Continuation in the home is contrary to the child’s welfare, or it is in 
the child’s best interest to be placed in foster care, or that there is no 
less drastic alternative than removal of the child from his or her 
home. 

All foster care requirements shall be met. Time frames for administrative 
panel reviews and hearings are based on the date of the initial non-custodial 
foster care placement.  

Refer to Section 16.2 of this chapter for legal requirements pertaining to 
foster care reviews. 

3.7.5.1.3 Other requirements 

The case shall be entered into OASIS as a foster care case. 

In the event that the child shall be moved to another placement, a new non-
custodial agreement shall be signed prior to the date of the placement 
change. As long as there is no period during which the child returns home, a 
change in placement does not result in a new foster care episode. The goal 
should remain Return Home with the plan for reunification to be achieved 
within 12 months or less of the child’s initial placement. 

https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/dfs/DFS-Home/Foster-Care/Foster-Care-Forms
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-281/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-281/
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/section_16_judicial_hearings_and_mandated_foster_care_reviews.pdf#page=3
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The case shall be referred for Medicaid, title IV-E screening and child 
support. Child support is to be addressed in the non-custodial foster care 
agreement. Parents are responsible for paying support from the beginning 
of placement (§ 63.2-909). A claim for good clause may be made when 
appropriate. Child support is to be based upon DCSE guidelines. 

Since the child’s parent(s) retain custody, they are responsible for signing 
the required referral and application forms.  

Maintenance and service costs for non-title IV-E children will be paid from 
State Pool Funds. 

At the point which the child no longer requires 24 hour substitute care, the 
child should be returned to the home and the non-custodial order should be 
terminated by the court. If the LDSS agrees to the return of the child and all 
required conditions for the child’s safe return are met, the child may be sent 
home on a home visit pending final court approval. 

If it is determined that a child in foster care through a non-custodial 
agreement will require a permanency goal other than reunification, the 
LDSS should file a petition for the child’s custody to be transferred to the 
LDSS. 

In the event that a child enters foster care from a non-custodial 
arrangement, as long as there is no period during which the child returns 
home, there is no new foster care episode. 

3.7.5.2 CSA Parental Agreements  

CSA Parental Agreements are agreements between a public agency other than 
the LDSS, designated by the CPMT, and a parent or guardian who retains legal 
custody of the child. CSA Parental Agreements are only used when the FAPT 
determines that a child requires placement outside of the home to address the 
child’s service needs. 

The public agency designated by the CPMT assumes case management 
responsibilities. The LDSS cannot be the case manager. If the LDSS is the 
case manager, the child shall be in foster care and a Non-Custodial Foster 
Care Agreement shall be used.  

Thus, when a child is placed outside of the home through an agreement 
between a public agency, other than the LDSS, as designated by the CPMT, 
and the parent(s) or custodians retain legal custody of the child, and this other 
public agency provides case management services, this child is not considered 
in foster care and is not subject to the requirements, policies, and protocols 
(i.e., court hearings, title IV-E eligibility determinations, etc.) required for 
children in foster care.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-909/
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While these children are not in foster care, they are eligible for foster care 
services since they have been placed under an agreement between the local 
public agency designated by the CPMT and the parents or custodians who 
retain legal custody (§ 63.2-905).  

These CSA Parental Agreements, where a public agency other than the LDSS 
provides case management services, are subject to Final Interagency 
Guidelines established by the State Executive Council (SEC) of CSA. The 
LDSS never uses these agreements. (See the CSA User Guide, 5.3.3.1.) 

The CSA guidelines specify the criteria for FAPT, or an approved multi-
disciplinary team, to use in determining when a child meets the statutory 
definition of a “child in need of services” and is eligible for foster care services, 
consistent with CPMT policies. (See the CSA User Guide, 5.3.3.1.) 

A CSA Parental Agreement delineates the responsibilities of both the parent(s) 
or custodians and the local case management agency, which cannot be the 
LDSS, in the provision of services. For the CSA Parental Agreement form, go to 
the CSA User Guide, 5.3.2.2. 

The CSA interagency guidelines, checklist, FAQs, tools and additional 
information is available in the CSA User Guide. 

3.8   Providing written notice of right to appeal specific foster care 
services 

When the child enters foster care, the LDSS shall inform the child’s birth parents or 
caretakers in writing of their right to appeal the denial of specific foster care services as 
defined in Section 15.12.1, or the delay of a decision regarding such foster care 
services, that are delineated in the foster care service plan and approved by the court 
(See Family Services Notice of Action and Right to Appeal Form). If the service is not in 
an approved service plan, then the denial is not appealable. The LDSS shall inform the 
birth parents or caretakers that the LDSS will mail the written notice at least ten (10) 
days before any action to discontinue, terminate, suspend, or change foster care 
services. The child’s birth parents or caretakers may request a hearing within 30 days 
of their receiving written notice of the denial. See Section 15.12.2 on providing written 
notice. 

3.9  Special populations 

     3.9.1 Pregnant and parenting youth in foster care 

Pregnant and parenting youth in foster care face additional challenges.  They have 
to balance the circumstances of being in foster care along with being a parent. 
Placement changes, treatment needs and changes, and family separation can have 
significant impacts on a youth’s health and well-being and also impact their ability to 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-905/
https://www.csa.virginia.gov/content/doc/CSA_User_Guide_2018_Update.pdf
https://www.csa.virginia.gov/content/doc/CSA_User_Guide_2018_Update.pdf
https://www.csa.virginia.gov/content/doc/CSA_User_Guide_2018_Update.pdf
https://www.csa.virginia.gov/content/doc/CSA_User_Guide_2018_Update.pdf
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/section_15_developing_service_plan.pdf#page=17
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5Bdfs%5D/Files/DFS%20FORMS/Family%20Services-Generic%20Forms/Family%20Services%20Notice%20of%20Action%20and%20Right%20to%20Appeal.pdf
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/section_15_developing_service_plan.pdf#page=18


Virginia Department of Social Services          July 2022                                                  
Child and Family Services Manual E.  Foster Care 
  

 
E Section 3 Page 19 of 34   3  Entering Foster Care 

 

take care of their child.  Pregnant and parenting youth should be placed in the least 
restrictive, most family-like setting and their children should remain with them in 
placement, whenever possible.  Service workers should explore services as early as 
possible to help promote the health of pregnant youth and their children through pre-
natal and post-natal services and to prevent the separation of parenting youth from 
their children by providing parenting skills and support services.  If it is necessary to 
assume custody of a minor child of a youth in foster care, the service worker must 
document all efforts to work towards placing the child with their parent in both of the 
foster care plans. Service workers should address the needs of both mothers and 
fathers who are placed in foster care, including supporting their continued contact 
with their child when their child’s primary residence is with someone else. 

Service workers must document in the child welfare information system on the 
child’s general information screen the Pregnant/Parenting Youth in Foster Care 
designation.  

3.9.1.1 Services for pregnant and parenting youth 

Pregnant and parenting youth (mothers and fathers) in foster care are eligible 
for parent support services through Medicaid, CSA, independent living funds, 
and PSSF.  These services are designed to support and strengthen the youth’s 
parenting capacity.  Parent support services can include a wide variety of 
services such as family counseling, parental capacity evaluations, parent-child 
attachment services, and more.  Additionally, their minor child may be eligible 
for services through a prevention services case. In Virginia beginning July 1, 
2021, pregnant and parenting youth are eligible for title IV-E prevention funds 
for evidence-based services through an in-home services case (See Prevention 
Guidance Section 2.3.2).   

If the parenting youth and child require services, the service worker should 
open a prevention case in the child welfare information system.  The minor 
child would be identified as the child in the case and the youth in foster care 
would be identified as the parent/caretaker.  These cases will need to follow the 
prevention case requirements outlined in Section 2.11 of Prevention guidance 
including developing a prevention case plan.  This prevention plan must be 
included with the foster care plan for the youth’s foster care hearing (§ 16.1-
281).  

3.9.1.2 Foster care plan and documentation requirements 

For all pregnant or parenting youth in foster care, their foster care plan must 
include (§ 16.1-281):  

• A list of the services and programs to be provided to or on behalf of the 
child to ensure parental readiness or capability, and  

https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/dfs/DFS-Home/Prevention-Services/Prevention-Services-Guidance
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-281/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-281/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-281/
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• A description of the foster care prevention strategy for any child born to 
the child in foster care. 

For youth and their children who are receiving prevention services, the 
prevention strategy should be included in the prevention plan which is attached 
to the foster care plan.  For youth who are not receiving prevention services, an 
explanation of why can be included on the child’s Foster Care Plan Part A.  

3.9.1.3 Minor child of youth in foster care 

The minor child of a youth in foster care, who is living in a foster home or 
residential facility with his or her parent and who is in the custody of the parent, 
shall be eligible to receive a foster care maintenance payment and shall not be 
eligible for TANF. The foster care provider should receive a basic maintenance 
payment for the minor child in the amount appropriate for the age of the child 
and from the same funding source as the parent of the child (i.e., title IV-E or 
state pool funds). The minor child is not eligible for enhanced maintenance.  

• The foster care provider is responsible for providing room and board and 
ensuring that the payment is used to meet the child’s needs. 

• The minor child of a foster youth remains the responsibility of his or her 
parent, unless custody has been removed. 

• The minor child shall be listed in OASIS with the foster youth (parent). 

• The minor child is eligible for Medicaid, services, and child support 
services 

The service worker does not open a case for the minor child; all costs are paid 
under the foster youth’s case. If the foster youth resides in a residential facility 
with her minor child, the rate paid will be the rate negotiated with the facility for 
maintenance for the minor child. If the youth, who is under the age of 18, lives 
in an independent living arrangement, and is receiving the Independent Living 
Stipend, the minor child is not eligible for a maintenance payment but may be 
eligible for TANF.  If the foster youth lives in an independent living arrangement 
and is receiving a maintenance payment as a Fostering Futures participant, the 
minor child is also eligible for a maintenance payment and would not be eligible 
for TANF.  

The maintenance payment should be added to the foster youth’s foster care 
payment (as one payment). For youth who reside in supervised independent 
living settings under Fostering Futures, the foster care payment is sent to the 
youth.  For all other settings, the foster care payment is made to the placement 
provider.   



Virginia Department of Social Services          July 2022                                                  
Child and Family Services Manual E.  Foster Care 
  

 
E Section 3 Page 21 of 34   3  Entering Foster Care 

 

• If the minor child of a foster youth has his or her own income (i.e., SSI, 
SSA, or child support), these resources shall be used toward the 
maintenance cost. 

• If the LDSS finds it necessary to assume custody of a child of a foster 
youth, the child of the foster youth may be eligible for title IV-E or state 
pool funds. Eligibility for the child of the foster youth is determined in the 
same manner as are all other children in foster care. 

3.9.1.4 Placements specializing in providing prenatal, post-partum, or 
parenting supports for youth in care 

Youth must always be placed in the least restrictive setting based on their 
needs and safety concerns  Not only do family settings support healthy social 
development and maintenance of family connections, they help model healthy 
parenting and family engagement to the youth raising their child.  For youth 
who may require a higher level of care (i.e. congregate care) based on their 
prenatal, post-partum or parenting needs, settings should be considered that 
can assist them in ensuring parental readiness or capability. Youth may be 
placed in congregate care programs that specialize in providing prenatal, post-
partum, or parenting supports for youth. These settings are one of the specified 
settings allowed by Family First and do not need to meet the criteria of a 
Qualified Residential Treatment Program (QRTP) to receive title IV-E funding. 

Currently, only placements with the Mommy & Me program designation granted 
by VDSS Licensing are designated to meet the specified setting for prenatal, 
post-partum or parenting supports for IV-E funding for residential placement; 
however, VDSS has the ability to designate additional placements in this 
placement category as more facilities are identified. 

3.9.2  Indian child of a tribe 

3.9.2.1  Federal definition of Indian Child 

Children of Native American or Alaskan Eskimo or Aleut heritage of a federally 
recognized tribe are subject to the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA). Virginia 
currently has seven (7) federally recognized tribes.  In January 2016, The 
United States Department of Interior granted federal recognition to the Virginia 
Pamunkey Indian Tribe.  In January 2018, the following tribes were granted 
federal recognition: Chickahominy, Eastern Chickahominy, Monocan, 
Nansemond, Rappahannock, and Upper Mattaponi. 

A child is covered by ICWA when the child meets the federal definition of an 
Indian Child. Specifically, the child is an unmarried person under the age of 18 
and is either: 

• A member of a federally recognized Indian tribe; or 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2010-title25/pdf/USCODE-2010-title25-chap21.pdf
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• Eligible for membership in a federally recognized Indian tribe and is the 
biological child of a member of a federally recognized Indian tribe (25 
U.S.C. § 1903).  

Under federal law, individual tribes have the right to determine eligibility and/or 
membership. However, in order for ICWA to apply, the child shall meet one of 
the criteria above. 

3.9.2.2  Determination of Indian status 

The LDSS shall treat all children in foster care or at risk of entering foster care 
as an Indian child until it is determined that the child is not of American Indian 
or Alaskan Eskimo or Aleut heritage, and the child does not belong to a tribe 
located in or outside Virginia. The LDSS worker shall ask the following 
individuals if the child, the child’s parents, or his/her grandparents are identified 
with or members of an Indian tribe: 

• The child (if age appropriate),  

• The caregiver, and  

• Any other person with knowledge of the child, parent or alleged parent  

This information shall be documented in OASIS using “Indian Status” as the 
purpose of the contact.  

In the event that the LDSS determines the child, the child’s parents or his/her 
grandparents are identified with an Indian tribe, the following steps shall be 
taken by the service worker to confirm the tribe’s status: 

• Contact the Bureau of Indian Affairs Eastern Regional Office at its website 
or at 615-564-6500 for guidance on ICWA notification procedures for 
state recognized tribes 

• Review the semi-annual publication of the Tribal Leaders Directory on the 
website of the U. S. Department of the Interior Bureau of Indian Affairs. 
The directory provides the name, address, and contact information for 
each of the federally recognized Indian tribes. In the back, the directory 
has a copy of the Federal Register listing the “Indian Entities 
Recognized and Eligible to Receive Services from the United States 
Bureau of Indian Affairs.” To see if there is a later version of this listing, 
go to Federal Register, click on” browse,” and search for “Indian Entities 
Recognized.”   

If the tribe is a federally recognized tribe, the worker shall:  

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title25/pdf/USCODE-2011-title25-chap21.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title25/pdf/USCODE-2011-title25-chap21.pdf
http://www.bia.gov/WhoWeAre/RegionalOffices/Eastern/index.htm
http://www.bia.gov/WhoWeAre/BIA/OIS/TribalGovernmentServices/TribalDirectory/index.htm
http://www.bia.gov/
https://www.federalregister.gov/
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• Gather the following information, if available, from the child, parent, 
alleged parent, relative, and any other person with knowledge of the 
child’s or parent’s tribal affiliation: 

o The name of the tribe of which the child, parent, or alleged parent is 
a member or eligible for membership.  

o The tribal enrollment or identification numbers of the parents or 
alleged parents and child(ren). 

o Name of the following relatives of the child: 

 Birth mother’s maiden name. 

 Maternal and paternal grandparents. 

 Alleged biological and/or legal father(s). 

o Birth dates and birthplaces of the child, parents, and alleged parent.  

o Social Security numbers for the child, parents, and alleged parent. 

o If either birth parent was adopted, obtain the name of his or her 
birth parents (if available). 

o Other information about extended family members including the 
names, clan affiliations, dates of birth, and addresses of 
grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, great grandparents, 
stepparents, first and second cousins.  

• Identify the geographic location, the Bureau of Indian Affairs Regional 
Office of the tribe, and contact information of the Indian Child Welfare 
Designated Agent for the tribe.   

• Contact the Child Welfare Designated Agent and request contact 
information including the name, address, and telephone number of the 
tribal social service program and/or ICWA representative of the tribe. 

o Newly recognized tribes may not have a Child Welfare Designated 
Agent and/or ICWA representative. In these circumstances, the 
service worker is required to contact the head of the tribe.  
Notification to the tribe needs to be completed in writing via certified 
mail.  If initial contact is by phone, the service worker is still 
required to send written notification to the head of the tribe or the 
designated representative via certified mail. 

• Contact the tribal social service and/or ICWA representative and request 
in writing that the tribe confirm the child’s membership or eligibility for 
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membership as the biological child of a member of the tribe.  The service 
worker shall provide the social service and/or ICWA representative with 
all the identifying information listed above to assist in the confirmation or 
determination of membership.   

• Document clearly in OASIS (using “Indian Status” as the purpose of the 
contact) and the foster care paper case record the determination that the 
child is an Indian child, as confirmed by the tribe. The tribe believed to 
be the child’s tribe is the only entity that can make a determination of 
whether a child is an Indian child or not.  A tribal determination of 
membership is conclusive because each tribe defines the criteria for 
membership in the tribe and determines who meets those criteria.  

• Document in the case record all inquiries and contacts made to investigate 
whether or not a child is an Indian child.  The case record should include 
copies of all written correspondence to the tribe and correspondence 
from the tribe.  Additionally, copies of the certified mail return receipts for 
the written notification should be included in the case record. 

• Inquire of the tribal social service and/or ICWA representative if the tribe is 
willing to assume custodial responsibility for the child, once tribal 
membership in a federally recognized tribe is confirmed.   

• Inquire of the tribe of any potential placement resources in accordance 
with Section 3.9.2.7.1. 

3.9.2.3 Requirements for active efforts  

ICWA requires that active efforts shall be made to maintain and reunite an 
Indian child with his/her family or tribal community.  

Active efforts are more than reasonable efforts as required by title IV-E of the 
Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 671(a)(15)).  Active efforts are also separate and 
distinct from requirements of the Adoption and Safe Families Act (ASFA), 42 
U.S.C. 1305. ASFA's exceptions to reunification efforts do not apply to ICWA 
proceedings.  Refer to 42 U.S.C. 1305  for a list of those exceptions. 

Examples of active efforts include, but are not limited to: 

• Engaging the Indian child, his/her parents, extended family members, and 
custodian(s); 

• Taking necessary steps to keep siblings together; 

• Identifying appropriate services and helping the parents overcome 
barriers, including actively assisting them in obtaining such services; 

http://api.fdsys.gov/link?collection=uscode&title=42&year=mostrecent&section=671&type=usc&link-type=html
http://api.fdsys.gov/link?collection=uscode&title=42&year=mostrecent&section=1305&type=usc&link-type=html
http://api.fdsys.gov/link?collection=uscode&title=42&year=mostrecent&section=1305&type=usc&link-type=html
http://api.fdsys.gov/link?collection=uscode&title=42&year=mostrecent&section=1305&type=usc&link-type=html
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• Identifying, notifying, and inviting representatives of the Indian child's tribe 
to participate in Family Partnership Meetings (FPM) (see Section 2.9); 

• Conducting or causing to be conducted a diligent search for the Indian 
child's extended family members for assistance and possible placement; 

• Involving and using available resources of the extended family, the child’s 
Indian tribe, Indian social service agencies and individual caregivers. 

3.9.2.4  When ICWA is not applicable 

A child of Indian heritage who is officially determined to be neither a member 
nor eligible for membership in a federally recognized tribe is not subject to the 
requirements of the ICWA. The service worker shall document in the case 
record, the steps taken to determine the child’s Indian/tribal ancestry and the 
tribe’s written statement declaring the child ineligible for membership. 
Document any phone calls from the tribe stating that the child is not eligible and 
incorporate into any court hearing the tribe’s written statement or documented 
phone call that the child is ineligible for tribal membership.  

A child belonging to a Virginia tribe, that is not federally recognized, is not 
subject to the Indian Child Welfare Act, and the local court has jurisdiction. 
When a child entering care is believed or known to have Virginia Indian 
heritage, the LDSS shall immediately contact the Bureau of Indian Affairs 
Eastern Regional Office at its website or call 615-564-6500 for guidance on 
ICWA notification procedures for state recognized tribes. 

In instances where ICWA does not apply but the child is of Indian heritage, a 
member of a Virginia tribe that is not federally recognized, or considered Indian 
by the Indian community, the LDSS should consider tribal culture and 
connections in the placement and care of the child.  

In addition to following all ICWA requirements, LDSS are strongly encouraged 
to contact Virginia tribes in their service areas and work to build and strengthen 
relationships and address the needs of Indian children.  The contact list for 
Virginia Tribes can be found here.   

3.9.2.5 Transfer of an Indian child to a tribal agency 

When it is determined that the child is a member of a federally recognized tribe, 
the LDSS shall work in consultation with either parent, the Indian custodian, or 
the tribe on transfer procedures. The tribe’s right to request a transfer to a tribal 
court can occur at any court proceeding, however, good cause may exist for the 
transfer not to occur. For example, a tribe may decide that a transfer is not 
appropriate until the termination of parental rights is being determined. 
Procedures for transferring a child to a tribe will be situational depending on the 
age of the child and requirements or needs of the tribe. 

https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/section_2_engaging_the_child_family_and_significant_adults.pdf#page=19
http://www.bia.gov/WhoWeAre/RegionalOffices/Eastern/index.htm
http://www.bia.gov/WhoWeAre/RegionalOffices/Eastern/index.htm
https://www.commonwealth.virginia.gov/virginia-indians/state-recognized-tribes/
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The transfer procedures shall not impact the child’s eligibility, receipt of 
services, or payment under title IV-E or the medical assistance program 
operated under title XIX (Medicaid).  

The LDSS shall establish eligibility for title IV-E at the time of transfer, if an 
eligibility determination is not already completed.  

The LDSS shall provide essential documents and information necessary to 
continue the child’s eligibility under title IV-E and Medicaid program under title 
XIX to the tribal title IV-E agency or an Indian Tribe with a title IV-E agreement, 
including but not limited to the following:  

• All judicial determinations to the effect that continuation in the home from 
which the child was removed would be contrary to the welfare of the 
child and that reasonable efforts described in section 471(a)(15) of the 
Social Security  Act have been made. 

• Other documentation that the State agency has that relates to the child’s 
title IV-E eligibility under §§ Sections 472 and 473 of the Social Security 
Act. 

• Information and documentation available to the agency regarding the 
child’s eligibility or potential eligibility for other Federal benefits. 

• Copy of the case plan developed including health and education records 
of the child. 

• Documentation of the child’s placement settings, including written 
documentation of the approval status of the current placement. 

• Any other available information the tribe may request including but not 
limited to:  

o Identifying information on the child, parents, and relatives. 

o Special needs the Indian child may have. 

o Resources utilized or needed to meet the needs of the child.  

o The identified CPS risks and safety factors that caused the 
necessary removal. 

o Any assessments on the child and/or parents identifying strengths 
and needs. 

o Information about any relative or other significant person who is 
willing and able to care for the child.  

http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title04/0472.htm
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title04/0473.htm
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o Copies of OASIS or paper case records 

The service worker shall coordinate with the tribal court and/or an ICWA 
representative regarding the transfer of the child to the tribal agency: 

• Obtain the parent’s, guardian’s, caregiver’s or Indian custodian’s (if 
available) agreement with the child’s transfer to the tribe (if the parent 
objects to transfer to the tribe, contact the local attorney’s office). 

• Obtain the date, time and name of the tribal representative who will take 
physical custody of the child.  

• When the tribe takes physical custody of the child, the acceptance and 
transfer of custody should be documented by written verification of the 
tribal representative’s authority and acceptance of custody should be 
obtained and filed in the case file. 

• Provide notice to the court that the tribe is assuming the child’s custody so 
the court can determine appropriate action on the court’s case. 

3.9.2.6 Membership or eligibilty in more than one tribe 

If an Indian child is a member or eligible for membership in more than one 
federally recognized tribe, the LDSS shall notify and work in collaboration with 
all tribes of which the child may be a member or eligible for membership.  The 
notification provided to each tribe should specify the other tribe or tribes of 
which the child has membership or is eligible for membership. ICWA requires 
that the Indian tribe with which the child has more significant contacts shall be 
designated as the child's tribe.   

To determine significant contacts, the LDSS should gather the following 
information from the child, the child’s parent, alleged parent, relative, and any 
other person with knowledge of the child’s or parent’s tribal affiliation: 

• Preference of the parents for membership of the child; 

• Length of time at residence on or near the reservation of each tribe; 

• Tribal membership of custodial parents or Indian custodian; and, 

• Interest of each tribe in response to the notice that the child is involved in 
a child custody proceeding; 

If an Indian child is already a member of a tribe, but is also eligible for 
membership in another tribe, consideration should be given to the tribe in which 
the Indian child is a member, unless otherwise agreed to by the tribes.  
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If the Indian child is not a member of any tribe, the LDSS should provide an 
opportunity for the tribes to work together to determine which of them should be 
the designated tribe.  If the tribes do not agree, the following factors should be 
considered in designating the Indian child's tribe: 

• The preference of the parents or extended family members who are likely 
to become foster care or adoptive placements; and/or, 

• Tribal membership of custodial parent or Indian custodian; and/or, 

• If applicable, length of time the child resided on or near the reservation of 
each tribe; and/or, 

• Whether there has been previous court involvement with respect to the 
child by a court or one of the tribes; and/or, 

• Self-identification by the child; and/or, 

• Availability of placements. 

In the event the child is eligible for membership in a tribe but is not yet a 
member, the LDSS should take the steps necessary to obtain membership for 
the child in his/her designated tribe.  Once an Indian tribe is designated as the 
child's Indian tribe, the LDSS shall notify all involved tribes in writing of the 
determination.   

3.9.2.7  Non transfer of an Indian child to a tribal agency 

 Upon request to transfer the child to a tribal agency, the court shall transfer the 
case unless good cause exists to deny the transfer due to any of the following 
reasons: 

• Either parent objects;  

• The tribal court declines; 

• The court determines that good cause exists not to transfer. 

The burden of establishing good cause not to transfer is on the party opposing 
the transfer. The reasons for such belief or assertion must be recorded in 
OASIS, in the paper case records, and made available to the party petitioning 
for transfer.  

If the tribe indicates that it will not assume custodial responsibility for the child, 
the service worker shall: 
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• Provide reunification services to the family of an Indian child when the 
child is in out of home placement. The first priority is to facilitate family 
reunification as soon as possible.  

• Involve parents, other family members, and to the greatest extent 
possible, the Indian child’s tribe in developing a case plan aimed at 
enabling the family to care for the Indian child safely at home and a 
concurrent plan should a return home not be possible. If it appears that 
the Indian child will not be reunited within 12 months, the service worker 
in collaboration with the Indian child’s tribe, will implement the 
concurrent plan aimed at placement with the identified permanent 
placement for the child.  The service worker shall strongly and regularly 
encourage the tribe to assist in the early identification of an appropriate 
permanent placement for the child and will place the child with the tribe’s 
identified resource, unless there is a safety risk with the placement 
resource.  

• Make active efforts to ensure that the Indian child’s tribe and/or parent’s 
tribe participate in the development of the foster care plan.  The tribe’s 
participation may be in person, by telephone or another effective means 
of communication. 

• Contact the tribal social services and or ICWA representative and ask 
assistance from the tribe with the identification and provision of culturally 
appropriate services and programs that may be available through the 
tribe or an American Indian cultural center in the area or in close 
proximity that may assist the child or parents. 

• Ensure that services and programs are culturally competent and delivered 
in a manner that incorporates, when appropriate, American Indian 
ceremonial and religious practices, family team decision making, talking 
circles, and programs that provide services specifically designed for 
Indian children and families that reflect American Indian values and 
beliefs in the family.  

3.9.2.7.1  Indian child placement and placement preferences 

The ICWA sets forth standards that govern where Indian children accepted 
for foster care or adoption may be placed.  These standards are as follows:  

• The Indian child shall be placed in the least restrictive setting which 
most approximates a family in which his special needs, if any, may 
be met.  

• The Indian child shall be placed within reasonable proximity of his 
home taking into consideration any special needs of the child.  
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• In any foster care placement, a preference shall be given to a 
placement with:  

o A member of the Indian child’s extended family; 

o A foster home, licensed and approved or specified by the Indian 
tribe; 

o An Indian foster home licensed or approved by an authorized 
non-Indian licensing authority; OR 

o An institution for children approved by an Indian tribe or 
operated by an Indian organization, which has a program 
suitable to meet the Indian child’s needs.  

In the event that any party claims good cause exists to not follow the placement 
preference, the reasons for such belief or assertion must be recorded in 
OASIS, in the paper case records, and made available to the party involved in 
the proceeding and the Indian child’s tribe. Establishing good cause not to 
follow placement preference shall be clear and convincing and the burden of 
the party seeking departure from placement preference.   

A determination of good cause shall be based on one or more of the following 
considerations: 

• The request of the parents, if both parents attest that they have reviewed 
the placement options that comply with the order of preference. 

• The request of the child, if the child is able to understand and comprehend 
the decision that is being made. 

• The extraordinary physical or emotional needs of the child, such as 
specialized treatment services that may be unavailable in the community 
where families who meet the criteria live, as established by testimony of 
a qualified expert witness;  

• The unavailability of a placement after providing clear and convincing 
evidence by the LDSS as stated above and a determination by the court 
that active efforts have been made to find placements meeting the 
preference criteria, but none have been located.  

3.9.3  Youth in Department of Juvenile Justice custody  

In August 2015, VDSS and the Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) 
developed and enacted a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA).  The purpose of the 
MOA is to clearly identify the roles and responsibilities and provide instruction and 
guidance for both parties to serve the best interests of foster care youth committed 
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to DJJ. The MOA specifically addresses those youth who were in the custody of the 
LDSS immediately prior to commitment and who have not attained the age of 21 
upon their release. The MOA has been expanded to age 21 to include the Fostering 
Futures population. These procedures require coordination and cooperation 
between DJJ and LDSS staff prior to, during and following the youth’s commitment. 
These procedures are in compliance with §§ 16.1-291, 16.1-293, and 16.1-294 and 
should be considered best practice for the case supervision and management by the 
LDSS.  The DSS-DJJ MOA, joint guidance, and instructions for entering the case in 
OASIS can be found here.  

3.9.3.1  Procedures immediately following commitment 

At the time a youth in the custody of the LDSS is committed to DJJ, the youth 
becomes a mandated population under foster care prevention for funding 
purposes. The juvenile and domestic relations Court Service Unit (CSU) shall 
maintain contact with the youth during commitment along with the LDSS.   

Within five (5) business days after the youth’s commitment or after becoming 
aware of the commitment, the LDSS, DJJ, the Guardian Ad Litem (GAL) and 
any other parties of the youth’s dispositional hearing should identify potential 
dates and times to hold the FPM.   

A youth committed to DJJ is no longer in the custody of the LDSS and shall be 
discharged from foster care on the date of the court order.  The case-type 
should be changed to “former foster care-committed to DJJ”. Although the 
youth is no longer in LDSS custody, the LDSS service worker shall maintain 
contact with the youth and DJJ during the commitment time period when it is 
anticipated that the youth will return to LDSS custody at the end of the DJJ 
commitment.  DJJ and LDSS should request that the court include in the 
Commitment order a provision that custody is transferred back to the LDSS 
upon the youth’s release from commitment.  

3.9.3.2 Procedures during commitment 

The LDSS service worker and the CSU parole officer should work in 
collaboration to attend the case-staffing meeting and to notify the other of any 
staff changes in the CSU parole officer, LDSS service worker, or assigned 
counselor/case manager within forty-eight (48) hours of the change.  LDSS 
shall be responsible for the following procedures while a youth is committed to 
DJJ:  

• Maintain monthly contact with the youth. Face to face, in-person contacts 
at the juvenile correction center or other direct care placement facility 
shall occur every other month. For the alternating months, the visit may 
be conducted using the CSU’s video conferencing technology.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-291
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-293
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-294
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/dfs/DFS-Home/Foster-Care/Juvenile-Justice


Virginia Department of Social Services          July 2022                                                  
Child and Family Services Manual E.  Foster Care 
  

 
E Section 3 Page 32 of 34   3  Entering Foster Care 

 

• Participate in and provide input for Individualized Education Program (IEP) 
meetings and encourage and assist parents or other designated persons 
to attend. 

• Forward any information from DJJ to the parent, other designated person 
as the educational decision maker, or person approved to receive 
information directly from DJJ.   

• Coordinate a FPM:  

 No later than five (5) business days after the youth’s 
commitment or after becoming aware of the commitment. 

 Six (6) months prior to the youth’s anticipated release date.   

 Ninety (90) days prior to the youth’s anticipated release date. 

• File a Petition for Foster Care Review Hearing or Petition for Permanency 
Planning Hearing, as well as a foster care plan, 30 days prior to the 
juvenile’s anticipated release date. 

For suggested topics to be addressed at each occurrence of the FPM, refer to 
section 5.53 of the MOA.  

Costs associated with the family’s travel to a FPM may be reimbursed through 
CSA.  

3.9.3.3 Procedures post release 

Post-release supervision is the period that begins after a youth who has been 
committed to the DJJ returns to a local community for supervision. Post-release 
supervision or parole supervision of a youth is the responsibility of DJJ and not 
the LDSS.  

The LDSS service worker should be responsible for the following upon the 
youth’s release from DJJ: 

• Transporting the youth to CSU to meet with the parole officer and review 
the rules of parole. 

• Re-enrolling in school if applicable. 

• Monitoring the youth’s placement. 

• Working on the youth’s permanency goal. 

https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5Bdfs%5D/Files/Foster%20Care/Joint%20Guidance/Signed_MOA_for_VA_DSS__DJJ.PDF#page=9
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• Reporting any non-compliance in writing with treatment and services to 
DJJ as soon as possible but no later than forty-eight (48) hours after 
receiving information. 

3.9.3.4  The youth’s custody upon release from commitment 

In the event that the youth was in the custody of the LDSS immediately prior to 
his commitment to DJJ and has not attained the age of 18 years, the LDSS 
shall resume custody upon the youth’s release. DJJ will consult with LDSS at 
least 90 days prior to the youth’s release from commitment on parole 
supervision concerning return of the youth to the custody of the LDSS and the 
placement of the youth (§ 16.1-293). 

Pre-release planning for the youth is integral to determining the best placement 
resource and service needs for the youth and should involve discussions with 
family, relatives, and the DJJ regarding the best alternatives for the youth.  The 
LDSS is responsible for continuing to address barriers to achieving 
permanency throughout the youth’s commitment. The LDSS is also responsible 
for considering and pursuing the feasibility of a safe placement with family 
members upon the youth’s release as a step towards achieving timely 
permanency for the youth.  

Code of Virginia (§ 16.1-293) states that an alternative arrangement for the 
custody of the youth may be developed during the release planning process.  
When the LDSS determines that there is an appropriate alternative 
arrangement for custody available, the LDSS should ensure that this possibility 
is addressed at a FPM as soon as possible after notification of the youth’s 
release date. Additionally, the possibility for the youth to be released from 
commitment to a trial home visit should be addressed in a FPM during the 
release planning process. 

After determination is made regarding the most appropriate placement for the 
youth, a transition plan should be developed with input from DJJ, the youth’s 
parents, the youth, and the person who may take custody of the child. 

A Petition for Foster Care Review Hearing or Petition for Permanency Planning 
Hearing should be filed 30 days prior to the juvenile’s anticipated release date 
in order to bring the matter before the Court to address the youth’s custody as 
close to the release date as possible. The foster care plan which is filed with 
the petition should identify the most appropriate foster care goal.  In the event 
that a custody transfer is recommended by the LDSS, at the hearing, the Judge 
will make a determination about the youth’s custody and may issue an order 
transferring custody to an appropriate alternative custodian at that time. 

When the youth returns to LDSS custody upon release from commitment, this 
is considered a second foster care episode.  The LDSS must change the case 
type from “former foster care-committed to DJJ” to “foster care” and new entries 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-293/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-293/
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must be made on the physical removal, legal basis, and placement screens.  
To resume the court timeline, the agency must file a Petition for Foster Care 
Review Hearing or Petition for Permanency Planning Hearing 30 days prior to 
the juvenile’s anticipated release date. The court hearing must take place as 
close to the release date as possible and subsequent court hearings will follow 
the youth’s prior court timeline.  

3.9.3.5 Children returned to the LDSS custody and placed in out-of-
home placement 

• The youth is eligible for foster care maintenance and services. These 
cases are subject to requirements governing foster care plans, 
supervisory or panel reviews and dispositional hearings. 

• The service worker shall refer the youth and provide information on the 
Title IV-E/Medicaid Eligibility Form to the eligibility worker.  The eligibility 
worker shall determine the youth is not eligible for title IV-E Foster Care 
and determine whether the youth is eligible for Medicaid. 

3.9.4 Youth ages 18-21 who were in foster care and completing DJJ commitment 

Please refer to section 14 of the foster care chapter. 
 
 

https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/dfs/DFS-Home/Title-IV-E/Title-IV-E-Forms
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/Portals/%5bdfs%5d/Files/DFS%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manuals/Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Final%20Foster%20Care%20Manual%2007-2020/Section_14_Fostering_Futures
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