COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

DATE: October 12, 2017

TO: Licensed Child Day Centers
Licensed Family Day Homes
Voluntarily Registered Family Day Homes
Licensed Family Day System
Religious Exempt Child Day Centers
Certified Preschools
Unlicensed Child Day Programs Receiving Child Care Subsidy Assistance

FROM: Barbara A. Newlin, Director, Division of Child Care and Early Childhood
Development

Charlene Vincent, Director, Division of Licensing — Children’s Programs

SUBJECT: DSS Funding of Fingerprint Based Background Checks — Implementation
Memo #3

We are pleased to announce that the Department of Social Services (VDSS) will be
covering the cost of initial fingerprint based criminal history searches for those
individuals in child day programs who are required to be fingerprinted by 8§ 63.2-1720.1
and 63.2-1721.1 of the Code of Virginia. We recognize that many of you have been
extremely concerned about the cost of transitioning from name only state criminal
background checks to the national fingerprint based criminal background checks. We
have heard your concerns and after much discussion and planning, VDSS has approved
funds to cover the fees for these initial background checks through September 30, 2018
or to the extent that funds are available. This will allow your current staff and all new
staff hired before September 30, 2018 to complete the criminal background process
before each program begins picking up the cost. It will also give each program extra time
to plan for the cost of backgrounds after September 30, 2018.

! (We only mention the funds available consideration to be totally transparent. Because there is no firm
number available of staff who need fingerprints, this number has been estimated. Funds are limited and in
the unlikely event that significantly higher numbers of staff request fingerprints, we can only pay until the
funds run out. At this point, we think we should be good until September 30, 2018.)
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This means that VDSS will cover these fees for child care programs:

Employees, applicants, agents, caregivers, approved providers in a $57.00
family day system, household members
Volunteers $38.00

More information will be sent to you regarding when the fingerprint based criminal
history searches will begin and the process for submitting fingerprints to Fieldprint, the
fingerprinting vendor. At this time we are still working with Fieldprint to revamp
automated systems to handle and exchange child care information. Obviously, we are
hoping for sooner rather than later. We just do not want to confuse you with proposed
dates for implementation that may not be correct. Until we can implement the new
process, please continue to use the same process that your agency is currently using to
process criminal background checks.

To clarify, the Virginia law that became effective July 1, 2017, requiring fingerprint
checks for child care providers that are licensed, registered, religiously exempt, certified
preschool, or approved subsidy providers initially had an implementation date of
September 30, 2017, or the date on any federal waiver obtained by the state.

VDSS received a federal waiver for a one year extension. This means that all current
employees, volunteers, applicants, agents, and household members must complete a
fingerprint based criminal background check by September 30, 2018. This federal waiver
will allow time to phase in all the individuals who need to be fingerprinted by this
deadline. “Phase in” means not everyone will be able to submit their fingerprint based
background check requests on current staff all at the same time. Virginia State Police and
the Office of Background Investigations can only handle so many requests at one time.
You will be receiving information on how to stagger these requests in another
memorandum. Again, fingerprinting has not yet begun and you will be notified when
you should obtain a fingerprint based check.

Please continue to look for implementation memos and keep your licensing inspector or
licensing office updated if your email changes. Again, we are happy that VDSS can help
alleviate the cost of these very important background checks and thank you for all you do
to improve the quality of child care in Virginia.
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