VOLUNTARY REGISTRATION (VR)

RENEWAL APPLICATION

PACKET

Your application is not complete until Division of Licensing - Children's Programs (DOLP), or the
appropriate contracting agency, receives the following originals:

Application

$50.00 Fee (do not send cash through the mail)

Health and Safety Checklist

Home Training Needs Assessment

Sworn Statement or Affirmation for the applicant and any adult household
members, assistants and substitute providers

RESULTS of the Tuberculosis testing or screening for the applicant and any
adult household members, assistants and substitute providers

RESULTS of the Criminal History Record check for the applicant and any
adult household members, assistants and substitute providers

RESULTS of the Child Protective Services Search of the Central Registry for
the applicant and any adult household members, assistants and substitute
providers, and anyone 14 years or older

Payment to a contract agency is sent directly to that contract agency, along with your application and
paperwork. All checks or money orders to DOLP should be made payable to “Treasurer of Virginia” and

mailed to:

Virginia Department of Social Services

Division of Licensing — Children’s Programs, Voluntary Registration
801 East Main Street, 9th Floor

Richmond, Virginia 23219

If you have any questions in reference to the VR packet, please contact Linda Jean-Pierre at (804) 726-
7170, or via email at linda.jeanpierre@dss.virginia.gov. You may also contact Cynthia Carneal Heflin at
(804) 726-7140, or via email at cynthia.carneal@dss.virginia.gov. Thank you for your participation as a
VR provider and your continued interest in the Voluntary Registration program.



REMINDERS

The Division of Licensing — Children’s Programs (DOLP) does not make any direct referrals, set your rates,
or supply you with clients.

Beginning July 1, 2016, all voluntary registered homes can only have four or fewer children at any one
time. This does not include the provider’s own children or any children residing in the home. If you
provide care for 5 or more children in your home, you must be licensed. Here is the link to VDSS licensing
page should you decide you are interested in operating a licensed family day home:

http://www .dss.virginia.gov/facility/child_care/licensed/fdh/index.cgi

Please review the Health and Safety Checklist and the Requirements for Providers regulation carefully
to determine if you need to make any changes to your home or purchase items such as mats, cribs, latches,
locks, safety gates, etc.

If you work with children who are referred through a local department of social services or whose parents
receive funds to assist them with daycare expenses, make sure that your certification in CPR and First Aid
are current. Additionally, you must complete 4 hours of skills training annually.

Virginia law requires that day care providers disclose to parents whether there is liability insurance for the
day care. This is usually separate from homeowner’s or renter’s insurance. Make sure all parents sign the
disclosure form, which should be maintained in the child’s file.

Attached is the renewal packet of materials, and forms, that must be completed, and the fee, application and results
forwarded to DOLP or the appropriate contract agency, prior to an inspection. You must have your home inspected,
and make any corrective action necessary, prior to the issuance of a certificate. This renewal packet of information
includes:

The application for voluntary registration — this form must be completed and notarized. Please do not
leave any sections blank, instead draw a line through the space or mark it as “N/A”.

Health and Safety Checklist — please complete this form carefully and accurately. A home monitor will
schedule a visit to confirm compliance with each area once your completed application has been received.

Training Needs Assessment will assist the Home Monitor to determine which areas may need additional
training during the visit. This form should be completed and returned prior to the home inspection.

The Sworn Statement must be completed by the applicant, assistant (regardless of age), substitute
provider, and each adult household member. You must respond accurately and completely by answering
each question for both within and outside the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Report of Tuberculosis Screening for Children’s Programs — This form must be completed for the
provider, assistant, substitute, and any adult household member.

Virginia State Police criminal history record search - Forms SP 167 and SP 230.

Child Protective Services (CPS) Central Registry Release of Information Form.

Thank you for your continued participation and interest in the voluntary registration program.
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VOLUNTARY REGISTRATION CONTRACT AGENCIES

Locate your city or county below to determine which agency
will assist you in processing your application.

CHILD NUTRITION, INC. (CNI)

Contact: Beth Wittusen, bethw@cni-usda.org

Sheila Jock, sheilaj@cni-usda.org

9 North Third Street, Suite 100

Warrenton, Virginia 20186-3404

Ph: (540) 347-3767 Fax: (540) 347-2225

Counties Served: Augusta, Clarke, Culpeper, Fauquier,
Frederick, Loudoun, Madison, Orange, Page, Prince William,
Rappahannock, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Stafford,
Warren

Cities served: Ashburn, Berryville, Broadlands, Culpeper, Dale
City, Dumfries, Front Royal, Harrisonburg, Haymarket,
Leesburg, Luray, Manassas, Manassas Park, Occoquan, Quantico,
Staunton, Sterling, South Riding, Unionville, Warrenton,
Winchester, Woodbridge, Woodstock

Memorial Child Guidance Clinic (MCGC)
Contact: LaTasha Smith, Ismith@childsavers.org

200 North 22™ Street

Richmond, Virginia 23223-7020

Ph: (804) 591-3923 Fax: (804) 343-2708

Counties served: Amelia, Charles City, Chesterfield,
Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico,
New Kent, Nottoway, Powhatan, Prince George, Surry
Cities served: Blackstone, Charles City, Chester, Colonial
Heights, Glen Allen, Hopewell, Petersburg, Richmond,
Williamsburg

READYKIDS

Contact: Gail Esterman, gesterman@readykidscville.org
Suzanne McDonald, smedonald@readykidscville.org

ATTN: C.C.Q.

1000 East High Street,

Charlottesville, Virginia 22902-4848

Ph: (434) 296-4118 ext. 228 (Kathy)

434-296-4118 (241) (Suzanne McDonald) Fax: (434) 295-2638
Counties served: Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, Nelson
Cities served: Charlottesville

The Planning Council (TPC)

Contact: Suzanne Rakes, srakes@theplanningcouncil.org
Lizel Langhorne, llanghorne(@ theplanningcouncil.org

5365 Robin Hood Road, Suite 700

Norfolk, Virginia 23513

Ph: (757) 622-9268, ext. 3083 Fax: (757) 623-3051
Counties served: Accomack, Brunswick, Caroline, Essex,
Gloucester, Greensville, Isle of Wight, James City, King George,
King William, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, Northumberland,
Northampton, Richmond, Southampton, Spotsylvania, Sussex,
York ;

Cities served: Chesapeake, Emporia, Franklin, Fredericksburg,
Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk,
Virginia Beach, Williamsburg

DOLP

Contact: Linda Jean-Pierre, linda.jeanpierre@dss.virginia.gov
Virginia Department of Social Services

Division of Licensing — Children’s Programs

Voluntary Registration Program

801 E. Main Street, 9" Floor

Richmond, Virginia 23219-2901

Ph: (804) 726-7170 Fax: (804) 726-7132

Counties served: Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Bath,
Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Buchanan, Buckingham, Campbell,
Carroll, Charlotte, Clark, Craig, Cumberland, Dickenson, Floyd,
Franklin, Giles, Grayson, Halifax, Henry, Highland, King and
Queen, Lee, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Patrick,
Pittsylvania, Prince Edward, Pulaski, Roanoke, Russell, Scott,
Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Westmoreland, Wise, Wythe
Cities served: Abingdon, Appomattox, Bedford, Blacksburg,
Bluefield, Bristol, Buena Vista, Christiansburg, Clifton Forge,
Collinsville, Covington, Danville, Farmville, Galax, Lexington,
Lynchburg, Madison Heights, Marion, Martinsville, Norton,
Radford, Roanoke, Rocky Mount, Rose Hill, Salem, South
Boston, Tazewell, Waynesboro, Wytheville

Virginia Department of Social Services
Division of Licensing Programs/Voluntary Registration
801 E. Main Street, gth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219-2901

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/child_ care/unlicensed/vrfdh/index.cgi

VRCA,; Revised 6/15/2016 Web version



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LICENSING PROGRAMS
CONTACT INFORMATION

LICENSING INFORMATION PHONE LINE:

For information on training, filing complaints or becoming licensed, call Licensing’s statewide toll-free number: 1-800-543-7545 or
for the Richmond area only, call 804-692-2394. Information is also available on our website at www.dss.virginia.gov.
VDSS Regulated Settings: Assisted Living Facilities, Adult Day Care Centers, Child Day Centers, Family Day Homes, Children’s

Residential Programs, and Private Adoption and Foster Care Agencies.

HOME OFFICE

Virginia Department of Social Services

Division of Licensing Programs

801 East Main Street, 9" Floor

Richmond, Virginia 23219-2901

Tel: (804) 726-7154, Fax: (804) 726-7132

PLEASE CONTACT THE LICENSING OFFICE SERVING YOUR AREA AS
LISTED ON THIS PAGE FOR INFORMATION AND ASSISTANCE WITH
LLICENSING RELATED INQUIRIES]

VDSS/CENTRAL LICENSING OFFICE & CWLU

1604 Santa Rosa Road, Suite 130, Richmond, Virginia 23229-5008
Tel: (804) 662-9743, Fax: (804) 662-7023, CWLU: (804) 662-7053
Counties: Amelia, Brunswick, Caroline, Chesterfield, Cumberland
Dinwiddie, Essex, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, King & Queen,
King George, King William, Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg,
Northumberland, Nottaway, Powhatan, Richmond, Westmoreland.
Adult Only: Louisa, Fluvanna, Albemarle & Charlottesville.
Cities: Blackstone, Colonial Heights, Farmville, Hopewell,
Lawrenceville, Petersburg, Richmond, Westpoint

VDSS/EASTERN LICENSING OFFICE

Pembroke Office Park

291 Independence Boulevard, Pembroke IV Office Bldg., Ste. 300
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462-5481

Tel: (757) 491-3990, Fax: (757) 552-1832

Counties: Accomack, Northampton, Greensville, Isle of Wight,
Southampton

Cities; Chesapeake, Emporia, Franklin, Norfolk, Portsmouth
Suffolk, Virginia Beach

VDSS/PENINSULA LICENSING OFFICE

11751 Rock Landing Drive, Suite H6, Newport News, Virginia 23606

Tel: (757) 247-8020, Fax: (757) 247-8024

Counties: Charles City, Gloucester, James City, Mathews, Middlesex

New Kent, Prince George, Surry, Sussex, York
Cities: Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, Williamsburg

VDSS/FAIRFAX LICENSING OFFICE

3701 Pender Drive, Suite 125, Fairfax, Virginia 22030
Tel: (703) 934-1505, Fax: (703) 934-1558

Counties: Arlington, Loudon, Fairfax

Cities: Alexandria, Annandale, Centreville, Fairfax, Falls
Church, Herndon

Licensing’s Main Contacts — Rvsd 07/23/15, ADG

VDSS/NORTHERN LICENSING OFFICE

410 Rosedale Court, Suite 270

Warrenton, Virginia 20186

Tel: (540) 347-6345, Fax: (540) 347-6304
Counties: Fauquier, Prince William, Rappahannock,
Spotsylvania, Stafford. Adult Only: Culpepper
Cities: Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park,
Woodbridge, Dale City

VDSS/VALLEY LICENSING OFFICE

UVA Medical Park-Augusta

57 Beam Lane, Suite 102, Fishersville, Virginia 22939-2206
Tel: (540) 332-2330, Fax: (540) 332-7748

Counties: Augusta, Clarke, Frederick, Greene, Highland,
Madison, Orange, Page, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Warren
Cities: Harrisonburg, Staunton, Waynesboro, Winchester
Children’s Only: Albemarle, Charlottesville, Louisa
Fluvanna & Culpepper

VDSS/PIEDMONT LICENSING OFFICE

1351 Hershberger Road, Suite 210, Roanoke, Virginia 24012
Tel: (540) 204-9615, Fax: (540) 561-7536

Counties: Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Bath, Bedford,
Botetourt, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, Craig, Franklin,
Halifax, Henry, Nelson, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Prince Edward,
Roanoke, Rockbridge, South Boston.

Children’s Only: Farmville

Cities: Bedford, Buena Vista, Clifton Forge, Covington,
Danville, Lexington, Lynchburg, Martinsville, Roanoke,
Salem.

VDSS/WESTERN LICENSING OFFICE

190 Patton Street, Abingdon, Virginia 24210

Tel: (276) 676-5490, Fax: (276) 676-5621

Counties: Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, Dickenson, Floyd, Giles,
Grayson, Lee, Montgomery, Pulaski, Russell, Scott, Smyth,
Tazewell, Washington, Wise, Wythe.

Cities: Blacksburg, Christiansburg, Bristol, Galax, Norton,
Radford.




Provider Application Form

o This form must be notarized!

o Please complete each section completely.

o Please write legibly and do not leave any question unanswered.

o Mark “N/A” if any section does not apply.

o The application fee is $50 and NON-REFUNDABLE. It covers your two-year

certification and health & safety inspection. (This fee does not include the fee for the
criminal records check, CPS Central Registry check or the tuberculosis test.)

® Checks should be made payable to: “Treasurer of Virginia” if you are submitting an
application to DOLP. If you live in a city or county served by a contract agency, please
contact that agency for payment information.

Remember, your application is not complete until Division of Licensing — Children’s Programs (DOLP), or
the appropriate contracting agency, receives all of your original documentation.

Updated: 6/2016



VOLUNTARY REGISTRATION
PROVIDER APPLICATION FORM

PLEASE PRINT. Please read this application carefully. Make sure that the application is filled in completely.

NAME:

(First) (Middle) (Last) Social Security Number

Street Address:

City State Zip Code

Mailing Address, if different from above:

City State Zip Code
Telephone: Date of Birth: / /
(Area Code) Number
City/County in which the provider lives:
1. I am applying for:
O An initial certificate of registration a Address change only
O A renewal certificate of registration O Name change only ( )
Previous Last Name
2. How many adults live in the family day care home?
O One O Three O More than four (Number)
O Two O Four
3. Are you interested in serving as a substitute for other providers when vacant slots are available?
O Yes, I am interested in being a substitute 0 No, I am not interested
4. Are you currently participating in the USDA Food Program? [J Yes O No

If yes, Name of Sponsoring Agency:

5. If no, are you interested in participating in the USDA food program?
O Yes O No
(FOR AGENCY USE ONLY)
Date application and check received by the contracting organization / /

RECOMMENDATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION
STIPULATIONS:

I certify that the Requirements for Voluntary Registration of Family Day Homes have been reviewed at the home
named above and that these requirements have been met by the provider. Irecommend a Certificate of Registration be
issued with an effective date of:

/ / through / /

Executive Director/Agency Representative Contracting Organization Date

032-05-0210-05-eng (06/16)



VOLUNTARY REGISTRATION
PROVIDER APPLICATION FORM

Part II of 11

Name of Provider: Social Security Number:

If you have an assistant, please provide the following information:

Name of Assistant: Date of Birth: / /

Name of Assistant: Date of Birth: / /

If you have a substitute provider, please provide the following information:

Name of Substitute: Date of Birth: / /

Name of Substitute: Date of Birth: / /

List the name of all persons (other than the provider) who are at least 18 years of age and reside in the home:
(Verify with Page 1, # 2)

Days and Hours of Normal Operation: (specific days and hours required)

Email address:

Federal Tax I.D. number/Business Name (if any):

Sworn Disclosure Statement or Affirmation: (This statement must be signed in the presence
of a notary.)

I certify that the information submitted on this application is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I
certify that I am the primary child care provider and that the child care to be provided is either in my home or
the residence of one of the children receiving care for compensation. I understand that I must disclose to
parents or guardians of children in care the percentage of time per week that someone other than myself will
care for children. I understand that my name, address, telephone number and hours of operation will be
available to parents interested in obtaining childcare and that VDSS may post this information on the public
website as a resource to parents.

Provider’s Signature; Date:
City/County of ; State of
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of , 20

My commission expires , 20

Signature of Notary Public
032-05-0210-05 eng (06/16)



VOLUNTARY REGISTRATION
PROVIDER APPLICATION FORM

Part IT of 11

List the names and birth dates of all children (provider’s own children, any children residing in the
home, and any children receiving care in the family day home) who are under the age of 18.

NOTE: To be eligible for Voluntary Registration, no more than four (4) daycare children (children
that are not the provider’s own children or children who live in the home) may be in care in the home

at any one time.

If more than four (4) children are receiving care in the home, attach a schedule of when all children
are in care, including times of attendance and days of the week.

€ ———Check Only One ———-—we>

Name of child Date of Son or Residing in Non-
birth Daughter | the home exempt

10.

11.

12.

032-05-0210-05 eng (06/16)




VR Health and Safety Checklist

¢ Follow the instructions provided on the form.
e This checklist should be used to conduct your home inspection.
o PLEASE READ each item carefully and check appropriately.

¢ If you have any questions regarding any standard in the regulation or on the Health and
Safety Checklist — ASK! It is important to have your home set up
for the inspection just as if children are in care.

Updated: 6/2016



Voluntary Registration Health and Safety Checklist

Verify each item that is currently true for your home by inserting a P (provider) in the first slot provided before the
item. The screener will place an S (screener) or initials in the second slot when this information is verified during
the visit to your home. Mark the item N/A if the item is not applicable to your home.

Section 1. I AM PREPARED TO DEAL WITH

EMERGENCIES:

_____ Thave a medical release form from each family to

permit emergency care; I also have the names and
phone numbers of one or more persons besides the
family who may be contacted in case of an
emergency.

__ Ihave an operable telephone, or have easy access

to one, with a 911 sticker or emergency telephone
numbers posted in clear view.

My address or equivalent identifying information

is easily seen from the street or parking lot.

_ Exit ways, hallways and stairways are always well

lighted and free of obstructions.

___ I'have a first aid kit and an operable flashlight

available at all times.

~_ Ipractice emergency evacuation drills monthly to

the point of exit from the home and have a posted
evacuation plan.

Section 2. I TAKE PRECAUTIONS TO PREVENT

ACCIDENTS AND INJURIES:

____ Thave taken steps to safeguard the outdoor play

area used by children in my home from open and
obvious hazards, such as: standing water, animal
fecal material, construction materials, poison ivy,
dangerous lawn and garden tools, and traffic.
(Fencing or other barriers might be needed when
play area is next to a body of water or busy street.)

My home is in good repair, with no peeling lead
paint.

~ Tusescreened doors and windows for ventilation.

__ My fireplaces, heating system, and duct work
are in good repair.

_ Steps and stairs accessible to children are in good
repair with hand or guard rails.

032-05-0048-02-eng (06/16)
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____ Thave taken steps to safeguard my home from

open and obvious household hazards, such as
loose carpeting, unmarked glass doors, and small
items that could be swallowed. I will permit an
inspection of my home by appropriate fire
authorities if conditions indicate a need for
approval and the contract agency or the Virginia
Department of Social Services requests it.

____ Cribs or playpens that meet the current Consumer

Product Safety Commission (CPSC) guidelines
for cribs are used for children under 18 months of
age. The service side of an occupied crib is
accessible. “Current” CPSC guidelines for full-
size cribs state that the crib was manufactured in
2010 or later. Mesh-sided cribs are permissible in
a VR home so long as it meets current CPSC
guidelines. I will maintain documentation that my
crib meets these requirements.

____ Protective barriers including, but not limited to,

safety gates are placed on stairways that are
accessible to children. Safety gates that are used
meet the Consumer Product Safety Commission
(CPSC) guidelines for juvenile products.

__ Electrical outlets are child-proof in all areas

accessible to children. Multi-plug adapters that
are used have fuse safety features.

I place barriers around space heaters, fire

places, wood stoves, and fans when in use.

My electrical panel is easily accessible to adults,
free of loose connections and fraying wiring, and

has no missing fuses. There is no frayed or
uninsulated wiring anywhere in the house.

I keep medications and toxic household products
in areas inaccessible to children and away from
food products.

I keep dangerous objects, such as knives, out of the
reach of children unless under supervision, e.g.,
when children are using these objects in planned
activities.



Voluntary Registration Health and Safety Checklist

___ T ensure that small appliances are not accessible to
children, unless under supervision, e.g., when
children are using these appliances in planned
activities.

__ Tkeep firearms unloaded, apart from ammunition,
and in a locked place

My kitchen appliances are in good working order,
with range, oven and hood clean and free of
grease.

Section 3. I TAKE PRECAUTIONS TO PROTECT
THE HEALTH OF THE CHILDREN
ENTRUSTED TO ME:

~_ Tkeep a copy of the physical examination results
obtained on each child before or within 30 days
after enrollment.

T have proof of adequate immunization received on
the date of admission (or prior to admission) for
each child admitted after 3/3/10. Any child whose
immunizations are incomplete as of 3/3/10 (but
who has received at least one dose of the required
immunizations) is admitted conditionally for a
period of 90 days or less accompanied by a
schedule for completion of the required doses. At
the end of 90 days I will exclude any child who is
not adequately immunized and who has not been
granted a medical or religious exemption until the
child’s parent provides documentary proof that
immunization schedule has been completed or a
medical contraindication developed during the
conditional enrollment period.

My hands and children’s hands are washed with
soap before meals and after toileting and
diapering.

~_ Iserve nutritious meals and snacks to children.

_ Rooms used by children are dry, well lighted
and kept at least 68 degrees during heating
season..

__ My bathrooms are kept clean and have working
toilets and sinks, tissues, soap, and disposable or
individually assigned towels.

032-05-0048-02-eng (06/16)
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~_ Thave indoor running water and bathrooms
___ Drinking water is available to children at all times.

___ Tallow only one child to occupy a crib or playpen
at a time.

My refrigerator is kept at no more than 40 degrees
(F), food is kept from spoilage, and children’s
food brought from home and infant formula are
clearly labeled with their names.

My home is free from insect and rodent
infestation.

___ T agree to provide a smoke-free environment in
rooms accessible to children while children are in
care.

___ My dogs and cats have up-to-date rabies shots and
are kept from food preparation surfaces.

Section 4. ] ENCOURAGE CHILDREN TO
DEVELOP THEIR OWN SKILLS AND
PERSONALITIES:

~__ Iplan for adequate rest and play for children in
care.

___ Tencourage children to participate in activities
appropriate to their ages and levels of
development.

___ Inever use discipline which would demean or
belittle a child and never use physical (corporal)
punishment.

Section 5. 1 AM MINDFUL OF MY
RESPONSIBILITIES TO UPHOLD LAWS
AND REGULATIONS IMPORTANT TO
THE PROTECTION OF CHILDREN:

My family day home is not required to be licensed
under state law. I make sure that the number of
children receiving care, other than my own
children and children residing in the home, is not
more than four at any one time.



Voluntary Registration Health and Safety Checklist

__ Tamat least 18 years of age and have not been

convicted of any offenses specified in § 63.2-1719
of the Code of Virginia.

My physical and mental condition are such that I
am able to care for children.

I never leave children alone with an assistant
younger than 18 years of age. 1 make sure
children are properly supervised at all times.

I make sure that all caregivers are familiar with the
Requirements for Providers.

I disclose to parents the percentage of time that a
provider other than myself will care for their
children.

I adhere to the following point system required to
supervise children in care.

When children’s ages are mixed, an adult may
carry no more than 16 points: children from birth
through 15 months count as four points; children
16 months through 23 months count as three
points; children from two years through four years
of age count as two points; and children from five
years through nine years of age count as one
point;

I understand that my own children and children
residing in the home who are under eight years of
age are included in the point system.

I report cases of suspected child abuse and neglect
and other hazardous situations as described in the
Requirements for Providers.

I make sure that any adult (18 years of age or
older), including any adult household member,
who comes in contact with children or will
provide care to children has a tuberculosis (TB)
test, background check; and I will not allow them
to use alcohol or illegal drugs while children are
in care.

032-05-0048-02-eng (06/16)
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I comply with § 63.2-1809 (COV) by requiring
proof of each child’s identity and age for children
enrolled on or after 7/1/98. My records for each
child include:

Documentation of previous child day care
programs and schools the child has attended.

Documentation of reviewing proof of identity and
age.

I comply with § 63.2-1809.1 of the Code of
Virginia by providing written notification of the
fact that my family day home business is covered
by liability insurance, along with amount, or that
my business is not covered by liability insurance
to the parents or guardians of all enrolled children.
Signed acknowledgement of written notification is
maintained on file for each child during the
child’s attendance and for 12 months after the
child’s last day of attendance.

If I transport children, I make sure any vehicle
used to transport children meets the standards set
by the Division of Motor Vehicles and is equipped
with the proper restraining devices required by
law and children are restrained in accordance with
§ 46.2-1095 of the Code of Virginia.

I will comply with the Requirements for Providers
and permit and participate in an evaluation of my
home by the department or contracting
organization; and, I will maintain the records
listed in the Requirements for Providers and make
them available for review by an authorized
screener.

I understand that the contracting agency and the
Virginia Department of Social Services stand
ready to help me provide good care to children
and that I may ask for help or advice as needed.

Signature required on page 4.




Voluntary Registration Health and Safety Checklist

I, the undersigned, agree to comply with these
requirements. I have received information on the
requirements for State Regulated Care Facilities and
understand that I am responsible for ensuring that my
home complies with the Uniform Statewide Building
Code (USBC) and Statewide Fire Prevention Code
(SFPC) for State Regulated Care Facilities for fire
extinguishers and smoke detectors.

Signature:

Name: (print)

Address:

Phone Number: ( ) -

032-05-0048-02-eng (06/16)
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[For Agency Use Only]

I, )

(screener), verify that the provider meets the health and
safety standards and has agreed to comply with the above
requirements. I have verified that the provider has
received written information regarding fire extinguishers
and smoke detectors in a State Regulated Care Facility.

Agency conducting evaluation:

K3 3K KK K K K KA KKK KK KKK KKK K KK KK

Check only one:

_ Inatial Verification
Monitoring Visit
Renewal Visit

Other (Specify):

Time of Visit:

Date:

Agency:




VOLUNTARY REGISTRATION OF FAMILY DAY HOMES - REQUIREMENTS FOR
PROVIDERS

The regulation Voluntary Registration of Family Day Homes — Requirements for Providers is
being updated to reflect the lower capacity and to delete outdated references to ratios for
family day homes and obsolete Code of Virginia references. Please be aware that voluntary
registration is for 4 or fewer children, exclusive of the provider’s own children and any
children that reside in the home.

Rather than a ratio of caregivers to children, the point system will be used to determine the
need for an assistant. Please ensure compliance with the point system as described below:

When children are in mixed age groups, the provider shall apply the following point system
in determining the need for an assistant. Each caregiver shall not exceed 16 points. The
provider’s own children and resident children under eight years of age count in point
maximuims:

1. Children from birth through 15 months of age count as four (4) points each;

2. Children from 16 months through 23 months of age count as three (3) points
each;

3. Children from two years through four years of age count as two (2) points each;

4. Children from five through nine years of age count as one (1) point each; and

5. Children who are 10 years of age and older count as zero (0) points.

THE MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN IN CARE IN A VOLUNTARILY
REGISTERED FAMILY DAY HOME MAY NOT EXCEED FOUR (4) AT ANY ONE
TIME. THE NUMBERS REFERENCED ABOVE ARE USED TO DETERMINE WHEN
AN ASSISTANT IS NEEDED. THEY DO NOT INCREASE THE NUMBER OF
CHILDREN THAT MAY BE PRESENT AT ANY ONE TIME.

7/1/2016



Voluntary Registration of Family Day Homes
Home Inspection Renewal Training Needs Assessment

° Complete the assessment and return with the Health and Safety Checklist.

) There is no grade assigned or a “pass/fail.” The assessment is used by the Inspector or
Monitor to determine if additional information needs to be covered during the inspection to
ensure you understand your responsibilities.

Updated: 6/2016



Applicant:

Voluntary Registration of Family Day Homes
Renewal Training Needs Assessment

Date:

In order to assist in planning and scheduling the inspection of your home for either an initial or renewal application, you
will need to complete the following “quiz” to assess the level of on-site training that will be required. You should return
this “quiz” with your application, though the score will not be a factor in determining whether a certificate will be issued.
By completing this quiz, you will merely be allowing the Division to cover the material necessary during the on-site visit.
You may use any information in the packet to complete this assessment,

1. Which of the following is not considered proof of a child’s identity and age:
a. Birth Certificate
b. Record from a public school
c. Passport
d. Social Security Card.

2, Which of the following is prohibited in family day homes?

©@rho o TP

A
a.
b.
c
d

corporal punishment

spanking a child

slapping a child

forcing a child to stand in a corner on one foot

placing a child in a locked, dark, room for time-out

refusing to give a child food or water

all of the above, to include any other actions that are demeaning, belittling or harmful to a child.

provider is required to get new background checks after the initial certification when:

a new person age 18 years or older moves into the home

when a child residing in the home turns 18 years old

when a new assistant or substitute provider is hired (not listed on application)

all of the above examples require additional background checks and notification to DOLP or the
contract agency.

4. Which of the following is required prior to administering non-prescription medication to an enrolled
child in a voluntarily registered family day home?

C.

d.

€.

a. A valid MAT certificate
b.

A first aid and CPR certificate

Written permission from the parent to administer medication to the child along with the name of the
specific medication and instructions

All of the above

None of the above.

5. If a provider agrees to watch a friend’s child for “just a little while” while the parent goes to an
appointment, an interview, or a funeral; is it ok for that child to be present at the daycare if the provider
already has 4 children present?

Yes No
Why or Why not?




True or False (Circle the correct response)

6. If a provider views acceptable proof a child’s identity and age, they are still required to document
previous day care programs and schools that the child has attended?

True False

7. A provider should maintain documentation of evacuation drills practiced each month for the term of the
certificate.
True False

8. Immunization records are required on the first day of admission and the provider needs a physical or the

results of a health exam for the child’s file within 30 days of enrollment.

True False
9. If a parent is enrolling two children at the same time, each child needs an individual record.
True False

Voluntarily registered family day home providers must adhere to the adult to child ratios or the point
system as it appears on the health and safety checklist. Answer the following questions based on the
scenario given.

10. Ms. Johnson has 4 children enrolled in her family day home and 2 of her children reside in the home.
The children’s ages are as follows:

e Michael is 12 months old Ms. Johnson’s children
e Dequan is 15 months old Ben is 6 month old
e Quincy is 3 years old Billy is 6 years old
e Keliis 3 years old
a. Is Ms. Johnson over-capacity during the times that all children are present? Circle response.
Yes No
b. How many points does Ms. Johnson have if all children are present?
c. Does Ms. Johnson need an assistant if all children are present?
Yes No
11.  Ms. Green is voluntarily registered and currently has four children enrolled. She provides care after

school between the hours of 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. The four children range in age from 6 to 11 years of age,
so she has a total of 4 points. A parent has asked her to keep 3 year old twins from 9 a.m. until
5:30 p.m. Can Ms. Green enroll the twins and still keep the after school children?

Yes No.

Updated: 6/2016



Updated: 6/2016

Report of Tuberculosis Screening
Children’s Programs

This form is required for the provider, anyone in the home age 18 and over, and any
assistants or substitute providers.

The date the form was completed by a health professional cannot be more than 90 days
prior to the date your application is received; or within 30 days before employment or
having contact with children in a registered home.



REPORT OF TUBERCULOSIS SCREENING
CHILDREN’S PROGRAMS

Standards and child care policy require certain individuals to submit a report indicating the absence of tuberculosis in a
communicable form when involved with (i) children’s facilities regulated by the Department of Social Services or (ii)
legally operating child care programs, excluding care by relatives, that receive Child Care and Development Funds.
Each report must be dated and signed by the examining physician, the physician’s designee, or an official of a local
health department. When signed by the physician’s designee, the form must also identify the physician/physician
practice with which the physician —designated screener is affiliated.

Name:

Address (Street, City, State, Zip Code):

Date of Birth:

). A tuberculin skin test (PPD) is not indicated at this time due to the absence of symptoms
suggestive of active tuberculosis, risk factors for developing active TB or known recent contact
exposure.

2). Tuberculin Skin Test (PPD): Date given: Date read:

Results: mm Positive: Negative:

3). The individual has a history of a positive tuberculin skin test (latent infection). Follow-up
chest x-ray is not indicated at this time due to the absence of symptoms suggestive of active
tuberculosis.

4). The individual either is currently receiving or has completed medication for a positive
tuberculin skin test (latent TB infection) and a chest x-ray is not indicated at this time. The individual
has no symptoms suggestive of active tuberculosis disease.

3). The individual had a chest x-ray on (date) at
(location) that showed no evidence of active tuberculosis. As a result of this chest x-ray and the
absence of symptoms suggestive of active tuberculosis disease, a repeat film is not indicated at this
time.

Based on the available information, the individual can be considered free of tuberculosis in a
communicable form.

Signature/Title: Date:

(MD/designee or Health Department Official)

(Print Name/Title)

Address (including name of practice, if appropriate):

Telephone number:

032-05-420/8 (6/05)



Sworn Statement or Affirmation
for
Child Day Programs

o This form, or a form containing all of the required information, must be completed by
the applicant, assistant (regardless of age), substitute provider, and each adult
household member.

° Only Page 1 of this statement needs to be printed — the remainder is for information
only.

. Additional copies of Page 1 can be printed as necessary.

o You must respond accurately and completely by answering each question for both
within and outside the Commonwealth of Virginia.

o You must respond to all 4 questions.

o The original Sworn Statement of Affirmation must be submitted with your
application.

Updated: 6/2016



DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES Page 1 of 2
(Model Form)

SWORN STATEMENT OR AFFIRMATION FOR CHILD DAY PROGRAMS

Please Print
Last Name First Middle Maiden Social Security Number
Current Mailing Address Street, P.O. Box #, Apt. # City State Zip Code
Name of Licensed/Registered  Street, P.O. Box#, Apt.# City State Zip Code

Approved Facility/Provider

Please respond to all four (4) questions below:

1. Have you ever been convicted of or are you the subject of pending charges of any crime within the Commonwealth
of Virginia? (] Yes (convicted in Virginia) [] Yes (pending in Virginia) I No

[f yes to convicted or pending, specify crime(s):

2. Have you ever been convicted of or are you the subject of pending charges of any crime outside the Commonwealth
of Virginia? [] Yes (convicted outside Virginia) [ ] Yes (pending outside Virginia) 1 No

[f yes to convicted or pending, specify crime(s) and state, or other location:

|93}

Have you ever been the subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect within the Commonwealth of
Virginia? ] Yes (in Virginia) ] No (in Virginia)

4, Have you ever been the subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect outside the Commonwealth of
Virginia? ] Yes (outside Virginia) 7] No (outside Virginia)

If yes, specify state, or other location:

[ hereby affirm that the information provided on this form is true and complete. [ understand that the
information is subject to verification and that making a materially false statement or affirmation is a Class I
misdemeanor.

Signature Date

032-05-0160-09-eng (07/14)



DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES Page 2 of 2
(Model Form)

Explanation of Sworn Statement or Affirmation

Requirement: Sections 63.2-1704, 63.2-1720, 63.2-1721, 63.2-1722, 63.2-1724 and 63.2-1725 of the Code of Virginia (Code)
require individuals to provide a sworn statement or affirmation to a licensing, approving or hiring authority, facility, or agency prior to
licensure, registration, approval, employment, or provision of volunteer services. A sworn disclosure or affirmation is a statement
completed by a person attesting to whether he has ever been: (i) convicted of or the subject of pending charges of any crime within the
Commonwealth or equivalent offense outside the Commonweaith, or (ii) the subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect
within or outside the Commonwealth. Additionally for family day homes, the person affirms if he, or if he knows that any person who
resides in the home, has a sex offense conviction or is the subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect within or outside
the Commonwealth. The statement or affirmation must be made available to the Department of Social Services’ representative.

Who must comply: These individuals must provide sworn statements or affirmations:

®  Applicant upon application for licensure or registration as a child welfare agency, and any subsequent person designated as
applicant, licensee, or registrant; :

®  Agent at the time of application who is or will be involved in the day-to-day operation of the child weifare agency or who is or
will be alone with, in control of, or supervising one or more of the children and any subsequent person designated as agent who
will be involved in the day-to-day operation or will be alone with, in control of, or supervising one or more of the children:

®  Any other adult living in the home of an applicant for licensure or registration or approval as a family day home, or any existing
employee or volunteer, and subsequent employee or volunteer or other adult living in the home;

Operator of family day home requesting approval by family day system;
Person who signs the statement of intent to operate a religiously exempt child day center;
Any person who will be expected to be alone with one or more children enrolled in a religious exempt child day center; and

Any employee or volunteer of a licensed, registered, or approved facility who is involved in the day-to-day operations or who is
alone with, in control of, or supervising one or more children.

Note: Any other child day center or family day home that has not otherwise met these requirements, and applies to enter into a
contract with a local department to provide child care services to clients of a local department, must also submit a sworn statement or
affirmation.

Exception: A parent-volunteer is not required to provide a sworn statement or affirmation. A parent—volunteer is a person
supervising, without pay, a group of children that includes the parent-volunteer’s own child in a program that operates no more than
four hours per day, provided that the parent-volunteer works under the direct supervision of a person who has received satisfactory
background checks as provided for in the Code.

Any person making a materially false statement regarding any such offense is guilty of a Class | misdemeanor.

Further dissemination of the sworn statement information is prohibited other than to the Commissioner’s representative or a federal or
state authority or court in order to comply with an express requirement in the law for that dissemination.

Consequence: If a person required to submit a sworn statement or affirmation (i) fails to submit a sworn statement or affirmation, or
(ii) has been convicted of a barrier crime (specified below), or (iii) has been convicted of any other felony in the last five years, or (iv)
has been the subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect, and the facility refuses to separate that person from employment
or service:

® Licensure, registration or approval of a child day program is prohibited;

® Licensure, registration or approval will be revoked and renewal of a license or registration or religiously exempt status will be
denied;

® Religiously exempt status will be revoked; and

The child welfare agency will not be permitted to receive federal, state or local child care funds.

Exception: A person who wants to operate or to volunteer or work at a facility covered by this regulation, but who is disqualified
because of a criminal conviction, or a criminal conviction in the background check of any other adult living in a family day home
governed by this regulation may apply for a waiver if: 1) a non-barrier crime felony conviction occurred less than five years ago, or 2)
any other adult living in the home of a state regulated family day home applicant or provider has been convicted of not more than one
misdemeanor offense of assault and battery or assault and battery against a family or household member. This other adult may not be
an assistant or substitute provider.



Criminal History Record Name Search Request — FORM #SP 167

The form number is located in the upper left hand corner of the form in small print.

This Virginia State Police (VSP) form #SP 167 is to be completed by the provider/applicant. The original
results of the search must be submitted with your application to DOLP or the contract agency.

Updated: 6/2016

The fee for service is $15 payable to “Virginia State Police”. Personal checks are NOT accepted.
PLEASE NOTE: You may complete the $20.00 combined criminal history and sex offender search,
but that is up to you. You must still complete the Central Registry search.

{ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: The $8.00 checks are for volunteers at non-profit agencies
(little league coaches, reading buddies at the elementary school, churches, etc.). The $8.00 check
should not be completed for day care providers and the form will be returned to you for correction. }
You must complete the form online at www.vsp.virginia.gov. This is the preferred method. Once
the form has been completed online, you must print the copy and mail with your payment. Please
follow the instructions on the VSP website to avoid a delay in processing. You can contact Virginia
State Police Criminal Record Search for inquires, or if you have questions, about the online forms at
VSP Help Desk - (804) 674-2131.

NOTE: Use the 2™ dropdown box “Request Type” when completing the form online.
Choose “Criminal History Search” under this box. Once selected, the $15 fee will

automatically be generated.

Purpose of the request is “Other” — “Child Care Provider” should be written in the blank space.

Form must be notarized and submitted to the Virginia State Police. The address is located on the
bottom right corner of the form. Please make a copy for your records.

The “Name and Mailing Address of Agency, Individual or Agent Making the Request” box should be
completed with your name and address. PLEASE DO NOT complete the reply address as DOLP or
the contract agency, as the state police will not mail them directly to us. The completed name search
request should be returned to you, so make sure the return address is your address. Once you receive
the results, you will then send it to DOLP, or the contract agency as appropriate, with your completed
VR application packet.

INCOMPLETE forms will not be processed and will be returned to you by VSP for additional
actions. This will delay processing.

Criminal history search requests may not be completed by a local agency, an internet search agency,
Child Care Aware, etc. It will not be accepted. Only the original results of a search completed by the
Virginia State Police will be accepted.

Mail your request to the address provided on the form. Once the search has been completed, the
Virginia State Police will mail a copy of the response back to you.

Results completed more than 90 days prior to the date the application is received will not be
accepted.

Once you have received and reviewed the results to ensure they are accurate, you must submit the
originals to DOLP or the contract agency as appropriate.

If you have any questions, please contact DOLP or the contract agency as appropriate.



SP-1n7 (Revised 12411-21012)

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD NAME SEARCH REQUEST

PURPOSE OF THIS REQUEST (Check only one):

[JoomesTic aporTion ] ™NTERNATIONAL ADOPTION
LU NTRY
[C] visa (INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL) [CJ OTHER (please specity)
NAME INFORMATION TO BE SEARCHED:
LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME MAIDEN NAME
RACE SEX | DATEOF BIRTH 50 NUM
/ / (MM/DD/YYYY)

AFFIDAVIT FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION:

I hereby give consent and authorize the Virginia State Police to search the files of the Central Criminal Records Exchange tor a criminal history record and report the results
of such search to the agent or individual authorized in this document to receive same.

Signature

State of 3 County [ City of , to wit:  Subscribed and sworn to before me on:

(MM/DD/YYYY)
My commission expires: My registration # is:

Signature of Notary Public

SIGNATURE OF PERSON MAKING REQUEST:

As provided in Section 19.2-389, Code of Virginig, | hereby request the criminal history record of the individual named above and swear or atfi

rm [ have the consent of the
individual to obtain their record and will not turther disseminate the information received, except as provided by law.

] Signature of Individual Making Request
State of {3 County [J City of s to wit:  Subscribed and swom to before me on:

(MM/DD/YYYY)

My commission expires: My registration # is:
Signature of Notary Pubhic

NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS OF AGENCY, INDIVIDUAL OR AUTHORIZED AGENT MAKING REQUEST:
Mail Reply To.

NAME

ATTENTION

ADDRESS

CcITY STATE  ZIPCODE

FEES FOR SERVICE:

* FEES For Volunteers with Non-Protit Organizations:

D$l)‘ 00 CRIMINAL HISTORY SEARCH [:] $8.00 CRIMINAL HISTORY SEARCH
D $20.00 COMBINATION CRIMINAL HISTORY & SEX OFFENDER SEARCH [:I $16 00 COMBINATION CRIMINAL HISTORY & SEX OFFENDER SEARCH

* To be entitled to reduced pnice, services must be on volunteer basis for a non-profit arganization with a tax p ber. Attach d ion to form which supports volunteer status and include
organtzation's name, add and the tax exemnpt identification ber.

METHOD OF PAYMENT: (Note: Personal Checks Not Accepted)
D Business or Certified check or Money order (payable to Virginia State Police)

CHARGE CARD: [JMasterCard &5 0OR [ Visa (VISA Central Cﬁmf;'l";:c'::zspgtgsmge NF

Mail Request To:

Account Number: - - - Expiration: / P. 0. Box 85076
Richmond, Virginia 23261-5076

Signature ot Cardholder:

[ virginia State Police Charge Account Number: ATTN: NEW FORM

FOR STATE POLICE USE ONLY — DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE
Response based on comparison of name information submitted in request against a master name index maintained in the Central C riminal Records Exchan
{1 No Conviction Data - Does Not Preclude the Existence of an Arrest Record
[J No Criminal Record - Name Search Only [INo Criminal Record — Fingerprint Search
(] No Sex Otfender Registration Record [ Criminal Record Attached

ge only
Purpose code: dc

N
Oo

Date: By CCRE/




SP-167 (Revised 12-01-2012)

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD NAME SEARCH REQUEST

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE CRIMINAL HISTORY REQUEST FORM

Pay By: Certified Check/Money Order or Business check made payable to “Virginia State Police™
OR we accept VISA and MasterCard

Lffective November 1, 2010, the public is hereby placed upon notice that
returned checks or dishonored money orders and/or credit card payment denials
will incur a handling fee of $50 in addition to the amount of the original payment.

Requesting goads or services will be deemed to be acceptance of these terms,
C

B SRt )

Discard these Instructions Prior to Submitting to State Police

Refer to Page 2 of these Form [nstructions tor Pricing Structure and Types of Name Searches Available

If you are interested in obtaining a name search of the “Sex Otfender and Crimes
Against Minors Registry,” refer to the instructions on page 2 of this form.

Personal Checks Not Accepted

ode of Virginia §2.2-4805.

The Form Must be TYPED OR NEATLY HAND-PRINTED.
Complete the Criminal History Record Request by following these instructions:

PURPOSE OF THIS REQUEST:

NAME INFORMATION TO BE SEARCHED:

AFFIDAVIT FOR RELEASE OF
INFORMATION:

SIGNATURE OF PERSON MAKING REQUEST:

NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS OF AGENCY,
INDIVIDUAL OR AGENT MAKING REQUEST:

FEES FOR SERVICE:

METHOD OF PAYMENT:

L EL
Primary reason for request.

Name, race, sex, date of birth, and social security number on whom the criminal record name
search is to be conducted. Providing the social security number is voluntary; however, it is a
screening tool that is used for this request to be processed in a more timely manner. Failure
to provide this number may result in an inability to process this request due to multiple
records with similar names and demographics. Without this additional identifier, the form
may be retumed to the requestor unprocessed, and the applicant will be required to submit a
set of fingerprints along with this request form to determine it this applicant has a criminal
record. Social Security Numbers provided will be used to help identify the proper record and
will be used for no other purpose.

Individual’s signature on which the search is to be conducted. The signature indicating
consent must be notarized for the search to be conducted and mailed to the individual or
authorized agent (if applicable).

Aftidavit must be signed by authorized agent and notarized to receive the search results.

Name and complete mailing address of the individual, agency or authorized agent to receive
processed criminal record scarch must be completed.

Indicate fee that is submitted, based upon type of request. Fees for volunteer of non-prolit
organizations must be accompanied with their tax exempt number.

Indicate method of payment

Mail the Completed SP-167 “Criminal History Record Request” to;

Page 2

Virginia State Police

Central Criminal Records Exchange — NF

P.O. Box 85076
Richmond, Virginia 23261-5076



SP-167 (Revised 12-01-2012)

Instructions For Requesting a Search of the “Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry”

In accordance with Section 9.1-900 - 9.1-918, Code of Virginia, the Central Criminal Records Exchange of the Virginia Department of
State Police is responsible for maintaining the above captioned Registry containing name, personal descriptive/conviction information and
photographs of individuals convicted of specitic sex offenses. The law also provides for the dissemination of sex oftender registrations for
the tollowing purpose: Child/adult care, child minding, public/child protection, daycare services, volunteering services or employment. To
request an inquiry of the Registry, SP-266 “Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry™ name search forms may be obtained by
downloading from the Virginia State Police website: hutp://www.vsp.virginia.gov.

There are two classifications of sex offenders: the sex olfender and violent sex offender. A single name search can be conducted to

determine if'a person is convicted of a violent or sex olfense by completing and SP-266 form. Violent sex offenders can be searched on the
Virginia State Police website: Virginia State Police Sex Oftender and Crimes Against Minors Registry

http://sex-ottender.vsp. virginia.gov/sor/.

Cost Structure and Types of Records Searches Available

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD

COMBINATION CRIMINAL HISTORY/SEX
OFFENDER REGISTRY

COMPLETE SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY

VIOLENT SEX OFFENDERS

NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION
COMBINATION CRIMINAL HISTORY/SEX
OFFENDER REGISTRY

NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION COMPLETE
SEX OFFENDER

Page 3

Wk

$15.00 per search of Criminal History Name File.

$20.00 for a COMBINATION criminal history record name search conducted and a
Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors name search.

$15.00 per search of the Sex Oftender Registry only through the submission of'an
SP-266 “Sex Oftender and Crimes Against Minors” name search request form.

No Charge for searches conducted of violent offender registrations ONLY through
the Virginia State Police website: Virginia State Police Sex Offender and Crimes
Against Minors Registry hup://sex-ollender.vsp.virginia.gov/sor/.

$16.00 for a COMBINATION criminal history record name search conducted for a
“Criminal History Record Name Search” and “Sex Offender and Crimes Against
Minors.” The purpose of this search is for volunteering services for a non-protit
organization. The SP-167 must be submitted attached to documentation explaining
the purpose of'the search is for volunteering services for a non-prolit organization.
The documentation must include the name of the organization, address and the tax-
exempt identification number ot the organization.

$8.00 for each name search of the Sex Offender Registry conducted for individuals
volunteering for a non-protit organization. The SP-167 must be submitted attached to
documentation explaining the purpose of the search is for volunteering services for a
non-profit orgunization. The documentation must include the name of the
organization, address and the tax-exempt identification number of the organization.



Criminal History Record/Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Search Form — FORM #SP 230

The form number is located in the upper left hand corner of the form in small print.

This Virginia State Police (VSP) form #SP 230 is to be completed by your assistants, substitute providers
and/or anyone else in your home age 18 or over. The original results of the search must be submitted with
your application to DOLP or the contract agency.

Updated: 6/2016

The fee for service is $15 payable to “Virginia State Police”. Personal checks are NOT accepted.
PLEASE NOTE: You may complete the $20.00 combined criminal history and sex offender search,
but that is up to you. You must still complete the Central Registry search.

{ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: The $8.00 checks are for volunteers at non-profit agencies
(little league coaches, reading buddies at the elementary school, churches, etc.). The $8.00 check
should not be completed for day care providers and the form will be returned to you for correction.}
You must complete the form online at www.vsp.virginia.gov. This is the preferred method. Once
the form has been completed online, you must print the copy and mail with your payment. Please
follow the instructions on the VSP website to avoid a delay in processing. You can contact Virginia
State Police Criminal Record Search for inquires, or if you have questions, about the online forms at
VSP Help Desk - (804) 674-2131.

NOTE: Use the 2™ dropdown box “Request Type” when completing the form online.
Choose “Criminal History Search” under this box. Once selected, the $15 fee will

automatically be generated.

Purpose of the request is “Child Care”.

Signature of Person Making Request - You, The Provider must sign, print and date.

Write your name and address in the section marked “Name & Mailing Address of Agency, Individual
or Authorized Agent Making Request”. PLEASE DO NOT complete the reply address as DOLP or
the contract agency, as the state police will not mail them directly to us. The completed name search
request should be returned to you, so make sure the return address is your address. Once you receive
the results, you will then send it to DOLP, or the contract agency as appropriate, with your completed
VR application packet.

INCOMPLETE forms will not be processed and will be returned to you for additional actions. This
will delay processing.

Mail your request to the address provided on the form. Once the search has been completed, the
Virginia State Police will mail a copy of the response back to you.

Criminal history search requests may not be completed by a local agency, an internet search agency,
Child Care Aware, etc. It will not be accepted. Only the original results of a search completed by the
Virginia State Police will be accepted.

Results completed more than 90 days prior to the date the application is received will not be
accepted.

Once you have received and reviewed the results to ensure they are accurate, you must submit the
originals to DOLP or the contract agency as appropriate.

If you have any questions, please contact DOLP or the contract agency as appropriate.



SP-230{Rev 12-0-2012)

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD/SEX OFFENDER AND CRIMES AGAINST MINORS REGISTRY SEARCH FORM
Virginia State Police
CCRE - Attention New Form
P.O. Box 85076
Richmond, Virginia 23261-3076

D VIRGINIA PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Mail Request To:

PURPOSE OF THIS REQUEST (Check only one):

[] CHILD CARE [J INTERNATIONAL ADOPTION COUNTRY:
[C] DOMESTIC ADOPTION [ FOSTER CARE

] aDULTCARE [0 emPLOYMENT

[ NURSING HOME OR HOME HEALTH [] OTHER (Please Specity)

NAME TO BE SEARCHED:

LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME MAIDEN NAME

RACE SEX | DATEOFBIRTH s ITY NUM
(MM/DD/IYYYY)

I certity [ am entitled by law to receive the requested record and that the record provided shall be used only for the screening of the current
or prospective employees. [ understand that further dissemination of Criminal History Records or their use for purposes not authorized by
law is prohibited and constitutes a violation punishable as a class 1 or class 2 misdemeanor. 1f[ am an employer or prospective employer,

I have obtained the written consent on whom the data is being obtained, and have personally been presented the same person’s valid
photo-identification.

Date of Request: (MM/DD/YYYY)

Signature of Person Making Request: Printed Nume;

NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS OF AGENCY, INDIVIDUAL OR AUTHORIZED AGENT MAKING REQUEST:

Mail Reply To:
NAME

ATTENTION

ADDRESS

arny SLA[E JPCODE

FEES FOR SERVICE:

FEES: * FEES For Volunteers with Non-Profit Organizations:
D $15 00 CRIMINAL HISTORY SEARCH D $8 00 CRIMINAL HISTORY SEARCH
D $20 00 COMBINATION CRIMINAL HISTORY & SEX OFFENDER SEARCH D $16.00 COMBINATION CRIMINAL HISTORY & SEX OFFENDER SEARCH

* To be ennitled to reduced price, services must be on volunteer basis for a non-profit organization with a tax exempt ber. Attach d
status and include organization's name, address, and your tax exempt tdenhfication by

to form which supports volunteering

METHOD OF PAYMENT: (Note: Personal Checks Not Accepted)

CHARGE CARD: D MasterCard %  OR I:] visa VISA [:] Certified Check or Money Order (attached, payable to Virginia State Police)
Account Number: - - - I:I Virginia State Police Charge Account Number:
Expiration Date: /

—_—

Signature of Cardholder:

FOR STATE POLICE USE ONLY — DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE
Response based on comparison of name information submitted in request against a master name index matntained in the Central Criminal Records Exchange

only.
[ No Conviction Data — Does Not Preclude the Existence of an Arrest Record Purpose code: r_—] C
N

(] No Criminal Record — Name Search Only (L] No Criminal Record - F ingerprint Search D

DO

[ No Sex Oftfender Registration Record (] Criminal Record Attached

Date By CCRE/




$P-230 (Rev. 12-01-2012)

Instructions for completing the Criminal History Record/Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Request Form

PURPOSE OF THIS REQUEST:

NAME TO BE SEARCHED:

NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS OF
AGENCY, INDIVIDUAL OR AUTHORIZED
AGENT MAKING REQUEST:

FEES FOR SERVICE:
METHOD OF PAYMENT:

(Please read the following General Instructions)

Check type of name search(es) requested for Criminal History Search. Dissemunation ot criminal history records

are processed in accordance with Section 19 2-389, Code of Virginig, governing the program tor which the search
is requested,

Type the full name (last, first middle [no initials] and maiden name (if applicable), sex, race, date of birth, and
complet address of person whose name is to be searched against the master criminal name file and/or the Sex
Ottender and Crimes Against Minors Registry. Note: Signature of person making request is required.

Providing the social security number is voluntary; however, it is a screening tool that is used for this request to be
processed in a more timely manner. Failure to provide this number may result in an inability to pracess this
request due to multiple records with similar names and demographics. Without this additional identitier, the form
may be returned to the requestor unprocessed, and the applicant will be required to submit a set of fingerprints
along with this request form to determine if this applicant has a crimtnal record. Social Security Numbers
provided will be used to help identity the proper record and will be used for no other purpose.

Agency, Individual or Authorized Agent Making Request: Your agency identitication serves as the mailing label
for the State Police to retum the search results. This information s also reviewed to ensure requestor is statutorily
entitled to use this torm to request a criminal name search.

Indicate the fee for the service requested.

Method of Payment: Certitied Check, Money Order, Company/Business check, MasterCard or Visa.
For charge account: provide charge account number issued by Virginia State Police.

Ffective November 1, 2010, the public is hereby placed upon nutice that returned chiecks or dishonored
muoney orders and/or credit card payment deninls will incur # handling fee of $50 in addition to the amnunt

of the original puyment. Requesting gonds or services will be deemed to be aceeptance of these terms.
Code of Virginia §2.2-4805,

Mailing Instructions:

Mail to:

Virginia State Police

CCRE - Attention: New Form
P.O. Box 85076

Richmond, Virginia 23261-5076




Updated: 6/2016

Virginia Department of Social Services
Child Protective Services (CPS)

Central Registry Release of Information Form

To be completed by applicant, any assistant, any substitute provider, each adult household
member (ages 18+ years), and each child ages 14 — 17.

The processing cost for each form is $10.00.

You must send a money order, company check, or cashier’s check made payable to:
Virginia Department of Social Services. Personal checks and cash will not be accepted.

This form must be notarized! Please sign the form in the presence of an official Notary Public.

Please READ all instructions carefully! The form must be completed in its entirety or it will be
returned to you.

DO NOT use whiteout on the form. Simply mark through any mistakes and initial.
DO NOT use old forms. It will be returned to you, which will delay the process.
DO NOT leave any blank spaces. If the answer to any question is none, write “N/A”.

Write YOUR NAME AND ADDRESS in the “Mail Search Results To” Section. The results
should come back to you!

Your name and address should be written in Part I. Remember to put your full middle name
and your children’s full, middle and last name(s).

Purpose of the search - Babysitter/Family Day Care.
The parent’s signature is required to be notarized for any child 17 years of age or younger.

DO NOT mail your CPS request forms to DOLP/Voluntary Registration for processing. Mail
your search request to:

Virginia Department of Social Services
801 East Main Street, 6" Floor, OBI Search Unit
Richmond, Virginia 23219-2901

Numbers to call if you have not received your results within 30 business days:
804-726-7567
804-726-7544
804-726-7549

Results completed more than 90 days prior to the date the application is received will not be
accepted.

You must submit your original RESULTS to DOLP or contract agency with your application
for each individual after OBI Search Unit has processed your request.



VA Department of Social Services Central Registry Release of Information Form
Office of Background Investigations — Search Unit

801 East Main Street, 6" Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-2901
Search Fee $10.00

; INSTRUCTIONS

Purpose

The Virginia Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry is mandated by the Virginia Child Protective Law and contains
the names of individuals identified as an abuser or neglector in founded child abuse and/or neglect investigations
conducted in the state of Virginia. The findings are made by Child Protective Services staff in local departments of
social services and are maintained by the Virginia Department of Social Services. Legal mandates for the Virginia

Department of Social Services to provide a Central Registry and a mechanism for conducting searches of the registry
are found in § 63.2-1515 of the Code Virginia.

Read all instructions before completing the form: (Incomplete forms will be returned)

1. Answer all questions completely and accurately by printing clearly in black ink or typing your answers. Failure
to complete or print clearly may delay or deny your request. Given the nature of the form and the actions to
be taken when received, the Office of Background Investigations shall not accept forms that have been
altered in any fashion. Forms that contain strike outs, correction tape or white-out will be returned.

2. If a middle name is an initial, indicate “initial only” otherwise, enter a full middle name given at birth.

3. For “other names used" list all previous names; nick names, all previous married names, legal name changes,
changes due to adoption, etc. Circle appropriate titie description on the form.

4. If the answer to any question is none, write "N/A,

5. Sign the Central Registry Release of Information Form in the presence of an official Notary Public. Each
request form must be notarized. Only original signatures will be accepted. No copies of the form will be accepted.

6. A $10.00 fee is charged for each search. Payment must accompany search forms. Only money orders,
company/business checks, or cashier checks will be accepted. (If multiple requests are mailed together, payment
may be combined on in one money order, company/business check, or cashier's check.

(ex. 4 requests at $10.00 each will total $40.00). A $50 fee will be charged for all returned checks.)

All money orders, company/business checks, or cashier checks should be made payable to:
Virginia Department of Social Services.

Personal checks and cash will not be accepted.

7. For agencies and facilities that require several searches per year, an agency code will be assigned to expedite
processing of the search requests.

8. If additional space is needed to complete the form (ie. providing information on addresses, spouses, and children)
attach an 8x11 sheet sheet of paper along with your form to be mailed.

9. Search results are not transferable and are not considered official beyond the requesting agency or individual.

10. Mail your completed form and additional sheets (if used) to:

Virginia Department of Social Services

Office of Background Investigations - Search Unit
801 East Main Street, 6th Floor

Richmond, VA 23219-2901

032-02-0151-12-eng (08/15)



VA Department of Social Services
Office of Background investigations — Search Unit
801 East Main Street, 6" Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-2901

Central Registry Release of Information Form

Search Fee $10.00

Purpose of Search, Checkone:  [JAdam Walsh Law [JAdoptive Parent (] Babysitter/Family Day Care

OO CASA [J Children's Residential Facility [ Custody Evaluation [J Day Care Center [ Foster Parent
O Institutional Employee [0 Other Employment [J School Personnel [ Volunteer (] Other

MAIL SEARCH RESULTS TO: Agency, Individual or Authorized Agent Requesting Search

Name

Payment/FIPS Code:
+ (Use only if assigned by OBI-CRU}
Address i
I[ City State Zip
! Contact Name Tel.# Ext
i = Mandatory if agency code
| Contact E-Mail has been assigned

PARTI:. DETAILS OF INDIVIDUAL WHOSE NAME MUST-BE SEARCHED. ~

{ Last Name First Name Full Middle Name — (given at blrth) No inltlals
| {if middle name is an initial, indicate "Initial Only™)

._ f.\._

Maiden Name (last name before marriage) | Sex Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) Race
| O ™Male [] Female
Driver's License Number or ID #— Sacial Security Number Other names used; nicknames, legal names (refer to instruction page)]
Current Address (Include Street # and Apt #) City State Zip
Applicant’s Prior Addresses
Include Street # and Apt # City State |Zip Start Date (MM/YY) | End Date (MM/YY)

| Marital Status [] Single [JMarried [] Divorced [QWidowed ] Partner
If married, list current spouse. If previously married, list all previous spouses. If you have never been married, write 'N/A'.

| Last Name First Name T Full Middle Name

Date of Birth
| % T h_g.i‘fe" atbirtn) E{en Name | Race Sex (MM/DDIYYYY)

(] mate[] Female

] Male[] Female

' [J Male[] Female |

List all of your chlldren If you have none, write ‘N/A’. Include all aduit children, step and foster children not fivin

g with you.
| Last Name First Name Fult Middie Name Relationship Sex Date of Birth
| {given at birth) {MM/DD/YYYY)

d Male |:] Female

! . DMaIe D Female

MR

d0 Male E] Female

032-02-0151-12-eng (08/15)



VA Department of Social Services Central Registry Release of Information Form
Office of Background Investigations — Search Unit

801 East Main Street, 6" Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-2901
Search Fee $10.00

PART II: CERTIFICATION AND CONSENT FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION 1§ =0

| hereby certify that the information contained on this form is true, correct and complete to the best of my knowledge.
Pursuant to Section 2.2-3806 of the Code of Virginia, | authorize the release of personal information regarding me which
has been maintained by either the Virginia Department of Sacial Services or any local department of social services
which is related to any disposition of founded child abuse/neglect in which | am identified as responsible for such
abuse/neglect. | have provided proof of my identity to the Notary Public prior to signing this in his/her presence.

Signature of person whose name is being searched ; Parent or Guardian signature required for minor
(Sign in presence of Notary) children under the age of 18
ek . PART lll: CERTIFICATE OF ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL. .~ i =
City/County of
Commonwealth/State of
Acknowledged befare me this day of , year
Notary Public Signature Notary Number

My Commission Expires: Moty Seal
PART IV: CENTRAL REGISTRY FINDINGS~COMPLETED BY CENTRAL REGISTRY STAFFONLY ]

1. We are unable to determine at this time if the individual for whom a search has been requested is listed in the Central
Registry. Please answer the following questions and return to the Central Registry Unit in order for us to make a
determination:

Worker: Date:

2. Based on information provided by the Local Department of Social Services, we have determined that

is listed in the Child Abuse/Neglect Central Registry with a
founded disposition of child abuse/neglect. For more detailed information, contact the

Dept. of Social Services in reference to referral phone#
Dept. of Social Services in reference to referral phone#
3. As of this date, based on the information provided, the individual whose name was being searched is NOT
identified in the Central Registry of Child Abuse/Neglect.
Signature of worker compileting search: Date:
OBl Staff Only

032-02-0151-12-eng (08/15)



Acronym List

»  CCA = Child Care Aware

®»  CNI = Child Nutrition, Inc.

= CPS = Child Protective Services

= CPSC = Consumer Product Safety Commission

= CRS = Central Registry Search

= DOLP = Division of Licensing Programs

= DSS = Department of Social Services

= LDSS = Local Department of Social Services

=  MAT = Medication Administration Training

= MCGC — Memorial Child Guidance Clinic

= N/A = Not Applicable

= OBI = Office of Background Investigations

= TB = Tuberculosis

= TPC = The Planning Council

»  USDA = United States Department of Agriculture
=  VACCRNN = Virginia Child Care Resources & Referral Network
=  VDSS = Virginia Department of Social Services

= VR = Voluntary Registration

» VA= Virginia

» VSP = Virginia State Police

WEBSITES

To access resources for childcare in the state of Virginia
http://www.childcareva.com/

To access Licensing information
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/child_care/licensed/fdh/index.cgi

To access VR provider information and application packet
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/child_care/unlicensed/vrfdh/index.cgi

Child Protective Services Search of the Central Registry
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/licensing/vrfdh/intro_page/current_providers/forms/032-02-0151-
11-eng.pdf

Virginia State Police Criminal History Record Search
wwWw.vsp.virginia.gov

Updated: 6/2016



