
THE VIRGINIA CAREGIVERS GRANT PROGRAM 
 
 

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
  

THE CAREGIVER MUST: 
 
1. Provide unreimbursed care for a relative who has a mental or physical impairment; 
2. Have an annual Virginia adjusted gross income of not more than $50,000; 
3. Reside in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and  
4. Provide care to the relative for more than half the calendar year.  
 
Relevant documentation may be requested to verify eligibility.   
 

THE RELATIVE RECEIVING CARE MUST: 
 
1. Require assistance with two or more activities of daily living (ADLs); 
2. Require assistance during more than half the calendar year; 
3. Not be receiving Medicaid-reimbursed long-term care services, except on a periodic or 

temporary basis; and  
4. Reside in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

 
 A licensed physician must certify that these criteria are met.  

 
 

FILING DATES 
 

• The General Assembly did not fund this program for 2002 and 2003.   
 
• Applications will be accepted from February 1, 2005 through May 1, 2005.     
 
• Applications will not be returned to you for additions or corrections.   
 
• If you have not yet filed your 2004 income tax return, please DO NOT submit this 

application until a copy of your tax return is available. 
 
• There is no appeal process, per Virginia statute.  
 

 
For additional information, please call the Virginia Department of Social Services, 

Caregivers Grant Program toll-free number at 1-877-648-2817. 



HOW TO APPLY FOR A VIRGINIA CAREGIVERS 
GRANT 

 
 

 
1. Read the ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS to determine if you qualify.   
 
2. Be certain that both the caregiver and the relative meet ALL the criteria.   
 
3. Fill in the blanks in Sections I, II, and IV on the application.  Answer all the questions 

and check all the appropriate boxes.  Do not leave any blanks.  If you do not 
submit the required information, or if the application is incomplete, we will be unable 
to approve your application.  

 
4. Attach a copy of your Virginia 2004 tax return, including a copy of your W-2 form. 
 

a. If you have not yet filed your taxes, please do not submit the application 
until your taxes have been filed so that you can attach a copy.  

b. If you are not required to file a tax return, please state the reason on page 2, 
section IV, question 4. 

 
5. Take the application to your physician and ask him or her to complete Section III.   

(You may wish to provide him or her with a copy of the DEFINITIONS.)    
 
6. Sign and date the application.  
 
7. Both your signature and the doctor’s signature MUST be an original signature.   

According to Virginia statute, we cannot accept faxed or photocopied signatures. 
 
8. Mail the signed application, with your tax return attached, to:   
 

Virginia Caregivers Grant Program 
VDSS Adult Services Program 
4th Floor, 7 North Eighth Street 
Richmond, VA  23219 

 
9. The application must be postmarked between February 1, 2005, and May 1, 2005.  

Applications that are submitted prior to February 1 or after May 1 will not be 
considered, per Virginia statute.  

 
10. If you have questions or need assistance completing the application, please call your 

local department of social service or your local area agency on aging.  You may also 
call the Virginia Caregivers Grant 24-hour toll-free number at 1-877-648-2817.  
Please leave your name and telephone number, including the area code, and 
someone will call you back.   

 

 
 



DEFINITIONS 
 

MEDICAID-FUNDED LONG-TERM CARE SERVICES 
 

Definitions for Question 3 in Section IV on the Virginia Caregivers Grant 
application. 

 
The following list includes, but is not limited to, services that are defined as 
Medicaid-reimbursed long-term care services.  If the relative for whom you care is 
receiving this type of service through Medicaid, other than on a periodic or temporary 
basis, the caregiver is not eligible for this grant.  (The terms “periodic” and 
“temporary” are defined below.)    

 
• Nursing Facility Services 
• Assisted Living Facility Services 
• Intermediate Care Facilities for Mentally Retarded 
• Long-Stay Hospitals 
• Home- and Community-Based Care Waivers  (This includes the Elderly and 

Disabled Waiver, AIDS Waiver, Mental Retardation Waiver, Consumer-Directed 
Personal Attendant Services Waiver, Technology Assisted Waiver, and the 
Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver) 

• Home Health Services 
• Hospice Services 
• Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)  
• Intensive Rehabilitation Services 

 
“Periodic basis” shall be defined as services received no more than twice per 
week.  For example, a relative receiving care attends Medicaid-funded adult day care 
twice each week. 
 
“Temporary basis” shall be defined as services received continuously for 30 days 
or less and occurring not more than once every three months.  For example, a 
relative receiving care from a family caregiver requires Medicaid-funded personal 
care and rehabilitative services following a bone fracture that lasts for 3 weeks.  In 
this case, the caregiver would continue to be eligible for the grant provided all other 
program criteria are met. 
 
 

DEFINITIONS FOR USE BY PHYSICIAN 
 

Definitions for Section III on the Virginia Caregivers Grant application.   
 
“Needs Help” means whether or not the individual needs help (equipment or human 
assistance) to safely perform the activity. 
 
“Requiring assistance,” for the purposes of the Virginia Caregivers Grant Program, 
means that an individual needs at least the assistance of another person (human 
help only) OR needs at least the assistance of another person and equipment or a 
device (mechanical help and human help) to safely complete the activity OR has the 
activity performed for him or her. 

 



ADL Scoring Options for Bathing, Dressing, Toileting, Transferring, and 
Eating/Feeding.  Please see policy for additional assessment information, 
including scoring options for the assessment of children.   The following scoring 
option does NOT meet the definition of requiring assistance.   

 
 Mechanical Help Only means the individual needs equipment 

or a device to complete the activity, but does not need 
assistance from another human  (d=semi-dependent). 

 
 Human Help Only means the individual needs help from 

another person, but does not need to use equipment in order to 
perform the activity. A need for human help exists when the 
individual is unable to complete an activity due to cognitive 
impairment, functional disability, physical health problems or 
safety.  An unsafe situation exists when there currently is a 
negative consequence from not having help (e.g., falls, skin rash 
or breakdown, weight loss). 
 

 Supervision (Verbal Cues, Prompting).  The individual is able to 
perform the activity without hands-on assistance of another person, but 
must have another person present to prompt and/or remind him or her to 
safely perform the complete activity.  This code should only be used 
when the only way the activity gets completed is through this supervision.  

 
 Physical Assistance (Set-Up, Hands-On Care).  Physical assistance 

means hands-on help by another human, including assistance with set-
up of the activity. 

 
Mechanical Help and Human Help means the individual needs equipment or a 
device and the assistance of another person to complete the activity 
(D=Dependent).   
 
Performed by Others means another person completes the entire activity and the 
individual does not participate in the activity at all (D=Dependent/Totally 
Dependent).   
 
Is Not Performed means that neither the individual nor another person performs the 
activity (D=Dependent/Totally Dependent). 
 
ADL Scoring Options for Continence of Bowel 
 
These three scoring options do NOT meet the criteria for requiring assistance 
for continence of bowel.  

 
 Does Not Need Help.  The individual voluntarily controls the 

elimination of feces (I=Independent). 
 Incontinent Less Than Weekly.  The individual has involuntary 

elimination of feces less than weekly (e.g., every other week) 
(d=semi-dependent).   

 Ostomy - Self-Care.  The individual has an artificial anus 
established by an opening into the colon (colostomy) or ileum 



(ileostomy) and he or she completely cares for the ostomy (d=semi-
dependent). 

 
Incontinent Weekly or More.  The individual has involuntary elimination of feces at 
least once a week.  Individuals who use pads or adult diapers and do not dispose of 
them should be coded here (D=Dependent). 
 
Ostomy - Not Self-Care.  The individual has an artificial anus established by an 
opening into the colon (colostomy) or ileum (ileostomy) and another person cares for 
the ostomy:  stoma and skin cleansing, dressing, application of appliance, irrigations, 
etc.  (D=Dependent/Totally Dependent). 
 
ADL Scoring Options for Continence of Bladder 
 
These three scoring options do NOT meet the criteria for requiring assistance 
with continence of bladder. 

 
 Does Not Need Help.  The individual voluntarily empties his or her bladder 

without help (I=Independent). 
 Incontinent Less Than Weekly.  The individual has involuntary emptying or 

loss of urine less than weekly.  (d=semi dependent). 
 External/Indwelling Catheter or Ostomy - Self-Care.  The individual has a 

urosheath or condom with a receptacle attached to collect urine (external 
catheter); a hollow cylinder passed through the urethra into the bladder 
(internal catheter) or a surgical procedure that establishes an external 
opening into the ureter(s) (ostomy).  The individual completely cares for 
urinary devices (changing the catheter or external device, irrigates as 
needed, empties and replaces the receptacle) and the skin surrounding the 
ostomy.  Individuals who use pads or adult diapers and correctly dispose of 
them themselves should be coded here. (d=semi-dependent). 

 
Incontinent Weekly or More.  The individual has involuntary emptying or loss of 
urine at least once a week.  Individuals who use pads or adult diapers and do not 
dispose of them should be coded here (D=Dependent).   
 
External Device - Not Self-Care.  Individual has a urosheath or condom with a 
receptacle attached to collect urine.  Another person cares for the individual's 
external device.  This code should never be used with individuals who only use pads 
or adult diapers (D=Dependent/Totally Dependent). 
 
Indwelling Catheter - Not Self-Care.  Individual has a hollow cylinder passed 
through the urethra into the bladder.  Another person cares for the individual's 
indwelling catheter  (D=Dependent/Totally Dependent). 
 
Ostomy - Not Self Care.  Individual has a surgical procedure that establishes an 
external opening into the ureter(s).  Another person cares for the individual's ostomy  
(D=Dependent/Totally Dependent).         
 

(Revised 11/7/2001) 



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
2005 VIRGINIA CAREGIVERS GRANT PROGRAM 

APPLICATION 
 
 

The Virginia Caregivers Grant Program, authorized by Senate Bill 910 (1999), provides for an annual 
grant to caregivers who provide assistance to a relative with a mental or physical impairment.  This is a 
yearly grant payment up to $500, which will be paid on or before December 31, 2005, if funds are 
appropriated by the General Assembly.  This application is for care that was provided to a relative in 
the year 2004.  The grant is considered taxable income by the IRS and may be used at the caregiver’s 
discretion.  Both the caregiver and the relative receiving care must meet certain eligibility criteria, and a 
list of those requirements is attached to this application.  APPLICATIONS ARE ACCEPTED BETWEEN 
FEBRUARY 1 AND MAY 1 OF EACH YEAR FOR CARE PROVIDED IN THE PRECEDING CALENDAR YEAR.  
Applications postmarked prior to February 1, 2005, and after May 1, 2005, will not be considered. 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THIS APPLICATION 
 

There are four (4) sections to this application.  All questions MUST be answered for the application 
to be considered complete.  An incomplete application will disqualify you; applications will NOT be 
returned to you for correction.  The caregiver and physician signatures MUST BE ORIGINALS.  
(Copies and/or faxed signatures will not be accepted.)  If you need assistance in filling out this 
application, please contact your LOCAL DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES or your LOCAL AREA 
AGENCY ON AGING.   
 

PLEASE PRINT ALL INFORMATION, EXCEPT YOUR SIGNATURE. 
 

SECTION I:   Information in this section pertains to the CAREGIVER. 
Last Name: 
First Name: Middle Initial: Sex:  
Street Address: 
City: State:  VA Zip Code: 
Area Code:  Telephone: Birth Date: 
Social Security Number: 
How many months in the year 2004 did you care for your relative?   
What is your relationship to the relative for whom you cared?  Please check one of the following boxes.   

Husband    Parent       Grandparent      Sister         
I am the:  

Wife          Child        Grandchild        Brother      
Other:  (Please specify) 

SECTION II:  Information in this section pertains to the RELATIVE receiving care. 
Last Name: 
First Name: Middle Initial: Sex:   
Street Address: 
City: State:  VA Zip Code:   
Area Code:  Telephone: Birth Date 
Social Security Number:   

PLEASE DO NOT 
WRITE IN THIS BOX. 

 

 



 
SECTION III:  Information in this section must be provided by a PHYSICIAN. 
Patient’s Name:   
Primary Diagnosis:   
I certify that I have assessed the above-named individual and found him/her to need assistance with the following activities of 
daily living (ADLs) as checked below, in accordance with the relevant state regulations (see definitions attached.)   

Bathing       Dressing               Bladder Continence     Transferring       
Toileting     Eating/Feeding     Bowel Continence        

Physician’s PRINTED Name: 
Physician’s License #: Physician’s Telephone #: 
Physician’s Signature: Date: 
SECTION IV: This section provides certification about the accuracy of the 

application and the CAREGIVER’S SIGNATURE. 
PLEASE READ STATEMENTS (1) THROUGH (7) BELOW, AND IF YOU AGREE, PUT A CHECKMARK IN THE BOX NEXT TO IT. 

  (1)  I certify that I provided unreimbursed (unpaid) care to my relative for at least six (6) months in the year 2004. 
  (2)  I certify that both my relative and I are residents of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 
  (3)  I certify that the relative for whom I am caring is NOT receiving a Medicaid-reimbursed long-term care service, 

except on a periodic or temporary basis as defined on the attached page.  (Please read definitions on attached page.)   
   (4)  I certify that my adjusted gross income for the year 2004 was less than $50,000.  (This refers to the 

CAREGIVER’S income.)  To verify your income, please check box A or B below.  
 

 IF YOU HAVE NOT YET FILED YOUR 2004 INCOME TAX RETURN, PLEASE DO NOT SUBMIT THIS APPLICATION UNTIL A 
COPY OF YOUR TAX RETURN IS AVAILABLE.  IF THE TAX INFORMATION IS NOT INCLUDED, YOUR APPLICATION WILL 
BE INCOMPLETE AND WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED. 

 

A.     I have attached a copy of my Virginia Income Tax form for the year 2004.  (This is the form you 
file with the Virginia Department of Taxation, NOT a W-2 form.) 

B.     I did not file a Virginia tax return for the year 2004 and do not plan to do so.   
 
If you checked box B above, please explain why you did not file a tax return by marking one of the four boxes below. 

  I only receive Social Security benefits.                     Other: (please specify) 
  I did not work in 2004.  
  My income was too low to file. 

   (5)  I understand that the decision of the Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) regarding this grant is final and 
not open to appeal.   

   (6)  I agree to make available to VDSS, if requested, all relevant and applicable documents used to determine whether I 
meet the requirements for the receipt of this grant, and I agree that VDSS may use all relevant information relating to 
eligibility for the requested grant.  I agree that the documentation submitted cannot be returned to me and remains 
the property of VDSS.   

   (7)  I understand that this application must be filled out completely and accurately, or it will not be considered.  I 
understand that an extension of time cannot be granted, per Virginia statute.   

Signature of Caregiver:   
 

Date:   
 

 

Send the completed application to  
VIRGINIA CAREGIVERS GRANT PROGRAM, VDSS Adult Services Program, 4th Floor, 7 North Eighth Street, 

Richmond, VA  23219.  If you have a question, call toll free 1-877-648-2817. 
 

This application must be postmarked no earlier than February 1, 2005, and no later than May 1, 2005. 

 
 


