Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Countryside Children's Academy
20890 Pidgeon Hill Drive
Sterling, VA 20165
(703) 450-8687

Current Inspector: Whitney McGrath (571) 835-4717

Inspection Date: Sept. 7, 2018

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Technical Assistance:
Center management was reminded the reference checks need to be documented and contain the following information: the date the reference check was conducted, the name of the person contacted, the results and comments from the conversation, and the signature of the person conducting the reference check.

Comments:
On 8/17/2018 a self-reported allegation was received by the Licensing office concerning staff interactions with children. An unannounced focused investigation was conducted today between the hours of 9:00am and 11:10am. Based on record review and interviews, the preponderance of evidence gathered does support the allegation and no violations were cited regarding the self-reported incident. Separate violations were found during the investigation and can be found on the Violation Notice. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at whitney.mcgrath@dss.virginia.gov.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-140-A
Description: Based on record review, the center did not obtain a physical exam for one child within the first 30 days of enrollment. Evidence: Child #1 (date of enrollment: 1/5/2015) file did not contain a physical exam.

Plan of Correction: I typically give parents 10 days to provide this information. I'll start to follow up with families if I have not received the physical form by the required dates.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-60-A
Description: Based on record review, children's records did not contain all required information. Evidence: Child #1 (date of enrollment: 1/5/2015) file did not contain addresses for both emergency contacts, a list of allergies or health problems, or documentation of an annual update.

Plan of Correction: I'm currently working on updated all files to make sure they have all the requirements in one folder. We're also updated shot records, physicals for the children. We'll also create a checklist for the children's files.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-70-A
Description: Based on record review and interview, staff records did not contain all required information. Evidence: Staff #1 file did not contain documentation of two reference checks. Center management states that the reference calls were made, but they did not document the conversations from the phone call.

Plan of Correction: I'll create a reference form with all the required details and we'll start using that when making reference calls.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-240-A
Description: Based on record review, staff did not complete the required child abuse and neglect training by the end of their first day assuming job responsibilities. Evidence: The Recognizing Child Abuse and Neglect training from Staff #1 (DOH: 10/1/2018) was dated as being completed on 8/15/2018.

Plan of Correction: We will make sure that staff start to get this training during their first day.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X