Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
staff of hermes icon

COVID-19 (CORONAVIRUS) UPDATES AND RESOURCES
Our agency is working closely with administration, including the Virginia Department of Health, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, the COVID-19 Taskforce and local partners and stakeholders to activate emergency procedures.

Latest Child Care Guidance
(Under the authority of Executive Order 51, the Commissioner of Department of Social Services is waiving regulation 22VAC40-665-40.N which references the period of time for a redetermination of eligibility for the subsidy program. )

Read More»

Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Community Development Institute - Richmond County
52 Walnut Street
Warsaw, VA 22572
(804) 333-3980

Current Inspector: Lynn Powers (804) 662-9790

Inspection Date: March 14, 2019 , March 28, 2019 and April 11, 2019

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)
63.2 Facilities & Programs.

Technical Assistance:
N/A

Comments:
The licensing inspector completed an inspection in response to a self-reported concern regarding forbidden action by staff. On 3/4/19 and 3/14/19, the Department was notified of an incident that occurred. On 03/14/2019, the licensing inspector was on site from approximately 10:40 AM until 1: 30 PM interviewing staff, conducting observations at the center and reviewing documentation. Additional interviews were conducted on 03/28/2019. On 04/11 /2019, the licensing inspector reviewed policies and procedures. The preponderance of the evidence gathered during the investigation supports areas of noncompliance with the licensing standards related to behavioral guidance, forbidden action and center?s policies. Please complete the 'plan of correction' and 'date to be corrected' for each violation cited on the violation notice and return it to me within 5 business days from the date of receipt. Please specify how the deficient practice will be or has been corrected. Your plan of correction should contain: 1) steps to correct the noncompliance with the standards, 2) measures to prevent the noncompliance from occurring again, and 3) person(s) responsible for implementing each step and/or monitoring any preventative measure(s). If you have any questions about this inspection, please contact the Licensing Inspector, Lynn Powers at (804) 662-9790. The provider?s responses for the ?plan of correction? were not received as of May 3, 2019 and will not appear on this Violation Notice.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-40-E
Description: Based on a review of documentation and interviews, the center did not ensure that the center's policies and procedures regarding acceptable and unacceptable discipline polices were followed. Evidence: 1. The center's policies and procedures regarding discipline were not followed on March 12, 2019 when Staff #1 threatened and yelled at Child A (four years old). 2. On April 11, 2019 the licensing inspector reviewed the center's "CDI HS Guidance and Discipline" policy. The policy stated ?Prohibited methods are as follows: Inappropriate/ Prohibited Actions by Staff: Use of any form of verbal abuse, including profane, sarcastic language, threats, or derogatory remarks about the child or child?s family, or yelling at a child or raising voice, unless a child is in some type of danger, such as running into the street.?

Plan of Correction: Staff #1 is no longer employed by CDI HS. The staff member was immediately told to leave the classroom when the center administration heard her threated the child. Staff #1 resigned on the spot.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-400-B
Description: Based on interviews and documentation review, the center did not ensure behavioral guidance was constructive in nature, or age and stage appropriate. Evidence: During the March 14, 2019 inspection and phone interviews conducted on March 28, 2019, the following was determined: 1. Six staff stated on March 12, 2019, Staff #1 repeatedly yelled at four-year old Child A , when Child A threw a nerf ball at Staff #1 multiple times. A staff member stated?[Staff #1] got angry and said `I told you to stop. I?m not going to tell you again, stop. Hit me again, I?m going to hit you?.? Another staff stated ?[Staff #1] tries to redirect children. She can be loud. In the past she has yelled `sit your butts down in the chair?.? One staff member stated ?[Staff #1] yelled at [Child A]. She said she was going to beat his [expletive 1] and if he hit her again, she?s going to hit him back.? 2. Staff #1 stated in an interview with licensing inspector ?[Child A] threw a ball in my face and then did it again. I asked him twice to stop and said I am not going to ask a third time. I?m not going to lie, I did cuss. I said ?`[Child A], I told your little [expletive 1] to stop throwing a ball in my face.?? 3. Notes from consultant stated that one day during the week of February 25, 2019 through March 1, 2019, the consultant witnessed Staff #1 speak to Child A in a negative tone. Notes stated ?Child A spit at Staff #1 and she stood up and said to him, ??That?s it! You are not going to get to use the Tablet the rest of today??! At this point it became a power struggle, with him hollering at her ??Yes, I am?? and [Staff #1] hollering back ??No you?re not??! The child began to scream and cry.? Engaging in ?power struggles?, yelling, and using profanity is not age and stage appropriate behavior guidance for four year old children.

Plan of Correction: CDI HS has implemented a policy where all staff document concerning behaviors on a ?behavior observation record?. If a child were to hurt a staff member, the staff documents this on a staff incident form. Staff report all concerning behaviors to the parent by phone or in person. The program director keeps a record of the behaviors; and meets with the parents. The child is referred to the local school district once parent permission is obtained. A local mental health agency also observes children and makes recommendations once the observation is complete.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-410-1
Description: Based on interviews of six staff members and documentation review, the center failed to ensure staff did not engage in or make threats of the forbidden a four year old child. Evidence: During the March 14, 2019 inspection and phone interviews conducted on March 28, 2019, the licensing inspector interviewed staff regarding forbidden actions. Various staff members stated the following occurred on March 12, 2019 in the Preschool classroom: 1. ?While I was in the conference room, I heard [Staff #1] get angry and say `I told you to stop. I?m not going to tell you again, stop. Hit me again, I?m going to hit you?. [Staff #1] was still angry and yelled something like, `Damn I have had it??. 2. ?I heard[ Staff #1] say if you throw that ball at me one more time, I?m going to hit you back. I stepped into the classroom and told [Staff #1] she needed to leave the classroom. [Staff #1] started cursing loudly, saying `Damn ball?.? 3. ?On March 12, 2019, [Staff #1] was sitting, taking notes and [Child A] kept throwing a soft ball at [Staff #1]. It made [Staff #1] mad and she said if you don?t stop I?m going to give them a reason to call CPS. Two staff members came into the classroom told [Staff #1] to calm down. [Staff #1] was still upset and started cussing in the classroom. [Staff #1] said `[expletive 1]?.? 4. ?[Staff #1?s] tolerance level is not where it needs to be. She goes to 0-100 in seconds. On Tuesday, we were having a meeting in the conference room and I heard [Staff #1] yell at [Child A]. She said she was going to beat his ass and if he hit her again, she?s going to hit him back. [Staff #1] said it too loud. Everyone heard it. There were children in the classroom. [Staff #1] said it loud and clearly to [Child A], `If you hit me again, I?m going to beat your [expletive 1]??. 5. ?[Staff #1] was loud and yelled a lot. On her last day she said `You are not going to throw that damn ball at me or I?m going to beat your [expletive 1]?. ? 6. ?[Child A] threw a ball in my face and then did it again. I asked him twice to stop and said I am not going to ask a third time. I?m not going to lie, I did cuss. I said [Child A] I told your little [expletive 1] to stop throwing a ball in my face.? 7. The attendance sheet indicated there were 14 children in the Preschool classroom on March 12, 2019.

Plan of Correction: Weekly, monitoring will be conducted by Admin. Staff. A calendar has been created to determine who is monitoring each day. Staff are trained during orientation on the program?s policies and procedures concerning appropriated ways to speak to children.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X