Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Ghidiani Sanchez
12553 Cross Country Lane
Reston, VA 20191
(540) 422-5100

Current Inspector: Whitney McGrath (571) 835-4717

Inspection Date: July 11, 2018

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
63.2 Liability Insurance Disclosure
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies

Technical Assistance:
Had a thorough discussing with the provider regarding recent changes to background check requirements.

Comments:
Today an unannounced renewal study was conducted beginning at 10:15am and ended at 1:30pm. There were 10 children present today with 3 staff. Children were observed finishing a morning snack, leaving to go on a walking field trip to the park, arriving from the park, eating lunch and starting their afternoon nap. Children?s records, staff records, the physical plant and emergency supplies drills were reviewed. Staff records are reviewed annually in the administrative office. Please email me at whitney.mcgrath@dss.virginia.gov with any questions or clarification needed.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-760-B
Description: Based on observation and interview, a first aid kit was not always readily accessible to the caregivers. Evidence: During today's inspection, Assistant #1 and Assistant #2 took the children on a walking field trip to the playground. The provider confirmed that the Assistant's did not bring a first aid kit with them to the playground.

Plan of Correction: I will go buy a smaller one that they can carry with them when they leave the house.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-770
Description: Based on observation and interview, the provider did not have a working batter-operated flashlight available. Evidence: While reviewing emergency supplies, the provider produced a flashlight. When the inspector attempted to turn on the flashlight, it did not work.

Plan of Correction: I'm not sure if I have batteries for it, but I can get them.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-800-B
Description: Based on record review, the provider did not review their emergency preparedness plan at least annually. Evidence: The most recent documented review of the provider's emergency plan is dated 1/2/2017.

Plan of Correction: I am going to print a new form and review my plan.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-830-A
Description: Based on record review and interview, emergency evacuation drills were not practiced monthly. Evidence: The most recently documented fire drill is dated 1/10/2018. The provider stated that they do drills every other month, but they must not have been documented.

Plan of Correction: I will print out a new form and will concentrate on getting it done on those dates.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-960-E
Description: Based on observation, bottles were not labeled with the children's full name and date. Evidence: There were 2 bottles labeled for Child #2 in the refrigerator that did not contain today's date. There were 3 additional bottles that did not contain any names or today's date.

Plan of Correction: We will start doing it.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-100-A
Description: Based on record review, the provider did not obtain documentation of a physical exam within the first 30 days of attendance for one child. Evidence: Child #4 (first date of attendance: 5/29/2015) file did not a physical exam.

Plan of Correction: I'm sure I have it because they have been here a long time. I switched the children's files so I probably misplaced it. If I can't find it I will ask the parents for another copy.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-120-B
Description: Based on record review, caregiver's records did not contain all required information. Evidence: Assistant #1 file did not contain an emergency contact or documentation of two reference checks.

Plan of Correction: I did call her references but I didn't write it down. I will document my calls. I will ask them to give me an emergency contact.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-60-B
Description: Based on record review, children's records did not contain all required information. Evidence: Child #2 file did not contain documentation that the child's age and identity had been reviewed. Child #3 file did not contain a second emergency contact or the families medical insurance policy number. Child #4 file did not contain any local emergency contacts.

Plan of Correction: I will text the parents and let them know the documents and information that I need.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-170-A
Description: Based on record review, the provider did not obtain documentation of a Tuberculosis (TB) screening prior to coming into contact with the children. Evidence: Assistant #2 file did not contain documentation of a TB screening. Assistant #2 is observed working with the children during today's inspection.

Plan of Correction: I know that they already did it but I need to find the form. If I can't find it, I will have them go get a print out of the results from the doctor.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-320-B
Description: Based on observation, a child-resistant protective cover was not used on all unused electrical outlets. Evidence: At the start of the inspection, there was an unused outlet near the humidifier at the children's level that did not have a protective cover.

Plan of Correction: The assistant was using it this morning to recharger her phone. I will check on it that it has been replaced.

Standard #: 63.2-1720.1-B-2
Description: Based on record review and interview, the provider did not obtain a fingerprint background check (eligibility letter) for one caregiver prior to working with the children. Evidence: Assistant #2 file did not contain an eligibility letter that stated whether or not the employee was eligible to be working with children. Assistant #2 was observed working with the children during today's inspection. The provider stated that the Assistant completed their fingerprinting earlier this week.

Plan of Correction: The assistant's eligibility letter arrived during today's inspection.

Standard #: 63.2-1720.1-B-3
Description: Based on record review and interview, the provider did not obtain an out of state central registry (CPS) background for a caregiver that currently resides outside of the state of Virginia. Evidence: Assistant #1's Virginia CPS check confirms that the employee currently resides outside of the state of Virginia. The provider has confirmed that she did not have the employee complete an additional background check for the state that they live in. The provider states that she was unaware that she needed to do an additional background check.

Plan of Correction: We will print the form and get it filled out next week.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X