Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
staff of hermes icon

COVID-19 (CORONAVIRUS) UPDATES AND RESOURCES
Our agency is working closely with administration, including the Virginia Department of Health, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, the COVID-19 Taskforce and local partners and stakeholders to activate emergency procedures.

Latest Child Care Guidance
(Under the authority of Executive Order 51, the Commissioner of Department of Social Services is waiving regulation 22VAC40-665-40.N which references the period of time for a redetermination of eligibility for the subsidy program. )

Read More»

Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Maria Montiel
9212 Honey Creeper Court
Burke, VA 22015
(703) 944-8636

Current Inspector: Karen Dickens (571) 423-6978

Inspection Date: Oct. 1, 2018

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Medication Administration
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies
54.1-3408 Provider must be MAT certified to administer prescription medication.

Technical Assistance:
Reminded the provider of background check requirements for an adult household member that has recently turned 18 years old.

Comments:
Today an unannounced Monitoring inspection took place between 11:15am and 1:00pm. There were 6 children present with the provider for a total of 14 points within the supervision guidelines. The children were observed playing freely, singing songs and eating lunch (spaghetti with meat sauce, banana and milk. A complete inspection of the physical plant, children and staff records, fire drill log, menu, attendance and emergency procedures were observed during this inspection. Thank you for your cooperation. If you have any questions, please email me at whitney.mcgrath@dss.virginia.gov.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-830-A
Description: Based on a review of emergency drills, the provider did not practice an evacuation drill each month. Evidence: The most recent practiced and documented fire drill was dated 4/16/2018.

Plan of Correction: Tomorrow we will start doing it.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-830-B
Description: Based on a review of emergency drills, shelter-in-place procedures were not practiced a minimum of twice per year. Evidence: There is only one shelter-in-place drill that was practiced and documented for 2017.

Plan of Correction: I will start doing them.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-60-B
Description: Based on record review, children's records do not contain all required information. Evidence: Child #1 (date of enrollment: 2/21/2018) file does not contain documentation that the age and identity of the child has been verified by the provider.

Plan of Correction: I think the parents showed it to me and I must have forgotten to fill it out. I will see today and get it fixed.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-240-A
Description: Based on observation, furnishings of the family day home were not maintained in a clean and safe condition. Evidence: The seat cushion of the feeding chair being used by Child #3 has two large tears in it that is causing the inner stuffing to be exposed, making the surface absorbent.

Plan of Correction: I will throw it in the trash. I have another chair that he can use.

Standard #: 63.2-1720.1-B-2
Description: Based on record review and interview, the provider employed a staff member without obtaining fingerprinting results that would confirm the individuals eligibility for the safety and well-bring of children. Evidence: Caregiver #2 (date of hire: 4/16/2018) file does not contain an eligibility letter (fingerprint results). The provider has confirmed that this staff member has not yet completed their fingerprinting.

Plan of Correction: I will make sure she makes an appointment.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X