Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Maria Lozada
7827 Thor Drive
Annandale, VA 22003
(703) 655-0439

Current Inspector: Jessica Willis (571) 352-1453

Inspection Date: Oct. 30, 2019

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition

Technical Assistance:
Provided technical assistance in the following areas:
-Supervision and safety of children
-points per caregiver
-requirements regarding cribs
-record-keeping and documentation requirements

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring inspection was conducted on 10/30/19 between the hours of 9:40 am through 1:10 pm with the provider on site. There were 5 enrolled children and 2 resident children (19 points) with the provider. The children were engaged in the following: toy play, hand washing, eating lunch, and naptime. 5 children's files and 3 caregiver/household member's files were reviewed. The physical space, attendance records, and the Emergency Preparedness Plan were reviewed. An exit interview was conducted with the provider on 11/01/19 from 1:10pm-2:10pm. Areas of non-compliance are identified in the violation notice. Please contact me if you have any questions at jessica.willis@dss.virginia.gov or 571-352-1453.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-890
Description: Based on observation, food brought from home was not labeled in a way that identifies the owner.

Evidence:
Food brought from home for 2 of 5 children was not labeled with the child's name.

Plan of Correction: I will make sure food is in the lunch boxes with their name on them.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-120-B
Description: Based on record review and caregiver interview, one caregiver record did not contain all required information.

Evidence:
1. The record for Caregiver #1 did not contain the following information:
-date of employment
-name address and telephone number of a person to be notified in an emergency

Plan of Correction: I will get the information from her.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-50-A
Description: Based on record review and interview, the family day home has not kept a written record of children in attendance each day.

Evidence:
1. The most recent daily attendance recorded at the family day home was dated 10/25/19.
2. The provider stated she has not filled out the attendance sheet for the current week. (10/28/19, 10/29/19, and 10/30/19)

Plan of Correction: I have done the attendance for this week. I will make sure I fill it in as soon as they get here.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-60-B
Description: Based on record review, 5 children's records were missing required information.

Evidence:
1. The records for Child #1, #3, and #5 did not contain documentation of the child's first day of attendance.
2. The records for Child #1, #3, and #5 did not contain documentation of the address of each custodial parent's place of employment.
3. The record for Child #5 did not contain documentation of the telephone number of the mother's place of employment.
4. The record for Child #5 did not contain the address of two designated persons to contact in case of an emergency if the parent cannot be reached.
5. The record for Child #1 did not contain the name and policy number of the child's medical insurance. The record for Child #5 did not contain the policy number of the child's medical insurance.

Plan of Correction: Child #5 is no longer attending the family day home. Some information has been completed. I will get the rest of the missing information from the parents.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-70-A
Description: Based on record review, 4 of 5 children's parents were not provided in writing all required information before the child's first day of attendance.

Evidence:
1. The record for Child #1, #2, #4, and #5 did not contain documentation of policies for the administration of medications.
2. The record for Child #3 did not contain notification of whether or not there is liability insurance and provisions of the family day home's emergency preparedness and response plan.

Plan of Correction: I will do it today.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-80-C
Description: Based on record review, 5 of 5 children's records reviewed did not contain complete documentation of proof of identification for each child in care.

Evidence: Child #1,#2, #3, #4 and #5 were missing documentation of date and person verifying original proof of identification

Plan of Correction: I did see the birth certificates for all of the children. I will document it in the records.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-90-A
Description: Based on record review and interview, the provider did not obtain documentation that the child has been adequately immunized before the child attended the family day home.

Evidence:
1. Provider stated Child #1 began attending the family day home in March 2019. Documentation of immunizations for Child #1 were not obtained until 9/16/19.

Plan of Correction: I originally had the immunizations, but the parent asked for the copy I had for traveling. They brought me immunizations after their trip but it was updated immunizations and not the copy of the first ones I had. If parents ask for the immunization copy I have, I will make a copy first.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-180-A
Description: Based on record review and interview, the provider did not obtain subsequent tuberculosis screenings for caregivers every two years.

Evidence:
1. The most recent tuberculosis screening for Caregiver #1 available for review was dated 5/23/17.
2. Provider stated Caregiver #1 was absent from the family day home on the day of the inspection due to a scheduled appointment for a chest x-ray.

Plan of Correction: During exit interview, Provider provided documentation that a tuberculosis test had been completed on 5/18/19.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-250-E
Description: Based on observation, Latex gloves were accessible to children under five years of age.

Evidence:
During inspection, provider gave each child an inflated latex glove to play with.

Plan of Correction: The inflated gloves were removed from the children during inspection. Provider stated she will not give them to the kids in the future.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-280
Description: Based on observation, potentially poisonous substances were not stored in areas inaccessible to children.

Evidence:
Cleaning substances and paint were observed in the bottom of an unlocked closet accessible to children in the kitchen area of the family day home.

Plan of Correction: A lock was placed on the closet door which was observed during exit interview on 11/1/19.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-530-B
Description: Based on observation, a crib being used by an infant did not have a tight-fitting bottom cover.

Evidence:
The middle crib was occupied by an infant. The crib sheet was not tight fitting and allowed material to gather on the surface of the mattress.

Plan of Correction: Corrected during inspection.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-540-A
Description: Based on observation, infant high chairs were not used according to manufacturer's instructions.

Evidence:
Child #5 was observed not securely fastened with a safety strap while sitting in a high chair.

Plan of Correction: Corrected during inspection.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-560-A
Description: Based on observation, provider did not provide direct care and supervision to include awareness of and responsibility for each child in care.

Evidence:
1. Child #6 (age 2) bit Child #7 (age 3) on the arm. When Child #7 went to the provider crying, the provider comforted Child #7 but did not demonstrate awareness that Child #7 had been bitten despite Child #7 repeatedly gesturing their arm towards the provider.
2. Child #6 chased Child #4 (age 2) while attempting to bite Child #4 on the back. Provider presented as not aware and did not immediately intervene despite screams from Child #4.
3. Provider inflated latex gloves for each of the children in the family day home to play with. Provider presented as unaware and did not immediately intervene when Child #6 bit into the latex glove, popping the glove, and chewed on the broken pieces of latex.

Plan of Correction: It works better when I follow the schedule and keep the children busy. I am helping the child understand it is not ok to bite. I will not give the gloves to the children.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-570-A
Description: Based on observation, the provider did not ensure that the points per caregiver did not exceed 16 points.

Evidence:
Upon arrival at the family day home, the provider was observed alone with 7 children in the home. 5 children (ages 13 months, 3 years, 2 years, 11 months, and 18 months) were enrolled and in the care of the provider and 2 children (age 2 years and 3 years) were resident children. The total number of points for the 7 children was 19 points with one caregiver. Two caregivers were required.

Plan of Correction: The provider contacted an approved adult who arrived at the family day home during the inspection to assist with supervision.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-600-B
Description: Based on observation, an infant spent more than 30 minutes of consecutive time during waking hours confined in a piece of equipment.

Evidence:
Child #5 (age 11 months) was observed sitting in a baby floor seat, confined from approximately 10:13 am-11:20 am. At 11:20 am, the provider moved Child #5 from the baby floor seat to change Child #5's diaper. Upon changing Child #5's diaper, the provider then immediately placed Child #5 back in the baby floor seat until 12:06 pm.

Plan of Correction: Corrected during the inspection. I have a schedule that I follow with all the kids. I will make sure I follow the schedule so that I don't go over 30 minutes.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X