Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Childtime Learning Center at Harbourside
6300 Harbourside Drive
Midlothian, VA 23112
(804) 739-2282

Current Inspector: Heather Dapper (804) 662-7014

Inspection Date: July 11, 2016 , July 21, 2016 and Sept. 28, 2016

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.

Technical Assistance:
none

Comments:
The licensing inspector conducted an unannounced complaint inspection in response to a complaint that was received by the licensing department on July 1, 2016. The inspection was initiated on July 11, 2016 and completed on 09/28/2016. On July 11, 2016, the inspector was on site from 10:20am to 12:40pm. On July 21, 2016, the inspector was on site from 11:39am to 12:20pm.Interviews with staff were completed, observations were made in the center, and documentation was reviewed.
The preponderance of the evidence gathered during the investigation supports the allegation; therefore, the complaint is determined to be valid. See the violation notice for more details. If you have any questions about this inspection, please contact the licensing inspector at (804) 662-9760.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-410-1
Complaint related: Yes
Description: Based on staff interviews on 7/11/2016 & 7/21/2016, the center did not ensure that actions or threats of physical punishment were forbidden. EVIDENCE: 1. On 7/ 11/2016 Staff #3 stated that on 6/28/2016 Staff #2 grabbed the arms of Child #3 ( 5 years old), and said "If I had you at my house this wouldn't happen!" Afterwards Child #3 told Staff #3 and Staff #5 that Staff #2 "hurt me". The child showed them scratches on both arms. 2. On 7/ 11/2016 Staff #4 stated that Staff #2 was observed putting their balled up fist in the face of Child #3 and saying " I want to put my hands on you something fierce!" 3. On 7/ 21/2016 Staff #5 stated on 6/28/2016 Staff #2 had Child #3 in a corner with both hands on Child #3's arms. Staff #5 stated that Staff #2 stated " You need to stop, I am going to put my hands on you!" 4. On 7/ 21/2016 Staff #5 stated that Staff #2 would get in kids' face and say " I wish I had you for one day, I would put my hands on you!"

Plan of Correction: Not available online. Contact Inspector for more information.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-410-2
Complaint related: Yes
Description: Based on staff interview on 7/11/2016 & 7/21/2016, the center did not ensure that children were not confined in any space where the child cannot freely exit. EVIDENCE: 1. On 7/ 11/2016 Staff #3 stated that Staff #2 put Child #1 (4 years old), Child #2 ( 6 years old), Child #4 (2 years old), and Child # 5 (3 years old) into cribs as punishment. Staff #3 stated that Staff #2 told the children " If you want to act like a baby then I am going to treat you like a baby!" 2.On 7/ 11/2016 Staff #4 stated that Staff #2 put Child #4, Child #5 and Child #2 in a crib in the Infant Room as a form of discipline. Staff #4 stated that Staff #2 told the children " If you want to act like a baby, then I am going to treat you like a baby!" 3. On 7/ 21/2016 Staff #5 stated that Staff #2 put Child #2, Child #5 and Child #3 in cribs in the Infant Room.

Plan of Correction: Not available online. Contact Inspector for more information.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X