Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
staff of hermes icon

COVID-19 (CORONAVIRUS) UPDATES AND RESOURCES
Our agency is working closely with administration, including the Virginia Department of Health, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, the COVID-19 Taskforce and local partners and stakeholders to activate emergency procedures.

Latest Child Care Guidance
(Under the authority of Executive Order 51, the Commissioner of Department of Social Services is waiving regulation 22VAC40-665-40.N which references the period of time for a redetermination of eligibility for the subsidy program. )

Read More»

Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Kiddie Kompany Day Care Center, Inc.
2507 Hungary Road
Henrico, VA 23228
(804) 266-9126

Current Inspector: Kelly Adriazola (804) 662-9760

Inspection Date: Oct. 27, 2016 , Nov. 9, 2016 and Nov. 16, 2016

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
63.2 Child Abuse and Neglect
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Technical Assistance:
none

Comments:
The licensing inspector conducted an unannounced complaint inspection in response to a complaint that was received by the licensing department on 10/12/2016 regarding allegations of abuse. The inspection was initiated on 10/27/2016 and completed on 11/16/2016. On 10/27/2016, the inspector was on site from 11:15am to 1:50pm. Interviews were held off site on 11/09/2016. On 11/16/2016 the inspector was on site from 9:20am to 10:15am. Interviews with staff were completed, observations were made in the center, and documentation was reviewed. The preponderance of the evidence gathered during the investigation does not support the allegation; therefore, the complaint is determined to be not valid. Though not a part of the original complaint, there were violations found during the inspection regarding the Code of Virginia, center policies and behavior guidance. See the violation notice for more details. If you have any questions about this inspection, please contact the licensing inspector at (804) 662-9760.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-400-B
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on staff interview on 10/27/2016, the center did not ensure that the behavior guidance applied was age and stage appropriate. EVIDENCE: Staff #4 stated that on 10/05/2106 while on the playground Child #1, who is four years old was in "time out" on the bench for 20 minutes. The recommended time frame for "time out" is one minute per year of age.

Plan of Correction: The staff person was dealing with the child's outbursts and temper fits. This instance was not an ordinary time out event. The child's temper fit and outbursts were creating an unsafe environment for himself and other children. This was a way for alleviating the situation so she could keep him close and safe. She had him sitting on the bench near her for the time it took for him to calm down and think about his actions. We have discussed the time out protocols and revisited the one minute for each year of a child's age. Typically, we manage behavior by moving a child from one center activity to refocus attention. on this day and unique situation the staff made a judgement call. We will continue to work with staff to always adhere to our policy of behavior redirection and appropriate use of our procedures.

Standard #: 63.2-1509-A
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on staff interview on 10/27/2016 & 11/09/2016, the center did not ensure that when there is a reason to suspect that a child is an abused or neglected child, shall report the matter immediately to the local department of the county or city wherein the child resides or wherein the abuse or neglect is believed to have occurred or to the Department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline. EVIDENCE: 1. On 10/27/2016 Staff #1 stated that 10/06 Staff #2 was filling in for her and received a telephone call from the grandmother of Child#1stating allegations that someone at the center had put a mark on Child #1. The grandmother sent photos of injuries to Staff #2 via text message. 2. On 10/27/2016 Staff #3 stated that on 10/06 she was told that the grandmother of Child #1 called and stated that a teacher hit him. 3. On 11/9/2016 Staff #2 stated that at 2:30pm on 10/06/2016 she received a call from the grandmother of Child#1 stating that Child #1's parents found a mark on the back of his ear, he was acting afraid and stated that his teacher hit him.

Plan of Correction: The parent called CPS after finding a mark on their child. The center was not made aware of the parent complaint nor received any calls from them regarding any injury nor were we aware of any marks on him at the center, during the entire time the child was enrolled. After receiving a call from the grandmother on the next day, we began to investigate the issue. We immediately tried to phone the parents and neither parent would answer our call of call us back. The center staff did not observe any marks on the child and the parent was told on that evening that the child's behavior had been very challenging on that day (Wednesday). After the grandmother's first call and text on Thursday, we tried to talk to her by phone and she told us that we had the wrong number, even though it was the same number she had sent the text earlier that afternoon. At this point we could not verify the grandmother's accusation and erratic behavior, or contact the parent so there was no clarity as to what the center should do in response to this incident. No injury was observed by the center staff and the child was not injured by any of our staff. On Wednesday evening, this situation was further complicated due to the director falling unconscious and being rushed to the hospital for testing. She was admitted and underwent testing and observation for 24 hours. The director was released to go home on bed rest. The staff person filling in for her during her emergency in the office, were two family members who were not aware of the protocol for reporting, especially in a situation that was so unclear. In every monthly publication we give the parents, we ask that if parents have questions or concerns, to contact the center immediately so we can immediately address any issue. This request for parent communication is on just about every piece of pare we give to any parent. When the director returned to work , and was appraised of the situation she was not sure of what action to take based on the odd behavior of the grandmother, no communication from the parent and her confidence that no staff abused any child in the center. It is our understanding that the only reason that we are being cited for this "failure to report" is due to the fact that the grandmother brought up questions about the child. We were supposed to report on the suspicion of a parent making a report even though the parent never called us to lodge any complaint or report an issue. The complaint is unfounded and no abuse ever occurred and the center. In our 37 year history, this incident is the very first time a family has lodged a complaint with licensing about any aspect of our center. We take every question and concern a parent may have very seriously as we address any issue of the smallest type as soon as possible to continue our history of providing care for all types of children. It is well known that many children have been successful here, when they have been asked to leave two or three centers before enrolling here.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X