Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Countryside Children's Academy
20890 Pidgeon Hill Drive
Sterling, VA 20165
(703) 450-8687

Current Inspector: Whitney McGrath (571) 835-4717

Inspection Date: Sept. 28, 2017

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
63.2 Facilities and Programs..
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Technical Assistance:
Discussed sheets pulled tight in the children's cribs, and food from home being provided to the children, staff qualifications and model forms that can be used in staff and children'sfiles. It was also encouraged to trim a black tarp underneath the gate between the two playgrounds.

Comments:
Today an unannounced Monitoring Inspection took place between the hours of 1:25pm and 5:15pm. At the start of the inspection there were a total of 46 children with 9 staff; good ratios in all 5 classrooms. A total of five children?s files and all staff files were reviewed. The children were observed eating snacks, taking naps and coming in from school. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at whitney.mcgrath@dss.virginia.gov. Thank you for your cooperation during this inspection.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-130-B
Description: Based on record review, the center did not obtain additional immunizations once every six months for children under the age of two. Evidence: Child #1 date of birth (DOB) is 04/08/2015 and the most recent immunizations are dated 07/20/2016. Child #2 DOB is 09/18/2013 and the most recent immunizations are dated 01/24/2014. Updated immunizations should have been obtained at each child's second birthday.

Plan of Correction: Our online application will help us to communicate with parents when we need updated forms.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-160-C
Description: Based on record review, the center did not obtain a negative Tuberculosis (TB) Screening for staff every two years. Evidence: Staff #2 TB Screening expired on 03/17/2017

Plan of Correction: This staff member has gotten her screening, the documentation was misplaced. I will have her get another copy.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-50-A
Description: Based on observation, a child's information was not kept confidential. Evidence: A child's allergy information was posted publicly in the Toddler classroom.

Plan of Correction: We will create a flap that will keep the information covered.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-60-A
Description: Based on record review, children records did not contain all of the required information. Evidence: 1) Child #1 file was missing a start date and documentation of viewing proof of child's identify and age. 2) Child #2 file is missing phone numbers and addresses for emergency contacts, authorized pick ups, a physical and documentation of viewing proof of child's identify and age. 3) Child #3 file is missing a start date, a physical and documentation of viewing proof of child's identify and age. 4) Child #4 file is missing a start date, immunizations, physical and documentation of viewing proof of child's identify and age 5) Child #5 file is missing addresses of emergency contacts and documentation of viewing proof of child's identify and age.

Plan of Correction: I will review all of the children's files and requesting all missing information from the children's parents.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-70-A
Description: Based on record review, staff records did not contain all of the required information. Evidence: 1) Staff #1 file is missing an emergency contact and documentation of education that qualifies them for the position. 2) Staff #2 file is missing documentation of education that qualifies them for the position. 3) Staff #4 file is missing an emergency contact, documentation of two reference checks, and documentation of orientation of job duties. 4) Staff #5 is missing a second reference check.

Plan of Correction: References will be rechecked and I will use State model forms. I will get the teachers transcripts or degrees. I will make sure there are lead teachers in all the classrooms while other teachers work on getting their CDA's. I will get all teacher's emergency contacts on file.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-270-A
Description: Based on observation, areas of the center were not maintained in a safe and operable condition. Evidence: Areas of the Preschool playground were observed to be cracked and rusting. The water fountain on the Preschool playground does not work.

Plan of Correction: I will contact the playground equipment company to come out and see the playground. We will order the parts that need to be replaced.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-280-B
Description: Based on observation, hazardous substances were not kept in a locked place. Evidence: Cleaners were observed in unlocked cabinets in the Infant, Toddler and Two's classrooms. Toilet cleaner was observed on the floor next to the toilet in the Toddler classroom.

Plan of Correction: We will discuss locking cabinets with the teachers. If they need additional lock boxes we can get it for them. We will remove the toilet cleaner from the bathroom.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-290-3
Description: Based on observation, outlets did not have protective covers. Evidence: Three outlets in the lobby did not have protective covers.

Plan of Correction: This was fixed during the inspection.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-340-A
Description: Based on observation and interview, the center was not able to provide care and protection for a child. Evidence: There is currently a child enrolled that has been diagnosed with febrile seizures. The child's file contains doctor's written instructions to provide medication for the child should a fever present. The center does not have medication on site to be able to administer.

Plan of Correction: The child's guardian was spoken to at pick up during the time of the inspection. Medication will be provided for the child.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-500-A
Description: Based on observation, children's hands were not washed after eating. Evidence: An infant was observed eating puffs in her highchair for snack. When the child was finished eating, her hands were not washed prior to returning to play.

Plan of Correction: We have the teachers being retrained by an Infant/Toddler specialist. We will have a conversation with all of our staff about hand washing procedures at our staff meeting.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-550-M
Description: Based on record review, the centers injury reports did not contain all of the required information. Evidence: Three out of six reviewed injury reports did not contain the date and time that the parents were notified of their child's injury.

Plan of Correction: We will make sure the teachers are filling in all the information on the incident forms. Director will also double check that the forms are filled out completely.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X