Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

KinderCare Learning Center #000740
5124 Woodmere Drive
Centreville, VA 20120
(703) 815-0017

Current Inspector: Shahana Green (571) 423-6735

Inspection Date: April 12, 2018

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.

Comments:
The Licensing Inspector conducted an unannounced complaint inspection from 7:37am to 9:00am and 9:45am-12:45pm in response to a allegation received by the licensing office on April 10, 2018. Based upon the documentation reviewed, the information gathered during this investigation supports the allegations, so the complaint is determined to be valid for the Toddler classroom being out of ratio. Additional violations were found during the investigation. If you have any questions you may contact me at Stacy.Doyle@dss.virginia.gov 571-835-0386.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-C
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on review of written attendance record and staff times recorded, the center did not maintain the required supervision ratio of staff to children when children are in mixed age groups. Evidence: 1. On April 10, 2018, Infant A, Infant B and the Toddler Classroom were combined from 6:20am-6:30am. Staff A was in the classroom with 5 children and was out of ratio. The ratio is one staff member for four children with these age groups combined. 2. On April 10, 2018, Infant B and the Toddler Classroom were combined from 6:30am-7:20am. Staff B was in the classroom with 5 children from 6:30am-6:50am, 6 children from 6:50am-7:05am, 7 children from 7:05am-7:20am.

Plan of Correction: My plan will be to remind staff to sign in and out when they are working in a classroom. I will make sure we have plenty of staff to cover the classroom.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-D
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on review of written attendance record and staff times recorded, the center did not maintain the required supervision ratio of staff to children during the designated rest period. Evidence: 1. On April 10th, 2018, the Toddler Classroom was over ratio during the rest period from 1:00pm to 3:00pm. The classroom had 11 children from 1:00pm to 1:15pm with one staff only and 12 children from 1:15pm to 3:00pm with one staff only. The ratio during the rest period is 1 staff member with 10 Toddler children. Staff H covered the rest period 1:00pm - 2:00pm and Staff G covered the rest period 2:00pm-3:00pm.

Plan of Correction: My plan will be to remind staff to sign in and out when they are working in a classroom. I will make sure we have plenty of staff to cover the classroom.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-E-1
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on review of written attendance record and staff times recorded, the center did not maintain the required supervision ratio of staff to children for children in the Infant B classroom. Evidence: 1. In the Infant B classroom, Staff D was over ratio from 7:50am-8:25am. The details are as follows: 7:50am-7:55am there were 5 children with one staff, 7:55am-8:25am there were 6 children with one staff. The ratio is one staff member for every four children.

Plan of Correction: My plan will be to remind staff to sign in and out when they are working in a classroom. I will make sure we have plenty of staff to cover the classroom.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-E-2
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on review of written attendance record and staff times recorded, the center did not maintain the required supervision ratio of staff to children for children 16 months to two years old. Evidence: 1. April 10th, 2018, the Toddler classroom was over ratio from 7:30am-8:00am. The details are as follows: From 7:30am-7:35am, Staff B had 6 children, from 7:35am-7:45am staff B had 7 children and 7:45am-8:00am Staff B had 8 children. The Ratio is one staff member for every five children. 2. April 10th, 2018, the Toddler classroom was also over ratio from 9:00am-10:09am with 11 children. The detail is as follows: From 9:00am-9:50am and with staff H and staff G only and 12 children from 9:50am-10:09am with Staff H and Staff G only.

Plan of Correction: My plan will be to remind staff to sign in and out when they are working in a classroom. I will make sure we have plenty of staff to cover the classroom.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X