Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

LeafSpring School at Charter Colony
825 Charter Colony Parkway
Midlothian, VA 23114
(804) 594-0561

Current Inspector: Lynn Powers (804) 662-9790

Inspection Date: Nov. 6, 2018 , Nov. 8, 2018 and Nov. 15, 2018

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
63.2 Facilities & Programs.

Technical Assistance:
N/A

Comments:
The licensing inspector completed an inspection in response to a complaint concerning forbidden action, a child?s injury and record keeping. The Department was notified on 11/02/2018, 11/06/18 and 11/09/18. The licensing inspector was on site the following dates and time: 11/06/2018 from approximately 7:50 AM until 1:20 PM, 11/08/2018 from approximately 3:00 PM until 5:10 PM and on 11/15/2018 from approximately 1:00 PM until 4:15 PM interviewing staff, conducting observations at the center and reviewing documentation. The preponderance of the evidence gathered during the investigation supports portions of the allegation; therefore, the complaint is determined to be valid. See the violation notice for more details. Please complete the 'plan of correction' and 'date to be corrected' for each violation cited on the violation notice and return it to me within 5 business days from the date of receipt. Please specify how the deficient practice will be or has been corrected. Your plan of correction should contain: 1) steps to correct the noncompliance with the standards, 2) measures to prevent the noncompliance from occurring again, and 3) person(s) responsible for implementing each step and/or monitoring any preventative measure(s). If you have any questions about this inspection, please contact the Licensing Inspector, Lynn Powers at (804) 662-9790.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-410-1
Complaint related: Yes
Description: Based on interviews and documentation review, the center did not ensure the forbidden action of rough handling a child did not occur.

Evidence:

The licensing inspector conducted six staff interviews and reviewed documentation on 11/06/2018, 11/08/2018, 11/15/2018 and 12/10/2018. Based on interviews and documentation review, it was determined the following occurred on 10/30/2018:

1. A staff member stated "The whole Transitional Toddler classroom was outside on the playground. [Staff #1] propped open the door with her body, talking to [Staff #2] between two to five minutes. [Child A] tried to crawl out the propped open door. [Staff #1] didn?t want [Child A] to crawl out and stuck her foot up and pushed with her foot on [Child A?s] nose. [Child A] cried. I saw [Child A?s] nose bleed, not pouring, but blood was present. [Staff #1] wrote an incident report.

2. A staff member stated ?I was coming back from the bathroom and I saw [Staff #1] standing in the doorway, holding it open with her back. [Child A] started crawling to the door and [Staff #1] stuck her foot up. It all happened really fast and I saw [Child A?s] head go down. I did not actually see if [Staff #1?s] foot hit [Child A] in the face. I did not actually see [Child A] hit his nose. [Child A] cried for a minute or two.?

3. Staff #1 stated ?I was outside with the Older Infants and I saw [Staff #2] struggling with something in the Transitional Toddler classroom. I opened the door and asked if everything was okay and if [Staff #2] needed to switch places. I held the door open with my foot. [Child A] came up and bumped against my leg. [Child A] fell and hit dark red part of floor. [Child A] did not hit that hard. I picked up [Child A] to make sure he was okay and his nose was bleeding. I never had foot up toward him. No part of my shoe hit him in the nose.?

4. Staff #2 was interviewed by phone and Staff #2 stated ?[Child A] got a bloody nose injury. I remember him getting a bloody nose. Not sure how he got it, that injury did not stand out as being anything special?.

5. A Bumps and Bruises report dated 10/30/2018 stated ? We were getting ready to go outside. I bumped into Child A, he fell over and hit his nose. Started to bleed from left nostril.?

Plan of Correction: Prior to the specifics of the complaint being brought to the attention of school management by the Department of Social Services, teaching staff and student placements were reorganized on 11/12/2018 in response to operational observations by administration, as well as parent concerns expressed directly to the School Director and Director of Operations. When the details of the complaint were shared with the school management on 12/12/2018, school management immediately conducted a review and investigation of the complaint including staff interviews and documentation reviews. The internal investigation revealed similar reports to those provided in the Department of Social Services report, however the accounts from the teachers to administration during their investigation do not provide conclusive cause of the child?s injuries to be rough handling of a child. All staff interviewed explicitly stated that they believe there was never an intent to harm the child nor was there any concern of abuse. The teacher directly involved in the incident shared it was an accident when she quickly turned her body to address the needs of a second child. A full review of the incident was conducted with all teachers involved on 12/17/2018 and any necessary retraining was complete and documented at that time. School administration to monitor for continued compliance as part of the regular quality assurance observations conducted as a course of normal operations. Based on the most recent retraining coupled with the previous teaching reassignments and adjustments to primary care groups, we conclude that all corrective actions are complete at this time.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top