An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Winwood Children's Center- 856
18792 Upper Meadow Drive
Lansdowne, VA 20176
(571) 333-5444

Current Inspector: Nancy Radcliffe (703) 268-3728

Inspection Date: March 8, 2019

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)
32.1 Report by person other than physician
63.2 Child Abuse & Neglect
63.2 Facilities & Programs.

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring inspection was conducted today from 9:00am-12:30pm. There were 64 children (infants-5yrs.) supervised by 13 direct care staff. The physical plant, programming, staff records, children?s records, medications, emergency supplies, and policies were inspected. Children were observed participating in group play, reading books, painting and center time. There was an abundance of books, toys, and materials, which were found to be developmentally appropriate for the children in care at the time of inspection. Positive interaction between staff and children was also observed. Areas of non-compliance are identified in the Violation Notice. Thank you for your cooperation during this inspection. If you have any questions regarding this inspection, please contact Nancy Radcliffe at 703-268-3728 or nancy.radcliffe@dss.virginia.gov.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-160-C
Description: Based of review of staff records, not all staff have documentation of a tuberculosis (TB) screening every 2 years. Evidence: Staff #1,#2 & #3, have expired TB screenings, 12/17/18, 11/11/18, 1/17/19 respectively.

Plan of Correction: I believe we all have an updated screening, I can't locate the paperwork.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-70-A
Description: Based on observation, not all staff have had orientation for their current position. Evidence: Staff #1 & #2 are temporarily in a new role, with additional responsibilities, without documentation of an orientation explaining the new responsibilities.

Plan of Correction: We will make sure to put the documentation in our file.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-500-B
Description: Based on observation, not all diaper changing surfaces are non absorbent. Evidence: The diaper changing pads in the Infants and Infant II classrooms have tears in them, making them non absorbent.

Plan of Correction: We have already ordered them.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-510-C
Description: Based on review of medication authorizations, not all authorizations are current. Evidence: Medication authorization for child #1 expired 3/1/19.

Plan of Correction: I will send the medication home with today.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-550-A
Description: Based on interview with assistant director, the emergency preparedness plan location can not be determined. Evidence: The plan was not available for review during the inspection.

Plan of Correction: I know we have one, I'm not sure where it is. I will contact the director and get it.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-550-D
Description: Based on review of emergency procedures, monthly practice evacuation drills are not being documented. Evidence: There is no documentation of a practice evacuation drill for the month of February.

Plan of Correction: I did do one on 2/25/19, we just forgot to record it.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-560-I
Description: Based on observation, food is not being stored in a sanitary manner. Evidence: The refrigerator in the Infant classroom, has a temperature of 50 and 52 degrees when taken. Bottles are currently being housed in this refrigerator.

Plan of Correction: Corrected during inspection, refrigerator was replaced.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top