Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

KinderCare Learning Center #301537
3051 Centreville Road
Herndon, VA 20171
(703) 834-2830

Current Inspector: Whitney McGrath (571) 835-4717

Inspection Date: Oct. 28, 2019

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Comments:
Today an unannounced Renewal Inspection was conducted between the hours of 11:10am and 2:30pm. There were 6 classrooms observed with a total of 39 children with 7 staff within the supervision guidelines. The children were observed washing their hands, eating lunch (pizza, broccoli, pineapple and milk) and napping. A complete inspection of the physical plant, children and staff records, fire drill log, (6) medications and authorizations were reviewed during this inspection. Staff and children's interactions were positive. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at whitney.mcgrath@dss.virginia.gov. Thank you for your cooperation during this inspection.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-140-A
Description: Based on record review, the center did not obtain a physical exam for each child within the first 30 days of attendance.
Evidence: Child #2 (date of enrollment: 3/31/19) file did not contain documentation of a physical exam.

Plan of Correction: I know that she has one, mom just needs to provide it to me.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-60-A
Description: Based on record review, children's records do not contain all required information.
Evidence: The most recent documented review of emergency contact information for Child #1 is dated 4/12/18, Child #3 is dated 4/12/18, Child #4 is dated 8/30/18 and Child #5 is dated 8/1/18.

Plan of Correction: We'll get all the files updated within a month.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-70-A
Description: Based on record review, staff records do not contain all required information.
Evidence: Staff #1 file did not contain documentation of two reference checks.

Plan of Correction: I'll do them.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-240-D-5
Description: Based on interview, there is not one staff member who has obtained the daily health observation training on duty at all times.
Evidence: During a discussion regarding Daily Health Observation (DHO), center management stated that they were the only staff with current training. Center management confirmed that they are not in the building during all hours of operation.

Plan of Correction: I'll try to schedule a trainer to come during our staff lunch time so that we can get a training completed during working hours.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-270-A
Description: Based on observation, equipment in the center were not maintained in a clean, safe and operable condition.
Evidence: The toilet seat in the Discovery Preschool classroom is broken.

Plan of Correction: I already have a work order in for this.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top