Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
staff of hermes icon

Access the Virginia Department of Social Services' dedicated page for guidance and resources related to COVID-19.

Click Here»

Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Little Rising Stars Daycare Center
3800 Powell Lane, CU#4
Falls church, VA 22041
(703) 931-1500

Current Inspector: Whitney McGrath (571) 835-4717

Inspection Date: Feb. 25, 2020

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Technical Assistance:
Reminded staff that infants (0-16 months) must be laid to sleep on their backs. Had a discussion with center management regarding following ratio of youngest child when mixing age groups.

Comments:
Today an unannounced Monitoring Inspection took place between the hours of 9:55am and 2:15pm. There were 2 classrooms observed with a total of 12 children with 4 staff within the supervision guidelines. The children were observed eating a morning snack, eating lunch, doing an art craft, playing freely, being read to and napping. A complete inspection of the physical plant, children and staff records, fire drill log, medication and emergency procedures were observed during this inspection. If you have any questions, please e-mail me at whitney.mcgrath@dss.virginia.gov. Thank you for your cooperation during the inspection.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-130-A
Description: Based on record review, the center has not obtained documentation of immunizations for each child before the child can attend the center.
Evidence: Child #1 file does not contain immunizations.

Plan of Correction: I'll resend a notification to all the parents letting them know everything that we're missing.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-130-B
Description: Based on record review, the center has not obtained documentation of additional immunizations once every six months for children under the age of two years.
Evidence:
1. Child #3 (date of birth: 8/7/2019) most recent documented immunizations are dated 4/2/2019.
2. Child #4 (date of birth: 1/1/2019) most recent documented immunizations are dated 2/4/2019.
3. Child #7 (date of birth: 11/3/2019) most recent documented immunizations are dated 5/20/2019.

Plan of Correction: I'll resend a notification to all the parents letting them know everything that we're missing.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-140-A
Description: Based on record review, the center has not obtained a physical exam for each child within the first 30 days of attendance:
Evidence: Child #2 (date of enrollment: 8/7/2019), Child #3 (date of enrollment: 3/12/2019), Child #5 (date of enrollment: 1/7/2020) files do not contain documentation of a physical exam.

Plan of Correction: I'll resend a notification to all the parents letting them know everything that we're missing.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-160-C
Description: Based on record review, staff did not resubmit a tuberculosis (TB) screening every two years from the date of the initial screening or test.
Evidence: Staff #2 most recent documented TB screening is dated 12/11/2017.

Plan of Correction: We'll get it done.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-60-A
Description: Based on record review, children's records did not contain all required information.
Evidence:
1. Child #1 file does not contain documentation of a second emergency contact or documentation that the child's age and identity has been verified.
2. Child #4 file does not contain documentation that the child's age and identity has been verified.
3. Child #5 file does not contain documentation that the child's age and identity has been verified.
4. Child #6 does not have a file on site.

Plan of Correction: I'll resend a notification to all the parents letting them know everything that we're missing.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-70-A
Description: Based on record review, staff records did not contain all required information.
Evidence:
1. Staff #3 file does not contain an application or resume, documentation of two reference checks or the name, address and phone number of someone to be contacted in case of an emergency.
2. Staff #4 file does not contain an application or resume, or the name, address and phone number of someone to be contacted in case of an emergency.

Plan of Correction: I still need to complete the reference checks. We're currently working on the resumes and I'll have them write their emergency contacts on their employee cover sheet.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-180-B
Description: Based on interview, staff cannot communicate effectively in English as applicable to the job responsibilities.
Evidence: When asked about the children in care, Staff #3 was not able to answer the inspector. When asked if they speak English, Staff #3 said "No."

Plan of Correction: I'll start working with this staff person during circle time, story time and nap time and I'll start teaching her ESL so she can start learning basic english words.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-340-D
Description: Based on record review, one classroom did not have at least one staff member who met the qualifications of a program leader who is regularly present.
Evidence: There is no staff who meet the program leader qualifications for the infant classroom.

Plan of Correction: I'll make sure that Staff #4 gets the required trainings during naptime.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-C
Description: Based on observation, the center did not follow the staff-to-child ratio applicable to the youngest child in the group in a regularly mixed age group.
Evidence:
1. Throughout today's inspection there were infants and toddlers observed in the same room with two, three and four year-olds. At various times during lunch there were 2 staff observed with 10 children.
2. At naptime there were infants, toddlers and two, three and four year-olds observed napping in one classroom. There were 2 staff with 12 children.
3. The ratio for infants is 1 staff for every 4 children.

Plan of Correction: I'll keep all of the children's activities separate.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-500-B
Description: Based on observation, a nonabsorbent surface for diapering or changing was not used.
Evidence: The diaper changing surface has a soft fabric cover. The soft cover is absorbent.

Plan of Correction: I'll change it.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-550-D
Description: Based on interview, the center did not implement two shelter-in-place practice drills per year.
Evidence: Center management was unsure if two shelter in place drills were practiced in 2019.

Plan of Correction: I'll set the dates now for the trainings.

Standard #: 22VAC40-665-580-K
Description: Based on interview, at least one staff on duty has not obtained daily health observation training.
Evidence: Center management stated that no one on staff has completed daily health observation training.

Plan of Correction: I'll get all the staff trained.

Standard #: 22VAC40-80-120-E-2
Description: Based on observation, the findings of the most recent inspection of the facility were not posted.
Evidence: The findings that are posted are dated 6/3/2019. The most recent inspection of the facility was 10/22/2019.

Plan of Correction: I'll post today's.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top