Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Harvest Child Care Center/BEVC
1017 W. Washington Street
Petersburg, VA 23803
(804) 861-2850

Current Inspector: Kelly Adriazola (804) 662-9760

Inspection Date: July 28, 2020

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSING PROCESS.
63.2(17) License & Registration Procedures

Comments:
This inspection was conducted by licensing staff using an alternate remote protocol, necessary due to a state of emergency health pandemic declared by the Governor of Virginia.

A renewal inspection was initiated on July 28, 2020 and concluded on July 29, 2020. The director was contacted by telephone to initiate the inspection. There were 49 children present and 10 staff. The Inspector emailed the director a list of items required to complete the inspection. The Inspector reviewed 3 children?s records and 3 staff records submitted by the facility to ensure documentation was complete.

Information gathered during the inspection determined non-compliances with applicable standards or law and violations were documented on the violation notice issued to the facility.

If you have any questions regarding this inspection please contact the licensing inspector, Kelly Adriazola at (804) 662-9760.

Please complete the ?plan of correction? and ?date to be corrected? for each violation cited on the violation notice and return it to me within 5 business days from today. You will need to specify how the deficient practice will be or has been corrected. Your plan of correction must contain: 1) steps to correct the noncompliance with the standard(s), 2) measures to prevent the noncompliance from occurring again; and 3) person(s) responsible for implementing each step and/or monitoring any preventative measures. Please do not use staff names; list staff by positions only.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-70-A
Description: Based on a review of records and interview on July 29, 2020, the center did not ensure that two or more references were checked before employment.
Evidence: 1. The record of Staff #3 (DOH 09/16/19) contains documentation of references that were checked and dated 09/18/19.

Plan of Correction: Not available online. Contact Inspector for more information.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-550-D
Description: Based on a review of records on July 29, 2020, the center did not ensure to implement a monthly practice evacuation drill each month.
Evidence: 1. There was no documentation of fire drills being practiced in May and June 2020.
2. Administration acknowledged the center did not practice fire drills due to COVID-19.

Plan of Correction: Per the provider: Appeal. The state of Virginia was in Phase I and Phase II during the Covid-19 pandemic. We remained in these Phases from March through June. I interpreted the information that was received from the VADSS to imply no fire drills. I felt the drills would put my children and staff in danger. I truly believe that everyone's safety should be my main priority. Thank you for reviewing my appeal.

Standard #: 63.2(17)-1720.1-B-2
Description: Based on a review of records and interview on July 29, 2020, the center did not ensure to obtain a fingerprint based national criminal record check prior to the first day of employment for each staff.
Evidence: 1. The record of Staff #3 (DOH 09/16/19) contained documentation of fingerprints dated 10/04/19.

Plan of Correction: Make sure have fingerprint results prior to hiring an employee. I thought I could have 30 days.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top