An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Kiddie Academy of Ashburn
20775 Century Corner Drive
Ashburn, VA 20147
(571) 223-0800

Current Inspector: Eureka Nance (703) 638-5968

Inspection Date: May 3, 2021 , May 5, 2021 and May 6, 2021

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
63.2 Facilities & Programs.

Comments:
An unannounced investigation was initiated in response to a self-reported incident that was received by the licensing inspector on May 3, 2021. Interviews were conducted relating to a parent not being allowed to remove their child, who was in care at this child day center. The evidence gathered during the investigation supported the allegation, therefore a violation was cited. Please see Violation Notice for additional information. Should you have any questions, you may contact me at mary.wizbicki@dss.virginia.gov or 703-479-4707.

Violations:
Standard #: 63.2-1813
Description: Based on interviews and record review, the center failed to admit a custodial parent or guardian into the child day program.
Evidence
1. After interviewing Staff #1 and Parent #1, it was determined that on 5/3/21 at approximately 1pm, Parent #1 was not admitted into the classroom of Child #A in order to remove the child from the center. Staff #1 had read the custody agreement and believed that she was following the written schedule, which included a time frame for when Parent #1 was allowed to begin caring for the child on the day in question. However, the custody agreement clearly indicated that the child "shall be in the primary physical custody of [Parent #1]". Therefore, Parent #1 should not have been denied access to the child while in care at this child day program.

Plan of Correction: Our primary concern throughout was the safety and welfare of the child. The issue arose as we had contrary explicit instruction from one parent. Not being attorneys, we were not certain of the proper legal interpretation of the Court Order in these circumstances. We also did not know whether the Court Order had been modified. We contacted out Franchisor [sic] legal staff for guidance, which we followed. We did not refuse absolutely to release the child, but only to release later in accord with the initial parental instructions, which we explained to the other parent. We regret that the Mother [sic] was distressed by our good faith efforts to assure the safety of the child.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top