An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Carousel Children's Academy
9151 Centreville Road
Manassas, VA 20110
(703) 365-7622

Current Inspector: Laura Brindle (540) 905-2062

Inspection Date: March 3, 2022

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
8VAC20-780 ADMINISTRATION.
8VAC20-780 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
8VAC20-780 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.

Comments:
An unannounced complaint investigation was conducted on 3/3/22 in response to a complaint received in the licensing office regarding an allegation that the center was not meeting ratio requirements. Based on a review of documentation, interviews, and observation of the classrooms, the allegation regarding ratios was determined to be valid. Other violations that were not part of the complaint were also cited during the investigation. If you have questions regarding this inspection, please contact the Licensing Inspector, Laura Brindle, at laura.brindle@doe.virginia.gov or 540-905-2062.

Violations:
Standard #: 8VAC20-780-80-A
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on observation and review of documentation, the center did not maintain a written record of daily attendance that documented the arrival and departure of each child in care as it occurred. Evidence: 1. On 3/3/22 at approximately 9:25am the attendance record in the JrK class contained documentation of 11 children in the classroom. At that time there were 10 children in the JrK classroom. One child was picked up by their parent at approximately 9:06am but was still marked as present. 2. On 3/3/22 at approximately 9:27am the attendance record in the toddler class contained documentation of 10 children in the classroom. At that time there were 12 children in the classroom. Two children not listed on the attendance had arrived at approximately 8:57am and 9:03am.

Plan of Correction: 1. Re-Educate all the staff members in entering and updating child attendence sheets and re-enforce the importance of doing it right everytime. Staff not doing entering correct information on time will be written and will potentially be terminated for repeat incidents of incomplete attendence sheets.
2. Director to continue to conduct daily review of child attendence sheets to ensure correctness and completeness.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-245-J-1
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on interview, the center did not ensure that a staff member trained in medication administration (MAT) was on site when the center has agreed to administer medication. Evidence: The Director and one other staff have current certification in MAT. Interview revealed that the center opens at 6:00am and the director arrives around 7:45am or 8:00am and the other MAT trained staff arrives around 8:30am. There are emergency medications on site.

Plan of Correction: 1. We will have 5 more staff members take MAT training and get certified. We have already contacted the trainer to purchase required training hours to have the staff get trained and
certified.
2. As part of the schedule adjustment and with additional trained staff we will ensure that there is at least one staff with MAT training will be at
the center during all the working hours.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-245-L
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on interview, the center did not ensure that there was always at least one staff member on duty who had obtained daily health observation (DHO) training within the last three years. Evidence: The Director and one other staff have current DHO training. Interview revealed that the center opens at 6:00am and the director arrives around 7:45am or 8:00am and the other DHO trained staff arrives around 8:30am.

Plan of Correction: 1. We will have 5 more staff members take DHO training and get certified. We have already purchased required training hours to have the staff get trained and certified.
2. As part of the schedule adjustment and with additional trained staff we will ensure that there is at least one staff with DHO training will be at the center during all the working hours.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-350-B
Complaint related: Yes
Description: Based on observation, interview, and review of documentation, the center did not maintain the required staff-to-children ratios whenever children were in care. Evidence: 1. On 3/3/22 from approximately 8:31am to 9:11am one staff was alone in the "Ducks" classroom with between 10 to 12 children. The classroom required a ratio of 1 staff to 8 children with two-year-olds present. 2. On 3/3/22 from approximately 8:31am until 9:06am one staff was alone in the "Frogs" classroom with between 6 to 12 children. The classroom required a ratio of 1 staff to 5 children with children 16-months-old present. At approximately 9:06am when the second staff went to the "Frogs" classroom, the class was not at the required 1 staff to 5 children ratio and the director reported there were no other teachers to go into the classroom. 3. On 3/1/22 from approximately 7:25am until 8:00am one staff was alone in the Infant classroom with five children. The required ratio was 1 staff to 4 children with infants present. 4. On 3/1/22 from approximately 7:50am until 8:30am one staff was alone in the "Frogs" classroom with between 6 to 7 children. The classroom required a ratio of 1 staff to five children with children 16-months-old present. 5. On 3/1/22 from approximately 7:50am until 8:00am one staff was alone with the "Ducks" and "JrK" classes with 12 children. The required ratio was 1 staff to 8 children with two-year-olds present. 6: On 3/1/22 from approximately 8:45am until 9:15am one staff was alone in the "Ducks" class with 12 to 14 children. The required ratio was 1 staff to 8 children with two-year-olds present. 7. On 3/1/22 from approximately 10:50am until 4:07pm two staff were in the "Ducks" class with 17 children. The required ratio was 1 staff to 8 children with two-year-olds present.

Plan of Correction: 1. There was an unexpected staff leave situation on 3/3/22 in Frogs classroom which caused temporary shortages in both Frogs and Ducks classrooms. However we had new staff member come in to Frogs classroom at 10:30 am so we had 3 staff members attending 12 children at 10:30 am and for the rest of the day.
2. We have already hired one additional staff member staring 3/8/2022 to address the shortage in Ducks classroom.
3. We have thoroughly evaluated schedule of our attendence (which was highly volatile for the week of 3/1 due to various reasons) and schedule of our staff. As a result we will be changing our staff schedule so required numbers of staff are available in the morning to maintain the required ratio.
4. We have also evaluated our transportation schedule and plan to reduce number of pick-ups and drop offs to better manage the staff schedule
5. After reviewing 3 and 4 we will hire additional staff required to maintain the staff to child ratio in all the classrooms.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top