An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Horizon Child Development, Inc.
1710 Clubhouse Road
Reston, VA 20190
(703) 471-9400

Current Inspector: Kara Wright (703) 537-6241

Inspection Date: April 20, 2022

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
8VAC20-780 Administration.
8VAC20-780 Staff Qualifications and Training.
8VAC20-780 Physical Plant.
8VAC20-780 Programs.
8VAC20-780 Special Services.
8VAC20-770 Background Checks (8VAC20-770)
22.1 Background Checks Code, Carbon Monoxide

Technical Assistance:
Discussed with director changes effective to the licensing standards that went into effect on 10/13/2022. Specifically staff orientation requirements have been updated to include additional requirements. Model forms of the new orientation guidelines can be found on the Virginia Department of Education website. A review of all staff orientation topics will be conducted at the next inspection in addition to a review of the new required policies.

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring inspection was conducted today on April 20, 2022. There were 28 children directly supervised by 4 staff. The physical plant, 3 staff records, 4 children?s records, medications, evacuation drills, injury reports, emergency supplies, and policies were inspected. Children were observed on their cots during a designated nap time. There was an assortment of age appropriate materials for the children in care. The center was clean and organized. Areas of non-compliance are identified in the Violation Notice.
If you have any questions regarding this inspection, please contact the Licensing Inspector, Kara Wright at kara.vaughan@doe.virginia.gov or 703-537-6241.

Violations:
Standard #: 22.1-289.035-B-2
Description: Based on record review, the center did not conduct a criminal record check for staff prior to the first date of employment.
Evidence:
Staff 1's criminal record check was received on 1/18/2022, and has a start date listed as 1/13/2022.

Plan of Correction: Prospective employee completed fingerprint process on 1.10.2022 and reply was received on 1.18.2022.
SEE BELOW ADDITIONAL RESPONSE BELOW
The pandemic has an adverse effect on the number of qualified applicants responding to our advertised employment position. Once we hired a qualified person we processed their background forms immediately and scheduled first available time for appointments However, again due to the Covid 19 pandemic response time in receiving agency replies was greatly delayed. As qualified candidates were limited, when we were fortunate enough to hire someone, we allowed their employment to begin, as we awaited response from agencies processing background checks. This ensured we maintained proper classroom ratios in our school.

Standard #: 8VAC20-770-60-C-2
Description: Based on record review, the child day program did not obtain the results of a central registry background check for staff within 30 days of employment.
Evidence:
1. Staff 1's central registry results were received on 3/18/2022. Staff 1's start dat is listed as 1/13/2022.

Plan of Correction: CPS form and payment was mailed out on 1.19.2022 and received back on 3.18.2022.
SEE BELOW ADDITIONAL RESPONSE BELOW
The pandemic has an adverse effect on the number of qualified applicants responding to our advertised employment position. Once we hired a qualified person we processed their background forms immediately and scheduled first available time for appointments However, again due to the Covid 19 pandemic response time in receiving agency replies was greatly delayed. As qualified candidates were limited, when we were fortunate enough to hire someone, we allowed their employment to begin, as we awaited response from agencies processing background checks. This ensured we maintained proper classroom ratios in our school.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-160-A-1
Description: Based on record review, the center did not obtain the results of a negative Tuberculosis screening for all staff prior to coming into contact with children.
Evidence:
Staff 1's documented start date is listed as 1/13/2022. A Tuberculosis screening was not conducted until 1/29/2022.

Plan of Correction: The Covid-19 pandemic caused a shortage in available appointments. The first available time was received on 1.18.2022. SEE BELOW ADDITIONAL RESPONSE BELOW
The pandemic has an adverse effect on the number of qualified applicants responding to our advertised employment position. Once we hired a qualified person we processed their background forms immediately and scheduled first available time for appointments However, again due to the Covid 19 pandemic response time in receiving agency replies was greatly delayed. As qualified candidates were limited, when we were fortunate enough to hire someone, we allowed their employment to begin, as we awaited response from agencies processing background checks. This ensured we maintained proper classroom ratios in our school.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-240-A
Description: Based on record review, the Virginia Department of Education-sponsored orientation course was not completed within 90 calendar days of employment for new staff.
Evidence:
Staff 1 has not completed the Virginia Department of Education-sponsored orientation course.

Plan of Correction: Employee completed the orientation on 5/3/2022.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-270-A
Description: Based on observation, not all areas of the center were maintained in a safe and operable condition.
Evidence:
1. A plastic play house on the playground has a sharp crack on one side. Inside the house, by the sink, is a sharp plastic edge exposed where a fixture has broken off.
2. Two plastic riding toys on the side playground, had cracks resulting in sharp plastic edges.
3. On the wooden slide and swing fixture, the trapeze bar has chipping paint and is missing a hand ring.

Plan of Correction: Item #1 -Removed and discarded
Item #2 - Removed and discarded
Item #3 - Removed and scheduled for repair.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-330-B
Description: Based on observation, there was not an adequate resilient surface under an outdoor play structure where required.
Evidence:
The fall zone area under the green plastic slide is not adequately mulched and ground is visible.

Plan of Correction: The pandemic has caused a material shortage; demand is greater than supply. The earliest date for playground surface renewal is 5.4.2022. Work is scheduled to be completed on 5.4.2022, weather permitting.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-450-A
Description: Based on observation, cots, mats and beds used by children other than infants during the designated rest period did not have linens consisting of a top cover and a bottom cover or a one-piece covering which is open on three edges.
Evidence:
two children were observed to be sleeping on cots with only of a blanket.

Plan of Correction: Parents will be reminded to provide both a top and bottom cover for rest time. (both verbally and in May monthly newsletter)

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-560-F
Description: Based on record review and staff statements, not all meals provided follow most recent requirements of the the most recent, age-appropriate nutritional requirements of the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).
Evidence:
The breakfast listed on the menu for the date of inspection did not contain all required food group components.

Plan of Correction: Menu has been updated to include all required food component groups for breakfast.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top