Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS Covid-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Ms. Rita Kessie
2525 Port Potomac Avenue
Woodbridge, VA 22191-1463
(703) 680-2311

Current Inspector: Donna Liberman (540) 359-5244

Inspection Date: April 17, 2017

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
22VAC40-111 Transportation
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSING PROCESS.
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
63.2 Facilities and Programs..
63.2 Liability Insurance Disclosure
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring inspection was conducted today with the provider, who was present with one infant. The provider's family day home had been closed since November 2016 and today was the first day of reopening the family day home. One child's file and the two household member's files were reviewed today. Arrival time: 12:50 pm Departure time: 2:20 pm

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-830-D
Description: Based on an interview with the provider, it was determined that the provider could not provide the emergency evacuation and shelter-in-place drill log for the one year period. Evidence: The provider could not locate the escape drill log or the shelter in place drill log.

Plan of Correction: My day care has been closed since November 2016 and today is my first day reopening my day care. I will reestablish a escape drill log and shelter in place log.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-140-B-3
Description: Based on a review of the provider's file and an interview with the provider, it was determined that the First Aid and CPR certification had expired. Evidence: The provider's first aid and CPR certification expired on 12/13/16.

Plan of Correction: I will renew my certification.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-180-A
Description: Based on a review of the two household member's files, it was determined that tuberculosis tests/screenings had not been renewed every two years. Evidence: Person A's tuberculosis test is dated 1/5/15 and Person B's tuberculosis test is dated 1/20/15.

Plan of Correction: We will get new tests/xrays

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-40-D-1-c
Description: Based on a review of two household member's files and an interview with the provider,it was determined that repeat background checks had not been obtained every three years. Evidence: Person A and B's sworn disclosure statements were dated 6/25/13. Person B's central registry finding was dated 7/22/13.

Plan of Correction: We will renew the sworn disclosure statements by 4/25/17. I will locate the up to date central registry report for Person B or I will resubmit for a new one.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top