Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Bernarda Torrez
6333 Mayapple Place
Alexandria, VA 22312
(571) 723-9227

Current Inspector: Margaret Allworth (703) 209-3521

Inspection Date: March 4, 2019

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Medication Administration
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies
54.1-3408 Provider must be MAT certified to administer prescription medication.
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
63.2 Facilities and Programs

Technical Assistance:
The Provider showed the inspector the fingerprint results on the mail, she will print them out and place them in the records.

Comments:
An unannounced renewal inspection was conducted today between the hours of 8:46 am through 11:00. The Inspector knocked on the door for 9 minutes until the Provider arrived in her car, letting me in the house. The Provider stated that the assistant is forbidden to answer the door while the Provider is not at the house. There were a total of 8 children (29 points) with 1 caregiver. A total of 4 children's files and 3 staff/household member's files were reviewed. Upon arrival most of the children were crying. It took over an hour to calm the children. Discussed the concerns of the assistant being left alone in the morning with 29 points and then the assistant left for 1 1/2 hours, leaving the Provider alone with 29 points. Areas of non-compliance are identified in the violation notice. Please contact me if you have any questions at Margaret.allworth@dss.virginia.gov or 703-209-3521. This inspection was amended later in the day after an interview was conducted. Please be aware that making a false or untrue statement to a representative of the Commissioner can lead to a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-100-A
Description: Based on record review, the provider has not obtained a physical examination within 30 days of the first day of attendance. Evidence: Child #2, date of first attendance 1/28/19 does not have a record of physical examination.

Plan of Correction: I will ask the parent for the physical examination.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-50-A
Description: Based on record review and interviews, it was determined that the Provider did not maintain a written record of children in attendance each day. Evidence: The attendance record were not complete for last Thursday 2/28/19 and Friday 3/1/19. The Provider very quickly said that she was closed both days because the children were sick. An interview was obtained which stated the children were in care last Thursday and Friday.

Plan of Correction: Update and keep attendance records.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-60-B
Description: Based on record review, one child's record is not complete. Evidence: Child #1, enrolled 1/2019 does not have a second emergency contact information.

Plan of Correction: I will ask the parent for another contact.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-180-A
Description: Based on record review, the provider has not obtained a report of Tuberculosis Screening every 2 years from the date of the last screening. Evidence: Caregiver #1 TB is dated 1/26/17.

Plan of Correction: I will contact my doctor for a copy of my current TB screening.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-570-A
Description: Based on observation and provider interview, the provider has not ensured that each caregiver does not exceed 16 points each. Evidence: The Licensing Inspector (LI) arrived at the home at 8:46 am, there were many children crying. The LI rang the door bell, no one answered the door. The LI continued to ring the door bell and knock on the door, at times yelling the Provider's name. At 8:55 the Provider pulled up to the house in car. We went inside where there were 8 children (29 points) with the assistant. The Provider stated she left the house at 8:20 to drop off her son at school. The assistant then left at 9:05 to take the Provider's daughter to school, leaving the Provider alone with 8 children (29 points). The assistant returned to the home at 10:35, leaving the Provider alone with 29 points for 1 1/2 hours.

Plan of Correction: I will hire another person for the morning. I will ask my family to help the rest of this week so I don't have to leave the day care.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top