Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Ms. Terrie Finney
1119 Askin Street
Martinsville, VA 24112
(276) 634-1536

Current Inspector: Rebecca Forestier (540) 309-2835

Inspection Date: March 20, 2019

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Medication Administration
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSING PROCESS.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures

Comments:
An unannounced renewal inspection was completed on 03/20/2019. Present during the inspection were 3 children, ages 9 months-22 months, totaling 11 points in the direct care and supervision of one provider. The inspector reviewed 4 children's records and one provider record during the inspection. The provider stated that there is no medication being administered at this time. The children were observed in the following activities: having lunch, participating in music and movement and during naptime. The inspector reviewed the parent policies, the updated emergency preparedness plans and the emergency supplies during the inspection. The inspector discussed the updates to the Virginia Preservice Training with the provider. The inspector arrived for the inspection at 10:45 a.m. and departed at 12:45 p.m. If you have any questions, please contact Becky Forestier at 540-309-2835.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-60-B
Description: Based on record review and discussion, the provider failed to ensure that each child's record shall contain all of the elements as required by the standards. Evidence: 1. The record for Child #1 did not contain the following information: the telephone number of each custodial parent's place of employment (a place of employment was listed but there was not a telephone number provided), the address and telephone number of the child's physician, the policy number of the child's medical insurance (a medical insurance provider was listed), information on allergies and intolerance to food, medication, or any other substances, and actions to take in an emergency situation, and the names of persons other than the custodial parents who are authorized to pick up the child. 2. The record for Child #3 did not contain documentation of the review of the child's emergency contact information as required by 22VAC40-111-780-B. The most recent update was dated 03/16/2018; there was no 2019 update to review. 3. The record for Child #4 did not contain information on allergies and intolerance to food, medication or any other substances, and actions to take in an emergency and did not contain documentation of the review of the child's emergency contact information as required by 22VAC40-111-780-B. The most recent update was dated 05/07/2017; there was not a 2018 update to review.

Plan of Correction: The provider will get the missing information from the parents.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top