Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Fabiola Salinas
8471 Summer Breeze Lane
Springfield, VA 22153
(571) 223-6721

Current Inspector: Maria Robles-Lopez (703) 397-3827

Inspection Date: May 21, 2019

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Medication Administration
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
22VAC40-111 Transportation
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies
54.1-3408 Provider must be MAT certified to administer prescription medication.

Technical Assistance:
Licensing inspector discussed child abuse and neglect training, provisional license, and possible decrease in capacity with the provider.

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring inspection was conducted today from approximately 12:40pm-4pm. There were 11 children (23 points) in the direct care and supervision of 2 caregivers. A sample of 5 children?s records, 2 caregiver's records, 2 household members records and 1 pet record were reviewed. The children were observed eating lunch and napping. Changes are being made to the amount of household members in the home. Zero new caregivers have been hired since the last inspection. Areas of non-compliance are identified in this report. The exit interview was conducted with the provider. If you have any questions, contact Kimberly.Sawyer@dss.virginia.gov.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-780-B
Description: Based on record review, the provider did not review the file of each child with the parent at least annually. Evidence: The file of Child E was last reviewed 05/30/2017.

Plan of Correction: she just moved and I was waiting for the right address.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-800-B
Description: Based on observation, the provider did not review the emergency plan at least annually. Evidence: The emergency plan was last reviewed 06/05/2017.

Plan of Correction: Corrected during inspection.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-830-C
Description: Based on record review and interview, documentation of emergency evacuation and shelter in place drills were not maintained. Evidence: There was no documentation of emergency evacuation and shelter in place drills. The provider stated she doesn't have them.

Plan of Correction: Completed during inspection.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-100-A
Description: Based on record review, the provider did not obtain documentation of a physical exam for each child in care within 30 days for first day of attendance. Evidence: 1. Children A-E did not have a physical exam on file. 2. Children B and C were last to be enrolled over 60 days ago.

Plan of Correction: I think I can try to do it by the end of the month. As soon as I can I will do it.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-120-B
Description: Based on record review, the assistants' record was incomplete. Evidence: Assistant A was missing the following: Job title; employment date; address; age verification; emergency contact.

Plan of Correction: I have those and didn't give it to her.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-50-A
Description: Based on observation and interview, the family day home did not keep a written record of daily attendance. Evidence: There was no written record of daily attendance. The provider stated I get the same children everyday.

Plan of Correction: Completed during inspection.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-60-B
Description: Based on record review, children's records were incomplete. Evidence: 6 of 6 records reviewed were missing required information. 1. Child A was missing 1 of 2 emergency contacts. 2. Child B was missing medical insurance policy number, provisions of emergency preparedness and liability insurance statement. 3. Child C was missing medical insurance policy number, provisions of emergency preparedness and liability insurance statement. 4. Children D and F were missing first day of enrollment, 2 emergency contacts, physicians name physicians phone number, physicians address, medical insurance provider, medical insurance policy number, permission for emergency medical care, provisions of emergency preparedness, medication authorization form and liability insurance statement. 5. Child E was missing the employer and employer phone number of both parents, 2 emergency contacts, medication authorization form, and provisions of emergency preparedness.

Plan of Correction: I will get these files by the end of this week.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-200-A
Description: Based on record review, the provider did not orient the assistant provider by the end of their first week. Evidence: There was no documentation of orientation for Assistant A on file.

Plan of Correction: I have it I didn't give it to her. We are taking classes and I will do when we are done.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-680-B
Description: Based on observation, caregivers did not ensure that children washed their hands after eating. Evidence: 1. Children ate lunch and proceeded to get their cots for nap time. 2. None of the children washed their hands after eating.

Plan of Correction: I will make sure to do it after each meal.

Standard #: 22VAC40-80-120-E-1
Description: Based on observation and interview, the most recent license was not posted. Evidence: There was no license posted. The provider stated that she lost the document and will have to request a duplicate.

Plan of Correction: I can call tomorrow to request a new one.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top