Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Charlena Thompson
2423 Barre Street
Norfolk, VA 23504
(757) 625-0864

Current Inspector: Kimberly Sampson (757) 354-7307

Inspection Date: July 2, 2019

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Care of Children

Comments:
A complaint investigation was initiated on July 3, 2019 in response to a complaint that was received in the licensing office on June 28, 2019 regarding alleged noncompliance in the area of Care of Children; Behavior Guidance. An on site inspection was conducted on July 3, 2019 and the complaint was completed on July 30, 2019 . The information gathered during the investigation supports the allegation, so the complaint is found to be valid. A violation was cited in the area of Behavior Guidance and appears on the violation notice.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-630-A
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on interviews, the licensed child day home provider (provider #1) did not always utilize positive methods of discipline which are constructive in nature. Evidence: Interviews revealed on June 20, 2019, a 3 year old child (child #1) told his parent that the provider hit him (child #1) on the head while saying ?Didn?t. I. Tell. You." In an interview on July 3, 2019, Child #1 stated he did not want to go back to the provider?s daycare because she (provider #1) ?hurt my head? and said ?I told you?. Interviews with collateral witnesses indicated that the provider ?knocked? on a 3 year old child?s (child #1) head with her knuckles. One collateral witness stated that the provider ?knocks on the babies? heads? (clarified as preschool aged children?s heads) ? ?kind of hard? when they do not follow the rules. The collateral witness demonstrated by showing a closed hand making a ?knock-knock? motion as the account was made.

Plan of Correction: The provider submitted the following written response:
"I, Charlena P. Thompson, have been a licensed childcare provider for over 25 years and during
this time; I have never knocked, tap, hit or mistreated any child or children in my care. I strongly
proclaim the allegations made against me to be false and malicious in nature.
As I struggle to comprehend the reasoning behind this false allegation, only one thing came to
mind. As part of my daily recreational activities with the children, we play Duck-Duck Goose.
This is one of their favorite games, which you are aware, entails the tapping on the head by other
children and sometimes by me when joining in to teach or facilitate the game. And as always, I
monitor the game closely to ensure an inclusive, safe and enjoyable game for all. As a note, this
was one of the witness favorite games. This is the only occurrence that I can think of as to where
a child could have misinterpreted a tap on the head as disciplinary in nature.
In my 25 plus years as a licensed home childcare provider, I?ve cared for countless children and
in many cases the children of children I?ve cared for in the past, with the utmost love, warmth and
compassion I?m known for by past and present parents. This is strengthened by staying current
on all mandatory / optional training courses as well as guidelines governing the positive methods
of discipline. I say this in the strongest term, ?there is no way I have or would ever intentionally
hurt a child under my care period!? This is and has never been in my character as a mother and
professional childcare provider.
Plan of Correction:
As a result of this false allegation and to prevent any other false allegations of this type, as of 16
Aug 2019, I have discontinued Duck-Duck Goose from my daily recreational activities planner.
In conclusion, my 25 years of outstanding childcare service with zero complaints speaks for itself."

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top