An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Uzma Malik
43035 Northlake Boulevard
Leesburg, VA 20176
(703) 669-1996

Current Inspector: Leah Pagala (703) 537-6757

Inspection Date: Dec. 18, 2019

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Medication Administration
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
22VAC40-111 Transportation
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies
54.1-3408 Provider must be MAT certified to administer prescription medication.
63.2 Child abuse and neglect
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
63.2 Facilities and Programs

Technical Assistance:
The inspection and substitute provider discussed the potential of the provider being placed on a 6 month provisional license due to the amount of violations.

Comments:
An unannounced renewal inspection was conducted today from 11:10am-1:00pm. There were 12 children (30 points) directly supervised by 3 staff. Throughout the duration of the inspection, the provider was not home. A substitute provider was present. The home, 3 staff records, 4 children?s records, 2 household member?s records, evacuation drills, emergency supplies, and policies were inspected. Children were observed watching television, having lunch, dancing and singing and playing with puzzles. Children were observed sleeping on mats and reading books quietly. Diapering procedures were also observed. There was a supply of books, toys, and materials for the children. Areas of non-compliance are identified in the Violation Notice.

If you have any questions regarding this inspection, please contact Leah Pagala at 703-537-6757 or leah.pagala@dss.virginia.gov

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-730-A
Description: Based on observation, adult medication was not stored separately.

Evidence: Child medication was observed in the first aid kit along with medication for adults.

Plan of Correction: Medication was left by another assistant we have removed it.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-760-A-1
Description: Based on observation, the first aid kit did not contain the minimum requirements.

Evidence: The first aid kit is missing gauze pads and antiseptic cleaner.

Plan of Correction: We have placed it back in the first aid kit.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-770
Description: Based on observation, a working battery-operated portable weather radio was not available.

Evidence: The weather radio did not have batteries.

Plan of Correction: Batteries were placed by the weather band radio.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-780-B
Description: Based on record review, the provider did not ensure the emergency contact information of each child was reviewed annually.

Evidence: Child 3 has not had an review of the emergency contact information since 1/30/2017. Child 4 has not had a review of the emergency contact information since 1/3/2016.

Plan of Correction: I have had gotten signature from all the parents.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-880
Description: Based on observation and record review, meals served by the family day home did not follow the most recent, age-appropriate nutritional requirements of a recognized authority such as the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).

Evidence: Based on observation and interview, the center failed to ensure that meals follow the most recent, age-appropriate nutritional requirements of a recognized authority such as the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).

Evidence: 1. The lunch served did not contain a dairy component as required by USDA. The lunch consisted of fish sticks and steamed vegetables. 2. The caregiver confirmed that milk is served either at snack time or lunch time but not both.

Plan of Correction: We do follow the food program. Milk was given to all the infants only toddlers were given water. There was a miscommunication about it but we are correcting it. Toddlers are given milk as well at lunch time. We had switched it to the snack time.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-980-A
Description: Based on record review and interview, general written permission is not obtained from the parents of each child for the provider to take the child off the premises of the family day home.

Evidence: The substitute provider stated weather permitting children and caregivers will walk to the neighborhood playground. Children's records did not have written permission slips.

Plan of Correction: I will not take them to the park unless I have written permission from the parents.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-50-A
Description: Based on record review and observation, the family day home did not keep a written record of the children in attendance.
Evidence: At 11:15am, there were no children documented on the attendance sheet. There were 12 children present.

Plan of Correction: We normally do the attendance asap but it didn't happen that day. We will continue to do it as soon as the child arrives.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-60-A
Description: Based on record review, the provider did not maintain a record at the family day home for each enrolled child.

Evidence: Child #1 did not have a record. Upon interview, the substitute stated that the record could not be found.

Plan of Correction: Child record was in the home. Now we have placed it in the Record box.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-70-A
Description: Based on record review, parents were not provided in writing all required information before the child's first day of attendance.
Evidence: Child #2 did not have acknowledgement of liability insurance declaration.

Plan of Correction: I gave it to the parents now it is in the record.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-210-A
Description: Based on record review, all staff did not obtain a minimum of 16 clock hours of training annually in areas relevant to their job responsibilities.
Evidence: Caregiver #1 had 11 of the 16 required training hours in 2018.

Plan of Correction: We have signed up for classes. Our first class is January 4, 2020.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-240-A
Description: Based on observation, areas and furnishings inside and outside of the home were not kept in a safe and operable condition.
Evidence:
1) In the outdoor play space, there was a hose on the ground posing as a potential tripping hazard, a screen door laying on the ground, a wheelbarrow upside down, and a string of lights on a chair accessible to children posing a safety hazard.
2) In the sleeping room, one crib had loose hinges and the side of the crib was moving back and forth causing the crib to be unstable posing hazard to infants.

Plan of Correction: Screen door was thrown by the wind and we have moved it, as we have moved the light string and wheel barrow. Crib is not in use and we made sure hinges are secured.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-250-B
Description: Based on observation, children were not protected from materials that could be swallowed or present a choking hazard.

Evidence: Two screws were found in an unlocked lower drawer in the bathroom utilized by children.

Plan of Correction: We have removed the screws and are doing routine checks to make sure nothing is placed there.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-680-B
Description: Based on observation, caregivers did not ensure that children's hands were washed with liquid soup and warm running water.
Evidence:
1) After diapering, an infant's hands were not washed.
2) After lunch time, children's hands were not washed. The children were allowed to play with puzzles immediately after eating.

Plan of Correction: We are regularly observing the cleaning hand procedure all the time.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-690-D
Description: Based on observation, the diapering surface was not cleaned and sanitized after each use.

Evidence: After an infant's diaper was changed, the diaper changing station was not cleaned and sanitized.

Plan of Correction: We have placed both soap water, bleach solution in the vicinity but out of reach to clean the surface.

Standard #: 22VAC40-80-120-E-2
Description: Based on observation, the findings from the most recent inspection of the facility were not posted.

Evidence: The violation notice posted was from January 2019. The most recent inspection to the home was completed in May 2019.

Plan of Correction: I was working on correcting I found them. Placed them back on. It's placed on the notice board.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top