Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
staff of hermes icon

Access the Virginia Department of Social Services' dedicated page for guidance and resources related to COVID-19.

Click Here»

Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Gloria Dei Lutheran School and Child Care
250 Fox Hill Road
Hampton, VA 23669
(757) 851-6292

Current Inspector: Tiffany Harris (757) 403-3045

Inspection Date: July 28, 2015

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
63.2 General Provisions.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring inspection was conducted at the facility July 28, 2015 from approximately 11:45 am - 2:00 pm. Upon entrance there were 117 children and 12 staff. Additional staff were on site for administrative support. The Licensing Inspectors observed lunch time and nap time preparation. The Licensing Inspector reviewed 4 children's records, 4 staff records and 4 medication records. The exit interview was conducted on July 28, 2015 with Program Directors.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-160-A
Description: Based on 1 of 4 staff records reviewed, the licensee did not obtain documentation of a negative tuberculosis screening with 21 days after employment. Evidence: During the inspection conducted on July 28, 2015, staff #3 (date of hire 6-15-15) did not have a documentation of a tuberculosis screening.

Plan of Correction: Staff member will get TB screening this week.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-E-2
Description: Based on observation and inspection of the facility, the licensee did not ensure that 16 month old to 2 years ratios (1 staff member for every five children) were maintained. Evidence: During the inspection conducted on July 28, 2015, the licensing inspector observed in 2 year old classroom 1 staff to 7 children completing lunch and preparing for nap time. The age range of the children in the classroom were 1 year 11 months through 2 years old. The ages of children and ratio were confirmed by director.

Plan of Correction: We did not want to turn the parent away because we felt that our program was a match and the child was so close to turning two. We will ensure that in the future we take this in consideration when staffing the room.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-60-C-1
Description: Based on 1 of 4 staff records reviewed, the licensee did not ensure staff records had a criminal history record report within 30 days of employment or volunteer service. Evidence: During the inspection conducted on July 28, 2015, the record for Staff #4 (date of hire June 15, 2015) did not include documentation of a criminal history record report results within 30 days of hire.

Plan of Correction: The criminal history report was returned because it was not complete. It was completed and promptly mailed back . We will ensure that we follow up in the future.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-60-C-2
Description: Based on 2 of 4 staff records reviewed, the licensee did not ensure all staff had a central registry results within 30 days of employment or volunteer services. Evidence: During the inspection conducted on July 28, 2015, the record for Staff #3 ( date of hire June 15, 2015) and Staff #4 ( date of hire June 15, 2015) did not include documentation of a central registry results within 30 days of hire.

Plan of Correction: We were not aware that we could call and check on the progress of this report . In the future we will check on the report if it is not back with in 30 days.

Standard #: 22VAC40-80-120-D
Description: Based on record review and staff interview, the licensee did not request a modification prior to changes in operation that affect the terms of the license. Evidence: During the inspection conducted on July 28, 2015, the licensing inspector reviewed the licenses, the centers age is 2 years to 12 years of age. The licensing inspector observed child #1 in two year old classroom and reviewed record for child #1 who was under the age of 2 years. The director confirmed the child was under the age of 2 years. The licensee did not notify the licensing office of the change in age range of children whom care may be provided.

Plan of Correction: The principal is requesting a modification to our license to include 16 month old children in our program . The request will be mailed Monday, August 3rd.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top