Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
staff of hermes icon

Access the Virginia Department of Social Services' dedicated page for guidance and resources related to COVID-19.

Click Here»

Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Little Hearts Daycare
319 Brown Street
Martinsville, VA 24112
(276) 632-8108

Current Inspector: Rebecca Forestier (540) 309-2835

Inspection Date: April 20, 2017

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.

Comments:
The Licensing Inspector for Little Hearts Day Care conducted an unannounced renewal inspection on April 20, 2017. The inspector arrived at 10:20 AM and concluded inspection at 2:25 PM. Upon arrival, there were a total of nineteen (19) children ages 10 months to 4 years old, under the direct care & supervision of three (3) staff members. Attendance in each classroom was as follows: Infant Classroom; four (4) infants & one (1) staff member Combined Classes Toddler & Two?s; seven (7) children & one (1) staff member Three-Five Year Old Classroom; eight (8) children & one (1) staff member Four (4) children and 2 staff records were reviewed; including records found out of compliance during the previous inspection. Center does not administer medication & does not provide transportation. An exit interview including review of the Risk Assessment and areas of non compliance found during today?s inspection were reviewed with the Center Director on 4/20/2017.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-40-J
Description: Based on inspection & discussion with the Center Director, the Licensee failed to update the center's injury prevention plan at least annually based on documentation of injuries and a review of the activities and services. EVIDENCE: The center's injury prevention plan has not been updated each year. Documentation indicates 2013 was the last update.

Plan of Correction: The Information will be updated

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-60-A
Description: Based on record review, the Licensee failed to maintain a record for each child enrolled documenting all required information. EVIDENCE: LI Anderson reviewed three (3) children records. Record for Child #3 did not include documentation of annual updates & confirmation of annual up-to-date information in the child's record as required by 22 VAC 40-185-420 E 3. Record for Child #2 did not include the phone number for the mother's place of employment & the home address for the child's mother

Plan of Correction: Have parent bring updated information & get phone number for place of work

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-240-C
Description: Based on record review, the Licensee failed to ensure program directors and staff who work directly with children completes at least 16 hours of annul training. EVIDENCE: Staff #1, Staff #2, and Staff #3 has not completed 16 hours of annual training. Staff #1, Staff #2 and Staff #3 each completed 12 hours of annual training

Plan of Correction: The staff will complete training

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-E-2
Description: Based on observations & discussion with the Center Director, the Licensee failed to maintain required adult-to-child ratios of 1 staff for every 5 children for children 16 months old to 2 years. EVIDENCE: Upon arrival, the Licensing Inspector observed the toddler classroom & the 2 year old classes had combined bringing the total number of children to 7 under the director care & supervision of 1 staff. The youngest child in this combination was 20 months therefor the required adult-to-child ratio is 1 staff for every 5 children. This ratio, 1 staff for every 5 children was not maintained from 10:15 AM until the conclusion of today's inspection.

Plan of Correction: Have back-up staff for emergies

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-420-A
Description: Based on record review, the Licensee failed to ensure, before the child's first day of attending, parents are provided with required center information in writing. EVIDENCE: LI Anderson reviewed three (3) children records. 2 out of 3 records did not include documentation that each parent received the following information before the child's first day of attending: The center's philosophy & religious affiliation; Operating information, including the hours & days, holidays or other times closed, and the phone number where a message can be given to staff; The center's transportation policy; The center's policies for the arrival/departure of children, including procedures for verifying that only persons authorized by the parent are allowed to pick up the child, picking up children after closing, when a child is not picked up for emergency situations including but not limited to inclement weather or natural disasters ; The center's medication policy; The center's policy regarding application of sunscreen,diaper ointment and insect repellent; Description of established lines of authority for staff; Policy for reporting suspected child abuse; Custodial parent's rights; Center's general schedule, food policies, discipline policies & terminations policies.

Plan of Correction: Parents have been given the paperwork - Center Director will make sure it's returned

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top