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3 
COMPLAINTS AND REPORTS 

3.1 Legal basis 

The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1503 B and C mandates that local departments of social 
services (LDSS) maintain the capability to receive reports and complaints alleging abuse 
or neglect on a 24-hour, 7-days-a-week basis. 

3.2 24-Hour hotline and receiving complaints and reports 

The Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) provides that a person may make a report or 
complaint by telephoning the toll-free Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline of the Virginia 
Department of Social Services (VDSS) or by contacting a LDSS. 

(22 VAC 40-705-40 H). To make a complaint or report of child abuse or neglect, a person may 
telephone the department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline or contact a local 
department of jurisdiction pursuant to § 63.2-1510 of the Code of Virginia. 

The statewide toll-free CPS Hotline (1-800-552-7096) shall be available 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week. After receiving a complaint or report of child abuse or neglect, the 
CPS State Hotline worker will refer the complaint or report to the LDSS immediately or no 
later than the next working day.  

3.3 Persons who may make a complaint or report 

The Code of Virginia §§ 63.2-1509 and 63.2-1510 provide the authority for persons to 
report suspected abuse or neglect and allows any person who suspects that a child is 
abused or neglected to make a complaint or report. The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1509 
further identifies certain persons who are mandated to report suspected abuse or neglect. 
The VAC defines the terms “complaint” and “report.” 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
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(22 VAC 40-705-10). "Complaint" means any information or allegation of child abuse or 
neglect made orally or in writing pursuant to § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

(22 VAC 40-705-10). "Report" means either a complaint as defined in this section or an official 
document on which information is given concerning abuse or neglect. Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 
of the Code of Virginia, a report is required to be made by persons designated herein and by 
local departments in those situations in which a complaint from the general public reveals 
suspected child abuse or neglect pursuant to the definition of abused or neglected child in § 
63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

3.3.1 Mandated reporters 

The VAC defines mandated reporters and their reporting responsibilities:  

(22 VAC 40-705-10). "Mandated reporters" means those persons who are required to report 
suspicions of child abuse or neglect pursuant to § 63.2-1509  of the Code of Virginia. 

(22 VAC 40-705-40 A). Persons who are mandated to report are those individuals defined 
in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Mandated reporters shall report immediately any suspected abuse or neglect that they 
learn of in their professional or official capacity unless the person has actual knowledge 
that the same matter has already been reported to the local department or the department's 
toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline.  

2. Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia, if information is received by a teacher, 
staff member, resident, intern, or nurse in the course of his professional services in a 
hospital, school, or other similar institution, such person may make reports of suspected 
abuse or neglect immediately to the person in charge of the institution or department, or 
his designee, who shall then make such report forthwith. If the initial report of suspected 
abuse or neglect is made to the person in charge of the institution or department, or his 
designee, such person shall (i) notify the teacher, staff member, resident, intern, or nurse 
who made the initial report when the report of suspected child abuse or neglect is made to 
the local department or to the department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline; (ii) 
provide the name of the individual receiving the report; and (iii) forward any 
communication resulting from the report, including any information about any actions 
taken regarding the report, to the person who made the initial report. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
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3. Mandated reporters shall disclose all information which is the basis for the suspicion of 
child abuse or neglect and shall make available, upon request, to the local department any 
records and reports which document the basis for the complaint or report. 

4. Pursuant to § 63.2-1509 D of the Code of Virginia, a mandated reporter's failure to report 
as soon as possible, but no longer than 24 hours after having reason to suspect a reportable 
offense of child abuse or neglect, shall result in a fine.  
 
5. In cases evidencing acts of rape, sodomy, or object sexual penetration as defined in 
Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, a person 
who knowingly and intentionally fails to make the report required pursuant to § 63.2-1509 
of the Code of Virginia shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

3.3.1.1 Who are mandated reporters? 

The Code of Virginia identifies those persons who are mandated reporters. 
These persons shall report suspected abuse or neglect that they suspect when 
in their professional or official capacity.  

Mandated reporter training and other resources for mandated reporters are 
available from VDSS on the VDSS public website.  

(§ 63.2-1509 A of the Code of Virginia). The following persons who, in their 
professional or official capacity, have reason to suspect that a child is an abused or 
neglected child, shall report the matter immediately, except as hereinafter provided, 
to the local department of the county or city wherein the child resides or wherein the 
abuse or neglect is believed to have occurred or to the Department’s toll free child 
abuse and neglect hotline:  

1. Any person licensed to practice medicine or any of the healing arts;  

2. Any hospital resident or intern, and any person employed in the nursing profession;  

3. Any person employed as a social worker or family services specialist; 

4. Any probation officer;  

5. Any teacher or other person employed in a public or private school, kindergarten 
or nursery school;  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-61/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/abuse/mr.cgi
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
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6. Any person providing full-time or part-time child care for pay on a regularly 
planned basis;  

7. Any mental health professional; 

8. Any law-enforcement officer or animal control officer;  

9. Any mediator eligible to receive court referrals pursuant to § 8.01-576.8;  

10. Any professional staff person, not previously enumerated, employed by a private 
or state-operated hospital, institution or facility to which children have been 
committed or where children have been placed for care and treatment; 

11. Any person, 18 years of age or older, associated with or employed by any public 
or private organization responsible for the care, custody or control of children; and 

12. Any person who is designated a court-appointed special advocate pursuant to 
Article 5 (§ 9.1-151 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 9.1. 
 
13. Any person, 18 years of age or older, who has received training approved by the 
Department of Social Services for the purposes of recognizing and reporting child 
abuse and neglect. 

14. Any person employed by a local department as defined in § 63.2-100 who 
determines eligibility for public assistance. 

15. Any emergency medical services provider certified by the Board of Health 
pursuant to § 32.1-111.5, unless such provider immediately reports the matter directly 
to the attending physician at the hospital to which the child is transported, who shall 
make such report forthwith; 

16. Any athletic coach, director or other person 18 years of age or older employed by 
or volunteering with a private sports organization or team; 

17. Administrators or employees, 18 years of age or older, of public or private day 
camps, youth centers and youth recreation programs;  

18. Any person employed by a public or private institution of higher education other 
than an attorney who is employed by a public or private institution of higher 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/8.01-576.8/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-151/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-111.5/
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education as it relates to information gained in the course of providing legal 
representation to a client; and 
 
19. Any minister, priest, rabbi, imam, or duly accredited practitioner of any religious 
organization or denomination usually referred to as a church unless the information 
supporting the suspicion of child abuse or neglect (i) is required by the doctrine of 
the religious organization or denomination to be kept in a confidential manner or (ii) 
would be subject to § 8.01-400 or 19.2-271.3 if offered as evidence in court. 

Foster and adoptive parents and respite providers are considered mandated 
reporters due to their association with a public organization that is responsible 
for the care, custody and control of children as referenced in § 63.2-1509 A11.  

3.3.1.2 Certain mandated reporters may make a report to the person in 
charge or their designee 

The VAC allows certain mandated reporters to make a report to the person in 
charge or a designee. If the report is made to another person, that person must 
report back to the original mandated reporter 1) when the report was made; 2) 
who received the report; and 3) relay any further information back to the original 
reporter, including any final notifications.  

3.3.1.3 Mandated reporter shall disclose all relevant information even if 
not the complainant 

The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1509 A specifies when a mandated reporter makes 
a report of suspected abuse or neglect; the reporter shall disclose all the 
information that is the basis of the report to the LDSS. This includes any records 
or reports documenting the basis of the allegation. 

All mandated reporters, even if they are not the complainant, shall cooperate with 
the LDSS and shall make related information, records and reports about the child 
who is the subject of the report available to the LDSS for the purpose of validating 
a CPS referral and for completing a CPS response unless such disclosure 
violates the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (20 U.S.C. § 
1232(g)). 

Provision of such information, records, and reports by a health care provider shall 
not be prohibited by the Code of Virginia § 8.01-399. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/8.01-400
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/19.2-271.3
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://www.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/fpco/ferpa/index.html
http://www.ed.gov/policy/gen/guid/fpco/ferpa/index.html
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/8.01-399/
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Criminal investigative reports received from law-enforcement agencies shall not 
be further disseminated by the investigating agency nor shall they be subject to 
public disclosure. 

Although obtaining parental consent to obtain information is always preferable, 
consent is not required for the release of information for the purpose of validating 
a referral or completing an investigation or family assessment.  

3.3.1.4 Failure by mandated reporter to report abuse or neglect 

According to the Code of Virginia § 63.2-1509 D, a person required to report who 
fails to do so as soon as possible, but not longer than 24 hours after having a 
reason to suspect a reportable offense of child abuse or neglect shall be fined 
not more than $500 for the first failure and for any subsequent failures not less 
than $1000. If the LDSS becomes aware of an incident involving a mandated 
reporter who failed to report pursuant to the Code of Virginia § 63.2-1509 A and 
B, the LDSS must report the incident to the local Commonwealth's Attorney. 

If a person knowingly and intentionally fails to report cases involving rape, 
sodomy, or object sexual penetration, they shall be guilty of a Class 1 
misdemeanor.  

If a person has actual knowledge that the same matter has already been reported 
they are not required to contact the LDSS or the state hotline.  

3.3.1.5 Physicians reporting venereal disease 

Physicians who diagnose venereal disease in a child 12 years of age or under 
shall make a CPS report to the LDSS. Physicians need not report cases of 
venereal disease when they reasonably believe that the infection was caused 
congenitally or by means other than sexual abuse. The Code of Virginia § 32.1-
36 A provides that practicing physicians and laboratory directors shall report 
patients’ diseases as prescribed by the State Board of Medicine. See the Code 
of Virginia § 32.1-36 A and B.  

3.3.1.6 Mandated reporters may make report electronically 

Mandated reporters may make a report of suspected child abuse or neglect 
electronically on the Mandated Reporter website expected to be operational in 
2019.  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-36/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-36/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-36/
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3.3.2 Other persons may make a report of alleged child abuse or neglect 

(22 VAC 40-705-40 B). Persons who may report child abuse or neglect include any 
individual who suspects that a child is being abused or neglected pursuant to § 63.2-1510 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Any individual suspecting that a child is abused or neglected may make a complaint 
to the VDSS or to an LDSS. The person can make the complaint to the LDSS in the 
county or city where the alleged victim child resides or where the alleged abuse or 
neglect occurred. The person may also make the complaint by calling the CPS State 
Hotline (1-800-552-7096).  

3.3.3 Complaints and reports may be made anonymously 

(22 VAC 40-705-40 C). Complaints and reports of child abuse or neglect may be made 
anonymously.  

Reports or complaints alleging abuse or neglect may be made anonymously and the 
LDSS cannot require the individual to reveal his identity as a condition of accepting 
the report. All reports shall be documented in the child welfare information system and 
evaluated for validity and a CPS response regardless of whether or not the caller is 
identified.  

3.3.4 Issues related to reporting 

3.3.4.1 Immunity from liability for persons making a report 

(22 VAC 40-705-40 D). Any person making a complaint or report of child abuse or 
neglect shall be immune from any civil or criminal liability in connection therewith, 
unless it is proven that such person acted in bad faith or with malicious intent pursuant 
to § 63.2-1512 of the Code of Virginia. 

The following persons are immune from any civil or criminal liability unless it is 
proven that such person acts with malicious intent:  

• Any person making a report or complaint of child abuse or neglect. 

• Any person who participates in a judicial proceeding resulting from either 
making a report or taking a child into immediate custody. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1510/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1512/
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3.3.4.2 Protecting the identity of the reporter or complainant 

(22 VAC 40-705-40 E). When the identity of the reporter is known to the department 
or local department, these agencies shall not disclose the reporter's identity unless 
court ordered or required under § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of Virginia. 

When the complainant is known to the LDSS, the LDSS shall not disclose the 
complainant’s name. However, the complainant shall also be informed that his 
anonymity cannot be assured if the case is brought into court or shared with local 
law enforcement.  

3.4 Actions upon receipt of complaint or report 

3.4.1 Statutory authorities and responsibilities 

The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1503 requires an LDSS to determine the validity of all 
reports and to decide whether to conduct a family assessment or an investigation, if 
valid. 

3.4.2 Document receipt of complaint or report in child welfare information 
system 

Pursuant to § 63.2-1505 B 2 of the Code of Virginia, when a complaint or report 
alleging abuse or neglect is received, the LDSS shall enter the report into the child 
welfare information system.  

3.4.3 LDSS shall record all complaints and reports in writing 

(22 VAC 40-705-50 A). All complaints and reports of suspected child abuse or neglect 
shall be recorded in the child abuse and neglect information system and either screened out 
or determined to be valid upon receipt. A record of all reports and complaints made to a 
local department or to the Department, regardless of whether the report or complaint was 
found to be a valid complaint of abuse or neglect, shall be purged one year after the date 
of the report or complaint unless a subsequent report or complaint is made. 

All complaints or reports made to the VDSS or an LDSS shall be documented in the 
child welfare information system. A person may make the initial complaint or report 
alleging abuse or neglect orally, in writing, or online on the Mandated Reporter 
website. The LDSS must document the report or complaint in the child welfare 
information system within three working days, regardless of whether the complaint 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1503/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1505/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
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or report is determined to be valid or invalid. Timeliness of the initial response is 
calculated from the date and time the referral was received, not validated or assigned.   

3.4.3.1 New allegations in an existing family assessment or 
investigation 

When a report has been accepted as valid and the investigation or family 
assessment response is initiated and subsequent allegations are made, the type 
of allegation and the time elapsed since the initial report will determine whether 
the new allegation is treated as a new report or assessed within the context of 
the existing response. If the allegations do not provide any new or different 
information, they may be added into the initial investigation or family assessment. 
If the additional allegations address new types of abuse or neglect and five (5) 
or more days have elapsed since the first report, the additional allegations 
should be taken as a new report and screened using the CPS Intake Tool. 

3.5 Determine validity of complaint or report 

When an LDSS receives a report or complaint of abuse or neglect, the LDSS must 
determine whether the complaint or report is valid upon receipt of the complaint. Criteria 
are established for determining whether a complaint or report is valid. Each criterion must 
be satisfied before a complaint or report can be valid. Only valid reports or complaints of 
abuse or neglect shall receive a family assessment or an investigation. It is important to 
make the validity decision as soon as possible after the report has been received so that 
the urgency of the response can be accurately determined. Response time is calculated 
from the date and time the referral was received, not validated or assigned.  

When determining validity, the LDSS must use the CPS Intake Tool for all reports of child 
abuse and neglect including new reports during open cases. The CPS Intake Tool must 
be completed in the child welfare information system as soon as possible, but no later 
than three working days, upon receipt of the report by the LDSS. It is critical that the 
intake worker using the CPS Intake Tool review the definitions available on the tool when 
making selections on the checklist. Selections made on the CPS Intake Tool must relate 
to supporting narrative in the child welfare information system. The CPS Intake Tool with 
definitions is located on the forms page on the DSS public website or in Appendix D of 
this section. 

The CPS Intake Tool is covered in Module 1 of the e-learning course CWSE1510: 
Structured Decision Making in Virginia located in the VLC.  

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cps/index2.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/benefit/vlc/index.cgi
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3.5.1 Definition of valid complaint or report 

The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1508 and the VAC define a valid complaint. 

(22 VAC 40-705-50 B). In all valid complaints or reports of child abuse or neglect the local 
department of social services shall determine whether to conduct an investigation or a 
family assessment.  A valid complaint or report is one in which: 

1. The alleged victim child or children are under the age of 18 years at the time of the 
complaint or report; 

2. The alleged abuser is the alleged victim child's parent or other caretaker; 

3. The local department receiving the complaint or report has jurisdiction; and 

4. The circumstances described allege suspected child abuse or neglect as defined in § 63.2-
100 of the Code of Virginia. 

3.5.2 Determine whether the complaint or report is valid 

There are four criteria that must be addressed when determining whether the 
complaint or report is valid. Each question must be satisfied in order to have a valid 
report. The four elements are:  

3.5.2.1 Question 1:  Is the alleged victim child under eighteen years of 
age? 

(22 VAC 40-705-50 B 1). The alleged victim child or children are under the age of 
18 years at the time of the complaint or report. 

The LDSS can only respond with a family assessment or an investigation to valid 
complaints or reports involving children less than 18 years of age at the time of 
the report or complaint. If the alleged victim is over 18 years of age, the LDSS 
should refer that person to the local attorney for the Commonwealth, Adult 
Protective Services, or other appropriate services provided in the locality. 

3.5.2.1.1 Emancipated minor 

If the alleged victim child is under 18 years of age and has been legally 
emancipated, then the LDSS has the discretion of not completing a family 
assessment or investigating the complaint. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1508/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
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The LDSS may determine a report of abuse or neglect as invalid if a court 
has emancipated the alleged victim of the abuse or neglect pursuant to the 
Code of Virginia §§ 16.1-331 and 16.1-332. 

The Code of Virginia §§ 16.1-331, 16.1-332, and 16.1-333 require petitioning 
the juvenile court and the court conducting a hearing before making a finding 
of emancipation. The LDSS must confirm that the child has been legally 
emancipated before invalidating the complaint or report.  

3.5.2.1.2 Alleged victim child is married 

There is no specific Code of Virginia or VAC provision prohibiting the 
validation of a complaint involving an alleged victim child who is married. 
When an LDSS receives a complaint involving a married child, the first issue 
the LDSS may address is whether the alleged victim child is emancipated. If 
the alleged victim child is married and emancipated, then the LDSS should 
invalidate the complaint or report. 

A husband or wife of the alleged victim cannot be considered a caretaker. 

3.5.2.2 Question 2:  Is the alleged abuser or neglector a caretaker? 

(22 VAC 40-705-50 B 2). The alleged abuser is the alleged victim child's parent or 
other caretaker. 

The second element of a valid complaint is the alleged abuser or neglector must 
be a caretaker. The VAC defines caretaker:  

(22 VAC 40-705-10) “Caretaker” means any individual having the responsibility of 
providing care and supervision of a child and includes the following: (i) parent or 
other person legally responsible for the child’s care; (ii) an individual who by law, 
social custom, expressed or implied acquiescence, collective consensus, agreement 
or any other legally recognizable basis has an obligation to look after a child left in 
his care; and (iii) persons responsible by virtue of their conferred authority.  

A caretaker is an individual who is responsible or assumes responsibility for 
providing care and supervision for the child. There are three (3) general 
categories of caretakers: 

• A parent or other person legally responsible for the child's care includes:  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-331/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-332/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-331/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-332/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-333/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
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o Birth parent. 

o Adoptive parent. 

o Stepparent. 

o Legal guardian. 

o Foster parent. 

• An individual who by law, social custom, expressed or implied 
acquiescence, collective consensus, agreement or any other legally 
recognizable basis has an obligation to look after the child left in their care 
may include but is not limited to:  

o Relative. 

o Babysitter. 

o Paramour of the parent. 

o Cohabitants. 

For all such individuals in this category, the LDSS must be able to document how 
the care and control of the child was expressly delegated or implied to the 
individual, as well as take into consideration the factors listed in 3.5.2.2.1. For 
example, a person who merely resides in the same home as the child but was 
never delegated any authority over the child and in fact did not exercise any 
control over the child is not a caretaker. (Moore v. Brown, 2014 Va. App. LEXIS 
181.)  

• Individuals responsible by virtue of their positions of conferred authority  
includes but is not limited to: 

o Teacher or other school personnel. 

o Institutional staff. 

o Child care personnel. 

o Scout troop leaders. 

http://www.courts.state.va.us/opinions/opncavwp/1396131.pdf
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3.5.2.2.1 Caretaker considerations 

When determining whether a person is responsible for the care of a child, the 
LDSS should consider the amount of authority for the care, control and 
discipline of the child delegated to the person acting as a caretaker. The 
LDSS should gather sufficient evidence to demonstrate that the alleged 
abuser/neglector is a caretaker and document such evidence in the child 
welfare information system. The LDSS should consider these issues when 
determining whether a person is a caretaker. 

• What is the person’s relationship with the child? 

• What is that person’s role or function toward the child? 

• Was the person in a caretaking role at the time of the alleged abusive 
or neglectful incident? 

• Was the primary responsibility of the person toward the child one of 
supervision and providing care, or was the person providing a 
professional or expert service? 

• How do the child and the child’s usual caretaker view this relationship 
and role? 

• How does the community view this relationship and role? 

• Have the parents or other person specifically delegated formally or 
informally the caretaking role for this person? 

• What were the expectations of the parent, alleged abuser/neglector 
and child?  

3.5.2.2.2 Caretakers less than 18 years of age 

The LDSS should consider these additional issues when determining if a 
minor is a caretaker:  

• Was it appropriate for the minor to have been put in a caretaking role?  

• Was the alleged abuse or neglect by the minor indicative of their own 
abuse? (i.e., sexual knowledge or behavior that is age inappropriate) 
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• What is the age difference between the alleged abuser and the victim; 
was this peer interaction? 

If it is determined that a minor may have abused or neglected a child but the 
minor should not have been placed in a caretaker role, the LDSS may 
determine the minor to be the victim child of the caretaker who put them in 
that role. If it is determined that a minor may have sexually abused the child 
and the minor is not determined to be a caretaker, refer to section 3.5.5.2 for 
additional guidance on reporting non-caretaker sexual abuse.  

Refer to Section 4, Family Assessment and Investigation and Section 7, 
Appeals for additional guidance regarding caretakers under 18 years of age.   

3.5.2.2.3 Caretakers in complaints or reports alleging the human trafficking 
of a child 

(§ 63.2-1508 B of the Code of Virginia).  A valid report or complaint regarding 
a child who has been identified as a victim of sex trafficking or severe forms of 
trafficking as defined in the federal Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000 
(22 U.S.C § 7102 et seq.) and in the federal Justice for Victims of Trafficking Act 
of 2015 (P.L. 114-22) may be established if the alleged abuser is the alleged 
victim child's parent, other caretaker, or any other person suspected to have 
caused such abuse or neglect. 

 

The alleged victim child’s parent, other caretaker, or any other person 
suspected to have abused or neglected the child may be considered a 
caretaker when evaluating the validity of a complaint or report involving the 
alleged human trafficking of the child.  

3.5.2.3 Question 3:  Is abuse or neglect alleged to have occurred? 

(22 VAC 40-705-50 B 4). The circumstances described allege suspected child abuse 
or neglect as defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

The complaint or report must describe a type of abuse or neglect as defined in 
22 VAC 40-705-30 or Section 2, Definitions of Abuse and Neglect of this 
guidance manual.  

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/cps/files/manual/07-2017/section_4_family_assessment_and_investigationappendix.pdf
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/cps/files/manual/07-2017/section_7_appeals.pdf
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/cps/files/manual/07-2017/section_7_appeals.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1508
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section30/
file://Vaultcelerra.co.dss.state.va.us/HOME/Policy/July%202017%20Revisions/section_2_definitions_of_abuse_and_neglect.pdf
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3.5.2.3.1 General factors to consider when determining if abuse or neglect 
definition has been met 

The CPS worker must consider the following questions to determine if the 
definition of physical abuse has been met.  

• What was the action or inaction of the caretaker?  

• Did the child sustain an injury or is there evidence establishing that the 
child was threatened with sustaining an injury?  

• Does the evidence establish a nexus, or causal relationship between 
the action or inaction of the caretaker and the physical injury or 
threatened physical injury to the child?  

• Was the injury, or threat of injury, caused by non-accidental means? 

3.5.2.3.2 Establish injury or threat of an injury 

The report or complaint must allege a threat of injury or actual injury to the 
child to satisfy the definition of abuse or neglect. The Code of Virginia and the 
VAC do not require that the child sustain an actual injury.  

3.5.2.3.3 Establish nexus between caretaker’s actions or inaction and the 
injury or threatened injury to the child 

The complaint or report must allege a link between the actions or inaction of 
the caretaker, regardless of the caretaker’s intent, and the injury to the child 
or the threat of injury to the child.  

3.5.2.3.4 “Other than accidental means”  

The injury or threat of injury to the child must have occurred as a result of 
“other than accidental means.” The caretaker’s actions must be carefully 
considered when determining whether the injury or threat of injury sustained 
by the child was caused accidentally.  

For example, the complaint alleged that the caretaker caused bruises and 
abrasions on the child’s ankles and wrists. The caretaker asserted that he did 
not intend to cause the injuries to the child; he intended to restrain the five-
year-old boy with a rope. However, the evidence shows that the caretaker 
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tied the child’s legs at the ankles and tied the wrists to a chair, and when the 
child jerked in several different directions for over 20 minutes to try to get 
loose, injuries occurred to these parts of the body. The caretaker did not 
accidentally tie the child and leave him for 20 minutes. Although the caretaker 
did not intend to cause the injuries to the child, the caretaker did intend to tie 
the child, and could reasonably expect this child would try to get loose. The 
caretaker’s act of restraining this child with a rope was intended and could 
have caused more serious harm. The result of the caretaker’s actions was 
not unforeseen or unexpected. Therefore, the injury was not accidental.  

In the alternative, a black eye to the child’s face while playing catch with the 
caretaker would be considered accidental. The fact that the ball bounced off 
the child’s mitt and struck the child’s eye was not intended. In the first 
example, the caretaker intended to discipline his child by restraining with a 
rope for 20 minutes. The intended act of restraining the child caused the injury 
to the child. In the second example, the caretaker did not intend for the ball 
to bounce off the child’s mitt and hit the child’s face. The action causing the 
black eye was accidental. 

3.5.2.3.5 Determine if medical neglect definition has been met 

It is the parent’s responsibility to determine and obtain appropriate medical, 
mental health and dental care for a child. What constitutes adequate medical 
treatment for a child cannot be determined in a vacuum free of external 
influences, but rather, each case must be decided on its own particular facts. 
The focus of the CPS response are whether the caretaker failed to provide 
medical treatment and whether the child was harmed or placed at risk of harm 
as a result of the failure. Cultural and religious child-rearing practices and 
beliefs that differ from general community standards should not be 
considered a basis for medical neglect, unless the practices present a specific 
danger to the physical or emotional safety of the child. 

• Treatment or care must be necessary. The statutory definition of 
medical neglect requires that the parent neglects or refuses to provide 
necessary care for the child’s health. Therefore, the LDSS must 
establish that the caretaker’s failure to follow through with a complete 
regimen of medical, mental health or dental care for a child was 
necessary for the child’s health. The result of the caretaker’s failure to 
provide necessary care could be illness or developmental delays. The 
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challenging issue is determining when medical care is necessary for 
the child’s health. Obviously, life-saving medical treatment is 
necessary and falls within the definition. However, when parents or 
caretakers refuse medical care that is important to their child’s well-
being but is not essential to life, the issue becomes more complicated 
in determining whether the medical care is necessary.  

• Assess degree of harm (real or threatened) to the child. When 
assessing whether the medical, mental health or dental treatment is 
necessary for the child’s health, the LDSS should consider the degree 
of harm the child suffered as a result of the lack of care. If the child has 
yet to suffer harm, then the LDSS should assess the likelihood that the 
child will suffer harm. The greater the harm, the more necessary the 
treatment.  

• In addition to harm, the LDSS should consider the type of medical, 
mental health or dental condition involved and whether the condition 
is stable or progressive. Whether the condition is stable or progressive 
may be an issue in determining the severity of the condition and the 
necessity of treatment. If the condition of the child is stable, then the 
LDSS may consider deferring to the caretaker’s authority. If the 
condition is progressive and left untreated, then the LDSS may give 
lesser deference to the caretaker’s authority. 

• Parent refuses treatment for life-threatening condition. Pursuant 
to the Code of Virginia § 63.2-100, a parent’s decision to refuse a 
particular medical treatment for a child with a life-threatening 
condition shall not be deemed a refusal to provide necessary care 
when all the following conditions are met: 

o The decision is made jointly by the child and the parents or other person 
legally responsible for the child.  

o The child has reached 14 years of age and sufficiently mature to have 
an informed opinion on the subject of his medical treatment.  

o The child and the parents or other person legally responsible for the 
child have considered alternative treatment options. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
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o The child and the parents or other person legally responsible for the 
child believe in good faith that such decision is in the child's best 
interest.  

The VAC provides definitions of some of the terms in the Code of Virginia.  

(22 VAC 40-705-10). “Particular medical treatment” means a process or 
procedure that is recommended by conventional medical providers and accepted 
by the conventional medical community. 
“Sufficiently mature” is determined on a case-by-case basis and means that a 
child has no impairment of his cognitive ability and is of a maturity level capable 
of having intelligent views on the subject of his health condition and medical 
care. 
“Informed opinion” means that the child has been informed and understands the 
benefits and risks, to the extent known, of the treatment recommended by 
conventional medical providers for his condition and the alternative treatment 
being considered as well as the basis of efficacy for each, or lack thereof. 
“Alternative treatment options” means treatments used to prevent or treat 
illnesses or promote health and well-being outside the realm of modern 
conventional medicine. 
“Life-threatening condition” means a condition that if left untreated more likely 
than not will result in death and for which the recommended medical treatments 
carry a probable chance of impairing the health of the individual or a risk of 
terminating the life of the individual. 

• Assess caretaker’s rationale. The most singular underlying issue 
in determining whether a child is being deprived of adequate medical 
care, and therefore, a medically neglected child, is whether the 
parents have provided an acceptable course of medical treatment for 
their child in light of all the surrounding circumstances. The LDSS 
should consider whether the caretaker’s failure to provide necessary 
medical treatment was caused by ignorance or misunderstanding. 
The LDSS should consider whether the caretakers obtained 
accredited medical assistance and were aware of the seriousness of 
their child’s condition. The LDSS should weigh the possibility of a 
cure if a certain mode of treatment is undertaken and whether the 
caretakers provided their child with a treatment. The LDSS should 
consider whether the caretakers sought an alternative treatment 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
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recommended by their physician and have not totally rejected all 
responsible medical authority. 

• Assess financial capabilities and poverty. The LDSS should 
consider whether the caretaker’s failure to provide necessary 
medical treatment was caused by financial reasons or poverty. 
Parents or caretakers should not be considered neglectful for the 
failure to provide necessary medical treatment unless they are 
financially able to do so or were offered financial or other reasonable 
means to do so. In such situations, a founded disposition may be 
warranted if, after appropriate counseling and referral, the parents 
still fail to provide the necessary medical care. 

3.5.2.3.6 Child under alternative treatment 

(22 VAC 40-705-30 B3b(1)). A child who, in good faith, is under treatment solely 
by spiritual means through prayer in accordance with the tenets and practices of 
a recognized church or religious denomination, shall not for that reason alone be 
considered a neglected child in accordance with § 63.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

The Code of Virginia provides that no child shall be considered an abused or 
neglected child only for the reason that the child is under treatment solely by 
spiritual means through prayer in accordance with the tenets and practices of 
a recognized church or religious denomination. The religious exemption to a 
founded disposition of child abuse or neglect mirrors the statute providing a 
religious defense to criminal child abuse and neglect.1 This exemption means 
that a founded disposition cannot be based only upon the religious practices 
of the parents or caretakers. A founded disposition can be rendered for other 
reasons. For example, if the parent caused the injury in the first place, the 
religious exemption would not apply. The religious exemption to a founded 
disposition of abuse or neglect is designed to protect a family’s right to 

                                                           

1 See § 18.2-371.1C  of the Code of Virginia. Any parent, guardian or other person having care, custody, or control 
of a minor child who in good faith is under treatment solely by spiritual means through prayer in accordance with 
the tenets and practices of a recognized church or religious denomination shall not, for that reason alone, be 
considered in violation of this section. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section30/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371.1/
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freedom of religion. The religious exemption statute is not to provide a shield 
for a person to abuse or neglect a child.2 

Should there be question concerning whether a child is under the treatment 
in accordance with a tenet or practice of a recognized church or religious 
denomination, the LDSS should seek the court’s assistance. The court should 
decide whether the parent or caretaker is adhering to religious beliefs as the 
basis for refusal of medical or dental treatment. 

3.5.2.3.7 Medical neglect of infants with life-threatening conditions  

The Virginia Administrative Code 22 VAC 40-705-30 B3 states that medical 
neglect includes withholding of medically indicated treatment. The definition 
section of 22 VAC 40-705-10 et seq. defines withholding of medically 
indicated treatment as specific to infants. When conducting an investigation 
involving an infant deprived of necessary medical treatment or care, the 
LDSS must be aware of the ancillary definitions and guidance requirements.  

(22 VAC 40-705-10). “Withholding of medically indicated treatment” means the 
failure to respond to the infant’s life-threatening condition by providing treatment 
(including appropriate nutrition, hydration, and medication) which in the treating 
physician’s or physicians’ reasonable medical judgment will be most likely to be 
effective in ameliorating or correcting all such conditions. 

This definition applies to situations where parents do not attempt to get a 
diagnosis even when the child's symptoms are severe and observable.  

• Withholding of medically indicated treatment when treatment is 
futile. 

(22 VAC 40-705-30 B3b(2)). For the purposes of this chapter, “withholding of 
medically indicated treatment” does not include the failure to provide treatment 
(other than appropriate nutrition, hydration, or medication) to an infant when in 
the treating physician’s or physicians’ reasonable medical judgment: 

                                                           

2 The United States Supreme Court held in 1944 that "parents may be free to become martyrs themselves.  But it 
does not follow that they are free, in identical circumstances, to make martyrs of their children before they can reach 
the age of full and legal discretion when they can make that choice for themselves.”  Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 
U.S. 158, 170 (1944). 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section30/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section30/
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a. The infant is chronically and irreversibly comatose;  
b. The infant has a terminal condition and the provision of such treatment would 
(i) merely prolong dying; (ii) not be effective in ameliorating or correcting all of 
the infant’s life-threatening conditions; (iii) otherwise be futile in terms of the 
survival of the infant; or (iv) be virtually futile in terms of the survival of the 
infant and the treatment itself under such circumstances would be inhumane. 

• Definition of chronically and irreversibly comatose and terminal 
condition. 

(22 VAC 40-705-10). “Chronically and irreversibly comatose” means a condition 
caused by injury, disease or illness in which a patient has suffered a loss of 
consciousness with no behavioral evidence of self-awareness or awareness of 
surroundings in a learned manner other than reflexive activity of muscles and 
nerves for low-level conditioned response and from which to a reasonable degree 
of medical probability there can be no recovery. 
(22 VAC 40-705-10). “Terminal condition” means a condition caused by injury, 
disease or illness from which to a reasonable degree of medical probability a 
patient cannot recover and (i) the patient’s death is imminent or (ii) the patient is 
chronically and irreversibly comatose. 

3.5.2.3.8 Screening decision for substance-exposed infant (SEI) reports 

A report of an SEI, which meets one of the three circumstances outlined in § 
63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia, is sufficient to initiate a CPS response. 
However, if a report of SEI is made by a healthcare provider and screened 
out, the LDSS should advise the caller to refer the mother and child to the 
local Community Services Board (CSB), Opioid Treatment Program, 
Medication Assisted Treatment provider, home visiting program and/or local 
public health department to ensure a Plan of Safe Care is developed for the 
mother and child. See Section 10: Substance-Exposed Infants for specific 
guidance relating to this special population.  

3.5.2.4 Question 4:  Does the LDSS have jurisdiction to conduct the 
family assessment or investigation? 

The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1503 A provides the LDSS with the jurisdictional 
authority to conduct investigations of reports or complaints alleging child abuse 
and neglect. Jurisdiction determines which LDSS has primary responsibility for 
responding to a complaint or report of abuse or neglect.  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/cps/files/manual/07-2017/section_10_substance_exposed_infants.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503/
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The LDSS that first receives a report or complaint must determine if they have 
jurisdiction and which LDSS is the local department of jurisdiction.   

The VAC defines local department of jurisdiction as: 

(22 VAC 40-705-10). "Local department of jurisdiction" means the local department 
in the city or county in Virginia where the alleged victim child resides or in which 
the alleged abuse or neglect is believed to have occurred.  If neither of these is known, 
then the local department of jurisdiction shall be the local department in the county 
or city where the abuse or neglect was discovered. 

 

If the LDSS that first receives a complaint or report of child abuse or neglect has 
jurisdiction, that local department becomes the local department of jurisdiction 
and shall assume responsibility to determine the validity of the complaint or 
report; and, if valid, shall ensure that a family assessment or investigation is 
conducted.    

If the LDSS that first receives a complaint or report of child abuse or neglect does 
not have jurisdiction, that local department must determine the local department 
of jurisdiction and immediately do each of the following:  

• Document and transfer the complaint or report in the child welfare 
information system. 

• Make verbal contact with a Family Services Specialist or Supervisor at the 
local department of jurisdiction and advise them of the transfer. 

• Advise the person making the complaint or report of the name and 
telephone number for the local department of jurisdiction. 

Only a local department of jurisdiction may determine the validity of a complaint 
or report of child abuse or neglect; and, if valid, conduct an investigation or family 
assessment.   

If the criteria for where the abuse or neglect occurred and where the child resides 
are different, the priority for the local department of jurisdiction should be given 
to the jurisdiction where the abuse or neglect occurred only if there is a joint 
investigation with law enforcement in that jurisdiction associated with the 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
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allegations.  Otherwise, the local department of jurisdiction should be where the 
child resides to ensure the provision of services to the child and family.  

3.5.2.4.1 Lack of jurisdiction not sufficient to invalidate complaint or report 

The LDSS may not invalidate a complaint or report because they are not the 
local agency of jurisdiction.  The LDSS must immediately document and 
transfer the complaint or report in the child welfare information system to the 
local agency of jurisdiction as instructed in Section 3.5.2.4.   

3.5.2.4.2 Out-of-state jurisdiction 

If the complaint or report belongs out-of-state, then the LDSS must make a 
referral to the appropriate agency in the other state, document the referral in 
the child welfare information system, and then invalidate the referral for lack 
of jurisdiction in the child welfare information system.   

3.5.2.4.3 Transfer jurisdiction of complaint or report to local department of 
jurisdiction 

The LDSS transferring a complaint or report to the local department of 
jurisdiction must immediately:  

• Document and transfer the complaint or report in the child welfare 
information system; 

• Make verbal contact with a Family Services Specialist or Supervisor at 
the local department of jurisdiction and advise them of the transfer; 
AND 

• Advise the person making the complaint of the name and telephone 
number for the local department of jurisdiction. VDSS maintains a 
Local Department of Social Services Directory with contact information 
for each local agency.   

The LDSS transferring a complaint or report must do so immediately 
because the receiving local department of jurisdiction is responsible for 
ensuring the initial response is initiated within the determined response time.  
See Section 3.8 Screen valid complaints and reports for priority.  

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/localagency/index.cgi


Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2019 

Child and Family Services Manual C.  Child Protective Services 
 

 

 
C Section 3 Page 28 of 81       3  Complaints and Reports 
   

3.5.2.4.4 Responsibilities of the local department of jurisdiction receiving the 
complaint  

The local department of jurisdiction receiving a complaint or report shall 
assume responsibility for determining the validity of the complaint or report; 
and, if valid, ensure that a family assessment or investigation is conducted.  
The local department of jurisdiction must also ensure the initial response is 
initiated within the determined response priority.   

3.5.2.4.5 Assistance between local department of jurisdiction 

(22 VAC 40-705-40 I 3). A local department of jurisdiction may ask another local 
department that is a local department of jurisdiction to assist in conducting the 
family assessment or investigation. If assistance is requested, the local 
department shall comply. 

 
The local department of jurisdiction may ask another local department of 
jurisdiction to assist in conducting the CPS family assessment or 
investigation. Assistance shall be provided upon request. Assistance may 
include conducting courtesy interviews of the alleged victim child, the alleged 
victim child’s parents or other caretakers, and the alleged abuser or neglector. 
Assistance may also include arranging for appointments, scheduling 
meetings, counseling sessions, or any other professional contacts and 
services for the alleged victim child and siblings, the child’s parents or other 
caretakers, or alleged abuser or neglector. 

• When a party relocates outside of the investigating LDSS’s jurisdiction. 
The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1503 H specifically addresses the 
circumstances when a party to a report or complaint of abuse or 
neglect relocates outside of the jurisdiction of the investigating LDSS.  

• When the alleged victim child, and/or the child’s parents or other 
caretakers who are the subject of the family assessment or 
investigation relocate out of the jurisdiction of the LDSS responsible 
for the family assessment or investigation, the LDSS of jurisdiction 
shall notify the CPS Unit of the LDSS where the parties relocated, 
whether inside or outside of Virginia. The LDSS of jurisdiction may 
seek assistance from the other LDSS in completing the investigation. 
The notified LDSS shall respond to the receiving LDSS’s request for 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503/
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assistance in completing the family assessment or investigation. Any 
LDSS in Virginia so requested shall comply.  

• LDSS shall share relevant case record information. When one local 
department of jurisdiction requests another local department of 
jurisdiction to assist in completing a family assessment or an 
investigation or providing services, the requesting local department of 
jurisdiction shall contact the receiving local department of jurisdiction 
by telephone before transferring the record within the child welfare 
information system. The receiving local department of jurisdiction shall 
then arrange protective and rehabilitative services as needed or 
appropriate, and assist in a timely completion of the investigation or 
family assessment. All written notification and letters (i.e., disposition 
letters and notification of appeal rights) remain the responsibility of the 
original local department of jurisdiction conducting the family 
assessment or investigation. The local department of jurisdiction shall 
continue to retain case materials not entered into the child welfare 
information system and provide the receiving local department of 
jurisdiction with relevant portions of the case record necessary to 
provide services or to complete the investigation or family assessment. 

 (22 VAC 40-705-40 I4). A local department of jurisdiction may ask another local 
department through a cooperative agreement to assist in conducting the family 
assessment or investigation. 

 
• Cooperative agreements between LDSS. A local department of 

jurisdiction may request assistance from a local department that is not 
necessarily a local department of jurisdiction.  A cooperative 
agreement may be developed between the two LDSS to address 
guidelines, parameters, and follow-up requirements.   

3.5.2.4.6 The appearance of a conflict of interest 

Family assessments or investigations involving recognized figures, local or 
county officials, former employees, and other persons who are well known 
within the community may raise the appearance of a conflict of interest for an 
LDSS.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
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In order to assure that the response to such cases is and appears to be 
impartial, the local department of jurisdiction may contact a neighboring 
locality and develop the appropriate guidelines for completion of the family 
assessment or investigation. The LDSS may develop a cooperative 
agreement to ensure that the report receives an appropriate response.  

The local department of jurisdiction should request a neighboring locality to 
conduct any investigation in reports involving a foster child when the child is 
placed in a locally approved foster home.  

When considering transferring a report or complaint of child abuse or neglect 
because of the appearance of a conflict of interest, the LDSS may seek 
guidance from the CPS Regional Consultant. 

3.5.2.4.7 Family assessments or investigations involving employees of LDSS 

The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1509 provides the juvenile and domestic relations 
district court the authority to determine jurisdiction of the investigation if the 
alleged abuser or neglector is an employee of the LDSS where the report or 
complaint was received. The purpose of this statute is to ensure a fair 
investigation and preserve impartiality. 

The VAC states:  

(22 VAC 40-705-40 H4). If a local department employee is suspected of abusing 
or neglecting a child, the complaint or report of child abuse or neglect shall be 
made to the juvenile and domestic relations district court of the county or city 
where the alleged abuse or neglect was discovered. The judge shall assign the 
report to a local department that is not the employer of the subject of the report, 
or, if the judge believes that no local department in a reasonable geographic 
distance can be impartial in responding to the reported case, the judge shall assign 
the report to the court service unit of his court for evaluation  pursuant to §§ 63.2-
1509 and 63.2-1510 of the Code of Virginia. The judge may consult with the 
department in selecting a local department to respond.  

• Jurisdiction: assignment of investigation by court to LDSS. If a 
LDSS is assigned a report by the court, the family assessment or 
investigation should be conducted like any other.  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1510/
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3.5.2.4.8 LDSS cannot assume jurisdiction if abuse or neglect occurred in 
another state and the alleged abuser does not reside in Virginia 

A LDSS shall not assume jurisdiction of an investigation or family assessment 
if the alleged abuse or neglect occurred in another state and the alleged 
abuser does not reside in Virginia, even if the alleged victim resides in Virginia 
at the time of the report. A LDSS should report the suspected abuse or 
neglect to CPS in the state where the abuse or neglect occurred. If the other 
state requests assistance in conducting the investigation or family 
assessment, the LDSS should comply. If services are needed for the child or 
family, the LDSS may open the case for services.  

• Transfer jurisdiction of investigation to another state. If appropriate, 
the LDSS may request the other state to assume jurisdiction of the 
investigation. If the other state agrees to assume jurisdiction of the 
investigation, the LDSS should provide all information relevant to the 
investigation to the other state. The following information should be 
provided when making a referral: 

o The name, date of birth, and sex of child.  

o Any other name by which the child may be known. 

o The names of parent and/or guardian. 

o Any other names by which the parent and/or guardian may be known.  

o The current address including any directions.  

o Last known address.  

o Statement of why the referral is being made.  

o Brief social history of the child and the family.  

o A brief description of the LDSS's involvement with the family.  

If the other state refuses to accept jurisdiction, then the LDSS must determine 
whether sufficient resources are available to conduct a thorough family 
assessment or investigation. The LDSS may not be able to gather sufficient 
evidence to make a determination of whether the abuse or neglect occurred. 
The LDSS must clearly document in the record if the LDSS is unable to 



Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2019 

Child and Family Services Manual C.  Child Protective Services 
 

 

 
C Section 3 Page 32 of 81       3  Complaints and Reports 
   

conduct the family assessment or investigation or unable to gather sufficient 
evidence to make a determination. The child welfare information system 
should be notified that the LDSS was unable to complete the response. 

3.5.3 Universal screening for domestic violence (DV) 

All valid reports should be screened to determine the presence of DV. There are 
several evidence based tools that can be used to screen for DV depending on who is 
being interviewed. The "HITS" (Hurt, Insult, Threaten, Scream) screening tool may be 
used to screen for DV with collaterals such as family members, professionals, service 
providers, anonymous callers and mandated reporters. The Women's Experience with 
Battering Tool (WEB) is designed to be used with potential victims of DV. These 
screening tools and additional guidance regarding DV and universal screening can be 
found in a new section of the VDSS Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter H. 
Domestic Violence. 

3.5.4 Invalid report or complaint 

(22 VAC 40-705-50 C). The local department shall not conduct a family assessment or 
investigate complaints or reports of child abuse or neglect that fail to meet all of the criteria 
in subsection B of this section. 

Each of the four criteria outlined in 22 VAC 40-705-50 B must be satisfied in order to 
achieve a valid complaint of abuse or neglect requiring a family assessment or an 
investigation. If the complaint or report of abuse or neglect fails to meet any one of the 
criteria, then the complaint or report is not valid and the LDSS has no authority to 
conduct a CPS family assessment or an investigation. 

3.5.4.1 Additional information for screening reports of abuse or neglect 
regarding public school personnel 

The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1511 states that “reasonable and necessary” force 
should be taken into account in determining validity of reports of abuse or neglect 
by public school employees. Appendix A in Section 5: Out of Family 
Investigations of this guidance manual has additional guidance for assessing the 
applicability of § 63.2-1511 for CPS out-of-family reports of school employees. 

3.5.4.2 Screening consideration if alleged abuser is deceased 

If the alleged abuser or neglector is deceased at the time of the report or dies 
during the course of the investigation, the LDSS must evaluate whether the 

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/community/dv/index.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/community/dv/index.cgi
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1511/
file://Vaultcelerra.co.dss.state.va.us/HOME/Policy/July%202017%20Revisions/section_5_out_of_family_investigations.pdf
file://Vaultcelerra.co.dss.state.va.us/HOME/Policy/July%202017%20Revisions/section_5_out_of_family_investigations.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1511/
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purpose of the investigation would be achieved. An investigation may be 
appropriate if there is a child victim in need of services or in order to prevent other 
abuse or neglect.  

3.5.4.3 Prevention response for invalid report or complaint 

If a report or complaint is determined to be invalid and the LDSS has determined 
that services need to be provided to prevent foster care, the LDSS should open 
a Prevention services case to provide services to the child and family. The Code 
of Virginia § 63.2-905 provides the legal authority to offer and provide foster care 
services, which includes services to a child who is in need of services to prevent 
or eliminate the need for foster care placement. A child in need of services may 
include a victim of sex trafficking or non-caretaker sexual abuse. 

(§ 63.2-905 of the Code of Virginia). Foster care services are the provision of a full 
range of casework, treatment and community services, including but not limited to 
independent living services, for a planned period of time to a child who is abused or 
neglected as defined in § 63.2-100 or in need of services as defined in § 16.1-228 and 
his family when the child (i) has been identified as needing services to prevent or 
eliminate the need for foster care placement, (ii) has been placed through an 
agreement between the local board or the public agency designated by the community 
policy and management team and the parents or guardians where legal custody 
remains with the parents or guardians, or (iii) has been committed or entrusted to a 
local board or licensed child placing agency. Foster care services also include the 
provision and restoration of independent living services to a person who is over the 
age of 18 years but who has not yet reached the age of 21 years, in accordance with 
§ 63.2-905.1. 

Refer to the VDSS Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter B. Prevention, 
Section 4, for further guidance regarding prevention services.  

3.5.4.4 Universal response to invalid complaints or reports of child 
human trafficking 

All complaints or reports alleging a child is a victim of human trafficking require 
the LDSS complete a human trafficking assessment, unless during the course of 
the human trafficking assessment it is determined an investigation or family 
assessment is required by law or is necessary to protect the safety of the child.  
The human trafficking assessment response creates a universal response by the 
child welfare system to the human trafficking of children.  The purpose of the 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-905/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-905/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-228/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-905.1/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/dfs/ca_fc_prevention/early_prevention/manual/SECTION_4_FINAL_Services_to_At_Risk_Families_9-24-12_pdf.pdf
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human trafficking assessment is to assess both the safety and risk factors 
associated with the child victim and his family/caretaker(s) as well as the 
protective and rehabilitative service needs of the child victim and his 
family/caretaker(s).  See Section 4.2 for further guidance regarding the human 
trafficking assessment.  

3.5.5 Required notifications if report or complaint is invalid 

3.5.5.1 Notify complainant 

If a report is determined to be invalid, the LDSS must inform the complainant of 
its lack of authority to take action. This notification must be documented in the 
child welfare information system.  

3.5.5.1.1 Invalid complaint involving child care facility 

If a report is not valid because it addresses general substandard conditions 
in a child care facility (such as quality of food or program issues in a day care 
setting or residential facility), but the conditions do not constitute abuse or 
neglect, the LDSS shall identify the proper regulatory authority and refer the 
caller to that regulatory authority. If there is no regulatory authority and no 
valid complaint for CPS investigation, the caller shall be informed that there 
is no agency with the authority to intervene.  

3.5.5.1.2 Non-caretaker sexual abuse: information to be provided to reporter 
or complainant 

The intake worker should explain the following to the person making the 
report or complaint alleging the non-caretaker sexual abuse of a child: 

• The LDSS is not the agency authorized to investigate the report. 

• The LDSS is required to report this information directly to law 
enforcement. 

This includes allegations involving sex trafficking of a child by someone not 
in a caretaker role.  
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3.5.5.2 Notify law enforcement of non-caretaker sexual abuse 

If a report is not valid because it alleges child sexual abuse perpetrated by a 
person who is not in a caretaker role, the LDSS is required to report the allegation 
to the local law enforcement agency. The worker should telephone the 
information to law enforcement in the jurisdiction where the abuse occurred in 
accordance with any local protocol or standard procedures for reporting sex 
offenses involving juvenile victims. If there is any reason to believe a child may 
be in danger, the report must be made immediately. In all other cases, the report 
must be made on the same day it is received. Additional procedures may be 
developed locally to ensure effective reporting and accountability. 

3.5.5.3 Information to provide to law enforcement in non-caretaker 
sexual abuse 

The intake worker should attempt to obtain as much information about the 
alleged sexual abuse as possible and forward that information to the local law 
enforcement agency. The intake worker should attempt to obtain the following 
information:  

• The identity of the child and the identity of the alleged perpetrator (name, 
birth date, sex, address, child's school).  

• Brief description of the alleged abuse.  

3.6 Certain complaints shall be reported to the CA and others 

3.6.1 Report certain cases of suspected child abuse or neglect 

(22 VAC 40-705-50 D). The local department shall report certain cases of suspected child 
abuse or neglect to the local attorney for the Commonwealth and the local law-enforcement 
agency pursuant to § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of Virginia.  

The following complaints and reports shall be reported by the LDSS to the attorney 
for the Commonwealth and local law enforcement agency immediately but within 
two (2) hours of receipt of the report. The LDSS shall provide records and information, 
including reports related to any complaints of abuse or neglect involving the victim(s) 
or the alleged perpetrator, related to the investigation of the complaint. The LDSS 
must document the date and time of notification to the local attorney for the 
Commonwealth and the local law enforcement agency in the child welfare information 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503/
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system. This notification should be documented on the referral acceptance screen and 
in the referral as an Interview and Interaction (I and I). 

3.6.1.1 Any death of a child 

Any report or complaint alleging the death of a child as a result of abuse or 
neglect shall be immediately reported to the local attorney for the Commonwealth 
and the local law-enforcement agency.  

See Section 11, Child Deaths, of this guidance manual for additional 
requirements and guidance related to a report of a child death due to suspected 
abuse or neglect.  

3.6.1.2 Any injury or threatened injury to a child involving a felony or 
Class I misdemeanor 

Any report or complaint involving an injury (actual or threatened) that may have 
occurred as the result of a commission of a felony or a Class 1 misdemeanor 
shall be immediately reported to the local attorney for the Commonwealth and 
the local law-enforcement agency. Felony offenses are punishable with death or 
confinement in a state correctional facility; all other offenses are misdemeanors.3  

Felonies are classified, for the purposes of punishment and sentencing, into six 
(6) classes; misdemeanors are classified into four (4) classes.4 

3.6.1.3 Any sexual abuse, suspected sexual abuse or other sexual 
offense involving a child 

Any sexual abuse, suspected sexual abuse, or other sexual offense involving a 
child, including but not limited to the use or display of the child in sexually explicit 
visual material, as defined in the Code of Virginia § 18.2-374.1 et seq., shall be 
reported to the local attorney for the Commonwealth office and local law 
enforcement agency. This includes criminal acts of commercial sex trafficking as 
defined in the Code of Virginia §18.2-357.1.  

                                                           

3 § 18.2-8.of the Code of Virginia. 

4 § 18.2-9 of the Code of Virginia. 

file://Vaultcelerra.co.dss.state.va.us/HOME/Policy/July%202017%20Revisions/section_11_child_deaths.pdf
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-374.1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter8/section18.2-357.1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-8/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title18.2/chapter1/section18.2-9/
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3.6.1.4 Any abduction of a child 

Any time a report or complaint alleges the abduction of a child, the LDSS shall 
make a report to the local attorney for the Commonwealth office and to local law 
enforcement agency. 

3.6.1.5 Any felony or Class 1 misdemeanor drug offense involving a 
child 

Any time a report or complaint alleges abuse or neglect of a child and the 
commission of a felony or a Class 1 misdemeanor drug offense, the LDSS shall 
notify the local attorney for the Commonwealth office and local law enforcement 
agency. 

3.6.1.6 Contributing to the delinquency of a minor  

Contributing to the delinquency of a minor in violation of the Code of Virginia § 
18.2-371 shall be reported to the local attorney for the Commonwealth office and 
local law enforcement agency.5  

3.6.1.7 Information to provide to Commonwealth's Attorney and law-
enforcement agency  

When making a report to the local attorney for the Commonwealth and local law 
enforcement agency, the LDSS shall make available all of the information upon 
which the report is based, including the name of the complainant and records of 
any complaint of abuse or neglect involving the victim or the alleged perpetrator.  

3.6.1.8 Other criminal acts related to child abuse or neglect 

Other felonies and misdemeanors, not specifically identified for reporting by the 
Code of Virginia, may be related to child abuse or neglect. The reporting of these 

                                                           

5 The Code of Virginia § 18.2-371 defines contributing to the delinquency of a minor as: 

Any person 18 years of age or older, including the parent of any child, who (i) willfully contributes to, encourages, 
or causes any act, omission, or condition which renders a child delinquent, in need of services, in need of 
supervision, or abused or neglected as defined in §16.1-228, or (ii) engages in consensual sexual intercourse or anal 
intercourse with or performs cunnilingus, fellatio, or anilingus upon or by a child 15 or older not his spouse, child, 
or grandchild, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. This section shall not be construed as repealing, modifying, or in 
any way affecting §§18.2-18, 18.2-19, 18.2-61, 18.2-63, and 18.2-347. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-228/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-18/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-19/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-61/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-63/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-347/
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offenses must be in accordance with guidance developed by the LDSS in 
conjunction with the community's law enforcement and judicial officials.  

3.6.2 Notification to law enforcement form 

Written notification by the LDSS to the local law enforcement agency shall be made 
within two (2) business days of receipt of the report by the LDSS and shall be 
documented on the Notification to Law Enforcement from Child Protective Services 
form located in Appendix C. The form is also available on the public VDSS website 
under forms. The notification form shall be signed by the LDSS representative making 
the notification and the law enforcement agency representative receiving the 
notification. The form and signatures may be completed electronically or in writing. 

The Notification to Law Enforcement form has been updated to include complaints 
and reports involving unrelated violent sexual offenders left alone with a child.  See 
Section 3.6.3.   

3.6.3 Report complaints involving violent sexual offenders 

 (§63.2-1503 D). The local department shall notify the local attorney for the 
Commonwealth of all complaints of suspected child abuse or neglect involving the child's 
being left alone in the same dwelling with a person to whom the child is not related by 
blood or marriage and who has been convicted of an offense against a minor for which 
registration is required as a violent sexual offender pursuant to § 9.1-902, immediately, 
but in no case more than two hours of receipt of the complaint, and shall provide the 
attorney for the Commonwealth with records and information of the local department that 
would help determine whether a violation of post-release conditions, probation, parole, or 
court order has occurred due to the nonrelative sexual offender's contact with the child.  

 

All complaints or reports involving a child being left alone in the same dwelling with a 
violent sexual offender who is not related to the child by blood or marriage must be 
reported to local attorney for the Commonwealth immediately but not more than 
two (2) hours of receipt of the complaint or report.   

The LDSS shall provide records and information to the local attorney for the 
Commonwealth that would help determine whether a violation of post-release 
conditions, probation, parole, or court order has occurred due to the nonrelative sexual 
offender's contact with the child.  

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cps/index2.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cps/index2.cgi
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1503/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902/
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The LDSS must document the date and time of notification to the local attorney for the 
Commonwealth in the child welfare information system. This notification should be 
documented on the referral acceptance screen and in the referral as an Interview and 
Interaction (I and I).  The LDSS may use the Notification to Law Enforcement form 
which has been updated to include complaints and reports involving violent sexual 
offenders.  The form is located in Appendix C and is also available on the public VDSS 
website under forms. 

3.6.4 Memoranda of understanding with law enforcement and 
Commonwealth’s attorney 

The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1503 J and the Virginia Administrative Code state:  

(22 VAC 40-705-50 E) Pursuant to § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of Virginia, the local 
department shall develop, where practical, a memoranda of understanding for responding 
to reports of child abuse and neglect with local law enforcement and the local office of the 
commonwealth’s attorney. 

Since many situations are required to be reported to local law enforcement and/or the 
attorney for the Commonwealth, children and families will be better served if there is 
an understanding between these organizations and the LDSS. It is recommended that 
these agencies develop a written agreement regarding how varied situations will be 
handled, how communications should flow, etc. Provisions for roles and 
responsibilities of all parties, cross-training of staff, updating the agreement, and 
resolving problems are other examples of what the agreement should include in order 
for it to be an effective and continuous agreement among these agencies that are so 
vital to the protection of children. 

3.6.5 Report military dependents to Family Advocacy Program  

Effective July 1, 2017, all reports involving a dependent child of an active duty military 
member or a member of his household shall be reported to the Military Family 
Advocacy Program. This includes invalid complaints or reports.  

(§ 63.2-1503 N of the Code of Virginia) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the 
local department, in accordance with Board regulations, shall transmit information 
regarding reports, complaints, family assessments, and investigations involving children of 
active duty members of the United States Armed Forces or members of their household to 
family advocacy representatives of the United States Armed Forces. 

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cps/index2.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cps/index2.cgi
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1503/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1503/
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Once a report has been determined invalid and it involves a dependent child, the 
LDSS shall report the information to the Family Advocacy Program. This notification 
can be made either verbally or in writing and must be documented on the referral 
acceptance screen in the child welfare information system. This notification should 
include whether or not the military member is aware that the report has been made to 
CPS. If the report is valid, notification shall occur once the response is complete. See 
Section 4.4.18.4 for notifications in a family assessment and Section 4.5.34.9 
regarding investigations. 

For additional information about the Family Advocacy Program, contact information 
for a particular branch of the military or a specific installation, click here.   

3.7 Report Child Fatalities and Near Fatalities  

3.7.1 Report a child fatality  

(22 VAC 40-705-50 F). The local department shall report to the following when the death 
of a child is involved: 
1. When abuse or neglect is suspected in any case involving the death of a child, the local 
department shall report the case immediately to the regional medical examiner and the local 
law enforcement officer pursuant to § 63.2-1503 E of the Code of Virginia. 
2. When abuse or neglect is suspected in any case involving the death of a child, the local 
department shall report the case immediately to the attorney for the Commonwealth and 
the local law enforcement agency pursuant to § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of Virginia.  
3. The local department shall contact the department immediately upon receiving a 
complaint involving the death of a child and at the conclusion of the investigation.  

The VAC requires the LDSS to immediately contact the Regional Medical Examiner, 
attorney for the Commonwealth, local law enforcement, and the CPS Regional 
Consultant when a report or complaint alleging abuse or neglect involves the death of 
a child.  

The LDSS must document the notifications in the child welfare information system.  

See Section 11, Child Deaths, of this guidance manual for additional requirements 
and guidance related to a report of a child death due to suspected abuse or neglect.  

file://Vaultcelerra.co.dss.state.va.us/HOME/Policy/July%202017%20Revisions/section_4_family_assessment_and_investigation.pdf
file://Vaultcelerra.co.dss.state.va.us/HOME/Policy/July%202017%20Revisions/section_4_family_assessment_and_investigation.pdf
http://www.militaryonesource.mil/phases-military-leadership?content_id=266712
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/medical-examiner/district-offices-contact-us/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/dfs/cps/intro_page/manuals/07-2017/section_11_child_deaths.pdf


Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2019 

Child and Family Services Manual C.  Child Protective Services 
 

 

 
C Section 3 Page 41 of 81       3  Complaints and Reports 
   

3.7.1.1 Examples of a child fatality 

The U.S. Department of Justice indicates the majority of child fatalities can be 
categorized as the result of either acute or chronic maltreatment.  

Acute maltreatment means the child’s death is directly related to injuries suffered 
as a result of a specific incident of abuse or act of negligence. Often times, in 
cases of acute maltreatment the child has not been previously abused or 
neglected. Some examples of an acute maltreatment child fatality include: 

• A child accesses an unsecured, loaded handgun in the home and fatally 
shoots himself. 

• A young child is playing outside with siblings near the family pool. The 
caregiver briefly goes inside and when they return the young child is found 
unresponsive in the pool. 

• A child is fatally thrown from a vehicle in a motor vehicle crash.  It is 
determined the child was not restrained at the time of the accident. 

Chronic maltreatment means the child’s death is directly related to harm caused 
by abuse or neglect occurring over a period of time. Some examples of a chronic 
maltreatment child fatality include: 

•  A child receives fatal physical injuries and is diagnosed with Battered 
Child Syndrome/Chronic Physical Abuse. See Section 2.8 Appendix A: 
Battered Child Syndrome for more information on Battered Child 
Syndrome. 

• A young child does not receive enough nutrition to sustain normal growth 
and development and is diagnosed with Nonorganic Failure to Thrive. See 
Section 2.9 Appendix B: Failure to thrive syndrome for more information 
on Failure to Thrive Syndrome. 

• A child with a life-threatening medical condition does not receive 
necessary medical care or have access to life-sustaining medications.  
See Section 2.5.3.2 Parent refuses treatment for life-threatening condition 
and Section 2.5.4 Child under alternative treatment for information on 
additional factors to consider when evaluating for medical neglect. 

https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/ojjdp/209764.pdf
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/cps/files/manual/07-2017/section_2_definitions_of_abuse_and_neglect.pdf
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/cps/files/manual/07-2017/section_2_definitions_of_abuse_and_neglect.pdf
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/cps/files/manual/07-2017/section_2_definitions_of_abuse_and_neglect.pdf
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/cps/files/manual/07-2017/section_2_definitions_of_abuse_and_neglect.pdf
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/cps/files/manual/07-2017/section_2_definitions_of_abuse_and_neglect.pdf
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3.7.2 Report "near fatality" of a child  

The Child Abuse and Prevention Treatment Act (CAPTA) defines a "near fatality" as 
an act that, as certified by a physician, places the child in serious or critical condition. 
The VAC provides the following definitions:  

(22VAC40-705-10) “Near fatality” means an act that, as certified by a physician, places 
the child in serious or critical condition. Serious or critical condition is a life-threatening 
condition or injury. 

(22VAC40-705-10) “Life-threatening condition” means a condition that if left untreated 
more likely than not will result in death and for which the recommended medical treatments 
carry a probable chance of impairing the health of the individual or a risk of terminating 
the life of the individual. 

Inherent within the definition of a near fatality is the requirement that a physician certify 
that the child is in serious or critical condition at the time of the report. Certification by 
a physician can be either in writing or verbal. Hospital records which indicate the 
child's condition is serious or critical and life threatening are sufficient. The physician 
certification must be documented in the child welfare information system.  

Some questions the LDSS can ask the physician to help determine if the child's 
condition is a near fatality include, but are not limited to: 

• Are the child’s vital signs unstable? 

• Is the child ill or unconscious? 

• Is the outcome questionable or unfavorable? 

• Does the child require hospitalization in an intensive care unit? 

• Does the child require significant intervention in terms of airway management, 
ventilatory support and fluid, or medication resuscitation?  

3.7.2.1 Examples of a near fatality of a child 

Some examples of a near fatality by type of abuse or neglect include: 

• Physical Abuse: A child has been diagnosed with Abusive Head Trauma 
and has been admitted to the Intensive Care Unit of the hospital. The 

http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/resource/capta2010
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section40/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
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attending physician has indicated the child's prognosis is poor and the child 
is in critical condition.    

• Physical Neglect: A child overdoses on the caretaker's psychotropic 
medication that had not been stored properly. The child is in a coma and 
the doctor reports the child may die.  

• Physical Neglect (FTT): A child is admitted to the pediatric intensive care 
unit due to significant weight loss and possible malnutrition. The doctor has 
diagnosed the child as non-organic Failure to Thrive and states the child is 
seriously ill.  

• Medical Neglect: A child with diabetes is admitted to the hospital due to 
medical complications directly related to the caretakers not following the 
prescribed medical treatment (giving the child their insulin). The hospital 
records indicate the child presented in a life threatening condition. 

Child maltreatment deaths may involve a delay between the time the child is 
determined to be in critical or serious condition and the subsequent death of the 
child. 

3.7.2.2 Notification and documentation of near fatalities 

The LDSS must inform the CPS Regional Consultant as soon as possible of all 
situations which constitute a near fatality and document the notification in the 
child welfare information system.   

The LDSS must document situations which constitute a near fatality of a child in 
the child welfare information system in conjunction with the type of abuse or 
neglect that is alleged to have caused the near fatality.   

If during the course of the investigation the child dies, the child welfare 
information system must be changed to reflect the fatality. A child cannot be 
considered a near fatality and a fatality.  

Additional guidance on disclosing near fatality information and findings can be 
located in Section 11, Child Deaths, of this guidance manual.  

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/dfs/cps/intro_page/manuals/07-2017/section_11_child_deaths.pdf
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3.8 Screen valid complaints and reports for priority  

The LDSS must consider and analyze all the information collected at the time of the 
referral to determine the most appropriate response to initiate a family assessment or 
investigation based on the child’s immediate safety or other factors. 

Response time is defined in the VAC: 

(22VAC40-705-10) “Response time” means a reasonable time for the local department to 
initiate a valid report of suspected child abuse or neglect based upon the facts and 
circumstances presented at the time the complaint or report is received.  

The LDSS determines urgency of response time for valid reports by completing the 
response priority decision trees in the CPS Intake Tool documented in the child welfare 
information system. The response priority decision trees are designed to assist in 
determining how quickly to initiate the response. Selections made on the response priority 
decision trees must relate to supporting narrative in the child welfare information system. 

Timeliness of the initial response is calculated from the date and time of the referral. There 
are three (3) response levels: 

Response 1 (R1): as soon as possible within 24 hours of the date and time of the   
  referral 

Response 2 (R2): as soon as possible within 48 hours of the date and time of the   
  referral 

Response 3 (R3): as soon as possible within five working days of the date and time    
  of the referral  

All decisions to override the response level must be approved by the supervisor and 
documented in the child welfare information system. Copies of the CPS Intake Tool and 
definitions are located on the forms webpage on the DSS public website and in Appendix 
D. Since determining urgency of response is critical for valid reports, the following 
guidance is provided: 

(22 VAC 40-705-50 G): Valid complaints or reports shall be screened for high priority based 
on the following: 

1. The immediate danger to the child; 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cps/index2.cgi
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
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2. The severity of the type of abuse or neglect alleged; 

3. The age of the child; 

4. The circumstances surrounding the alleged abuse or neglect; 

5. The physical and mental condition of the child; and 

6. Reports made by mandated reporters. 

3.8.1 The immediate danger to the child 

The following information should be gathered, when possible, and should be 
evaluated in addition to the specifics of the complaint: 

• Is the child in current distress, injured, or otherwise in an unsafe environment? 

• What plans do the caretakers have for the future or continued protection of the 
child?  

• Has the abuse or neglect diminished or stopped, or is the child thought to be at 
risk of continued abuse or neglect? 

• Is the living situation immediately dangerous? 

• Is any child currently left unsupervised who is age 8 or under or too disabled to 
care for self? 

• Is the caretaker not available and no provision made for child’s care? 

• Is law enforcement requesting immediate response? 

• Will perpetrator have access to child in next 48 hours? 

• Are severe parental or caretaker substance abuse, developmental disabilities, 
or mental illness issues present AND no other appropriate caretaker is present? 

• Does child’s behavior put self at risk and caretaker does not respond 
appropriately? 

• Is the child in an alternative safe environment? 
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• Has a substantial amount of time passed since the incident occurred? 

3.8.2 The severity of the type of abuse or neglect alleged 

The following information should be gathered, when possible, and should be 
evaluated in addition to the specifics of the complaint: 

• Are there allegations or evidence of broken bones, fractures, cuts, broken skin, 
severe bruising, or serious maltreatment? 

• Were instruments or other items, such as guns, knives, or belts, used in the 
infliction of the abuse or neglect? 

• Is the neglect or abuse of a continuing or chronic nature? Is there evidence 
establishing a pattern of abusive or neglectful behavior?  

• Is the threat of abuse or neglect imminent? 

• Can the caretaker be located? Is the caretaker not available? 

• Is it likely that the precipitating event or one similar will reoccur? 

• Are factors in the environment (both in and outside the home) observed to have 
an impact on the actual or threat of harm to the child? 

• Were severe or bizarre disciplinary measures used, or was abuse 
premeditated? 

• Is medical care required; or are significant bruises, contusions, or burns 
evident? 
 

• Is caretaker’s behavior toward child extreme, severe, or bizarre? 

3.8.3 The age or vulnerability of the child 

The following information should be gathered, when possible, and should be 
evaluated in addition to the specifics of the complaint: 

• Does the child’s age, sex, developmental level, chronological age, or 
maturation level effect the child’s vulnerability to abuse or neglect? 
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• What is the child’s capacity to protect him or herself from future abuse or 
neglect? 

• Is the child able to express thoughts or responses regarding the allegation of 
abuse or neglect? 

• Is the child currently alone with, or repeatedly left alone with, a non-related 
violent sex offender? 

• Does information show observable and substantial impairment in child’s ability 
to function in a developmentally appropriate manner? 

3.8.4 The circumstances surrounding the alleged abuse or neglect 

The following information should be gathered, when possible, and should be 
evaluated in addition to the specifics of the complaint: 

• Who is responsible for the abuse or neglect? 

• What is being reported? 

• When did the abuse or neglect occur? 

• Where did the abuse or neglect occur? 

• Were other individuals aware or witness to the circumstances of the abuse or 
neglect? 

• Are siblings of the victim child aware or witness to the abuse or neglect? 

• Did the abuse or neglect occur during a punishment or instructional contact 
with the child? 

• What is the likelihood that the circumstances leading to the abuse or neglect 
will reoccur? 

• Is the allegation exposure to drug-related activity and/or involves a meth lab? 

• Is the family about to flee or have a history of fleeing? 

• Is non-involved caretaker’s response appropriate and protective of child? 
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• Is non-involved caretaker unaware of abuse or is the response to abuse 
unknown? 

• Does perpetrator have access, or is child afraid to go home? 

3.8.5 The physical and mental condition of the child 

The following information should be gathered, when possible, and should be 
evaluated in addition to the specifics of the complaint: 

• Is the child thought to be of normal development and possess the ability to 
communicate during the investigation? 

• Are there known illnesses, developmental delays, or other impediments to 
normal growth and development of the victim child? 

• Does the child’s perception of his role impact his or her vulnerability for abuse 
or neglect? 

• Does child appear seriously ill or injured and in need of immediate medical 
care? 

• Is any child age eight (8) or under or limited by disability?  

3.8.6 Complaints made by mandated reporters 

The following information should be gathered, when possible, and should be 
evaluated in addition to the specifics of the complaint: 

• When was the mandated reporter made aware of the circumstances involving 
the alleged abuse or neglect? 

• In what capacity did the mandated reporter know the alleged victim child? What 
was the relationship between the alleged victim child and the mandated 
reporter? 

• Has the mandated reporter discussed the circumstances with the child? With 
the parents? Other professionals? 

• Does the mandated reporter possess other relevant information such as 
knowledge about the living conditions or other environmental factors? 
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• What actions or services are recommended by the mandated reporter? 

3.8.7 Initiating a response to a valid report 

Timeliness of the initial response is calculated from the date and time when the referral 
is received. The initial response is the first attempted or completed contact with the 
alleged victim, parent/caretaker, or collateral. The LDSS shall conduct a face-to-face 
interview with and observe the alleged victim child within the initial response 
priority level assigned, as this contact is critical. Sometimes the LDSS’s initial efforts 
to respond to the report will not be successful such as when no one is home. In other 
situations, the LDSS’s first response, although not with the victim child, does provide 
information to assess child safety. Sometimes the initial response may be by 
telephone with the victim, the parent, or collateral that provides information to begin 
the family assessment or investigation and contributes to the initial child safety 
assessment.  

The VAC further addresses response time: 

(22VAC40-705-50 H) The local department shall respond within the determined response 
time.  
 
(22VAC40-705-80 A1) The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-to-face 
interview with and observe the alleged victim child within the determined response time. 

Initial response may or may not be the same as first meaningful contact. See Section 
4, Family Assessment and Investigation, of this guidance manual for further guidance 
on first meaningful contact and initial safety assessment. 

All contacts, attempted or completed, in the family assessment and investigation must 
be entered into the child welfare information system to document the LDSS’s response 
to the report and to document compliance with CPS program requirements. This 
includes documentation of all attempted contacts as well as case planning that affect 
the initiation of the family assessment or investigation.  

The LDSS may not respond to a complaint or report of child abuse or neglect to 
determine the validity of the referral.  The validity determination must be made prior 
to the response of the LDSS.  Once the LDSS responds to a complaint or report of 
child abuse or neglect, the LDSS is responsible for ensuring the completion of a family 
assessment or investigation.   

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section50/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section80/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/dfs/cps/intro_page/manuals/07-2017/section_4_family_assessment_and_investigation_.pdf
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/dfs/cps/intro_page/manuals/07-2017/section_4_family_assessment_and_investigation_.pdf
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3.8.8 Response time for child less than two years of age 

Effective July 1, 2017, all valid reports that involve a child victim less than two years 
of age must receive an R1 response (within 24 hours).    

3.9 Determine the appropriate response: family assessment or 
investigation 

The Code of Virginia § 63.2-1503 I authorizes the LDSS to determine validity of a 
complaint or report. For all valid complaints or reports, the LDSS shall determine whether 
to conduct a family assessment or an investigation.  

After the decisions regarding validity and urgency, a decision must be made as to whether 
to conduct a family assessment or an investigation. Certain complaints or reports are 
required by the Code of Virginia to be investigated.  

Effective July 1, 2017, all valid substance exposed infant (SEI) reports shall receive a 
family assessment unless an investigation is required by law or necessary to protect the 
safety of the child. See Section 10: Substance Exposed Infants for new requirements and 
guidance when responding to SEI reports.  

Effective July 1, 2018, all valid complaints or reports involving a child’s being left alone in 
the same dwelling with a person to whom the child is not related by blood or marriage 
and who has been convicted of an offense against a minor which registration is required 
as violent sexual offender shall receive an investigation.  The family assessment track is 
no longer permitted for these valid complaints or reports.   

(§ 63.2-1506 C of the Code of Virginia)  When a local department has been designated as a 
child-protective services differential response agency by the Department, the local department 
may investigate any report of child abuse or neglect, but the following valid reports of child 
abuse or neglect shall be investigated: (i) sexual abuse, (ii) child fatality, (iii) abuse or neglect 
resulting in serious injury as defined in § 18.2-371.1, (iv) cases involving a child's being left 
alone in the same dwelling with a person to whom the child is not related by blood or marriage 
and who has been convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration is required 
as a violent sexual offender pursuant to § 9.1-902, (v) child has been taken into the custody of 
the local department, or (vi) cases involving a caretaker at a state-licensed child day center, 
religiously exempt child day center, licensed, registered or approved family day home, private 
or public school, hospital or any institution. If a report or complaint is based upon one of the 
factors specified in subsection B of § 63.2-1509, the local department shall (a) conduct a family 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1503/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/dfs/cps/intro_page/manuals/07-2017/section_10_substance_exposed_infants.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1506/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1509/
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assessment, unless an investigation is required pursuant to this subsection or other provision 
of law or is necessary to protect the safety of the child, and (b) develop a plan of safe care in 
accordance with federal law, regardless of whether the local department makes a finding of 
abuse or neglect.  

(§ 18.2-371.1 A of the Code of Virginia) Any parent, guardian, or other person responsible for 
the care of a child under the age of 18 who by willful act or omission or refusal to provide any 
necessary care for the child's health causes or permits serious injury to the life or health of such 
child shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony. For purposes of this subsection, "serious injury" shall 
include but not be limited to (i) disfigurement, (ii) a fracture, (iii) a severe burn or laceration, 
(iv) mutilation, (v) maiming, (vi) forced ingestion of dangerous substances, or (vii) life-
threatening internal injuries.  

3.9.1 Make the response track decision 

Family assessments are conducted when the concerns outlined in the report indicate 
inadequate parenting or life management rather than dangerous parenting practices 
and actions. The VAC defines family assessment as follows: 

(22 VAC 40-705-10). “Family assessment” means the collection of information necessary 
to determine: 
1. The immediate safety needs of the child; 
2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the child and family that will deter 
abuse or neglect; 
3 Risk of future harm to the child; and 
4. Alternative plans for the child’s safety if protective and rehabilitative services are 
indicated and the family is unable or unwilling to participate in services. These 
arrangements may be made in consultation with the caretaker(s) of the child. 

An investigation is conducted when the allegations in the report are required by statute 
or indicates there is serious abuse or neglect resulting in immediate or impending 
harm to the child. The VAC defines an investigation as follows: 

(22 VAC 40-705-10).  
"Investigation" means the collection of information to determine: 
1. The immediate safety needs of the child; 
2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the child and family that will deter 
abuse or neglect;  
3. Risk of future harm to the child; 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371.1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-705-10
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4. Alternative plans for the child’s safety if protective and rehabilitative services are 
indicated and the family is unable or unwilling to participate in services; 
5. Whether or not abuse or neglect has occurred; 
6. If abuse or neglect has occurred, who abused or neglected the child; and 
7. A finding of either founded or unfounded based on the facts collected during the 
investigation. 

The immediate danger to the child and the severity of the alleged abuse or neglect 
are crucial factors to be considered. This guidance is not intended to be all inclusive 
and does not replace the LDSS judgment regarding alleged safety threats and risk 
factors. 

The LDSS completes the differential response decision on the CPS Intake Tool in the 
child welfare information system. This checklist and the definitions assist with 
consideration of statutory mandates for the investigation track and other serious 
situations which may be appropriate for the investigation track. The CPS Intake Tool 
is located on the DSS public website or in Appendix D. 

Additional guidance regarding track decisions when DV is involved can be found in 
section 1.4.4.2 of the VDSS Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter H, Domestic 
Violence. 

The following variables should be considered when determining the track. The LDSS 
should assign a report to the investigation track if one or more of the following 
variables are present: 

• If there is a third valid CPS report within 12 months, it must be investigated. 

• Type and severity of alleged abuse. Serious injuries as defined in § 18.2-371.1 
are required by the Code of Virginia to be investigated. Those injuries include 
but are not limited to disfigurement, bone fractures, severe burns or lacerations, 
mutilation, maiming, forced ingestion of dangerous substances, and life-
threatening internal injuries. A serious injury also includes brain damage, 
subdural hemorrhage or hematoma, dislocations, sprains, scalds or any other 
physical injury that seriously impairs the health or well-being of the child and 
requires medical treatment (e.g., suffocating, shooting, significant 
bruises/welts, bite marks, choke marks).Non-organic failure to thrive of an 
infant.   

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cps/index2.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/community/dv/index.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/community/dv/index.cgi
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371.1/
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• Use of excessive physical discipline or physical force. This includes using 
torture or excessive physical force, or acting in a way that bears little 
resemblance to reasonable discipline given the child’s age and stage of 
development; or caretaker punished child beyond the duration of the child’s 
endurance. (e.g., punching child in head or stomach, tying child up, locking 
child in a closet, slamming child against wall, or punishing child in a way that 
produces humiliation or degradation, punishing child for acts that are outside 
child’s control).  

• History of abuse or neglect. Consider previous maltreatment by a caretaker that 
was serious enough to have caused a severe injury. Take into consideration if 
parental rights have been terminated on any other children as a result of prior 
child maltreatment.  

• Caretaker failed to benefit from previous professional help. Consider if the 
caretaker previously maltreated a child in their care and was referred for 
services, but did not participate in or did not benefit from those services.  

• Child’s age and ability to self-protect. The age of the child is a critical factor 
since any abuse or neglect to a child six (6) years of age and under has the 
potential to constitute a serious and immediate safety threat to the child's health 
and safety. Consider the presence of a disability that affects the child’s ability 
to self-protect regardless of age.  

• Threaten to cause harm or retaliate against the child. Consider if there is a 
threatening action that would result in serious harm or a household member 
plans to retaliate against the child for CPS involvement. Consider whether or 
not the caretaker’s behavior is violent or out of control. 

• Living conditions. Child’s physical living conditions are reported to be 
hazardous and immediately threatening, based on the child’s age and 
developmental status. This includes reports indicating illegal drugs are being 
sold or manufactured in the home and unsecured weapons. 

• Child’s proximity to DV incident. Consider if the child was in immediate danger 
of serious physical harm by being in close proximity to an incident(s) of 
assaultive behavior/DV between adults in the household. 
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• If there is reason to believe that a child’s safety will be jeopardized if parental 
cooperation cannot be obtained prior to interviewing the child.  

If the allegations are not required by statute to be investigated or do not include any 
of the above variables, the report may be placed in the family assessment track.  

The track decision should be made at intake, before responding, if at all possible. 

If sufficient information cannot be obtained from the complainant, the track assignment 
can be made at the point of the first meaningful contact with any parties named in the 
complaint. Additional local criteria for track assignment may be developed, but the 
criteria must be consistently applied within the locality. The chart that follows is 
intended to assist local CPS staff in evaluating child abuse and neglect reports for 
placement in a response track.  

The LDSS may not respond to a complaint or report of child abuse or neglect to 
determine the validity of the referral.  The validity determination must be made prior 
to the response of the LDSS.  Once the LDSS responds to a complaint or report of 
child abuse or neglect, the LDSS is responsible for ensuring the completion of a family 
assessment or investigation.    
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3.9.2 CPS Report Placement Chart 

FAMILY ASSESSMENT RESPONSE INVESTIGATION RESPONSE 

 

Mandated by Code of Virginia (§ 63.2-1506 C): 

 

- Substance Exposed Infant reports shall be 
handled as a Family Assessment.  

 

 

Mandated by Code of Virginia (§ 63.2-1506 C): 

- All sexual abuse allegations 

- Any child fatality 

- Abuse or neglect resulting in serious injury as 
defined in § 18.2-371.1 * [also consider medical 
neglect of disabled infant with life threatening 
condition (Baby Doe)]; 

- Child taken into agency custody due to abuse or 
neglect (§ 63.2-1517) 

- Child taken into protective custody by physician or 
law enforcement, pursuant to 

 § 63.2-1517 

- All allegations regarding a caretaker in a 
designated out of family setting as defined in 

 § 63.2-1506 C 

- Child’s being left alone in the same dwelling with a 
person to whom the child is not related by blood 
or marriage and who has been convicted of an 
offense against a minor for which registration is 
required as a violent sexual offender pursuant to 
§9.1-902 

 

Policy mandate: 

After a family has received two (2) valid CPS 
reports within 12 months, the third report must be 
investigated. 

Policy mandate: All allegations regarding a caretaker 
in an out of family setting of any kind, i.e. foster homes, 
day care, residential facilities. 

Examples of when this response may be most 
appropriate: 

Physical Abuse: 

Abusive treatment of a child that may or may not have 
caused a minor injury – no medical treatment required.  

Mental Abuse: 

Child is experiencing minor distress or impairment; 
child’s emotional needs are sporadically met but there 

Examples of when this response is most appropriate, 
but not mandated by law: 

Physical Abuse: 

Physical abuse that causes or threatens to cause 
serious injury (other than that defined in § 18.2-371.1*); 
or that may require medical evaluation, treatment or 
hospitalization. 

Reports of children present during the sale or 
manufacture of illegal substances; and highly 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1506/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1506/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371.1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1517/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1517/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-1506/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title9.1/chapter9/section9.1-902/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371.1/
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are behavioral indicators of negative impact. Child 
exposed to DV. 

Neglect: 

Lack of supervision where child is not in danger at time 
of report; minor injuries suggesting inattention to child 
safety. 
 

recommend these be investigated jointly with law 
enforcement. 

Mental Abuse: 

Child is experiencing serious distress or impairment; 
child’s emotional needs allegedly are not being met or 
are severely threatened. 

Neglect: 

Lack of supervision that causes or may cause serious 
injury or illness; injury or threat of injury due to use of 
weapons in the home. 
Non-Organic Failure to Thrive: 
Child is an infant and at imminent risk of severe harm. 
Child Abandonment referrals. 

 

Third valid CPS report in 12 months 

 

* Note that § 18.2-371.1 A includes, but is not limited to, disfigurement, fracture, severe burns or lacerations, 
mutilation, maiming, forced ingestion of dangerous substances, or life threatening internal injuries.   

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/18.2-371.1/
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3.10 Appendix A: Children home alone  

Virginia state statutes do not set a specific age after which a child legally can stay alone.* 
Age alone is not a very good indicator of a child's maturity level. Some very mature 10-
year-olds may be ready for self-care while some 15-year-olds may not be ready due to 
emotional problems or behavioral difficulties. In determining whether a child is capable of 
being left alone and whether a parent is providing adequate supervision in latchkey 
situations, CPS will assess several areas. These areas include: 

• Child’s level of maturity. CPS will want to assess whether the child is physically 
capable of taking care of himself; is mentally capable of recognizing and avoiding 
danger and making sound decisions; is emotionally ready to be alone; knows 
what to do and whom to call if an emergency arises; and has special physical, 
emotional, or behavioral problems that make it unwise to be left alone. It is 
important to note that a child who can take care of him/herself may not be 
ready to care for younger children. 

• Accessibility of those responsible for the child. CPS will want to determine the 
location and proximity of the parents, whether they can be reached by phone and 
can get home quickly if needed, and whether the child knows the parents' location 
and how to reach them. 

• The situation. CPS will want to assess the time of day and length of time the 
children are left alone; the safety of the home or neighborhood; whether the 
parents have arranged for nearby adults to be available in case a problem arises; 
and whether there is a family history of child abuse or neglect. 

* Some localities have ordinances concerning the age at which a child may be left without 
supervision. 
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3.11 Appendix B: Distinguishing between accidental and non-
accidental injury 

One of the most critical responsibilities of child welfare staff during the investigation or 
review of a child’s death is to distinguish between accidental and non-accidental injuries. 
This is particularly difficult when staff must distinguish between accidents in which chronic 
neglect or inadequate supervision was a factor and those where neglect is not a concern. 
In most cases, medical input will be required to make such a determination. These 
situations include those where the conditions resulting in the child’s death appear to be 
directly created by or under the control of the parent or other person responsible for the 
child’s care, yet the death is not identified as relating to a specific type of maltreatment, 
as well as those deaths that are alleged or known to have occurred as a result of abuse 
or neglect. Consideration of the following four (4) factors can provide guidance for this 
process: 

• Discrepant history. In some cases, the nature of the injury does not match the 
history given by the parent or other person responsible for the child’s care. To 
determine this requires a detailed description of the incident. What were the 
circumstances leading up to and following the incident? When did it occur? Who 
was present at the time of the incident? What were the specific medical 
assessment of how the injuries occurred and the detailed description of the injuries 
and the child’s condition? What information was obtained during the onsite visit? 

• Delay in seeking medical care. At times, the delay in seeking medical care can 
range from a few moments to hours. In assessing delay, it is important to realize, 
for example, that following a severe shaking or beating, the abuser will often place 
a child down in a crib or on the floor and leave the room. The child may then exhibit 
symptoms of intracranial pressure (vomiting, seizures, and cardio respiratory 
arrest). These symptoms then cause the person responsible for the abuse to 
contact emergency help, and that person often disassociates the symptoms from 
their previous actions. 

• Triggering event by the child(ren). This is usually age-specific behavior, such as 
inconsolable crying, a messy diaper, toilet training problems, etc., which triggers 
the abuse. 

• A crisis in the family. A crisis may have placed additional stress on the family’s 
capacity to cope. Crisis can take the form of unexpected or difficult pregnancy, 
marital differences, loss of job, or death of an extended family member. 
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3.12 Appendix C: Notification to Law Enforcement from Child 
Protective Services 

This notification is being made due to a report of suspected child abuse or neglect that 
alleges one or more of the following* (check all that apply):  

 Death of a child 

 A  felony or Class 1 misdemeanor injury or threatened injury to a child 

 Sexual abuse, suspected sexual abuse or other sexual offense involving a child, including but 
not limited to the use or display of a child in sexually explicit visual material, as defined in § 
18.2-374.1 

 Abduction of a child 

 Felony or Class 1 misdemeanor drug offense involving a child 

 Contributing to the delinquency of a minor in violation of § 18.2-371 

 Child left alone in the same dwelling with an unrelated registered violent sexual offender 

* Refer to Section 3.6 of the CPS Policy/ Guidance Manual for additional information 

Name (s) of victim children involved Name (s) of alleged perpetrators (if known) 

  

  

  

  

  

  

 Initial Notification to law enforcement 

OASIS Referral # Date: Time: 

Name of LDSS representative Date Time Signature (may be electronic) 

    



Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2019 

Child and Family Services Manual C.  Child Protective Services 
 

 

 
C Section 3 Page 60 of 81       3  Complaints and Reports 
   

Name of local law enforcement officer Date Time Signature (may be electronic) 

 

 

   

This form documents notification to local law enforcement pursuant to § 63.2-1503 of the Code of Virginia. This document 
shall be completed and signed by all parties within two business days of receipt of CPS report. A copy of this form shall be 
included in the CPS record.  This form may be completed in writing or electronically. 

This form may also be used pursuant to §63.2-1503 of the Code of Virginia to notify the local attorney for the 
Commonwealth of reports involving a child left alone in the same dwelling with a registered violent sexual offender, within 2 
hours of the receipt of the complaint.    

3.13 Appendix D: CPS Intake Tool 
OASIS Case Name:         Referral #:         FIPS Code:     

Worker Name:                                         Supervisor:                                               Referral Date:          /         /        

STEP 1:  SCREENING ASSESSMENT 

Section 1:  Maltreatment Type 

 

Neglect occurs when a parent or other person responsible for child’s care neglects or refuses to provide care necessary 
for child’s health; when a child is without parental care or guardianship caused by the unreasonable absence or the 
mental or physical incapacity of the child’s parent, guardian, legal custodian, or other person standing in loco parentis; 
when parent(s) or other person(s) responsible for child’s care abandons such child. 

 

  Abandonment:  Child is deserted by parent/caretaker, and there are no apparent plans to return. 

 

  Inadequate Supervision:   

 

  ______  Incapacitated Caretaker (includes physical and/or mental incapacitation, use of substances) 

 

                ______  Child has been left in the care of an inadequate caretaker or in a situation requiring judgment or 
actions greater than the child’s level of maturity, physical condition, and/or mental abilities would 
reasonably dictate. 

 

  ______  Parent/caretaker ignored/disregarded pertinent information about either the child’s behavior 
history or self-management abilities. 
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  ______  Parent/caretaker locks child in or out, or expels a child from the home. 

 

  ______  Parent/caretaker fails to protect child from abuse/neglect and/or allows continued access to child 
by someone who the parent/caretaker knows has previously maltreated the child. 

 

  ______  Parent/caretaker leaves the child alone in the same dwelling with a person not related by blood 
or marriage who has been convicted of an offense against a minor for which registration is required 
as a violent sexual offender pursuant to § 9.1-902. 

 

  Exploitation (non-sexual):  Parent/caretaker uses child to perform illegal acts to benefit the parent/caretaker. 

 

  Inadequate Basic Care (clothing, shelter, hygiene, nutrition): 

 

  Child’s home environment, including lack of heat or shelter and unsanitary household conditions, 
is hazardous and could lead to injury or illness of the child if not resolved. 

 

  Parent/caretaker has failed to meet a child’s basic needs for clothing and/or hygiene to the extent 
that the child’s functioning is impaired or there are medical indications such as sores, infection, 
physical illness, or serious harm such as hypothermia or frostbite. 

 

  Child is without food (consider age of child and length of time) or is malnourished as a result of 
commission or omission by a parent/caretaker. 

 

  Inadequate Medical/Mental Health Care: 

 

  Parent/caretaker is failing to seek, obtain, or follow through with medical attention for a specific 
moderate-to-serious medical or dental injury, illness, or condition for a child, including failure to 
use prescribed drugs (consider medication, medical condition, adverse effect, injury to self or 
other). Include emergency treatment, necessary care or treatment, and necessary dental care or 
treatment. 

 

  Parent/caretaker is unwilling to obtain mental health services and intervention for a child in need 
of treatment or evaluation (includes suicide threats or attempts, severe emotional disorders, 
exhibiting behaviors dangerous to self or others, etc.). 

 

  Non-organic Failure to Thrive Attributed to Physical Neglect 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902/
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  Substance-exposed Infant:  

 

Mental Abuse occurs when a caretaker creates or inflicts, threatens to create or inflict, or allows to be created or 
inflicted upon a child a mental injury by other than accidental means, or creates a substantial risk of impairment of 
mental functions. 

 

  Emotional or Psychological: An incident or pattern of behavior directed toward a child (e.g., berating, name 
calling, domestic violence, rejection, etc.) by a parent/caretaker that interferes with that child’s normal daily 
functioning and can be linked to psychological or physical ailments of the child. 

 

  Exposure to Domestic Violence that results in demonstrated dysfunction by the child. 

 

  Non-organic Failure to Thrive attributed to mental abuse. 

 

Physical Abuse occurs when a caretaker creates or inflicts, threatens to create or inflict, or allows to be created or 
inflicted upon a child a physical injury by other than accidental means, or creates a substantial risk of death, 
disfigurement, or impairment of bodily functions. 

 

  Non-accidental or Suspicious Injury to a child by a parent/caretaker. Suspicious injuries include injuries that 
are inconsistent with the parent/caretaker’s explanation; multiple inconsistent explanations for injuries; marks 
that resemble objects such as extension cords, belts, etc.; and/or injuries located in unusual areas of the 
body such as the inner thigh, ears, torso, etc. Include asphyxiation, bone fracture, brain damage/skull 
fracture/subdural hematoma, burns / scalding, cuts/bruises/welts/abrasions, internal injuries, sprains / 
dislocation, gunshot/stab wounds, battered child syndrome, shaken baby syndrome (include injury to child 
sustained during domestic violence incident). 

 

  Old, Healed, or Healing Injuries that have gone untreated and appear suspicious as reported by a medical 
professional. Include any of the above that are not new injuries. 

 

  Inappropriate Giving of Drugs to a child by a parent/caretaker, including use of illicit drugs by a breastfeeding 
parent that is reported by a medical professional as having adverse effects on the child. Include poisoning. 

 

  Munchausen’s Syndrome by Proxy or suspicion of it is reported by a medical or mental health professional 
who provides documentation supporting the allegation. 

 



Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2019 

Child and Family Services Manual C.  Child Protective Services 
 

 

 
C Section 3 Page 63 of 81       3  Complaints and Reports 
   

  Parent/Caretaker Action(s) Indicates Excessive Force or Threat of Force That Would Reasonably Cause 
Injury to a child where injuries may not have occurred or be visible, such as hitting with a fist, choking, etc. 
Include bizarre discipline. 

 

  Exposure to Drug-related Activity:  Allowing child to be present during the sale or manufacture of drugs. 

 

  Verbal Threat of Serious/Life-threatening Physical Harm Toward a Child by a parent/caretaker, as evidenced 
by gestures/statements made by the parent/caretaker or the parent/caretaker’s behavior, such as stating a 
fear of harming/killing the child, holding a gun to a child’s head, use of a weapon, etc. Evidence of injuries 
need not be present. 
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Sexual Abuse occurs when parent(s) or other person(s) responsible for child’s care commits or allows to be committed 
any act of sexual exploitation or any sexual act upon a child in violation of the law. 

 

  Sexual Contact or Exploitation involving a child (under age 18) by a parent/caretaker. This includes reports 
of sibling/adolescent sexual contact where a caretaker role exists or consensual sex involving a child with a 
person who has care, custody, and control. 

  

  Disclosure by a Child of an incident of sexual abuse by someone who had care, custody, and control at the 
time of the alleged incident, whether or not a specific offender is identified. 

 

  Physical, Behavioral, or Suspicious Indicators Consistent With Sexual Abuse reported by a mandated 
reporter, even without disclosure. 

 

Section 2:  Screening Decision 

Validated as CA/N:  Yes (Complete Step 2, Response Priority) 

 

 

 

No (Check all alternative actions. Do not complete Response Priority): 

       

 
   Message/Retain Invalid Report  

Information Passed on to Case 
Manager 

    External Preventive Service Referral  Law Enforcement  

    Internal Preventive Service Referral   Other:   

    Judicial Referral      

Additional Information: 
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STEP 2:  RESPONSE PRIORITY 

Section 1:  Decision Trees 

PHYSICAL ABUSE 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SEXUAL ABUSE 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is medical care required; or are significant 
bruises, contusions, or burns evident? 

Is any child age 8 or under or 
limited by disability? 

Were severe or bizarre disciplinary 
measures used or threatened, or 
was abuse premeditated? 

Will perpetrator have 
access to child in 
next 48 hours? 

Will perpetrator have 
access to child in 
next 48 hours? 

Have there 
been prior 
CPS 
interventions 
regarding 
physical 
abuse? 

Is non-involved caretaker’s 
response appropriate and 
protective of child? 

yes no 

R1 

R2 

R1 R2 

R2 R3 

R2 R1 

yes no 

yes no 

yes no 

yes no 

yes no 

yes no 

Does perpetrator have access, or is child 
afraid to go home? 

yes no 

Is non-involved 
caretaker’s response 
appropriate and 
protective of child? 

Is non-involved caretaker 
unaware of abuse or is 
response to abuse 
unknown? 

Is any child under 
age 14 or limited 
by disability? 

yes no yes no 

yes no 

R2 

R1 

R2 

R2 R3 
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NEGLECT 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MENTAL ABUSE 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Is the living situation immediately dangerous; is any child 
currently left unsupervised who is age 8 or under or too disabled 
to care for self; does child appear seriously ill or injured and in 
need of immediate medical care; is caretaker not available and 
no provision for care has been made; or is the child currently 
alone with, or repeatedly left alone with, a non-related violent 
sex offender? 

yes no 

R1 

Are severe parental or caretaker 
substance abuse, developmental 
disabilities, or mental illness issues 
present AND no other appropriate 
caretaker is present? 

yes 
no 

R3 

Is any child age 8 or under or 
limited by disability? 

yes 

no 

R1 Have there been prior 
CPS interventions? 

yes no 

R2 

R3 

Is caretaker’s behavior toward child extreme, 
severe, or bizarre; or does child’s behavior put 
self at risk and caretaker does not respond 
appropriately? 

yes no 

R1 Does information show observable 
and substantial impairment in child’s 
ability to function in a 
developmentally appropriate manner? 

yes no 

R3 
Is any child age 8 or under 
or limited by disability? 

yes 

no 

R2 R3 

(Includes medical neglect and abandonment) 

 

(Includes exposure to domestic violence) 
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Section 2:  Overrides 

 

Policy Override: 

 

Shall increase to R1 whenever: 

  a. Family is about to flee or has a history of fleeing; 

  b. Forensic investigation would be compromised if investigation/assessment is 
delayed; 

  c. Law enforcement is requesting immediate response;  

  d. Allegation is exposure to drug-related activity and involves a meth lab; or 

_____      e.  Victim child is under age two. 

 

May decrease by one priority level whenever: 

  a. Child is in alternate safe environment; or 

  b. A substantial period of time has passed since the incident occurred. 

 

Discretionary Override (requires supervisor approval): 

  Increase one level; or 

  Decrease one level. 

 

Reason:                

 

 

FINAL ASSIGNED RESPONSE TIME 

R1 = as soon as possible within 24 hours 

R2 = as soon as possible within 48 hours 

R3 = as soon as possible within five working days 



Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2019 

Child and Family Services Manual C.  Child Protective Services 
 

 

 
C Section 3 Page 68 of 81       3  Complaints and Reports 
   

STEP 3:  DIFFERENTIAL RESPONSE DECISION 

 

Mark either investigation or assessment, and check all applicable reasons within column. 

 

   INVESTIGATION 

 

Mandatory investigation reasons (if one or more apply, MUST be assigned as investigation): 

   Sexual abuse 

   Child fatality 

   Serious injury per §18.2-371.1 

   Child taken into custody due to child abuse/neglect (CA/N) 

   Child taken into custody by physician or law enforcement 

   Out-of-family (OOF; no further SDM completed) 

   Baby Doe 

   Third report within 12 months 

   Child left alone in the same dwelling with an unrelated registered violent sexual 
offender 

 

Suggested investigation reasons: 

 Physical Abuse 

    Injury is serious, but less serious than §18.2-371.1 

    Injury requires medical evaluation, treatment, or hospitalization 

 ______ Exposure to sale or manufacture of certain drugs 

 Mental Abuse 

    Serious distress or impairment of child 

    Emotional needs not met or severely threatened 

  Neglect 
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    Serious injury or illness due to lack of supervision 

    Injury or threat of injury due to weapons in home 

    Non-organic failure to thrive of infant at imminent risk of severe harm 

    Abandonment 

 Other:    

 

 

   FAMILY ASSESSMENT 

 

   No mandatory investigation circumstances are present (must be checked if family 
assessment is selected) 

 

Suggested assessment reasons: 

 Physical Abuse 

    No injury, or injury that does not require medical treatment 

 Mental Abuse 

    Minor distress or impairment 

    Emotional needs sporadically met and behavioral indicators of impact 

    Exposed to domestic violence but no immediate threat of harm 

 Neglect 

    Lack of supervision but child not in danger at time of report 

    Inattention to safety results in no or minor injuries 

    Substance-exposed infant 

           

 Other:    
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3.13.1 Screening assessment definitions 

If one or more maltreatment types are selected in Section 1 and other validation 
requirements are met (child is under age 18, alleged abuser is caretaker, and 
jurisdiction exists), mark “yes” (validated as CA/N) in Section 2 and proceed directly 
to Step 2, Response Priority. DO NOT SELECT ANY OF THE FOLLOWING IF 
REFERRAL WILL BE SCREENED IN. 

If no maltreatment types are selected in Section 1, mark “no” in Section 2. There will 
not be an investigation or assessment. There may be alternative actions taken or 
recommended. If so, check all of the following alternative actions that apply. 

Message/Retain Invalid Report. The given information does not meet validity 
requirements and no other referrals were given to the caller.  However, information 
about the call will be maintained in OASIS. 

External Preventive Service Referral. The caller was referred to an agency in the 
community, such as child support enforcement, private counseling, mediation 
services, etc. 

Internal Preventive Service Referral. The caller was referred to an existing service 
program within the agency OTHER THAN FOR A CA/N INVESTIGATION OR 
ASSESSMENT. Examples may include family preservation, homeless prevention, 
daycare, etc. 

Judicial Referral. The caller was referred to the juvenile courts for assistance with 
visitation, custody matters, CHINS petitions, etc.  

Information Passed on to Case Manager. Caller is providing information on an open 
case that does not constitute a new referral. 

Law Enforcement. The caller was referred to law enforcement and/or the referral 
information will be relayed to law enforcement by the worker per policy, but there will 
be no CA/N investigation or assessment in conjunction with law enforcement 
response.  

3.13.2 Response priority definitions 

PHYSICAL ABUSE 
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Is medical care required; or are significant bruises, contusions, or burns 
evident? 

• Medical care includes any intervention performed by a health care professional 
to treat an injury. (Do not include forensic medical evaluations solely done for 
the purpose of documenting injury, or evaluation to determine IF there is an 
injury.)   

• Include significant bruises, contusions, or burns that did not require medical 
care. Significance is gauged by considering location (e.g., injuries to soft tissue, 
face, abdomen, or buttocks are considered more significant than injuries over 
bony prominences such as elbows, knees, shins); scope (e.g., injuries over 
multiple body surfaces or covering larger areas are considered more significant 
than a small, isolated bruise); and recency of injury (e.g., new injuries are 
considered more significant than old scars). A pattern of injuries apparently 
inflicted over a period of time should be considered significant. 

 

Is any child age eight (8) or under or limited by disability?  

If the injured child has not reached his/her ninth birthday, or is as vulnerable as a child 
eight (8) or under due to known cognitive or physical disability, answer yes. All others, 
answer no. 

Will perpetrator have access to child in next 48 hours? 

If perpetrator is identified, is it likely that perpetrator will be in physical proximity of the 
child within 48 hours? Also include verbal/written or third-party access if the 
perpetrator has used such indirect contact in an attempt to influence the child’s 
statements or threaten the child in any way. 

If the perpetrator is unknown, access must be assumed. Answer yes. 

Is non-involved caretaker’s response appropriate and protective of child? 

A non-involved caretaker is one who did not directly participate in the alleged 
maltreatment of the child. An appropriate and protective response may be 
characterized by acknowledgment that the perpetrator’s actions were inappropriate; 
awareness of and concern for the impact of maltreatment on the child; and acceptance 
of the child’s report of abuse. A protective response may be evidenced by setting limits 
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on the alleged perpetrator’s contact with the child, involvement with discipline, etc. 
Consider the emotional and physical ability of the non-perpetrating caretaker to carry 
out intended protective measures. 

Were severe or bizarre disciplinary measures used or threatened, or was abuse 
premeditated? 

• Did perpetrator act in ways that presented high potential for serious harm (e.g., 
throwing a heavy object toward child’s head, punching in abdomen)? Did 
perpetrator act in ways that suggest extremely distorted and dangerous 
concepts of child discipline (e.g., locking in cage, surpassing child’s physical or 
emotional capacity to endure, exposing to severe elements)? 

OR 

• Is there evidence that perpetrator planned in advance to physically harm child?  
Answer no if caretaker planned in advance to take the action but did not intend 
the action to cause physical injury. 

Will perpetrator have access to child in next 48 hours? 

If perpetrator is identified, is it likely that perpetrator will be in physical proximity of the 
child within 48 hours? Also include verbal/written or third-party access if there is 
reason to believe the perpetrator will attempt to influence the child’s statements or 
threaten the child in any way. 

If the perpetrator is unknown, access must be assumed. Answer yes. 

Have there regarding physical been prior CPS interventions abuse? 

Include any prior investigation/assessment for physical abuse that was founded or 
where services were indicated (investigations/assessments determined to be 
unfounded are excluded).   

 

SEXUAL ABUSE 

Does perpetrator have access, or is child afraid to go home? 
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• If perpetrator is identified, is it likely that the perpetrator will be in physical 
proximity of the child within 48 hours? Also include verbal/written or third-party 
access if the perpetrator has used such indirect contact to influence the child’s 
statements or threaten the child in any way. If the perpetrator is not identified, 
also answer yes. 

• Does child express fear (verbally or nonverbally) of remaining at or returning 
home? 

Is non-involved caretaker’s response appropriate and protective of child? 

A non-involved caretaker is one who did not directly participate in the alleged 
maltreatment of the child. An appropriate and protective response may be 
characterized by acknowledgment that the perpetrator’s actions were inappropriate; 
awareness of and concern for the impact of maltreatment on the child; and acceptance 
of the child’s report of abuse. A protective response may be evidenced by obtaining 
medical evaluation, if indicated, and discontinuing contact between alleged 
perpetrator and child. Consider the emotional and physical ability of the non-
perpetrating caretaker to carry out intended protective measures. Any attempt by the 
caretaker to influence the child’s statement one way or the other is considered an 
inappropriate response. 

Is non-involved caretaker unaware of abuse or is response to abuse unknown? 

Answer yes if: 

• Report is from a third party and the non-involved caretaker has not yet been 
informed of the allegation. 

• The non-involved caretaker may have learned of the alleged abuse but the 
caller has no information concerning the caretaker’s reaction. 

• Is any child under age 14 or limited by disability? 

• If the child has not reached his or her 14th birthday, or is as vulnerable as a 
child under age 14 due to known cognitive or physical disability, answer yes. 
All others answer no. 

NEGLECT (Includes medical neglect and abandonment) 
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Is the living situation immediately dangerous; is any child currently left 
unsupervised who is age 8 or under or too disabled to care for self; does child 
appear seriously ill or injured and in need of immediate medical care; is 
caretaker not available and no provision for care has been made; or is the child 
currently alone with, or repeatedly left alone with, a non-related violent sex 
offender? 

Answer yes if the following: 

• Based on the child’s age and developmental status, the child’s physical living 
conditions are hazardous and immediately threatening. Examples include but 
are not limited to the following: 

o Exposure to animals known to be a danger. 

o Unsafe heating or cooking equipment. 

o Substances or objects accessible to the child that may endanger the health 
and/or safety of the child. 

o Lack of water or utilities (heat, plumbing, electricity) and no alternate or safe 
provisions are made. 

o Exposed electrical wires. 

o Excessive garbage or rotted or spoiled food that threatens health. 

o Serious illness or significant injury has occurred due to living conditions and 
these conditions still exist (e.g., lead poisoning, rat bites). 

o Evidence of human or animal waste throughout living quarters. 

o Guns and other weapons are accessible to child. 

o Complete or near-complete absence of food. 

OR 

• Child is age 8 or under or is as vulnerable as a child age 8 or under due to 
known cognitive or physical disability AND: 

o Child is currently alone or is scheduled to be alone within the next 48 hours.  
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o Caretaker does not attend to child to the extent that need for care goes unnoticed 
or unmet (e.g., caretaker is present but child can play with dangerous objects or 
be exposed to other serious hazards). 

o Child is being supervised by an alternate caretaker who is unable to meet child’s 
immediate needs for care and supervision. 

OR 

• Child’s unmet medical need may result in serious harm, serious aggravation of 
symptoms, increased risk of long-term or permanent injury or impairment, or 
death if not treated within 48 hours. Examples include but are not limited to 
the following: 

o Apparent bone injury that has not been set; 

o Apparent second- or third-degree burn that has not been medically evaluated. 

o Untreated dehydration. 

o Breathing difficulties. 

o Severe abdominal pain. 

o Loss of consciousness or altered mental status. 

o Failure to thrive. 

o Untreated exposure to the elements; frostbite. 

OR 

Caretaker: 

• Left the child without affording means of identifying the child and the child’s 
parent or guardian. 

• Is absent from the home for a period of time that creates a substantial risk of 
serious harm to a child left in the home. 

• Left the child with another person without provision for the child’s support and 
the other person is no longer able or willing to provide care. 
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• Caretaker has currently left, or repeatedly leaves, the child alone in the same 
dwelling as a person not related by blood or marriage who has been convicted 
of an offense against a minor for which registration is required as a violent 
sexual offender pursuant to § 9.1-902. 

Are severe parental or caretaker substance abuse, developmental disabilities, 
or mental illness issues present AND no other appropriate caretaker is present? 

Answer yes if caretaker: 

• Is currently impaired by alcohol or other drugs to the extent that he/she is not 
providing for the child’s needs for care and safety, and this has resulted or is 
likely to result in injury, illness, or harm to the child. 

• Is cognitively impaired to the extent that he or she lacks basic understanding 
of child’s needs for care and supervision, and this lack of understanding has 
resulted or is likely to result in injury, illness, or harm to the child. 

• Is mentally ill to the extent that he/she is unable to meet child’s needs for care 
and supervision, and this has resulted or is likely to result in injury illness, or 
harm to the child. Examples include but are not limited to the following: 

o Loss of touch with reality. 

o Paranoid thoughts, especially those in which child may be seen as evil. 

o Severe depression that interferes with ability to function at even most basic 
levels. 

o Suicidal ideation (includes all direct or indirect threats, attempts, or behavioral 
indicators of suicidal ideation). 

• A substance-exposed newborn represents severe parental substance abuse 
for the purposes of this question. 

AND 

• No other adult is present who is able to provide for the child’s protection and 
care. 

Is any child age eight (8) or under or limited by disability? 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/9.1-902/
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If any child has not reached his/her ninth birthday, or is as vulnerable as a child eight 
(8) or under due to known cognitive or physical disability, answer yes. All others, 
answer no. 

Have there been prior CPS interventions? 

Include any prior investigation/assessment that was founded or where services were 
indicated (investigations/assessments determined to be unfounded are excluded).   

MENTAL ABUSE (Includes exposure to domestic violence) 

Is caretaker’s behavior toward child extreme, severe, or bizarre; or does child’s 
behavior put self at risk and caretaker does not respond appropriately? 

Examples of extreme, severe, or bizarre behavior include the following: 

• Caretaker threatens to harm self in child’s presence. 

• Unusual forms of discipline (e.g., child standing in corner on one leg; forcing 
child to wear inappropriate clothing, such as a 10-year-old being forced to wear 
diapers—this should NOT include incidents of inappropriate clothing due to 
poverty or current fashion). 

• Murder or torture of people or pets in front of child. 

• Child’s extreme rejection from family (e.g., abnormally long time-outs based on 
child’s age and developmental level; family acts as if child does not exist). 

• Child singled out for detrimental treatment. 

• Caretaker is constantly belittling child or has unrealistic expectations of child. 

OR 

• Child is suicidal, self-mutilating, or engaging in other behavior that has caused 
or is likely to cause serious physical injury or death, AND caretaker is unable 
or unwilling to provide monitoring, support, mental health services, or 
hospitalization necessary to protect child. 

Does information show observable and substantial impairment in child’s ability 
to function in a developmentally appropriate manner? 
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Examples include chronic somatic complaints; enuresis/encopresis not due to medical 
condition; long-term withdrawal/depression/isolation from family or school activities; 
severe aggressive behavior; cruelty toward animals; fire setting. 

Is any child age eight (8) or under or limited by disability? 

If any child has not reached his/her ninth birthday, or is as vulnerable as a child eight 
(8) or under due to known cognitive or physical disability, answer yes. All others, 
answer no. 

OVERRIDES 

Policy Overrides 

Shall increase to R1 whenever: 

• Family is about to flee or has a history of fleeing. Family is preparing to 
leave the jurisdiction to avoid investigation/assessment, or has fled in the past. 

• Forensic investigation would be compromised if 
investigation/assessment is delayed. Physical evidence may be lost or 
altered; attempts are being made to alter statements, conceal evidence, or 
coordinate false statements. 

• Law enforcement is requesting immediate response. 

• Allegation is exposure to drug-related activity and involves a meth lab. 

• Any victim child is under age two (2). 

May decrease by one priority level whenever: 

• Child is in alternate safe environment. Child is no longer living where alleged 
abuse/neglect occurred, or is temporarily away and will not return for 48 hours 
if overriding to R2 or five working days if overriding to R3. 

• A substantial period of time has passed since the incident occurred. The 
incident happened long ago and there is reason to believe no additional 
incidents have occurred since then. 
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3.13.3 CPS intake tool procedures 

 The intake tool assists workers with two (2) decisions: 

• The purpose of the screening assessment (Step 1) is to assess whether calls 
meet the definitional criteria for a child A/N investigation/assessment. 

• The response priority decision trees (Step 2) are designed to assist in 
determining how quickly to initiate the first contact for assigned 
investigations/assessments. By answering a series of questions, the trees aid 
in determining the priority level for responding to a case. Each priority level 
includes a suggested timeframe for response.  

  Response 1 (R1) = as soon as possible within 24 hours 

  Response 2 (R2) = as soon as possible within 48 hours 

  Response 3 (R3) = as soon as possible within five (5) working days 

Which Cases: The screening assessment (Step 1) is completed for all calls alleging 
child A/N. This includes telephone and all other means of report, and includes new 
reports of child A/N on open cases.   

The response priority (Step 2) is completed for all valid reports of child A/N.   

Who: The local intake worker. 

When: As soon as possible upon receipt of the report. 

Decisions: The screening assessment (Step 1) assists the worker in determining 
whether a report meets child A/N investigation / assessment definitions. 

The response priority (Step 2) assists workers in determining when they must initiate 
the first contact. R1 reports require that the first contact occur as soon as possible 
within 24 hours; R2 reports require that the first contact occur within 48 hours; and 
R3 reports require that the first contact occur within five working days. The timelines 
referenced in the decision trees commence at the time the report is made. 

Appropriate Completion: 

Step 1:  Screening Assessment 
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In Section 1, mark the specific criteria for all allegations indicated in the report under 
the appropriate maltreatment category. 

In Section 2, indicate whether the report is being validated as a child A/N report by 
checking either “yes” or “no.” If any of the maltreatment criteria were checked and the 
other validity criteria are met (child under age 18, alleged perpetrator is a caretaker, 
and jurisdiction exists), the report should be validated as child A/N.  Reports that do 
not meet any of the screen-in criteria should not be validated as child A/N reports. 

For reports that are not validated as a child A/N report, indicate with a check mark if 
the referral meets criteria for some alternative action (e.g., external preventive service 
referral).  

For “duplicate referrals” (an allegation is reported, accepted, and assigned for an 
investigation/assessment one day, and then a few days later, a different caller makes 
the same allegation on the same family, based on the same set of issues - it is the 
same thing reported twice) in OASIS, treat the duplicate referral as “Invalid – Duplicate 
Referral.” On the SDM intake tool: 1) in Section 1, check none of the allegation sub-
types; 2) in Section 2, check “No” (not validated as child A/N); and 3) in Section 2, 
under “Other Information,” type in “Duplicate Referral” and if available, give the referral 
number for the original validated referral. Do not complete the response priority or 
differential response sections of the intake tool.  

Step 2:  Response Priority 

Information gathered by agency staff must be analyzed to assess the urgency for 
response. The response priority decision trees structure this analysis to determine a 
response priority level. The decision trees ask a series of questions depending on the 
type of alleged maltreatment (physical abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, and mental 
abuse). Answers to each question, consisting of “yes” or “no” responses, will lead to 
another question, and ultimately, a response priority level. 

Effective July 1, 2017 if the victim child is under age 2, then the response priority is 
automatically an R1 and may require a policy override.    

If more than one type of maltreatment is alleged, complete all applicable decision trees 
to determine the most urgent response priority level. Once a response of R1 has been 
obtained, it is not necessary to complete additional trees. 
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Overrides: After reviewing all necessary decision trees, consider whether or not an 
override should be applied. 

A policy override to R1 shall be applied whenever: 

• Family is about to flee or has a history of fleeing; 

• Forensic investigation would be compromised if investigation/ assessment is 
delayed; 

• Law enforcement is requesting immediate response; 

• Allegation is exposure to drug-related activity and involves a meth lab. 

A policy override may be used to decrease response by one level whenever: 

• Child is in an alternate safe environment; 

• A substantial period of time has passed since the incident occurred. 

A discretionary override may be applied if, after completion of all necessary decision 
trees and application of policy overrides, worker and supervisor determine that there 
are unique conditions not captured by the tool that warrant a different response 
priority. A discretionary override may increase or decrease the response time by one 
level. 

Step 3:  Differential Response Decision 

The final step in assigning a valid referral is to determine whether the referral will be 
assigned as an investigation or an assessment. These decisions are currently guided 
by state statute and local policy. The worker will check whether the referral is assigned 
as an investigation or as a family assessment, and check all applicable reasons for 
this decision. If assigned as an assessment, “No mandatory investigation 
circumstances are present” must be checked. NOTE THAT THIS IS NOT A 
STRUCTURED DECISION AT THIS TIME. 
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