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7.1 Introduction 

Any person who is the subject of a founded investigation of abuse or neglect may appeal 
that finding and any inaccurate information about the abuser that is contained in the Child 
Protective Services (CPS) record. There is no difference in the appeal process of founded 
dispositions for “in family investigations” and “out of family investigations”. There are three 
(3) levels of administrative appeals: 

• Conference with the local department of social services (LDSS). 

• Administrative hearing conducted by a state hearing officer. 

• Judicial review by the circuit court. 

This section explains the statutory and regulatory requirements for CPS appeals and 
provides guidance where needed to further explain these requirements.   

The statutory authority for a person seeking review of a local department of social services 
(LDSS) finding of abuse or neglect can be found in § 63.2-1526 of the Code of Virginia. 
The regulatory authority for appeals of findings of abuse and neglect can be found in 22 
VAC 40-705-190.  

7.2 Definitions 

The following definitions regarding CPS appeals are applicable to this chapter. 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 A). Appeal is the process by which the abuser or neglector may request 
amendment of the record when the investigation into the complaint has resulted in a founded 
disposition of child abuse or neglect. 

 
(22 VAC 40-705-10). "Administrative appeal rights" means the child protective services 
appeals procedures for a local level informal conference and a state level hearing pursuant to 
§ 63.2-1526 of the Code of Virginia, under which an individual who is found to have 
committed abuse or neglect may request that the local department's records be amended.  
 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
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“Appellant" means anyone who has been found to be an abuser or neglector and appeals the 
founded disposition to the director of the local department of social services, an administrative 
hearing officer, or to circuit court. 

When a person who is the subject of a founded investigation requests a local conference 
or a state administrative hearing that person is referred to as the appellant. 

7.3 CPS appeal automatically stayed during criminal proceedings 
against abuser 

(§ 63.2-1526 C of the Code of Virginia). Whenever an appeal of the local department's finding 
is made and a criminal charge or investigation is also filed or commenced against the appellant 
for the same conduct involving the same victim as investigated by the local department, the 
appeal process shall automatically be stayed until the criminal prosecution in the trial court is 
completed, until the criminal investigation is closed, or, in the case of a criminal investigation 
that is not completed within 180 days of the appellant's request for an appeal of the local 
department's finding, for 180 days after the appellant's request for appeal. During such stay, 
the appellant's right of access to the records of the local department regarding the matter being 
appealed shall also be stayed. Once the criminal prosecution in the trial court has been 
completed, the criminal investigation is closed, or, in the case of a criminal investigation that 
is not completed within 180 days of the appellant's request for an appeal of the local 
department's finding, 180 days have passed, the local department shall advise the appellant in 
writing of his right to resume his appeal within the time frames provided by law and regulation. 

7.3.1 Criminal proceedings in juvenile or circuit court 

When the LDSS learns that a criminal process has been initiated in either juvenile or 
circuit court, the LDSS must notify the appellant in writing that the CPS administrative 
appeal process is stayed and that his right to access his CPS record is suspended 
until the criminal process is completed in the trial court and the judge enters a final 
appealable order. Cases that are continued for a period of time or taken under 
advisement do not constitute a final appealable order. 

CPS appeals should be stayed if a criminal charge originates in the juvenile and 
domestic relations court, because the appellant may appeal a conviction to the Circuit 
Court. 

The LDSS shall notify the appellant in writing that the CPS administrative appeal may 
resume at the conclusion of the criminal proceeding. LDSS are encouraged to 
establish procedures with the court to advise the LDSS when the criminal process has 
been completed in order to initiate the CPS administrative appeal process on a timely 
basis. The LDSS may also consider an agreement with the local Commonwealth 
Attorney or local law enforcement to notify the LDSS when the criminal proceedings 
have been completed.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
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The LDSS should seek guidance from its legal representative to determine if a final 
appealable order in the criminal proceeding has been entered and to clarify whether 
the criteria for a stay of appeal has been met before notifying the appellant. 

7.3.2 Criminal proceedings in military court 

The Code of Virginia stays CPS administrative appeal proceedings until “the criminal 
prosecution in trial court is completed.” The stay provisions apply when there are 
criminal charges “against the appellant for the same conduct involving the same victim 
as investigated by the local department.” (Code of Virginia § 63.2-1526 C). The intent 
of the stay provisions is to protect the appellant from having to testify in the CPS case 
while the criminal matter is pending. It also is designed to protect the agency case 
record from inappropriate use by the appellant in the criminal proceeding. Given the 
intent of the statute, the stay provisions noted in Section 7.3.1 apply to the prosecution 
of a criminal charge in military courts. 

7.3.3 Criminal investigations 

The Code of Virginia stays CPS administrative appeal proceedings when a criminal 
investigation is filed or commenced against the appellant for the same conduct 
involving the same victim as investigated by the local department until the criminal 
investigation is closed or 180 days have passed since the appellant’s request for an 
appeal.  

7.4 Local conference 

7.4.1 Appellant must request local conference 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 B). If the alleged abuser or neglector is found to have committed 
abuse or neglect, that alleged abuser or neglector may, within 30 days of being notified of 
that determination, submit a written request for an amendment of the determination and the 
local department's related records, pursuant to § 63.2-1526 A of the Code of Virginia.  The 
local department shall conduct an informal conference in an effort to examine the local 
department's disposition and reasons for it and consider additional information about the 
investigation and disposition presented by the alleged abuser or neglector. The local 
department shall notify the child abuse and neglect information system that an appeal is 
pending. 

When the LDSS receives a written request for a local conference, the LDSS must 
stamp the date of receipt on the appeal request. 

If the alleged abuser or neglector fails to make a timely request for a local conference, 
then the alleged abuser or neglector forfeits his right to a local conference. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
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When the alleged abuser or neglector is under 18 years of age, the parent or legal 
guardian of the alleged abuser or neglector may submit a written request for a local 
conference on behalf of the juvenile.   

7.4.2 Document pending local appeal 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 B). The local department shall notify the child abuse and neglect 
information system that an appeal is pending. 

7.4.3 Time frame to conduct local conference  

(22 VAC 40-705-190 D). The local department shall conduct an informal, local conference 
and render a decision on the appellant's request to amend the record within 45 days of 
receiving the request. If the local department either refuses the appellant's request for 
amendment of the record as a result of the local conference, or if the local department fails 
to act within 45 days of receiving such request, the appellant may, within 30 days thereafter 
and in writing, request the commissioner for an administrative hearing, pursuant to § 63.2-
1526 A of the Code of Virginia. 

The LDSS must make a good faith effort to schedule and conduct a local conference. 
If the LDSS fails to conduct a local conference, the LDSS must document in the child 
welfare information system the reasons why the local conference was not conducted. 

7.4.4 Appellant may request extension 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 E). The appellant may request, in writing, an extension of the 45-day 
requirement for a specified period of time, not to exceed an additional 60 days.  When there 
is an extension period, the 30-day time frame to request an administrative hearing from the 
Commissioner of the Department of Social Services shall begin on the termination of the 
extension period pursuant to § 63.2-1526 A of the Code of Virginia. 

The extension period begins at the end of the original 45 days. 

7.4.5 LDSS must provide information to appellant  

(22 VAC 40-705-190 F). Upon written request, the local department shall provide the 
appellant all information used in making its determination. Disclosure of the reporter's 
name or information which may endanger the well-being of a child shall not be released.  
The identity of collateral witnesses or any other person shall not be released if disclosure 
may endanger their life or safety. Information prohibited from being disclosed by state or 
federal law or regulation shall not be released.  In case of any information withheld, the 
appellant shall be advised of the general nature of the information and the reasons, of 
privacy or otherwise, that it is being withheld, pursuant to § 63.2-1526 A of the Code of 
Virginia. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
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Upon written request from the appellant, the LDSS shall provide the appellant all 
information used in making its determination with the following exceptions: 

• The complainant's name shall not be released. 

• The identity of collateral witnesses or any other person shall not be released if 
disclosure may endanger their life or safety. 

• Information prohibited from being disclosed by state or federal law or regulation 
shall not be released. 

If information is withheld, the appellant shall be advised of the general nature of such 
information, the reason the information is being withheld, and the appellant's right to 
petition the juvenile and domestic relations court, or family court, to enforce any 
request for information which has been denied. 

LDSS are advised to consult with local county or city attorneys for advice and guidance 
on the release of information to appellants. 

7.4.5.1 Electronic recording of alleged victim interview 

The appellant is entitled to a copy of the electronic recording of the alleged victim 
interview unless disclosure of the contents of the recording would endanger the 
health or safety of the child or any other person pursuant to § 63.2-1526 A of the 
Code of Virginia, or the information is protected by federal statute, the Code of 
Virginia or the Virginia Administrative Code (VAC). 

The LDSS is not required to release confidential information contained on the 
recording if it is protected by law or regulation. However, the LDSS must abstract 
or summarize information from the recording or convert the audio or video tape 
recording into one form, such as a typed transcript, so that information needing 
to remain confidential may be redacted or edited out. The LDSS should make 
reasonable efforts to reach an agreement with the alleged abuser or neglector 
concerning the production of the electronic recording.  

LDSS are encouraged to seek consultation from their legal representatives in 
this matter. 

7.4.6 Conduct the local conference 

VDSS developed a CPS State Appeals Handbook for agency directors to provide 
additional guidance and best practice to conduct local conferences. Please note this 
handbook was revised August 2017.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/appeals/files/division_intro_page/appeals_cps/guidance_procedures/CPS_State_Appeals_Handbook_2017.pdf
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7.4.6.1 Who may preside over the local conference 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 G). The director of the local department, or a designee of the 
director, shall preside over the local conference. With the exception of the director of 
the local department, no person whose regular duties include substantial involvement 
with child abuse and neglect cases shall preside over the local conference, pursuant 
to § 63.2-1526 A of the Code of Virginia. 

7.4.6.2 Appellant may seek assistance of counsel 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 G1). The appellant may be represented by counsel, pursuant to 
§ 63.2-1526 A of the Code of Virginia. 

7.4.6.3 Local conference participants 

Participants in the local conference will include the Appellant and, if the Appellant 
chooses, a representative, and the worker and supervisor who made the founded 
disposition. The representative may be an attorney who may appear in lieu of the 
Appellant. 

Neither the alleged victim nor victim’s parents if they are not the appellant are 
permitted to attend the local conference. 

7.4.6.4 Appellant may present testimony at local conference 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 G2). The appellant shall be entitled to present the testimony of 
witnesses, documents, factual data, arguments or other submissions of proof, 
pursuant to § 63.2-1526 A of the Code of Virginia. 

Any additional information or documentation presented at the local conference 
must be added to the CPS record and documented in the child welfare 
information system. 

7.4.6.5 Time frame to notify appellant of results of local conference 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 G3). The director of the local department, or a designee of the 
director, shall notify the appellant, in writing, of the results of the local conference 
within 45 days of receipt of the written request from the appellant unless the time 
frame has been extended as described in subsection E of this section… 

7.4.6.6 Local director’s authority to sustain, amend, or reverse findings 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 G3). The director of the local department, or the designee of 
the director, shall have the authority to sustain, amend, or reverse the local 
department's findings… 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
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As a result of the local conference, the local director or the local director's 
designee may amend the final disposition and case record. 

The local director, or designee, has the authority to amend parts of the record by 
ordering that certain parts be stricken if those parts are proven to be inaccurate 
or irrelevant. 

7.4.6.7 Notify appellant  

(22 VAC 40-705-190 G3). Notification of the results of the local conference shall be 
mailed, certified with return receipt, to the appellant. The local department shall 
notify the child abuse and neglect information system of the results of the local 
conference. 

The written decision shall be mailed to the appellant as specified in 22 VAC 40-
705-190 and shall include: 

• The action to be taken on the request for amendment. 

• Explanation of any additional appeal rights available to the  appellant. 

7.4.6.8 Document results of local conference 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 G3). The local department shall notify the child abuse and 
neglect information system of the results of the local conference. 

7.4.6.9 Notify all original recipients of initial disposition, if amended 

The LDSS must notify in writing all persons who were originally informed of the 
original disposition, if the local conference results in an amended or reversed 
disposition. This includes the complainant as well as custodial and non-custodial 
parents of all victim children.   

7.4.7 Local conference training 

FSWEB 1012: Child Protective Services Appeal Training is available in the Virginia 
Learning Center. This recorded webinar conducted in June 2017 provides general 
information about the administrative appeals process, with a strong emphasis on the 
local conference.   

7.5 State administrative appeal 

The State Appeals Hearings Officers developed a guide for local agencies that explains 
the state appeal hearing process in more detail.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://covlc.virginia.gov/Default.aspx
https://covlc.virginia.gov/Default.aspx
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/appeals/
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7.5.1 Appellant must request state administrative hearing 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H). If the appellant is unsatisfied with the results of the local 
conference, the appellant may, within 30 days of receiving notice of the results of the local 
conference, submit a written request to the commissioner for an administrative hearing 
pursuant to § 63.2-1526 B of the Code of Virginia. 

 

When the alleged abuser or neglector is under 18 years of age, the parent or legal 
guardian of the alleged abuser or neglector may submit a written request for the state 
administrative appeal on behalf of the juvenile.   

7.5.2 Exception to time frames 

There is an exception to requesting an administrative hearing within 30 days of 
receipt of local conference results. The appellant may request in writing that the 
Commissioner grant an administrative hearing to review the request for amendment 
if: 

• The LDSS refuses to amend their report (disposition); or 

• The LDSS fails to act within 45 days after receiving the appellant's request, 
unless an extension has been requested by the appellant. 

If the LDSS refuses to conduct a local conference within the 45-day time frame (unless 
there is an extension of that time frame), then the 30-day time frame for the appellant 
to request a state administrative hearing begins running at the end of the 45-day time 
frame. The request to the Commissioner must be made in writing within 30 days 
thereafter. 

7.5.3 Document pending state appeal 

The State Hearing Officer notifies the child welfare information system that a state 
appeal is now pending.  

7.5.4 Who may conduct state administrative appeals 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H1). The Commissioner shall designate a member of his staff to 
conduct the proceeding, pursuant to § 63.2-1526 B of the Code of Virginia. 

7.5.5 Time frame to schedule state administrative hearing 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H2). A hearing officer shall schedule a hearing date within 45 days 
of the receipt of the appeal request unless there are delays due to subpoena requests, 
depositions or scheduling problems. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
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7.5.6 State administrative appeal officers authorities 

7.5.6.1 Subpoenas and depositions 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H3). After a party's written motion and showing good cause, 
the hearing officer may issue subpoenas for the production of documents or to compel 
the attendance of witnesses at the hearing. The victim child and that child's siblings 
shall not be subpoenaed, deposed or required to testify, pursuant to § 63.2-1526 B of 
the Code of Virginia. 

7.5.6.2 Review of subpoena or deposition decision by J&DR court or 
family court 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H4). Upon petition, the juvenile and domestic relations district 
court shall have the power to enforce any subpoena that is not complied with or to 
review any refusal to issue a subpoena. Such decisions may not be further appealed 
except as part of a final decision that is subject to judicial review pursuant to § 63.2-
1526 B of the Code of Virginia. 

7.5.6.3 Depositions 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H5). Upon providing reasonable notice to the other party and 
the hearing officer, a party may, at his own expense, depose a non-party and submit 
that deposition at, or prior to, the hearing. The victim child and the child's siblings 
shall not be deposed.  The hearing officer is authorized to determine the number of 
depositions that will be allowed pursuant to § 63.2-1526 B of the Code of Virginia. 

7.5.7 Information to be provided to appellant and state hearing officer 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H6). The local department shall provide the hearing officer a copy 
of the investigation record prior to the administrative hearing. By making a written request 
to the local department, the appellant may obtain a copy of the investigation record.  The 
appellant shall be informed of the procedure by which information will be made available 
or withheld from him. 

In any case of information withheld, the appellant shall be advised of the general nature of 
the information and the reasons that it is being withheld pursuant to § 63.2-1526 B of the 
Code of Virginia. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
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7.5.8 Conduct state appeal hearing 

7.5.8.1 Appellant may seek assistance of counsel 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H7). The appellant and the local department may be 
represented by counsel at the administrative hearing. 

7.5.8.2 Oath and affirmation 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H8). The hearing officer shall administer an oath or affirmation 
to all parties and witnesses planning to testify at the hearing pursuant to § 63.2-1526 
B of the Code of Virginia. 

7.5.8.3 Burden on LDSS to prove disposition 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H 9). The local department shall have the burden to show that 
the preponderance of the evidence supports the founded disposition. The local 
department shall be entitled to present the testimony of witnesses, documents, factual 
data, arguments or other submissions of proof. 

7.5.8.4 Submission of proof 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H10). The appellant shall be entitled to present the testimony 
of witnesses, documents, factual data, arguments or other submissions of proof. 

7.5.8.5 Submission of new evidence 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H11). The hearing officer may allow either party to submit new 
or additional evidence at the administrative hearing if it is relevant to the matter being 
appealed. 

7.5.8.6 Hearing officer not bound by strict rules of evidence 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H12). The hearing officer shall not be bound by the strict rules 
of evidence.  However, the hearing officer shall only consider that evidence, 
presented by either party, which is substantially credible or reliable. 

7.5.8.7 Allow record to remain open for additional evidence 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H13). The hearing officer may allow the record to remain open 
for a specified period of time, not to exceed 14 days, to allow either party to submit 
additional evidence unavailable for the administrative hearing. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
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7.5.9 State administrative appeal hearing decision 

7.5.9.1 Notify appellant and LDSS of results of state administrative 
appeal hearing 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 I). Within 60 days of the close of receiving evidence, the 
hearing officer shall render a written decision. The hearing officer shall have the 
authority to sustain, amend, or reverse the local department's findings.  The written 
decision of the hearing officer shall state the findings of fact, conclusions based on 
regulation and policy, and the final disposition. The decision will be sent to the 
appellant by certified mail, return receipt requested. Copies of the decision shall be 
mailed to the appellant's counsel, the local department and the local department’s 
counsel… 

7.5.9.2 State appeal officer may remand case to LDSS 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 H14). In the event that new or additional evidence is presented 
at the administrative hearing, the hearing officer may remand the case to the local 
department for reconsideration of the findings.  If the local department fails to act 
within 14 days or fails to amend the findings to the satisfaction of the appellant, then 
the hearing officer shall render a decision, pursuant to § 63.2-1526 B of the Code of 
Virginia. 

7.5.9.3 Appellant has further right of review by circuit court 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 J). The hearing officer shall notify the appellant of the 
appellant's further right of review in circuit court in the event that the appellant is not 
satisfied with the written decision of the hearing officer. Appeals are governed by 
Part 2A of the rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. The local department shall 
have no further right of review pursuant to § 63.2-1526 B of the Code of Virginia. 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 K). In the event that the hearing officer's decision is appealed 
to circuit court, the department shall prepare a transcript for that proceeding.  That 
transcript or narrative of the evidence shall be provided to the circuit court along with 
the complete hearing record.  If a court reporter was hired by the appellant, the court 
reporter shall prepare the transcript and provide the court with a transcript. 

7.5.9.4 Document results of state administrative appeal 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 I). …The hearing officer shall notify the child abuse and 
neglect information system of the hearing decision… 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
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7.5.9.5 Notify all original recipients if disposition is amended or 
reversed by state appeal hearing officer 

(22 VAC 40-705-190 I). …The local department shall notify all other prior recipients 
of the record of the findings of the hearing officer's decision. 

The LDSS shall notify in writing all persons who were originally informed of the 
original disposition, if the state appeal hearing results in an amended or reversed 
disposition. This includes the complainant as well custodial and non-custodial 
parents of all victim children. 

  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
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7.6 Appendix A: Local Conference Procedures  

7.6.1 Acronyms 

The following acronyms are used throughout this document: 

CPS Child Protective Services 

LDSS Local Department of Social Services 

VAC Virginia Administrative Code 

VDSS Virginia Department of Social Services 

7.6.2 Introduction  

The purpose of this guide is to provide recommended procedures and practices when 
an alleged abuser appeals the LDSS founded disposition of a CPS investigation. This 
information is a companion to the Code of Virginia, CPS Regulations, and Chapter C 
of the Child and Family Services Manual.  

Virginia Code § 63.2-1526 establishes the right to an administrative appeal by any 
individual against whom a founded disposition of abuse or neglect has been made in 
a CPS investigation.  

The VAC, beginning at 22 VAC 40-705-10, includes regulations pertaining to CPS 
appeals and the responsibilities of the LDSS.  

• Virginia Code § 63.2-100 defines an “abused or neglected child.”  

• Virginia Code § 63.2-1505 sets forth the investigative and reporting 
responsibilities of the LDSS. 

• Chapter C of the Child and Family Services Manual contains guidance to clarify 
the Code of Virginia and the VAC for the LDSS that respond to reports of abuse 
or neglect, including when an alleged abuser appeals a LDSS founded 
disposition of a CPS investigation. 

7.6.3 Levels of appeal  

• Local Informal Conference. This is the first level of administrative appeal 
conducted by the LDSS director or designee.  

• State. A more formal administrative hearing. The LDSS has an opportunity to 
present witnesses, testimony, and other evidence, as does the Appellant. The 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter1/section63.2-100/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1505/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cps/index.cgi
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hearing is conducted by Hearing Officers designated by the Commissioner of 
VDSS. 

• Circuit Court. This is an appellate review of the decision by the Hearing Officer 
designated by the Commissioner. At this level of the appeal process, and 
thereafter, new evidence must not be presented. Instead, the circuit court judge 
will listen to oral arguments by the Assistant Attorney General, representing 
VDSS’s position, and the Appellant, or his counsel, if he has one.  

• Court of Appeals. This is an appellate review of the decision of the circuit court 
that does not involve the presentation of evidence.  

7.6.4 Purpose of local conference 

The purpose of the local conference is to allow the abuser to meet informally with the 
LDSS director or designee to present testimony of witnesses, documents, arguments, 
submissions of proof or any additional relevant information the Appellant wants the 
LDSS to consider in his request to change the finding of the investigation. The 
Appellant may also submit additional information to be included in the CPS 
investigation record.  

7.6.5 Local conference time frames  

• Appellant must request the appeal in writing within 30 days of receipt of the 
disposition letter. 

• LDSS must complete the local conference process and notify Appellant of 
decision within 45 days of receipt of the written request for appeal. 

• Appellant may seek a state appeal if the LDSS does not meet the 45 day 
requirement and no extension was requested by the Appellant. 

• Appellant may request in writing an extension of up to 60 days from the end of 
the 45 days to complete the local conference.  

• Local conference is automatically stayed if there is a pending criminal 
proceeding in juvenile, circuit or military court against the abuser for the same 
conduct and the same victim as the founded disposition. The stay lasts until the 
final order has been entered in circuit court.  

o The intent of the stay provisions is to protect the Appellant from having to 
testify in the CPS case while the criminal matter is pending. It also is 
designed to protect the case record from inappropriate use by the 
Appellant in the criminal proceeding. The stay is initiated upon the filing of 
a relevant criminal charge. The court where the proceedings begin is 
irrelevant.  
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o Virginia Code Section 63.2-1526 (C) stays proceedings until “the criminal 
prosecution in circuit court is completed.” The stay provisions apply when 
there are criminal charges “against the Appellant for the same conduct 
involving the same victim as investigated by the local department.” 
According to the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, a case has not 
been completed until the judge enters a final, appealable order. (Rule 1:1, 
Rules of Supreme Court of Virginia) Therefore, the stay of the 
administrative appeal continues until such time as the court enters a final 
order.  

• The local conference is mandatory. The LDSS must make every effort to 
schedule and conduct, even if the Appellant does not appear at the scheduled 
conference time. Failure to conduct a local conference may affect the outcome 
of a circuit court appeal. 

7.6.6 Pre-conference preparation  

• Send Appellant and LDSS CPS staff written acknowledgement of receipt of the 
request to appeal that may also include a date for the local conference. 

• The local conference can be face-to-face or by phone if the Appellant agrees.  

• Contact LDSS legal counsel to review the appeal process and to determine 
what role legal counsel will take in the local conference. The LDSS may be 
represented by counsel at the local conference.  

7.6.7 CPS case record  

• Obtain and review CPS record. Because local conference decisions can be 
further appealed, the LDSS Director or designee should be given a redacted 
copy of the CPS record.  

• The CPS worker is strongly encouraged to consult with the LDSS attorney to 
review the proposed redaction of the record prior to its release.  

• The CPS record includes the following: 

o All documentation, including OASIS data, audio or video recordings; 
medical reports, psychological evaluations, handwritten notes from the 
child, transcripts, etc., that is considered significant evidence. (22VAC40-
705-10) 

o If the LDSS is represented by an attorney at the informal conference, he 
may formally submit the document(s). However, if the LDSS is not 
represented, then the CPS worker should submit the case record. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter15/section63.2-1526/
http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/scv/rulesofcourt.pdf
http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/scv/rulesofcourt.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section10/
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o Do not include the complainant’s name or other information which 
may endanger the well-being of a child. 

o Upon the Appellant’s written request, the LDSS shall provide the Appellant 
all information used in making its determination. (22VAC40-705-190 (F)). 
This includes health or hospital reports that the LDSS may not have the 
authority to release as part of the local conference process. It is important 
that the LDSS attorney review all documents to be released to the 
Appellant as part of the redacted record.  

o Photographs should be identified by who took them and when they were 
taken. The quality of the photos in documenting an injury can be 
considered by the LDSS Director or designee. 

• The Appellant or his representative should receive the same redacted CPS 
record the LDSS Director or designee has received. 

• LDSS Director or designee should set a time to receive the CPS record that 
allows sufficient time to review prior to the local conference. 

7.6.8 Conducting the informal local conference 

The LDSS director or designee chairs the local conference. Except for the LDSS 
Director or designee, no person whose regular duties include substantial involvement 
with the child abuse or neglect cases shall preside over a local conference. The 
conference may generally follow this order: 

7.6.8.1 Introduction and summary of the conference process  

• This summary will discuss the purpose of the hearing, the use of 
witnesses, general structural matters such as who will present first, 
relaxation of the rules of evidence, burden of proof issues and any other 
matters which can be appropriately discussed at this stage. The 
conference may be recorded by either party. 

• The parties will be advised that witnesses can be heard, but that a rule on 
the witnesses will be imposed during the hearing. As in a court setting, 
this simply requires that any witnesses intending to testify must wait 
outside of the hearing room until such time that they testify. They will be 
entitled to remain in the hearing room following their testimony at the 
discretion of the parties and the LDSS Director or their designee. 
Presentation of the LDSS case and questions by Appellant or LDSS 
Director or designee. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
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7.6.8.2 Presentation of the LDSS case and questions by Appellant or 
LDSS Director or designee 

The following are several guidelines for the LDSS Director or designee to 
consider during the case presentation: 

• CPS worker can summarize the case, if possible. It is not necessary to 
read it. Whether reading or summarizing, however, the CPS worker 
should be prepared to regularly reference what page of the case record 
they are on, both for the benefit of the LDSS Director or designee and for 
the Appellant. 

• The oral summary should include all factors that contributed to the finding. 
The focus should be on any elements required by guidance in establishing 
a particular form of abuse. 

• At the conclusion of the oral summary, explain how the facts constitute 
the founded disposition. It is useful to refer to the Dispositional 
Assessment page for this information. 

• Define and describe not only the guidance definition for applicable type of 
abuse or neglect, but also the level for each abuse or neglect finding. Be 
prepared to explain the distinction of the different levels of abuse in a 
given case, as such distinctions are often useful in helping appellants 
understand the finding in context. 

• Understand that the parties will often have questions and concerns about 
the risk level. The LDSS Director or designee does not have jurisdiction 
over that part of the finding. Risk is at the LDSS discretion.  

• Note that the Appellant has the right to request the amendment of the 
record, so anything that appears in the case record (no matter how long it 
is) is subject to discussion at the local conference. Even if certain 
information is not relevant to the finding, it is subject to amendment 
because it is part of the case record. 

7.6.8.3 Presentation of the Appellant’s case and questions by the CPS 
worker or LDSS Director or designee 

• At the local conference, whenever the Appellant makes a statement that 
the LDSS Director or designee and/or CPS worker believes to be 
inaccurate, it is important to voice objections and reasons why such 
statement is inaccurate. This will not likely be perceived as being 
argumentative, as long as the Appellant is allowed to complete his 
statement(s) before responding. 
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• The local conference is intended to be an exchange of information. If 
during the local conference, the LDSS Director or designee does not hear 
information that rebuts any new information provided by the Appellant, he 
will not be able to take that rebuttal information into consideration. 

• The LDSS Director or designee will referee the questioning to a certain 
degree. The questioning process will have been explained to the parties 
in the opening summary. However, the Appellant/Appellant’s attorney 
may not successfully abide by such instructions. Typically, the LDSS 
Director or designee will allow the attorney/Appellant to ask initial 
questions and follow-up questions but will intercede if, in the LDSS 
Director or designee’s opinion, the questions are overly repetitive and/or 
abusive. 

• The LDSS Director or designee may stop the conference if participants 
become verbally abusive and fail to follow the LDSS Director or 
designee’s directives with regard to their behavior. 

• The LDSS attorney, if present, can be helpful in making objections to 
Appellant’s questioning. Some objections may be sustained. The LDSS 
Director or designee will not potentially cross the line of impartiality by 
appearing to be interceding on the behalf of the CPS worker. 

• One of the purposes of a local conference, as defined by statute, is to 
allow the Appellant to provide additional information to the LDSS, in an 
informal environment, that might give reason why the finding should be 
amended or overturned. Some reasons for an Appellant to provide new or 
different information at the hearing include:  

o The Appellant may be trying to avoid a founded disposition and 
possibly losing his current job, losing the opportunity to get certain 
types of jobs in the future. The Appellant may fear the founded 
disposition will result in loss of custody of his children. The Appellant 
may fear embarrassment of having a founded disposition.  

o The Appellant may not want to talk until they have the opportunity to 
consult with an attorney. The Appellant may not know that certain 
information he could have provided would be exculpatory at the time 
was interviewed.  

o The Appellant may be confused or upset by the CPS investigation 
and interviewing process, and not able to summon all of the pertinent 
information that may be useful in his defense.  

o Despite conducting a thorough investigation regarding the 
allegations, the CPS worker did not have the opportunity to ask 
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certain questions or pursue other information during the 
investigation.  

7.6.9 Other local conference issues 

7.6.9.1 Witnesses and other participants 

The LDSS Director or designee will determine at the beginning of the conference 
how many witnesses will testify and, generally, to what they will testify. If 
numerous witnesses are providing similar character testimony or are testifying, 
as an example, that Appellant is an exemplary day-care provider, the LDSS 
Director or designee will likely not have all such witnesses testify but will hear 
from two or three of them at the most. The rest of the Appellant’s witnesses’ 
testimony in such an instance would be cumulative and can be proffered 
(summarized) to avoid repetitive testimony.  

Children, and most specifically the alleged victim child, will not be permitted to 
testify for either side. The CPS worker must be mindful, however, of the 
requirement that findings must be based on first source material and not on 
hearsay. 

For purposes of the informal conference, information that the CPS worker hears 
directly from the child and repeats at the local conference is deemed to be first 
source material, even though such testimony would be considered hearsay in 
court. Second and third-hand hearsay would not have the same reliability, 
however, and while such information would be admissible in the hearing under 
the relaxed rules of evidence in effect during an administrative hearing, they 
would not be considered first source. Such information might be statements from 
the teacher about information that the child told to him, which were then relayed 
to the CPS worker. 

See CPS Manual, Section 4, Family Assessment and Investigation, for more 
information about first source evidence. 

7.6.9.2 Non-offending parent and non-custodial parent of the victim 
child 

If the Appellant is an out-of-family caretaker, the parents of the victim child may 
not attend the local conference. 

The LDSS Director or designee may use discretion in determining whether the 
non-custodial parent of the victim child or the non-offending parent of the victim 
child may attend the local conference. 
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7.6.9.3 Burden of proof  

The LDSS director or designee must make a decision based on whether the CPS 
worker met the evidentiary standard to establish abuse or neglect. The specific 
burden established by state policy is a preponderance of the evidence, which 
is the least onerous burden. A preponderance of the evidence is just enough 
evidence to tip the balance in one direction or the other. Since the burden is so 
low, it is imperative that the worker be able to establish the reliability of all sources 
used in making the finding. Most important of all witnesses, of course, is the 
alleged victim child. The CPS worker must find as many indices of the child’s 
reliability as possible, as the ultimate disposition will often turn on the child’s 
credibility.  

7.6.9.4 Hold the case open for Appellant to provide additional 
information 

If the 45-day time frame (or 60-day extension, if requested) to complete the 
appeal has not expired and the Appellant makes a written request for an 
extension, the LDSS Director or designee may allow Appellant to provide 
additional information after the hearing. 

7.6.9.5 Can CPS worker investigate additional information provided at a 
local conference? 

No. The LDSS Director or designee must make decision based on CPS case 
record and evidence presented at the local conference. 

7.6.9.6 What if the Appellant does not appear for the conference or 
refuses to agree to a date for the conference. 

The LDSS must conduct the local appeal conference as required by CPS 
regulation even if the Appellant does not appear for the conference after being 
duly informed of the conference date.  

7.6.10 After the conference 

• 22VAC40-705-190(G)(3) provides that the disposition may be sustained, 
reversed or amended as a result of the local conference. 

• A written decision will be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to 
the Appellant pursuant to 22VAC40-705-190(G)(3). 

• The LDSS Director or designee will notify the Central Registry, a subsection 
of OASIS (Online Automated Services Information System) of the decision.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title22/agency40/chapter705/section190/
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• If the original disposition is amended as a result of the final appeal, the parents 
of the involved child(ren) and all others, including the complainant, who 
received notification initially will be notified by the LDSS. 

• An Appellant who is dissatisfied with the decision of the LDSS Director or 
designee may appeal to the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social 
Services. The LDSS Director or designee’s written decision must include 
instructions for the state appeal process.  

7.6.11 Sample letters  

Sample letters follow on the next pages. 



Virginia Department of Social Services  August 2020  
Child and Family Services Manual C.  Child Protective Services 
 

 

 
C Section 7 Page 25 of 32        7  Appeals 
   

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF APPEAL AND SET CONFERENCE DATE  
 
 
DATE  
 
APPELLANT NAME  
APPELLANT ADDRESS  
 
Dear APPELLANT NAME:  
 
Your request to appeal the Child Protection Services founded disposition of sexual 
abuse, level 1, made on DATE was received by this agency on DATE. We must 
schedule, hear, and decide on your request of amendment within 45 days after 
receiving such request. Please inform the CPS worker prior to the local conference if an 
attorney will present you.  
 
The scheduled local conference to hear your appeal has been set for DATE at TIME, at 
LOCATION/ADDRESS. Please sign in at the front desk and the worker will escort you 
to the conference room.  
 
Under the policy of the Virginia Department of Social Services, you must receive a 
written decision regarding your request on or before DATE (45 days from date appeal 
was received). If you do not receive a written decision on your request on or before 
DATE you have 30 days to request an administrative hearing from the Commissioner of 
the Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  
 
If you would like to review your records prior to the local conference or have questions, 
please contact NAME at telephone.  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
Local Director or designee  
 
cc. CPS Worker  
 CPS Supervisor  
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ACKNOWLEGEMENT LETTER AND SET TELEPHONE CONFERENCE  
 
DATE  
 
APPELLANT NAME  
APPELLANT ADDRESS  
 
Dear APPELLANT NAME:  
 
Your request to appeal the Child Protection Services founded disposition of sexual 
abuse, level 1, made on DATE was received by this agency on DATE. We must 
schedule, hear, and decide on your request of amendment within 45 days after 
receiving such request. Please inform the worker prior to the local conference if an 
attorney will represent you.  
 
Under the policy of the Virginia Department of Social Services, you must receive a 
written decision regarding your request on or before DATE (45 days from date appeal 
was received). If you do not receive a written decision on your request on or before 
DATE you have 30 days to request an administrative hearing from the Commissioner of 
the Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  
 
In response to your request, a telephone conference will be conducted on DATE at 
TIME. I will call you at your home telephone number (Telephone Number), unless you 
designate a different location before DATE.  
 
If you have documents that you wish to submit during the conference, please have them 
delivered to the department at least three days before the conference date.  
 
If you would like to review the agency’s records regarding the investigation prior to the 
local conference or have questions, please contact Name at (Telephone Number).  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
Local Director or designee  
 
cc. CPS Supervisor  
 CPS Worker  
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ACKNOWLEDGE APPEAL REQUEST FROM ATTORNEY  
 
DATE  
 
ATTORNEY FOR APPELLANT  
ADDRESS  
 
Dear ATTORNEY NAME:  
 
Your request to amend the disposition of Founded, Level 2, Physical Neglect (Lack of 
Supervision) of VICTIM CHILD (REN) by APPELLANT NAME was received by this 
Department on DATE. A local conference will be scheduled in the near future to discuss 
your request for an amendment of the record.  
 
Under the policy of the Department of Social Services, a local conference must be 
conducted and you must receive a written decision based on your request on or before 
DATE (45 DAYS FROM RECEIPT OF APPEAL REQUEST), unless you submit a 
written request for an extension of that period for a specific time not to exceed 60 days.  
 
If you do not receive a written decision on the request on or before DATE (45 DAYS 
FROM RECEIPT OF APPEAL REQUEST), and no extension was requested, you have 
30 days from that date to request an administrative hearing, in writing, from the 
Commissioner, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219.  
 
Your office will be contacted in the next few days to schedule a conference date and 
time or if you wish, you can contact me at (telephone number).  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
Local Director or designee  
 
cc: CPS Supervisor  

CPS Worker  
 
CERTIFIED MAIL NO.: 7007 2680 0000 2816 6128  



Virginia Department of Social Services  August 2020  
Child and Family Services Manual C.  Child Protective Services 
 

 

 
C Section 7 Page 28 of 32        7  Appeals 
   

CRIMINAL CHARGES PENDING  
 
DATE  
 
APPELLANT NAME  
APPELLANT ADDRESS  
 
 
Dear APPELLANT NAME:  
 
Your request to amend the record was received on DATE.  
 
According to the Virginia Code, Sections 2.2-3802 and 63.2-1526, when a criminal charge 
is brought against an Appellant, for the same conduct and involving the same victim, the 
CPS appeals process shall be suspended until the criminal prosecution is completed. The 
Appellant’s right to access his record under the Government Data Collection and 
Dissemination Practices Act is also suspended until the criminal process is completed. 
This law became effective April 7, 1993.   
 
Additionally, effective July 1, 2019, § 63.2-1526 of the Code of Virginia suspends the 
administrative CPS appeal process when there is a criminal investigation filed or 
commenced against the appellant for the same conduct involving the same victim as 
investigated by the local department until the investigation is closed or 180 days have 
lapsed since the appellant’s request for the appeal. The Appellant’s right to access his 
record under the Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices Act is also 
suspended until the criminal investigation is completed or 180 days have lapsed.   
 
When the criminal proceedings are completed, the investigation has been completed or 
180 days have lapsed since your request for an appeal, you will have the right to resume 
the appeal process within the times frames provided by law. If you have any questions, 
please feel free to give me a call at (telephone number).  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
Local Director or designee  
 
cc: CPS Supervisor  
      CPS Worker  
 
Certified Mail: 7007 2680 0000 2816 6913  
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UPHOLD FOUNDED DISPOSITION  
 
DATE  
 
APPELLANT NAME  
APPELLANT ADDRESS  
 
Dear APPELLANT NAME:  
 
After careful review of the record in this case and of the evidence presented at the hearing 
held on DATE, I have decided to uphold the agency’s finding of Founded, Level 3, 
Physical Neglect of VICTIM CHILD(REN) by APPELLANT.  
 
If you would like to appeal this decision further you should write to the Commissioner of 
Social Services and request a hearing. The request must be made within 30 days of 
receiving this letter. Please address your request to:  

Commissioner  
Virginia Department of Social Services  

801 East Main Street  
Richmond, Virginia 23219  

 
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
Local Director or designee  
 
cc: CPS Worker  

CPS Supervisor  
 
CERTIFIED MAIL NO: 7007 1490 0001 3107 3681  
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AMEND FOUNDED DISPOSITION  
 
DATE  
 
APPELLANT NAME  
APPELLANT ADDRESS  
 
Dear APPELLANT NAME:  
 
After careful review of the record in this case and after consideration of the evidence 
presented at the hearing held on HEARING DATE, I have decided to amend the 
agency’s finding of Founded, Level 2, Physical Abuse of VICTIM NAME(S) by ABUSER 
NAME to Founded, Level 3, Physical Abuse of VICTIM NAME(S) by ABUSER NAME.  
 
If you would like to appeal this decision further, you should write to the Commissioner of 
Social Services and request a hearing. The request must be made within thirty days of 
receiving this letter. Please address your request to:  
 

Commissioner  
Virginia Department of Social Services  

801 East Main Street  
Richmond, Virginia 23219-3301  

 
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
Local Director or designee  
 
cc: CPS Worker  

CPS Supervisor  
 
Certified Mail: 7007 1490 0001 3106 7017  
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OVERTURN FOUNDED DISPOSITION  
 
DATE  
 
APPELLANT NAME  
APPELLANT ADDRESS  
 
Dear APPELLANT NAME:  
 
After careful review of the record in this case and of the evidence presented at the 
hearing held on DATE, I have decided to Overturn the agency’s finding of Founded, 
Level 3, Physical Neglect of VICTIM CHILD(REN) by APPELLANT.  
 
The local department records will be destroyed one year from the date of the complaint 
unless there are other CPS reports that require a longer retention period.  
 
You may request the department in writing to retain your CPS record for up to two years 
past the original purge date. You may also petition the court to obtain the identity of the 
complainant if you believe the complaint was made maliciously.  
 
Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. If you have any questions, please feel free 
to contact me.  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
Local Director or designee  
 
cc: CPS Worker  

CPS Supervisor  
 
Certified Mail: 7007 1490 0001 3107 3698  
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CPS LOCAL CONFERENCE SUMMARY - SUGGESTED OUTLINE  
CASE NAME:  
COMPLAINT DATE:  
REFERRAL NUMBER:  
DATE OF DISPOSITION: 
CHILDREN (NAME & DOB)  
 
1) INTRODUCTION  

An informal Child Protective Service conference was held at Local Dept. of Social 
Services on (date).  

 
Present were:  
 
Name    Title  

 
2) CASE SUMMARY  

A disposition of (type of abuse/neglect) was made based upon the following 
evidence:  

 
3) APPELLANT’S RESPONSE  

The following new information was provided by the appellant:  
 

Documentary evidence presented by the Appellant included:  
 

Appellant's arguments and objections to the disposition were:  
 
4) WORKER’S RESPONSE  

The CPS worker’s arguments and supports of the disposition were:  
 
5) FINDING  

Following the local agency conference, a decision was made to (uphold, amend, 
overturn disposition) based on the following reasons: 
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