Mandated Reporters

For Adult
Abuse,
Neglect

and
Exploitation




In SFY 2016,
Virginia APS
received 23,432
reports of adult
abuse, neglect
and/or exploitation.
55% of the reports
were substantiated

73% of report
subjects were 60
years or older



Adults are:

Persons 18 years old or older
who are incapacitated

Persons age 60 and older



An adult who is impaired by
Mental iliness
Intellectual disability
Physical ililness or disability
Advanced age
Other causes

An adult who lacks sufficient
understanding or capacity to make,
communicate or carry our reasonable
decisions regarding his/her well-being



A mandated reporter is an individual
who is required by Virginia law to
report situations immediately in which

they suspect an adult may
have been abused,
neglected or exploited,

or is at risk of being abused,
neglected or exploited
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Any person licensed, certified,
or registered by health
regulatory boards listed in
54.1-2503 of the Code of
Virginia, except persons
licensed by the Board of
Veterinary Medicine

Any mental health services
provider as defined in § 54.1-
2400.1




Any emergency medical services personnel
certified by the Board of Health pursuant
to § 32.1-111.5;

Any guardian or conservator of an adult;

Any person employed by or contracted
with a public or private agency or facility
and working with adults in an
administrative, supportive or direct care
capacity;




Any person providing
full, intermittent, or
occasional care to an
adult for
compensation,
including but not
limited to companion,
chore, homemaker,
and personal care
workers;

Any law-enforcement
officer
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Must notify mandated reporters of
their obligation to report

May establish in-house procedures for
reporting

Cannot prohibit employees from
reporting directly to APS
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Mandated reporters are
required to report
situations they encounter
while performing their
official job duties

The report must be made
immediately upon
becoming aware of the
situation of abuse, neglect
and/or exploitation




The identity, age, and location of the
abused adult

Any information about the suspected
abuse, neglect or exploitation



The Adult Protective Services Unit of
the Local Department of Social
Services where the adult resides or
in which the abuse, neglect or
exploitation occurred, or

The 24-hour Adult Abuse Hotline




Any reporter who suspects that an
adult has died as a result of abuse
or neglect must notify the

appropriate medical examiner and
law enforcement



Report incidents
immediately!

Make information,
records or reports that
document the abuse
(including those
normally considered
confidential) to APS
worker




Health Insurance Portability and Accountability
Act (HIPAA) allows health care providers to
release medical records of individuals who are,
or are suspected of being, victims of abuse,
neglect or exploitation in states that have laws
that require the release of such

information

Virginia law requires
mandated reporters to
share information relevant
to an APS investigation
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Immunity from civil
and criminal liability

Protection of identity

Permitted to release
confidential
information without
penalty



YES!



First failure is punishable by a civil
penalty of not more than $500

Subsequent failures may result in
penalties between $100 and $1,000

The court system will determine
penalties for law enforcement personnel



Willful infliction of physical pain, injury
or mental anguish or unreasonable
confinement

» Wounds, scratches, bruises, burns

» Verbal assaults, threats, intimidation

» Broken bones, sprains, dislocations

» Shoving, beating, kicking adult

» Restrained, tied to bed or chair, locked
in

» Behavioral changes in the adult



An act committed with the intent to
sexually molest, arouse or gratify any
person

Intentional touching intimate parts or
material covering them

Forcing the adult to touch the adult’s own or
another's intimate parts or material
covering them

Forcing another person to touch the adult’s
intimate parts or material covering them



Living under such circumstances that the
adult is not able to provide, or is not
provided, services to maintain physical
and mental health and well-being

= Malnourished

» Soiled bedding, furniture or clothing
» Unsafe or hazardous living conditions
» Lacks needed medication

» Lacks heat, running water, or electricity



Illegal use of the adult’s resources

for another’s profit or advantage

Missing personal belongings
Changed will or POA

Large bank withdrawals
Unpaid bills

Excessive payment for care or services
Documents contain suspicious signatures

Sudden appearance of previously uninvolved
relatives or friends




\J

Families Members

Paid Caregivers

Friends

Facility Staff Members
Agency Staff Members
Handy Men/Contractors
Con Artists



Adult Protective Services

Receives and evaluates the
report

Investigates

Determines if services are
needed

Makes a disposition
Provides services, if accepted

Notifies the mandated
reporter that the report has
been investigated




Administered by the Department for Aging and
Rehabilitative Services

Services provided through 119 local
departments of social services

Units in local departments receive and
investigate reports of adult abuse, neglect and
exploitation and provide needed services



Adults have the right to:
Be treated with dignity and respect
Refuse assistance
Make their own choices about how/
where they will live
Privacy



Stop abuse, neglect and exploitation by
protecting the adult with the least restriction
of his/her liberty

Assist the adult in remaining in his/her home
as long as possible and appropriate

Restore independent functioning to the
greatest extent possible

Assist in arranging out-of-home placement
when appropriate, the adult or guardian
consents, or the court orders emergency
placement



Force protective services
upon an adult who has the
capacity to refuse services

Take an endangered adult
into custody

Investigate when the
alleged victim is no longer
at risk



Needs Protective Services
Adult accepts services
Adult refuses services

Need No Longer Exists
The perpetrator no longer has access to the
adult or the adult has been removed from the
situation
The adult is deceased

Unfounded

There was no evidence of abuse, neglect or
exploitation. Referrals to other agencies may
be made.



APS workers may offer or arrange a
wide variety of health, housing,
social, and legal services to stop the

mistreatment and prevent further
mistreatment.



If you have questions about reporting
suspected adult abuse, neglect and/or
exploitation, or other questions
regarding your status as a mandated
reporter, call an APS regional specialist:

Carey Raleigh /57) 985-4948
Carol McCray 276) 676-5636
Margie Marker 804) 662-97/83
Andrea Jones 540) 347-6313

Angie Mountcastle 540) 204-9640



Report suspected Abuse, Neglect and
Exploitation!

You can help vulnerable adults suffering in
silence have safer, happier and more
productive lives!



APS Hotline

Toll-Free 24-Hours

1-888-83-ADULT
1-888-832-3858




Adult Protective Services Division

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative
Services

8004 Franklin Farms Drive
Henrico, VA 23229

(804) 726-1904



