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We Need Your Help! 

 In SFY 2013, 
Virginia APS 
received 20,704 
reports of adult 
abuse, neglect 
and/or exploitation. 

 55% of the reports 
were substantiated 

 71% of report 
subjects were 60 
years or older 
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For this purpose . . . 

Adults are: 
 
◦ Persons 18 years old or older 
who are incapacitated 
 
◦ Persons age 60 and older 
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What is an Incapacitated Person? 

 An adult who is impaired by  
◦ Mental illness 
◦ Intellectual disability 
◦ Physical illness or disability 
◦ Advanced age 
◦ Other causes 
 

 An adult who lacks sufficient 
understanding or capacity to make, 
communicate or carry our reasonable 
decisions regarding his/her well-being 

 

4 



What is a Mandated 
Reporter? 
 A mandated reporter is an individual 

who is required by Virginia law to 
report situations immediately in which  

 they suspect an adult may  
 have been abused,  
 neglected or exploited, 
 or is at risk of being abused,  
 neglected or exploited 
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Mandated Reporters 
 Any person licensed, certified, 

or registered by health 
regulatory boards listed in 
54.1-2503 of the Code of 
Virginia, except persons 
licensed by the Board of 
Veterinary Medicine 
 

 Any mental health services 
provider as defined in § 54.1-
2400.1 
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Mandated Reporters (cont.) 
 Any emergency medical services personnel 

certified by the Board of Health pursuant 
to § 32.1-111.5; 

 Any guardian or conservator of an adult; 
 Any person employed by or contracted 

with a public or private agency or facility 
and working with adults in an 
administrative, supportive or direct care 
capacity; 
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Mandated Reporters (cont.) 

 Any person providing 
full, intermittent, or 
occasional care to an 
adult for 
compensation, 
including but not 
limited to companion, 
chore, homemaker, 
and personal care 
workers; 

 Any law-enforcement 
officer 
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Employers of Mandated Reporters: 

 Must notify mandated reporters of 
their obligation to report 

 May establish in-house procedures for 
reporting 

 Cannot prohibit employees from 
reporting directly to APS 
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WHEN do I report? 
 Mandated reporters are 

required to report 
situations they encounter 
while performing their 
official job duties 
 

 The report must be made 
immediately upon 
becoming aware of the 
situation of abuse, neglect 
and/or exploitation 
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WHAT do I report? 

 The identity, age, and location of the 
abused adult 

 
 Any information about the suspected 
abuse, neglect or exploitation 
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WHO DO I CALL? 

 The Adult Protective Services Unit of 
the Local Department of Social 
Services where the adult resides or 
in which the abuse, neglect or 
exploitation occurred, or 
 

 The 24-hour Adult Abuse Hotline  
 1 (888) 83-ADULT (832-3858) 
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Other Reporting Requirements 

 Any reporter who suspects that an 
adult has died as a result of abuse 
or neglect must notify the 
appropriate medical examiner and 
law enforcement 
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Responsibilities of  
Mandated Reporters 

 Report incidents 
immediately!  

 

 Make information, 
records or reports that 
document the abuse 
(including those 
normally considered 
confidential) to APS 
worker 
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Remember!! 
 Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 

Act (HIPAA) allows health care providers to 
release medical records of individuals who are, 
or are suspected of being, victims of abuse, 
neglect or exploitation in states that have laws 
that require the release of such 

 information 
 

 Virginia law requires  
 mandated reporters to  
 share information relevant 
 to an APS investigation 
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Rights of Mandated Reporters 

 Immunity from civil 
and criminal liability 
 

 Protection of identity 
 

 Permitted to release 
confidential 
information without 
penalty 
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Is there a penalty for failure to report? 

YES! 
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Penalties for Failure to Report 
 First failure is punishable by a civil 

penalty of not more than $500 
 

 Subsequent failures may result in 
penalties between $100 and $1,000 
 

 The court system will determine 
penalties for law enforcement personnel 
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What is Physical or Verbal 
Abuse? 

 Willful infliction of physical pain, injury 
or mental anguish or unreasonable 
confinement 

 Wounds, scratches, bruises, burns 
 Verbal assaults, threats, intimidation 
 Broken bones, sprains, dislocations 
 Shoving, beating, kicking adult 
 Restrained, tied to bed or chair, locked 

in 
 Behavioral changes in the adult 
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What is Sexual Abuse? 

 An act committed with the intent to 
sexually molest, arouse or gratify any 
person 
 Intentional touching intimate parts or 
material covering them 
 Forcing the adult to touch the adult’s own or 
another's intimate parts or material 
covering them 
 Forcing another person to touch the adult’s 
intimate parts or material covering them 
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What is Neglect & Self-Neglect? 

 Living under such circumstances that the 
adult is not able to provide, or is not 
provided, services to maintain physical 
and mental health and well-being 

 Malnourished 
 Soiled bedding, furniture or clothing 
 Unsafe or hazardous living conditions 
 Lacks needed medication 
 Lacks heat, running water, or electricity 
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What is Exploitation? 

 Illegal use of the adult’s resources 
for another’s profit or advantage 
 Missing personal belongings 
 Changed will or POA 
 Large bank withdrawals 
 Unpaid bills 
 Excessive payment for care or services 
 Documents contain suspicious signatures 
 Sudden appearance of previously uninvolved 

relatives or friends 
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Perpetrators Can Be: 
 Families Members 
 Paid Caregivers 
 Friends 
 Facility Staff Members 
 Agency Staff Members 
Handy Men/Contractors 
 Con Artists 
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After you report 
 Adult Protective Services 
◦ Receives and evaluates the 
report 
◦ Investigates 
◦ Determines if services are 
needed 
◦ Makes a disposition 
◦ Provides services, if accepted 
◦ Notifies the mandated 
reporter that the report has 
been investigated 
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About Adult Protective 
Services 

 Administered by the Department for Aging and 
Rehabilitative Services 

 
 Services provided through 120 local 

departments of social services 
 
 Units in local departments receive and 

investigate reports of adult abuse, neglect and 
exploitation and provide needed services 
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APS Philosophy 
 Adults have the right to: 
◦ Be treated with dignity and respect 
◦ Refuse assistance 
◦ Make their own choices about how/  
 where they will live 
◦ Privacy 
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APS Goals 

 Stop abuse, neglect and exploitation by 
protecting the adult with the least restriction 
of his/her liberty 

 Assist the adult in remaining in his/her home 
as long as possible and appropriate 

 Restore independent functioning to the 
greatest extent possible 

 Assist in arranging out-of-home placement 
when appropriate, the adult or guardian 
consents, or the court orders emergency 
placement 
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What APS cannot do . . . 

 Force protective services 
upon an adult who has the 
capacity to refuse services 
 

 Take an endangered adult 
into custody 
 

 Investigate when the 
alleged victim is no longer 
at risk 
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Possible Dispositions 

 Needs Protective Services 
◦ Adult accepts services 
◦ Adult refuses services 

 Need No Longer Exists 
◦ The perpetrator no longer has access to the 

adult or the adult has been removed from the 
situation 
◦ The adult is deceased 

 Unfounded 
◦ There was no evidence of abuse, neglect or 

exploitation. Referrals to other agencies may 
be made. 
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Support Services for Adults 

 APS workers may offer or arrange a 
wide variety of health, housing, 
social, and legal services to stop the 
mistreatment and prevent further 
mistreatment.  
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Questions 
 If you have questions about reporting 

suspected adult abuse, neglect and/or 
exploitation, or other questions 
regarding your status as a mandated 
reporter, call an APS regional specialist: 

 
Carey Kalvig    (757) 491-3983 
Carol McCray    (276) 676-5636 
Margie Marker   (804) 662-9783 
Andrea Jones   (540) 347-6313 
Angie Mountcastle  (540) 204-9640 
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You are the key! 

 Report suspected Abuse, Neglect and 
Exploitation! 

 
 You can help vulnerable adults suffering in 

silence have safer, happier and more 
productive lives! 
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APS Hotline 

Toll-Free 24-Hours 
 

1-888-83-ADULT 
(1-888-832-3858) 
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Thank you! 
 

Adult Protective Services Division 
Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services 
8004 Franklin Farms Drive 

Henrico, VA 23229 
(804) 726-1904  
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