Exemptions Tip Table

Effective July 1, 2019, Code of Virginia § 63.2-1715 C 1 requires certain exempt child day programs to file with the VDSS Commissioner annually
and prior to beginning operation of a program a statement indicating the intent to operate; the exemption from 8§ 63.2-1715 B that the program meets;
and certification that the program has disclosed in writing to the parents or guardians of the children in the program that it is exempt from licensure.

Prior to submitting the filing, please use the following tool to assess your program to determine if and which exemption may apply. All criteria for
meeting the exemption must be met. If you answer ‘NO’ to any of the criteria within a specific exemption, the program may be required to be
licensed or may meet a different exemption listed in § 63.2-1715. The general email address for exemptions is exemptions@dss.virginia.gov.

Program

Criteria

needed.

If the program meets ALL of the criteria for any of the program types below, the program is NOT considered child care and no further action is

Single Focus Instructional
Program
(63.2-1715 A1)

Does the program offer instruction in only one subject area? (Examples include computer science, archaeology,
sports clinics, and music)

Does the program only serve children age 6 and older?

Is the maximum time children are allowed to attend no more than 25 days in any three-month period?

Note: Programs that simply change focus areas would not qualify for this exemption.

Instructional Program or
Recreational Activity
(63.2-1715 A.2)

Is the maximum time that a child under age 6 may attend 6 hours per week or less? Is the duration of any class or
activity 1.5 hours or less?

Is the maximum time that a child over 6 may attend 6 hours per week or less when school is in session and 12
hours per week when school is not in session?

Note: Competition, performances, and exhibitions related to the instructional program or recreational activity do
not count towards the weekly hours

Private School Instructional
Program and
School-Sponsored
Extracurricular Activities
(63.2-1715 A.3)

Is the program offered by a private school?

Does the program only serve school-age children?

Does the program satisfy compulsory attendance laws or provide services under the Individuals with Disabilities
Act (IDEA)?

Does the program include school-sponsored extracurricular activities that are focused on single interests such as
music, sports, drama, civic service, or foreign language?
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Criteria

Public School Instructional
Program and School-
Sponsored Extracurricular
Activities
(63.2-1715 A.4)

Is the program offered by a public school?

Does the program only serve preschool age children?

Does the program satisfy compulsory attendance laws or provide services under Individuals with Disabilities Act
(IDEA)?

Does the program include school-sponsored extracurricular activities that are focused on single interests such as
music, sports, drama, civic service, or foreign language?

Early Intervention Program
(63.2-1715 A.5)

Does the program only serve children birth through 3 years old?

Avre children eligible for the program through Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) Part C?

Do children hold Individual Family Service Plans (IFSPs)?

Is the program administered by the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Development Services
(VBHDS) and Medicaid?

Is the maximum time children are allowed to attend 6 hours per week?

Competitive Sports
(63.2-1715 A.6)

Does the program include competitive sports practices and competitions?
OR

Is the program an organized sports league?

Religious Instruction
Program
(63.2-1715 A.7)

Is the program religious instruction such as a Sunday school, vacation Bible school, Bar Mitzvah or Bat Mitzvah
class?

OR

Is the program a religious institution nursery offered during religious service or activity while parents are onsite?

Summer Instructional or
Athletic Program
(63.2-1715 A.8)

Is the program held during the summer?
Is the program an extension of an accredited private elementary, middle, or high school program (8 22.1-19)?
Is the program administered by the Virginia Council for Private Education?




Program

Criteria

If the program meets the criteria for any of the program types below, the program may be exempt from licensure.

Religiously Exempt Child
Day Center
(63.2-1715B.1)

Does the program meet the exemption requirements in § 63.2-1716?

Come and Go Program
(63.2-1715B.2)

Does the program only serve school-age children?
Does the program have a written policy that is given to and signed by the children’s parent that children are free to
come and go freely from the premises?

Short Term Program
(63.2-1715 B.3)

Does the program operate a maximum of 20 program days in the calendar year?
Does the program serve children under age 6 and operate no more than two consecutive weeks without a break of
at least a week?

Child Minding Service
(Commercial or
Recreational)
(63.2-1715B.4)

Is the program held onsite at a commercial or recreational establishment?

Do children attend for a maximum of 3 hours per day?

Can parents be easily contacted and resume responsibility for the child within 30 minutes?

Avre the parents of the children present in the program receiving or providing services or participating in activities
offered by the establishment?

Certified Preschool or
Nursery School Program
(63.2-1715 B.5)

Does the program meet all of the exemption requirements in § 63.2-1717?

Local Government
Recreational Program
(63.2-1715 B.6)

Is the program offered by local government?
Is the program staffed by local government employees?
Does the program only serve school-age children?

Note: These programs are subject to local government’s safety and supervisory standards
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Criteria

Local School Division
Program
(63.2-1715 B.7)

Does the program operate 4 hours per day or less?

Is the program staffed by local school division employees?

Is the program attended by children at least 4 years old AND enrolled in public school or preschool program
within such school division?

Note: These programs are subject to local school division’s safety and supervisory standards

Child Minding Services
(Business)
(63.2-1715 B.8)

Is the program held onsite at a business where the parent is employed?

Does the program operate 8 hours per day or less?

Is the maximum number of children in care at any one time 4 children or less?

Avre the parents of the children in care an employee, onsite, and able to resume responsibility for the child within
30 minutes?




