
Expedited Enrollment of Child Placed in Foster Care  
(Child school placement changing upon entering or changing foster care placement)  

 
State Law (Ref. Code of Virginia 22.1-289 and 63.2-900) requires that within 72 hours of placing a child in foster care, the agency 
making such placement shall, in writing, notify the appropriate principal and superintendent of the placement and inform the principal 
of the status of the child’s parental rights. Children placed in foster care shall be immediately enrolled in school subject to the 
requirements of § 22.1-3.4 of the Code of Virginia.  
 
This child is being enrolled by the agency having legal custody or its representative:  
___ Local Department of Social Services  
___ Licensed Child Placing Agency  
 
Name of School: 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
  
Student’s Name: 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Students Date of Birth: __/__/__ Sex: ___ State or Country of Birth ____________________ 
 
Foster Parent Name: 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Foster Parent Address: 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
  
Department of Social Services or Licensed Child Placing Agency contact information:  
 
Agency Name: 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Contact Name: ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Phone:__________________________________ 
 
Custody of this student was placed with the above named agency on  __________________  

(Date)  
Information on status of Parental Rights: 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
___________________________________________________________________________  
 
  
Student’s School Status Affirmation:  
To the best of my knowledge, __________________________________   has   has not  
been expelled from school attendance at a private school or in a public school division of the 
Commonwealth or in another state for an offense in violation of school board policies 
relating to weapons, alcohol or drugs, or for the willful infliction of injury to another person.  
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To the best of my knowledge, ________________________________  has  has not 
been found guilty or adjudicated delinquent for any offense listed in subsection G of § 16.1-
260 of the Code of Virginia or any substantially similar offense under the laws of any state, 
the District of Columbia, or the United States or its territories.  
 
To the best of my knowledge, ___________________________________ is in good health 
and is free from communicable or contagious disease.  If documentation of a physical exam, 
birth certificate, social security number, and/or immunization record is unavailable at the 
time of enrollment, they must be provided to the school within 30 days of enrollment.  
 
_________________________________________________________  
Representative of Custodial Agency  
 
_________________________________  
Date  
 
 


