Child care providers who work in licensed or regulated child day programs and who give prescription medications to children are required by the Code of Virginia to satisfactorily complete the MAT course. The MAT is a competency-based course approved by the Board of Nursing (BON) and Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) to train providers who work in child day programs to safely administer medication to children. The MAT course must be facilitated by an approved MAT Trainer.
This is a distance learning, self-study program that allows early childhood professionals to earn training clock hours by completing lessons with children's literature books, or reporting on pre-approved books about early childhood education and child development. The Virginia Department of Social Services' Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development collaborated with the Library of Virginia to place sets of books in each of the 350 public libraries across Virginia.
This initial phase of the Read-A-Book Program focuses on the importance of incorporating children's literature across the curriculum, reading to and with young children daily, understanding early brain development, fostering language and literacy development, and communicating successfully with young children.
The program currently offers two book report options for obtaining clock hours of training credit. Early childhood professionals are encouraged to choose one or both, without repeating the same books. Participants are eligible to receive clock hours of training credit for each option selected and book report submitted to the Virginia Child Care Resource and Referral Network (VACCRRN) for grading. The number of training hours awarded depends on the option and book selected, as well as the points earned (from 0-26 hours). Book report materials are available online or via email, free of charge (see below). If participants would like a copy mailed to them, there is a $10.00 fee for postage and handling; participants may use the Order Form found below and mail it to VACCRRN with payment. Option 2 assessments must be requested and may be sent via email (free) or USPS mail ($10.00 fee for postage and handling). Grading the completed book reports costs participants $20 per option selected, and should accompany the completed book report materials when submitted for grading. (All checks should be made payable to VACCRRN.)
For additional information e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org or write to VACCRRN, VDSS-Distance Learning, 308 Turner Road, Suite A, Richmond, VA 23225.
This is a tuition assistance program offering current and future child care providers a foundation in the care and development of children. The program, funded through Virginia's share of the federal Child Care and Development Fund, provides assistance for providers to attend college courses at Virginia institutions of higher learning.
Courses required for a certificate or degree in the early childhood education field may be approved for payment through the Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program (VCCPSP), as funding allows. The maximum benefits allowable for the Scholarship Program include either eight classes, or a maximum lifetime award of $2,988.00, whichever comes first. The scholarship award pays the cost of tuition and the technology fee for up to two courses per semester. Any additional fees for travel or expenses, such as books and activity fees, are the responsibility of the student.
The applicant must meet all of the following criteria (Regulation 22 VAC 40-690-30):
Be an employee of a child care program located in Virginia, or a Virginia resident (as defined by the Code of Virginia) who is employed in a non-Virginia child care program, or a Virginia resident who has "declared an intent to become employed in child care."
Select a program-approved course for which she/he has not previously received a scholarship.
Have no more than one past occurrence of the following:
Received an award and did not register for the class
Withdrew from the awarded class after the add/drop deadline (last day to receive a refund) and did not complete the course
Received a failing grade for an awarded course
The Program does not reimburse college students. It pays colleges directly. If a student pays for the course, because an award letter has not been received, it is the student’s responsibility to ensure that the college policies allow reimbursement to the student upon notification of a scholarship award. The Program will notify the educational institutions' business offices of any VCCPSP awards.
If there are changes in plans regarding the scholarship, by the last day to add/drop without financial penalty, students must submit a Course Change Form to VCCPSP if any of the following are true:
The awarded course is not available and the student needs to request a substitute
The awarded course is not available and the student does not plan to take a new course
Your counselor advises the student to take a different course
The student cannot use the awarded scholarship due to a hardship (family emergency, and/or sickness that is accompanied by a doctor’s note, death of an immediate family member, or relocation from the area)
How to Apply
Apply and be accepted for admission by the school of choice.
If you attend a community college, include the 'Empl. ID" number on the scholarship application.
Contact the Virginia college/university that you plan to attend to verify domicile status and to confirm availability of course(s) selected for the requested semester.
Complete the Child Care Provider Scholarship Program application from the forms section below. Applications may be completed on-line or printed, filled out and mailed to:
Division of Child Care & Early Childhood Development
Virginia Department of Social Services
801 E. Main Street, 8th Floor
Richmond, Virginia 23219-2901
Priority will be given to applicants currently employed in the field of child care. Based on eligibility and funding availability, applications for applicants who do not currently work in child care will be processed in the final week before the application deadline. Incomplete or illegible applications will not be processed and will be returned. Faxed or e-mailed applications will not be accepted.
Applications are received during the established application period and must be postmarked no later than the last day of the application period: Spring Semester (October 15 - December 1), Fall Semester (June 15 - August 1) and Summer Semester (March 15 - April 15).
After receiving the scholarship award, register for the class at the college and provide the award letter and Grade Release Form to the college.
This publication is intended to improve the quality of early childhood programs by clearly identifying the skills and knowledge needed by adults who are supporting the growth and development of children from birth to kindergarten.
This publication is currently only available in English.
This publication is designed to assist directors in meeting the standards for Licensed Child Day Centers. It also guides directors and new staff members through the process of orientation. Included is a wide variety of recommended and required sample and model forms.
This publication is designed to assist family child care providers in providing quality care and education to the children they serve. It contains guides and outlines, sample policies and procedures, and forms and checklists. Topic areas are getting started, policies and procedures, health and safety, child development, and resources.