Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
staff of hermes icon

COVID-19 (CORONAVIRUS) UPDATES AND RESOURCES
Our agency is working closely with administration, including the Virginia Department of Health, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, the COVID-19 Taskforce and local partners and stakeholders to activate emergency procedures.

Latest Child Care Guidance
(Under the authority of Executive Order 51, the Commissioner of Department of Social Services is waiving regulation 22VAC40-665-40.N which references the period of time for a redetermination of eligibility for the subsidy program. )

Read More»

Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Children of America Glen Allen, LLC
2501 Old Brick Road
Glen allen, VA 23060
(804) 360-0248

Current Inspector: Florence Martus (804) 662-9772

Inspection Date: Feb. 8, 2019

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)
63.2(17) License & Registration Procedures

Technical Assistance:
n/a

Comments:
The licensing inspector conducted an unannounced inspection in response to a self-reported incident that occurred on 01/29/2019 regarding supervision and child accountability. The inspection was initiated on February 8, 2019 and completed on March 4, 2019. The inspector was on site on Friday, February 8, 2019 from approximately 2:57pm until 4:55pm interviewing staff, conducting observations at the center, and reviewing documentation. The preponderance of the evidence gathered during the investigation validates the self-reported incident. See the violation notice for more details. Please complete the `plan of correction? and `date to be corrected? for each violation cited on the violation notice and return it to me within 5 business days from the date of receipt. Please specify how the deficient practice will be or has been corrected. Your plan of correction should contain: 1) steps to correct the noncompliance with the standards, 2) measures to prevent the noncompliance from occurring again, and 3) person(s) responsible for implementing each step and/or monitoring any preventative measure(s). If you have any questions about this inspection, please contact the licensing inspector, Florence Martus, at (804) 662-9772.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-40-E
Description: Based on a review of the center's policy and interviews on 02/08/2019, the center did not ensure the center's own policies regarding identifying where attending children are at all times and the transportation policy were adhered to by staff. Evidence: 1) During interview on 02/08/2019, Staff #1 stated she did not take attendance of the 6 children she was transporting upon the children leaving the vehicle when they arrived at the center on 01/29/2019. Staff #1 stated that her bus and Staff #2's bus arrived at the same time and the children in Staff #2's group and Staff #1's group walked inside the building together. Attendance was later taken inside the School Age classroom by Staff #3. 2) In a written statement, Staff #3 stated "As the children came in I grabbed the roll sheet and was writing down the time of arrival while [Staff #2] told me who had come in. When we got to [Child #1's] name [Staff #2] said 'no [Child #1]' and Staff #1 said 'yes I picked her up.' We all immediately searched the room for [Child #1] and the bathrooms. When we realized she was not in the room I ran to the front to grab the bus key and search the bus while [Staff #1] ran out the side door to the bus and found [Child #1] asleep in the seat. She was brought into the classroom at approximately 3:31PM." 3) Center policy states "the driver will take attendance of all children before entering the vehicle and upon leaving the vehicle" and "when arriving at the destination the driver is responsible for taking a complete walk from the front to the back of the bus, looking in all aisles and touching the back of the vehicle to insure that no child is left on the vehicle."

Plan of Correction: Per the Center: "Staff #1 completed retraining on 1/29/19. All staff will be retrained on transportation procedures on 3/11/19 at the staff meeting. Effective 1/30/19 "a member of management greets arriving buses, confirming attendance has been taken and the buss is swept before children are escorted inside the center."

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-340-F
Description: Based on interviews and documentation review on 02/08/2019, the center did not ensure a child under the age of 10 years was within actual sight and sound supervision by staff. Evidence: 1) During interviews conducted on 02/08/2019, it was revealed that Child #1 (six-year-old) was left on the bus asleep at the center by staff on 01/29/2019 after being transported to the center from school. The child was alone, unsupervised, and out of sight and sound supervision of staff from approximately 3:29pm until 3:31pm. 2) On 01/29/2019, one of the center's buses, driven by Staff #1, arrived at the center around 3:29pm after transporting children to the center from school. Staff #1 did not realize that the child was missing until Staff #3 was completing name to face checks inside the center. 3) In a written statement, Staff #1 stated "we walked into the building and the teacher asked me where [Child #1] was. I looked around and didn't see her. I immediately ran out to the van using the emergency back door of the van, opened it and went in to get her. She was still asleep buckled in. I unbuckled her and brought her out through the back door, then we returned to the building."

Plan of Correction: Per the Center: "Staff #1 completed retraining on 1/29/19. All staff will be retrained on supervision of children at staff meeting on 3/11/19. Effective 1/30/19, a member of management greets arriving buses, confirming attendance has been taken and the bus is swept as a measure to ensure sight and sound supervision is maintained."

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-580-K
Description: Based on interviews and documentation review on 02/08/2019, the center did not ensure staff verified all children had been removed from vehicles at the conclusion of a trip during transportation. Evidence: 1) Staff #1 did not ensure the center's vehicle was empty after returning to the center's parking lot after a bus run, resulting in Child #1 (6-year-old), being left on the bus, asleep and unsupervised, somewhere between 3:29pm-3:31pm. 2) In a written statement dated 01/29/2019, Staff #1 stated "I return back to center parked the van went to push the button as I was coming down the aisle all the kids were in front of me we were talking about the cold weather. I just don't know how the little girl escaped my vision." 3) During interview on 02/08/2019, Staff #1 stated she "did not do a seat sweep of the bus that day." Staff shall verify that all children have been removed from the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip.

Plan of Correction: Per the Center: "Staff #1 completed retraining on 1/29/19. All staff will be retrained on transportation procedures on 3/11/19 at the next staff meeting. Effective 1/39/19, management greets arriving buses, confirming attendance has been taken and the bus is swept to ensure there are no children on the bus."

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X