The Virginia Birth Father Registry (VBFR), formerly known as the Virginia Putative Father Registry, is a confidential database maintained by the Virginia Department of Social Services that protects the rights of unmarried men (and their relatives) to children they may have (un)knowingly fathered. By voluntarily registering with VBFR within 10 days after child's birth, a putative father can protect his rights to his child(ren) and be notified in the event his child is placed for adoption or placed into foster care.
The VBFR does not establish paternity. Registration may be used to help establish paternity but does not start the legal process.
What is a Putative Father?
- You are not married to the child's mother; or
- A court has not determined that you are the child's father; or
- You have not signed a written agreement acknowledging you are the child's father; or
- You have not adopted the child.
Reasons to Register
- Protect your paternal rights to be a part of your child's life
- Prevent the adoption of your child without your knowledge
- Enhance your and/or your family's opportunities co-parenting or visiting your child
How to Register
To register, complete the registration form and mail to the following address:
Virginia Department of Social Services
801 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
There is no fee to register. However, registration must be mailed within 10 days of the child's birth. A putative father should register his name for each child he believes he has fathered. As such, individuals may register more than once.
Forms to Register/Search Registry
- Register in the Virginia Birth Father Registry (PDF)
- Request to Search the Virginia Birth Father Registry (PDF)
The Virginia Putative Father Registry
The 2006 General Assembly passed into law Section 63.2-1249, which established the Putative Father Registry with the Virginia Department of Social Services. In 2017, the Virginia Putative Father Registry was renamed as the Virginia Birth Father Registry.
- Establishing Paternity
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Click here for more info about the Virginia Birth Father Registry Virginia Code - Article 7