Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Ms. Barbara Thomas
1309 Corprew Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23504
(757) 640-8988

Current Inspector: Heather Harrell (757) 334-4329

Inspection Date: Sept. 9, 2015

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
63.2 Facilities and Programs..
63.2 Liability Insurance Disclosure
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies

Technical Assistance:
The revised central registry request form and fee increase was discussed.

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring inspection was conducted on 9/9/2015 from 12:00pm until 1:15pm. At the time of entrance, there were six children in care with two caregivers. The ages of the children counted for a total of 14 points. Children were observed eating lunch consisting of hot dogs & bun, bananas, baked beans and milk. After lunch children were assisted with toileting and hand washing. Nap was observed afterward. Records reviewed for six children, the provider and assistant. The inspector additionally reviewed: the first aid kit, diapering procedures, the backyard play area, documentation of emergency practice drills and the downstairs area of the home. **No medication is administered at this time. Please complete the "plan of correction" for each violation cited on the violation notice and return it to me within 10 calendar days from today. You will need to specify how the deficient practice will be or has been corrected. Just writing the word "corrected" is not acceptable. Your plan of correction must contain: 1) steps to correct the noncompliance with the standard(s), 2) measures to prevent the noncompliance from occurring again; and 3) person(s) responsible for implementing each step and/or monitoring any preventive measure(s).

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-920
Description: Based on observation and interview, the provider failed to ensure that the menu for the current one-week period shall be given to parents or posted in an area accessible to parents. Evidence: 1. The posted menu viewed was for the previous week. 2. The provider stated she had not posted the current menu.

Plan of Correction: I posted the current menu up for the week of Sept 7 -11, 2015.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-90-C
Description: Based on record review, the provider failed to obtain documentation once every six months for children under the age of two years. Evidence: 1. The most recent immunizations on file for child #1 were administered on 1/22/2015. 2. Child #1 is under the age of two years.

Plan of Correction: I talked to Mom and she said she will get a copy of recent immunizations.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-240-A
Description: Based on observation, the provider failed to ensure that outside areas of the family day home shall be maintained in a safe condition. Evidence: There was a crack in the plastic of the outdoor play wagon measuring approximately four inches. The crack was located near the front wheel. Cracked plastic is a pinch point for children's fingers.

Plan of Correction: I removed the wagon and I put duck tape over the cracked area.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-530-A
Description: Based on observation, the provider failed to ensure that when cots are being used for sleeping or napping by children other than infants shall have linens consisting of a top cover and a bottom cover or a one-piece covering that is open on three edges. Evidence: Five children were observed napping on cots without a top cover.

Plan of Correction: I put a top cover over the children that was napping today.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-40-D-1-c
Description: Based on record review and interview, the provider failed to ensure that any person living in the family day home who is required to have background checks shall have a search of central registry and criminal history check before three years since the dates of the last central registry finding and most recent criminal history record report. Evidence: 1. The most recent central registry check for household member #1 was conducted on 4/12/2012. 2. The most recent criminal history record child for household member #1 was conducted on 4/11/2012. 3. The provider stated she had requested updated background checks on 8/25/2015 for household member #1. Copies of money order receipts were viewed.

Plan of Correction: I sent background paperwork and money order off on 8/25/15. Just waiting for paperwork to come back. Showed inspector money order receipts.

Standard #: 63.2-1706-A
Description: Based on observation and interview, the provider failed at all times to afford the Commissioner reasonable opportunity to inspect all of their facilities. Evidence: 1. The inspector arrived at 10:50am to conduct a routine monitoring inspection. No one answered the door despite multiple attempts at knocking on the door and ringing the door bell. Additionally, the inspector attempted to contact the provider by telephone twice. The licensing administrator attempted to contact the provider by telephone a third time. 2. The inspector left the home at 11:35am without gaining entry into the family day home. 3. The inspector returned at 12:00pm for a second attempt to conduct a monitoring inspection. The provider answered the door and confirmed the family day home was open and children were in care. When asked why no one had come to the door previously, the provider stated, "My sister is not going to let anyone in the home when I'm not here." a. The provider confirmed she had been out of the home when the inspector arrived the first time. b. The provider stated she had instructed her sister, who is the designated assistant, not to answer the door when she was out of the home. c. The assistant told the inspector that the provider had been away from the home for an hour and that she was caring for the children during this time. The assistant stated she had arrived at 9:00am that morning.

Plan of Correction: I was away from home for about an hour, because I had an errand to run. When I returned at 11:45 my assistant told me she thought I had a visitor at the door and she did not answer. I instructed her today in the future if someone comes by and identify themself - open the door and let them in.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X