Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
staff of hermes icon

COVID-19 (CORONAVIRUS) UPDATES AND RESOURCES
Our agency is working closely with administration, including the Virginia Department of Health, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, the COVID-19 Taskforce and local partners and stakeholders to activate emergency procedures.

Latest Child Care Guidance
(Under the authority of Executive Order 51, the Commissioner of Department of Social Services is waiving regulation 22VAC40-665-40.N which references the period of time for a redetermination of eligibility for the subsidy program. )

Read More»

Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Ms. Josephine Campbell
2519 Mandy Lane
Richmond, VA 23224
(804) 230-7877

Current Inspector: Sharon Curlee (804) 662-9758

Inspection Date: June 21, 2017

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring inspection was conducted today, June 21, 2017 to determine the providers' compliance with family day home standards. The inspector arrived at approximately 1:10 pm and concluded the inspection at 3:20 pm. Upon the inspectors arrival, nine children were in care with the one provider for a total of 21points (see violation notice). A second caregiver arrived at 1:26 pm. Children were napping. Later children were observed playing with puzzles, and coloring. The provider and caregiver interacted in a positive manner with children. All areas of the family day home were inspected including the outside play area and deck. The home has age and stage appropriate toys and materials in operable condition for children in care. The first aid kit and non-medical emergency supplies were inspected and found complete. The family day home had the daily attendance, schedule, menu, License, and emergency numbers posted. Today's lunch consisted of hot dog on a bun, baked beans, carrots, applesauce and milk. Smoke detectors and fire extinguisher were observed. . Three caregiver records and nine children's records were reviewed during today's inspection. Per the Provider: medication is not being administered, no transportation provided. The last documented emergency evacuation drill was held on 06/09/2017. The two required annual shelter-in-place drills were completed on 02/07/2016 and 07/14/2016. One shelter-in-place drill for 2017 was documented on 05/16/2017. A second shelter-in-place drill will need to be completed by the end of the year. The emergency preparedness plan is current. The violations from the previous inspection on January 12, 2015 were checked for corrections. If you have any questions regarding today's inspection, please contact the licensing inspector at (804) 662-9758.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-100-A
Description: Based on review of children's records, the provider did not obtain documentation of a physical examination prior to a child's attendance or within 30 days after the first day of attendance. Evidence: 1. Child #3, enrolled 05/01/2017, did not have documentation of a physical examination. 2. Child #4, enrolled 05/01/2017, did not have documentation of a physical examination. 3. Child #7, enrolled 11/07/2011, did not have documentation of a physical examination. 4. Child #9, enrolled 02/21/2017, did not have documentation of a physical examination.

Plan of Correction: Per the Provider: I will ask the parents to get me a copy of their physicals for their record.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-120-A
Description: Based on review of caregiver records and interview, the provider did not maintain a record for each caregiver. Evidence: 1. Caregiver #3, who was observed working on 06/21/2017, did not have a record. 2. The provider stated that caregiver #3 had a record but she could not find it.

Plan of Correction: Per the Provider: I can not find the caregiver's record. I will make a new record with all the required information.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-170-A
Description: Based on review of caregiver records and interview, the provider did not obtain documentation of a tuberculosis screening for each caregiver at the time of hire. Evidence: 1. The provider stated that caregiver #3 was hired 07/2015. 2. Caregiver #3 did not have documentation of a tuberculosis screening on file.

Plan of Correction: Per the Provider: I have all the required information however i can not find the caregiver's record. I will have the caregiver get a new tuberculosis screening.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-200-C
Description: Based on review of caregiver records, the provider did not have documentation of the orientation training required that was signed and dated by the provider and assistant. Evidence: 1. Caregiver #2, did not have signed documentation of orientation training. 2. Caregiver #3, hired 07/2015, did not have signed documentation of orientation training.

Plan of Correction: Per the provider: I will complete the orientation training with my assistants and have them sign and date.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-210-A
Description: Based on review of caregiver records and interview, the provider did not ensure caregivers obtained 16 hours of annual training. Evidence: 1. The provider stated that caregiver #3 was hired 07/2015. 2. Caregiver #3 did not have documentation of any training on file.

Plan of Correction: Per the Provider: I can not find the record for caregiver #3 that has her training documented. I will start a new record of taining for her.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-570-A
Description: Based on observation and interview, the provider did not ensure that a caregiver did not exceed 16 points without an additional caregiver. Evidence: 1. The inspector arrived at the family day home at 1:10 pm. Upon arrival there were nine children in care with a 21 point value with one provider. 2. The provider stated that the second caregiver had left to run an errand. 3. The provider called the second caregiver who returned to the family day home at 1:26 pm. 4. The provider exceeded the 16 points for approximately 16 minutes while the inspector was on site.

Plan of Correction: Per the provider: I will make sure one of the two assistants are her at all times when we exceed the 16 points.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-40-D-1-c
Description: Based on review of caregiver records, the provider did not obtain criminal history check before three years since the date of the most recent criminal history report. Evidence: Caregiver #2 had a criminal history report that was dated 03/06/2014, exceeding the three year allowance to obtain an update report.

Plan of Correction: Per the provider: I will request a new criminal history check right away.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-60-B
Description: Based on review of caregiver records, the provider did not obtain a complete sworn statement for a caregiver before being employed. Evidence: 1. Caregiver #3 was observed working on 06/21/2017. 2. Caregiver #3 did not have a completed sworn statement.

Plan of Correction: Per the Provider: I have all the required information however i can not find the caregiver's record. I will have her complete a new sworn statement today.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-60-C-1
Description: Based on review of caregiver records and interview, the provider did not obtain an original criminal history record report within 30 days of employment. Evidence: 1. The provider stated that caregiver #3 was hired 07/2015. 2. Caregiver #3 did not have an original criminal history check on file.

Plan of Correction: Per the Provider: I have all the required information however i can not find the caregiver's record. I will request a new criminal history report.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-60-C-2
Description: Based on review of caregiver records and interview, the provider did not obtain a central registry findings within 30 days of employment. Evidence: 1. The provider stated that caregiver #3 was hired 07/2015. 2. Caregiver #3 did not have a central registry check on file.

Plan of Correction: Per the Provider: I have all the required information however i can not find the caregiver's record. I will request a new central registry check.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X