Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Childcare Network #64
8210 Walmsley Boulevard
Richmond, VA 23235
(804) 276-6593

Current Inspector: Florence Martus (804) 662-9772

Inspection Date: Jan. 18, 2017

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Comments:
The licensing inspector for Childcare Network conducted an unannounced complaint inspection in response to a complaint received by the licensing office on January 4, 2017. Staff records were inspected and interviews were conducted with staff relating to the allegation of supervision. The preponderance of the evidence gathered during the investigation does not support the allegation, so the complaint is determined to be "not valid". There were violations cited during the inspection that were not reported as part of the complaint.
If you have any questions, contact your licensing inspector at (804) 662-9766.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-191-60-C-2
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on inspection of staff records and discussions with management, the center did not ensure all employees working with children had a completed criminal record clearance and a completed central registry clearance.
An employee must be denied continued employment if the facility does not have an original criminal record clearance or a central registry finding within 30 days if these reports weren't sent within seven calendar days of employment.
Evidence:
Management did not request the criminal record or central registry within seven days of employment for Staff #1, with an employment date of 10/11/16. The forms were not received back at the center within 30 days of employment. The staff member continued employment and was supervising children on January 18, 2017, the date of the inspection.

Plan of Correction: Per Center:
"Staff will be immediately denied employment. Systems will be in place to ensure other staff members know we will give teacher in training wristbands for the knowledge of knowing staff cannot be left alone. I will also design a system where I am sending background checks off prior to hire date of employment and checking and rechecking weekly to see if the background checks have come in, if I am running out of time I will immediately call and check the status and make sure I am properly making documentation of communication."

Standard #: 63.2-1720-F
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on inspection of staff records and interviews with staff, the center did not ensure that any employee working alone with children had a completed original criminal record clearance.
Evidence:
Staff #1, began working 10/11/16. The criminal record clearance was returned to the center 12/14/16. Staff #1 stated being alone supervising children in the early morning the week of December 5, 2016.

Plan of Correction: Per Center:
"Staff will be immediately denied employment. Systems will be in place to ensure other staff members know we will give teacher in training wristbands for the knowledge of knowing staff cannot be left alone. I will also design a system where I am sending background checks off prior to hire date of employment and checking and rechecking weekly to see if the background checks have come in, if I am running out of time I will immediately call and check the status and make sure I am properly making documentation of communication."

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X