Translation Disclaimer

Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Countryside Children's Academy
20890 Pidgeon Hill Drive
Sterling, VA 20165
(703) 450-8687

Current Inspector: Whitney McGrath (571) 835-4717

Inspection Date: Feb. 23, 2018

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
63.2 General Provisions.
63.2 Child Abuse and Neglect
63.2 Facilities and Programs..
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Technical Assistance:
Discussed changes to background check requirements, sworn disclosure statements and building maintenance.

Comments:
Today an unannounced Monitoring Inspection took place between the hours of 9:30am and 1:00pm. At the start of the inspection there were a total of 48 children with 9 staff; all ratios were incompliance. A total of 4 children?s files and 5 staff files were reviewed. The children were observed being read to, participating in show-n-tell, singing and other organized activities. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at whitney.mcgrath@dss.virginia.gov. Thank you for your cooperation during this inspection.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-160-A
Description: Based on record review, Tuberculosis (TB) screenings results submitted exceeded 12 months prior to employment. Evidence: Staff #1 (date of hire: 1/9/2018) submitted a negative TB screening that was dated 3/11/2016. Staff #2 (date of hire: 1/8/2018) submitted a negative TB screening that was dated 9/7/2016.

Plan of Correction: I'll have a reminder of this in my employee file and I'll have these staff get the test done as soon as possible.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-60-A
Description: Based on record review, children's records did not contain all required information. Evidence: Child #2 record did not contain a street address for their second emergency contact.

Plan of Correction: I'll let these parents know that we need this address.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-70-A
Description: Based on record review, staff records did not contain all of the required information. Evidence: Staff #1 record did not contain documentation of two reference checks.

Plan of Correction: I completed them, I know they were done but I cannot locate them.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-270-A
Description: Based on observation, areas of the center were not maintained in a safe condition. Evidence: 1. In the younger infant classroom, there is a screw sticking out of a cabinet wall that is exposed to the children. 2. The window ledges in the Toddler and Two year old classroom have areas where the plaster is chipped and exposed.

Plan of Correction: I'll remove the screw today, and the windows ledges will be taken care of by our maintenance crew.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-280-D
Description: Based on observation, cleaning materials were stored above food. Evidence: There are various cleaning materials stored above food on the shelf in the closet of the Infant classroom.

Plan of Correction: I'll have them fix that today.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-570-E
Description: Based on observation, infant bottles were not labeled with the children's name and/or today's date. Evidence: One bottle in the infant classroom did not contain a name or date, one bottle did not contain a name and two bottles did not contain a date.

Plan of Correction: I'll remind them about that.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-60-C-2
Description: Based on record review and interview, the center did not receive Central Registry finding results within 30 days of employment for one member. Evidence: Staff #2 (date of hire: 1/8/2018) record does not contain Central Registry results. The center director has confirmed that the results of this staff members results has not been returned. A follow-up inquiry regarding the results was not made.

Plan of Correction: I will call to follow-up today and document that I called. I will follow-up with this staff member to see if the results went to her house.

Disclaimer:
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Top

Thank you for visiting.
How was your experience?
X