An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Sparkles! at Fair Oaks
12001 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 502-8100

Current Inspector: Stacy Doyle (571) 835-0386

Inspection Date: April 24, 2019

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.

Comments:
The Licensing Inspector conducted an unannounced complaint investigation in response to a complaint that was received by the licensing office on 4/16/2019. Interviews were conducted with staff relating to the allegations of roughly handling a child. The information gathered during this investigation supports the allegations, so the complaint is determined to be valid. Please complete the columns for "Plan of Correction" and "Date to be Corrected" for each violation cited on the violation notice, and then return a signed and dated copy to the licensing office within 5 business days of receipt. If you have any questions you may contact me at whitney.mcgrath@dss.virginia.gov.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-40-E
Complaint related: Yes
Description: Based on a review of school policies, interview and photograph, the licensee did not follow the center's own policies and procedures regarding discipline. Evidence: 1. The licensee's Discipline policy contained in the Sparkles! handbook states, "Our philosophy at Sparkles! is based on love and respect for the individual child and family ... the teacher will "Build and maintain relationships with children that establish warmth and trust between children and their adult caregiver. Respond promptly in developmentally appropriate ways, providing comfort, support and assistance as needed. Model pro-social behavior by communicating respectfully with all children, staff members and community partners." 2. Staff #1 signed an acknowledgement of the Sparkles! handbook on 9/29/2012. 3. On 4/24/2019, Child #1 (4 years old) stated that Staff #1 "grabbed me so hard that I cried." Child #1 stated that Staff #1 grabbed them "because I wasn't listening. She grabbed my arm and she squeezed it so hard."

Plan of Correction: Re-training was conducted with all staff members in this classroom on redirection and re-guiding policy.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-400-B
Complaint related: Yes
Description: Based on interview and photograph, the licensee did not use behavioral guidance that was constructive in nature, age and stage appropriate and intended to redirect children to appropriate behavior. Evidence: 1. On 4/10/2019, Child #1 (4 years old) stated to their parent that "[Staff #1] grabbed me and made me sit down." 2. On 4/12/2019, the parent of Child #1 took a picture (See image A attached) of a crescent shaped scab on the inside of the child's upper right arm. 3. On 4/12/2019, Child #1 stated to Staff #3 "Look what [Staff #1] did to me. She made me sit down and gave me a boo boo. I didn't want to sit in the chair and she took me by my arm and made me sit down." 4. When interviewed on 4/24/2019, Child #1 stated that "[Staff #1] grabbed me so hard that I cried." Child #1 stated that Staff #1 grabbed them "because I wasn't listening. She grabbed my arm and she squeezed it so hard." 5. Staff #1 stated that there was "no incident with [Child #1] and repeatedly asked what day the child stated the incident occurred.

Plan of Correction: Staff member #1 was dismissed after this incident.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-410-1
Complaint related: Yes
Description: Based on interview and photograph, the licensee failed to ensure that, roughly handling a child was not forbidden Evidence: 1. On 4/10/2019, at the start of Child #1's (4 years old) bedtime routine, the child's parent noticed a scab on the inside of the child's arm. The parent stated that she asked 'What happened?" The child stated "[Staff #1] grabbed me and made me sit down." 2. On 4/12/2019, the parent of Child #1 took a picture (Image A attached) of the child's upper right arm. There is a crescent shaped scab on the inside of Child #1's upper right arm. 3. On 4/12/2019, Child #1 stated to Staff #3 "Look what [Staff #1] did. to me. She made me sit down and gave me a boo boo. I didn't want to sit in the chair and she took me by my arm and made me sit down." 4. On 4/24/2019, Child #1 stated to Licensing and another outside agency that Staff #1 "grabbed me so hard that I cried." Child #1 stated that Staff #1 grabbed them "because I wasn't listening. She grabbed my arm and she squeezed it so hard." 5. taff #1 stated that there was "no incident with [Child #1] and repeatedly asked what day the child stated the incident occurred.

Plan of Correction: A new schedule for monitoring the classroom will be introduced and documented to ensure our discipline policy is used when needed and that appropriate child teacher interaction is evident.

Standard #: 63.2-1509-A
Complaint related: Yes
Description: The licensee failed to report to the child abuse and neglect hotline when the licensee had reason to suspect that a child was abused. Evidence: 1. On 04/12/2019, Child #1 stated to Staff #3 "Look what [Staff #1] did to me" Staff #3 asked "What did [Staff #1] do?" Child #1 stated "She made me sit down and she gave me a boo boo. I didn't want to sit in the chair and she took me by my arm and she made me sit down." 2. Child #1 showed Staff #3 a crescent shaped scab on the inside of their upper right arm. 3. Staff #1 did not report the accusation to Child Protective Services.

Plan of Correction: Licensing is always called when a situation like this comes up. This parent happen to call before we had the chance. Moving forward even if the parent has called we will call as well.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top