C & A Daycare and Preschool
5254 Potomac Drive
King george, VA 22485
Current Inspector: Tara Barton (804) 662-9766
Inspection Date: Sept. 10, 2019
Complaint Related: No
- Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSING PROCESS.
An unannounced renewal inspection was conducted with center staff on September 10, 2019 to determine compliance with the licensing standards. There were 48 children present, ranging in age from 5 months to 5 years. The children were having rest, having afternoon snack, playing on the playground, and playing with age appropriate toys. Twenty seven school age children arrived via school bus and center vans. Seven children's files and four staff files were reviewed - please see Supplemental Summary for details. Snack served today: graham crackers and grapes. Time of today's inspection: 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Please call me if you have any questions at 804-662-9766 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-40-G Description: Based on review of seven children's records, the facility failed to have documentation of each child's proof of birth/identity within seven days of enrollment as required by 63.2-1809 of the Code of Virginia. Evidence: Child 6 and Child 7 did not have documentation of proof of birth within seven days of enrollment. Plan of Correction: Center staff viewed the proof of identity but did not document the information. The information will be reviewed again and will be documented.
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-C Description: Based on staff interview and observation, the facility failed to maintain the staff to children ratio applicable to the youngest child in the group. Evidence: the ratio is one staff for every four children ages birth through 16 months. There were nine children with two staff and the youngest child will not be 16 months until 9/21/2019. Plan of Correction: Child A will move back to the infant room until she turns 16 months until 9/21/2019.
A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.
The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.