Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Childcare Network #64
8210 Walmsley Boulevard
Richmond, VA 23235
(804) 276-6593

Current Inspector: Florence Martus (804) 662-9772

Inspection Date: Aug. 23, 2019 and Sept. 11, 2019

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)
63.2 Child Abuse & Neglect
63.2(17) License & Registration Procedures

Technical Assistance:
n/a

Comments:
The licensing inspector completed an unannounced complaint inspection on August 23, 2019 in response to a complaint that was received by the Department on August 21, 2019 concerning forbidden action and behavioral guidance. The investigation was initiated on August 23, 2019 and completed on September 23, 2019. On August 23, 2019, the inspector was on site from 10:45am to approximately 1:00pm interviewing staff, conducting observations at the center, and reviewing documentation. Additional interviews were conducted on September 11, 2019. The preponderance of the evidence gathered during the investigation supports part of the allegation regarding inappropriate behavioral guidance, therefore the complaint is determined to be valid. See the violation notice for more details.

Please complete the `plan of correction? and `date to be corrected? for each violation cited on the Violation Notice and return it to me within 5 business days from the date of receipt. Please specify how the deficient practice will be or has been corrected. Your plan of correction should contain: 1) steps to correct the noncompliance with the standards, 2) measures to prevent the noncompliance from occurring again, and 3) person(s) responsible for implementing each step and/or monitoring any preventative measure(s).

If you have any questions about this inspection, please contact the licensing inspector at (804) 662-9772.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-400-B
Complaint related: No
Description: Based on a review of documentation and interviews, the center did not ensure that behavioral guidance shall be constructive in nature, age and stage appropriate, and shall be intended to redirect children to appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts.

Evidence: 1) A collateral witness reported that on 08/20/2019, Child #1 (12-year-old) disclosed that on 08/19/2019 while at the center "[Child #1] didn?t want to read the book the teacher [Staff #1] gave her, so she threw it across the floor. [Child #1] said the teacher [Staff #1] would pick the book back up and would throw it back towards her and this was reciprocated several times."

2) In a written statement, Staff #1 described the following interaction between Staff #1 and Child #1 that took place on 08/19/2019: ?On Monday [sic] August 19, 2019 after I came back from break I asked all my kids if they were finished writing in their notebooks. Some said yes and some said no. I asked those who were done to bring their notebooks to me and read to me what they wrote. Some had to write theirs over because they could have done better. [Child #1] was sitting with her feet up and her hood on. I told her that she was not excluded and I need to see her book too. I then asked her to take her hood off. She got her book and came to my desk and threw her book on the table. I said you can pick the book up and read it. She refused to and still had her hood on. I removed her hood and reminded her that there are no hoods on in the building because this is a rule. She put the hood back on still refusing to read her book. I removed her hood off again and [Child #1] put the hood back on. She then starts throwing the book around the class. She then threw the book out of the classroom and I threw the book back in the class. She then threw the book in the trash. I got it out of the trash. She then throws the book in the bathroom trash and I throw the book back in the classroom and shut the bathroom door. She throws it in the hall and I get the book and the [sic] shut the classroom door and put the book on the couch. I asked her to take her hood off again. She then goes over to the kid?s [sic] field trip shirts and begins to throw them and I tell her to get out because now you are doing the most and I?m not.?

3) During interview on 08/23/2019, Staff #1 stated that she was ?wrong for going back and forth? about a book with Child #1. The staff did not ensure that behavioral guidance was constructive in nature or intended to redirect Child #1 to appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts.

Plan of Correction: Per the Center: "1. I reviewed with my staff the importance of positive guidance with all children. All staff members were assigned and completed a training course on positive guidance. 2. I will continue to train new staff and current staff on the importance of positive guidance. Staff will redirect children in an appropriate manor [sic] while also teacher children appropriate ways to resolve conflicts."

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top