An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

L and E Bright Future Child Day Center
3794 Virginia Beach Boulevard
Virginia beach, VA 23452
(757) 340-2125

Current Inspector: Arlene Agustin (804) 629-7519

Inspection Date: Aug. 1, 2019 and Sept. 19, 2019

Complaint Related: Yes

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Comments:
A complaint investigation was conducted at the facility on 8/1/2019 in response to a complaint received in the Licensing Division on 7/12/2019 and forwarded to the regional office on 7/15/2019. Investigation continued at the facility on 9/19/2019 in cooperation with the local agency as the complainant alleged physical abuse of children by a staff member. The investigation included interview of all staff, children's interviews, review of records and observation. A preponderance of evidence gathered did not support the allegation of physical abuse of the children.

Additional violations not related to the complaint were cited and can be found on the violations page.

An exit meeting was conducted with the program director on 11/14/2019 to review the findings of the complaint.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-60-A
Complaint related: No
Description: Based upon review of two children's records and staff interview on 09/19/2019, the facility has not ensured that each child's record includes documentation of child updates and confirmation of up-to-date information in the child's record as required by 22 VAC 40-185-420 E 3;which states that staff shall provide at least semiannual scheduled opportunities for parents to provide feedback on their children and the center's program.
Evidence:
1. The records provided for child 1 and child 2 on 9/19/2019 did not include documentation of child updates and confirmation of the up to date information in the children's files.
2. Staff 1 verified on 9/19/2019 that documentation of the child updates were not in the files of child 1 and child 2.

Plan of Correction: The facility responded with the following:
I was not aware of this, but I am in the process of updating every child's file with a progress report and I will ensure that my staff members do progress report twice per year. I have also updated the child's file with their new addresses and emergency contact information. I will make sure their addresses and emergency contact information are updated once per year.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-420-E-3
Complaint related: No
Description: Based upon review of records and staff interview on 9/19/2019, the facility has not ensured that parents are provided at least semiannually in writing information on their child's development, behavior, adjustment, and needs.
Evidence:
1. The records provided for child 1 and child 2 on 9/19/2019 did not include any written information on the child's development, behavior, adjustment and needs.
2. )n 9/19/2019, staff 1 stated that parents are informed of their development and needs, however staff 1 could not provide any documentation to demonstrate that written information was provided to parents and when it was provided.

Plan of Correction: The facility responded with the following:
I was not aware of this, but I am in the process of updating every child's file with a progress report and I will ensure that my staff members do progress report twice per year. I have also updated the child's file with their new addresses and emergency contact information. I will make sure their addresses and emergency contact information are updated once per year.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-60-C-2
Complaint related: No
Description: Based upon review of six staff records and staff interview on 9/19/2019, the facility has not ensured that results of a child protective services (CPS) central registry search has been obtained for each staff person within 30 days of employment.
Evidence:
1. According to the record provided on 9/19/2019, staff 5 was employed on 7/1/2019. The record did not include results of a CPS central registry finding.
2. On 9/19/2019, staff 1 verified that staff 5 was still employed. Staff 1 was unable to provide results of a CPS central registry finding for staff 5.

Plan of Correction: The facility responded with the following:
I had it but I received the wrong copy. I have since obtained the correct copy.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top