An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Guidepost Montessori at Fairfax
3909 Oak St
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 934-0920

Current Inspector: Sandra D'Imperio (703) 479-4675

Inspection Date: Feb. 12, 2020

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Technical Assistance:
It is highly recommended that the Division's model forms be used for administrative records keeping.

Comments:
An unannounced full renewal inspection was conducted today. There were 45 children in care, with a total of 6 staff members assigned to their direct supervision. Children's records, children's medications, classroom programming, the physical plant, administrative records, background checks, emergency preparedness items, staff training documentation, children's nutrition, and staff records were inspected today.

The children were observed playing outside, eating lunch from home as well as from the optional catering services, enjoying circle time discussions and preparing for their afternoon nap. Dismissal from the morning half day program was also observed.

This inspection was completed between approximately 11:15am and 12:45pm. Thank you for meeting with me today. If you have any questions regarding this inspection please email me at sandra.dimperio@dss.virginia.gov

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-60-A
Description: Based on a review of children's records, it was determined that one record does not contain all required information.
Evidence:
Child record B does not include "authorized pick ups" information.

Plan of Correction: I will ask the parent for the information.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-240-A
Description: Based on a review of new staff training records, it was determined that one staff person did not complete all required training by the end of her first day of assuming job responsibilities.
Evidence:
Staff 3 began employment on 11/14/19. As of the date of this inspection on 2/12/20, there is no documentation to show that this staff person has completed "Recognizing Child Abuse and Neglect" training.

Plan of Correction: She does not have a regular work schedule here. She returns on Friday. I will make sure she does the training before she returns and brings me her certificate.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-260-B
Description: Based on a review of administrative records, it was determined that the school does not have documentation to show that they have received annual approval from the Health Department.
Evidence:
The most recently completed inspection from the Health Department was completed on 9/18/18. This inspection report expired on 9/18/19.

Plan of Correction: I already contacted the Health Department to renew our annual permit. I will follow up to make sure they complete a new inspection.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-510-C
Description: Based on a review of children's medications, it was determined that two short term authorizations do not include all required information.
Evidence:
The form used for two children's short-term medication authorizations do not include: the name of the authorized provider; start and stop date for which the authorization is effective.

Plan of Correction: We will begin using the Division's model form. The parent will be asked to complete a new authorization for each child's medication.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-510-L
Description: Based on a review of children's medications, it was determined that the center did not keep a record of medication given to one child.
Evidence:
It was reported to the Inspector that approximately 1 week ago, a prescription medication was administered to one child in care. The center did not maintain the record of this child's medication administration on site.

Plan of Correction: We documented when we gave the medication, but then the medication log was sent home with the parent. In the future, all medication logs will be kept in the child's file.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top