An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Kellys Kare Academy
4604 Pembroke Lake Circle
Suite 108
Virginia beach, VA 23455
(757) 228-3443

Current Inspector: Christopher Robinson (757) 404-2322

Inspection Date: March 18, 2021 and March 19, 2021

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)
63.2 Child Abuse & Neglect
63.2(17) License & Registration Procedures
63.2 Facilities & Programs.

Comments:
This inspection was conducted by licensing staff using an alternate remote protocol, necessary due to a state of emergency health pandemic declared by the Governor of Virginia. A monitoring inspection was initiated on 3/18/21 and concluded on 3/19/21. The in-charge person was contacted by telephone to initiate the inspection. There were 3 children and 3 staff present at the facility. The inspector emailed the director/provider a list of items required to complete the inspection. The Inspector reviewed 2 children?s records and 3 staff records submitted by the facility to ensure documentation was complete. Information gathered during the inspection determined non-compliance(s) with applicable standards or law and violations were documented on the violation notice issued to the facility. The Licensing Inspector has reviewed with the provider COVID-19 Essential Guidance for Child Care programs.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-160-C
Description: Based on a review of three staff records, it was determined that the facility did not ensure that at least every two years from the date of the first initial screening or testing, staff members shall obtain and submit the results of a follow-up tuberculosis screening.

Evidence:
1. The record for staff #1, contained documentation of TB screening that was dated 1/20/19.
2. Staff #1 (Program Director) confirmed that she had not completed an updated TB screening.

Plan of Correction: The facility responded: I went after the inspection and completed an updated TB screening and sent a copy to my licensing Inspector.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-40-H
Description: Based on interview and a review on documentation, it was determined that the licensee did not maintain public liability insurance for bodily injury for each center site with a minimum limit of at least $500,000 each occurrence and with a minimum limit of $500,000 aggregate.

Evidence:
1. There was no documentation available for viewing during the inspection that the center had a current insurance policy.
2. Staff #1 (Program Director) stated the current insurance policy expired and she was in the process of getting a ne wpolicy in effect.

Plan of Correction: The facility responded: It was oversight that allowed the insurance to expire. I have contacted my agent to get my policy renewed. I will forward it to my Licensing Inspector as soon as I receive it.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-60-C-2
Description: Based on a review of three staff records, it was determined that the facility did not deny continued employment of a staff who did not have a search of the central registry finding within 30 days of employment.

Evidence:
1. The record for staff #1 (date of hire 2/12/20) did not contain documentation of a completed search of the central registry finding.
2. Staff #1 (Program Director) reviewed the record for the staff #2, and confirmed that the search of the central registry finding has not been received.

Plan of Correction: The facility responded: We thought it had been sent off, but it wasn't A new search of the central registry was completed today and will be mailed off. The results will be sent to my Licensing Inspector when I receive it.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top