Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Sparkles! at Fair Oaks
12001 Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 502-8100

Current Inspector: Stacy Doyle (571) 835-0386

Inspection Date: Dec. 6, 2022

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
8VAC20-780 Staffing and Supervision
8VAC20-780 Special Care Provisions and Emergencies
8VAC20-780 Special Services.

Comments:
A self-reported incident was received by the department on 12/02/2022 regarding the center failing to give two children medicine on multiple days. An investigation was initiated and concluded on 12/13/2022. Two Staff and one parent of the children were interviewed, and the medication log and authorization forms were reviewed.
Information gathered during the investigation of the self-report determined non-compliance with applicable standards or law, and violations were
documented on the violation notice issued to the program. An additional violation unrelated to the self report was cited.

Please contact me if you have any questions at Stacy.Doyle@doe.virginia.gov or 571-835-0386.

Violations:
Standard #: 8VAC20-780-340-A
Description: Based on interviews and documentation reviewed, staff failed to always ensure the care, protection and guidance of two children.
Evidence:

1. The center had a medication authorization form to give medication each day to Child #1 (3 years old) in the morning prior to nap effective 9/30/2022 to 9/30/2023. Staff #1 stated Child #1 was not given medication on the following days: September 30, October 3, 4, 5, 10 and 31. November 3, 7, 9, 10, 15, 16, 17, 18, 21, 22, 23 and 28. The medication logs confirmed that the medication was not given on these days.
2. The center had a medication authorization form to give medication each day to Child #2 (4 years old) in the morning prior to nap effective 9/30/2022 to 9/30/2023. Staff #1 stated Child #2 was not given medication on the following days: September 30, October 3, 4, 5, 10, 24, 27, 28, 31, November 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 21, 22, 23, 28. The medication logs confirmed that the medication was not given on these days.
3. Staff #1 stated ?I got busy and forgot. I asked the teacher to help remind me and just forgot.?
4. Parent of Child #1 and Child #2 stated ?They did not notify me of any missed medication in the last month or so. I wasn?t aware until [Child #2] told me and I asked the center for the log.? Parent of Child #1 and Child #2 stated the medication is a preventative medication that is needed in order to keep the children from having a relapse with their condition (reactive airway disease).

Plan of Correction: We have since required all lead teachers to be MAT certified. This way when Management can not give medicine, the teacher is always able to. We have since required all lead teachers to be MAT trained and are responsible for all children in their care to give medication when required. Also, weekly management will check.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-580-C
Description: Based on the interview, the center did not ensure that during transportation of children Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child restraints are followed as required by ?? 46.2-1095 through 46.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia.
Evidence:
1. The VA statutes require that children under the age of 8 years be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat.
2. On November 21, 2022, Staff #2 drove three children (ages 5 years, 5 years and 7 years) to elementary school in their personal vehicle and did not put the children in child restraints. The children were secured in the vehicle only with seat belts.
3. Staff #2 states, ?I took 3 children to school in my personal car and did not put them in car seats or booster seats. I didn?t have keys to the van? and ?did not feel comfortable driving the van.?

Plan of Correction: We are no longer allowing personal vehicles for transportation unless an emergency. All children no matter the size, 8 and under will use a booster seat while in the transport of Sparkles.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
×
TTY/TTD

(deaf or hard-of-hearing):

(800) 828-1120, or 711

Top