Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Baby, Toddler and Preschool Land
10400 Fairfax Village Drive
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 279-7188

Current Inspector: Sheila F Nelson (804) 629-7489

Inspection Date: July 25, 2023

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
8VAC20-780 Administration.
8VAC20-780 Staff Qualifications and Training.
8VAC20-780 Physical Plant.
8VAC20-780 Staffing and Supervision.
8VAC20-780 Programs.
8VAC20-780 Special Care Provisions and Emergencies
8VAC20-780 Special Services.
8VAC20-820 THE LICENSE.
8VAC20-820 THE LICENSING PROCESS.
8VAC20-770 Background Checks
20 Access to minor?s records
22.1 Background Checks Code, Carbon Monoxide
63.2 Child Abuse & Neglect
8VAC20-790 Subsidy Regulations.

Technical Assistance:
Recommend retraining staff on child to staff ratios and the importance in being in compliance.

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring nspection was conducted on July 25, 2025. There were a total of 79 children with 10 staff members present. Children were observed during eating breakfast, engaged in group activities bathroom procedures, and outdoor play time. The inspector reviewed compliance in the areas of administration, physical plant, staffing and supervision, children and staff records, programming, medication, special care and emergencies and nutrition. The information gathered during the inspection determined non-compliance with applicable standards or law. Violations were found during today?s inspection and can be viewed on the Violation Notice.

Thank you for your cooperation during the inspection.

Sheila Nelson
Virginia Department of Education
Office of Child Care Health and Safety
Division of Early Childhood Care and Education

Violations:
Standard #: 22.1-289.035-A
Description: Based on record review, the provider did not obtain documentation for a 5 year criminal history repeat check.
Evidence:
1. Four out of five staff records had expired criminal history searches.
2. Staff #1 record did not have documentation of an updated criminal history search (expired 03/30/23).
3. Staff #2 record did not have documentation of an updated criminal history search (expired 3/18/23).
4. Staff #4 record did not have documentation of an updated criminal history search (expired 3/26/23).
5. Staff #5 record did not have documentation of an updated criminal history search (expired 3/39/23).
6. The provider acknowledged a large percentage of staff criminal history searches expired in March 2023.

Plan of Correction: I will have all staff with current fingerprints completed by 8/1/23.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-160-C
Description: Based on record review and interview, staff did not submit documentation of a negative tuberculosis (TB) test or screening every two years from the date of the initial screening.
Evidence:
1. The record for Staff #3 did not have updated documentation of a TB test or screening
. Last documentation is dated 11/2021.
2. The director acknowledged there was not an updated TB test/screening on Staff #3.

Plan of Correction: I will send the staff immediately.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-60-A
Description: Based on record review and interview, the center failed to ensure all required information was kept for each enrolled child.
Evidence:
1. The record for Child #1 did not have documentation that the child's proof of identity and age had been viewed.
2. The director confirmed the child's proof of identity and age had not been viewed.

Plan of Correction: I will contact the parent that I need to see proof of ID.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-80-A
Description: Based on observation and interview, the center did not maintain a written record of daily attendance that documents the arrival and departure of each child in care as it occurs.
Evidence:
1. There was no documentation of daily attendance in five (5) classrooms (Twos, Threes, PreK and School-age).
2. The director acknowledged the classes had not been completing a written record of daily attendance as it occurs in the classrooms.

Plan of Correction: I will provide a daily attendance sheet that will document the arrival and departure of each child for each classroom.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-280-B
Description: Based on observation, potentially poisonous materials are accessible to children.
Evidence:
1. Bleach solution in the Two's classroom was not in a locked cabinet.
2. Various cleaning products (Bleach, Clorox, Dawn) were accessible to children in the PreK classroom. The door in the PreK classroom that goes into the kitchen was left open for approximately 30 minutes. The products were on a low open shelf.

Plan of Correction: I will speak to my staff today and retrain them this week. Violation corrected during the inspection.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-290-A-3
Description: Based on observation, electrical outlets did not have protective covers that are a size that cannot be swallowed by children.
Evidence: There were 5 electrical outlets located on the back wall in the Pre-K classroom that did not have protective covers.

Plan of Correction: I will speak to my staff again and ensure the outlets are covered when not in use.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-350-A
Description: Based on observation and interview, the maximum group size limitations for 3 year olds up to school age was not followed whenever children are in care.
Evidence:
1. At the time of inspection, (8:20 - 9:00 am) the threes, fours and school-age children were combined on the outside playground. There were 47 children present.
2. The maximum group size for 3 years old up to school age is 30 children.

Plan of Correction: I will speak to all my staff on the importance of maintaining teacher to child ratio at all times.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-350-B-1
Description: Based on observation, interviews, and review of daily attendance record, the center did not maintain the required supervision ratio of one staff member for every four children for children ages birth up to 16 months.
Evidence: 1. The infant classroom had 9 children with two staff supervising
2. Staff #6 acknowledged there were 9 infants due to a new child attending for a few hours.

Plan of Correction: I will meet with all my staff and retrain them on ensuring ratios are maintained at all time.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-350-B-3
Description: Based on observation and interview, the center did not maintain the required supervision ratio of one staff member for every eight children for 2 year olds.
Evidence:
1. The Twos classroom had 17 children present with 2 staff supervising.
2. Staff # 1 acknowledged the class had 17 children and were over-ratio.

Plan of Correction: I will ensure child to staff ratios are maintained at all times.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-350-B-4
Description: Based on observation and interview, the center did not maintain the required supervision ratio of one staff member for every ten (10) children for children ages 3 year olds up to school age.
Evidence:
1. The Threes, Fours, and School-age were combined on the playground with 34 children present with 2 teachers supervising (8:20 - 8:35am).
2. At 8:35 am the group increased to 44 children present with 3 teachers supervising.

Plan of Correction: I will ensure ratios are maintained at all times.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-500-A
Description: Based on observation, staff did not wash their hands with soap and running water before preparing or serving food or beverages.
Evidence:
1. Staff #1 did not wash their hands by using a germicidal cleansing agent when preparing and serving food or beverages outside picnic table.
2. Staff #2 did not wash their hands with soap and running water before preparing and service food or beverages (Breakfast) in the Pre-K classroom

Plan of Correction: I will retrain my staff on proper handwashing procedures.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-510-B
Description: Based on observation and record review, the facility did not obtain written parent authorization as required for prescription and nonprescription medication.
Evidence:
1. There was no written authorization for diaper cream ointment for child #3, and #4.
2. Staff # 6 confirmed they did not have authorization forms.

Plan of Correction: We will get the parent's authorization to use the diaper cream today and I will remind my staff not to accept ointments without a permission form.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-520-C
Description: Based on observation, diaper ointment or cream was not labeled with the child's name.
Evidence: The Infant class had three diaper ointments/creams (Desitin, A& D and Vaseline) not labeled with child's name.

Plan of Correction: I will remind staff to put labels on all ointments. Violation was corrected during the inspection.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-550-I
Description: Based on observation and interview, the center did not have a 911 or local dial number for police, fire and emergency medical services posted in a visible place at each telephone.
Evidence:
1. At the time of inspection, emergency telephone numbers were not posted at each telephone.

Plan of Correction: It must have been taken down. I will ensure the numbers are posted.

Standard #: 8VAC20-780-560-J
Description: Based on observation, tables were not sanitized before and after each use for feeding.
Evidence: The tables in the PreK classroom were not sanitized before children were served breakfast.

Plan of Correction: I will speak to the teachers about sanitizing the tables as required.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
×
TTY/TTD

(deaf or hard-of-hearing):

(800) 828-1120, or 711

Top